DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-2, in the reply filed on 14 July 2026 is acknowledged. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 3-6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 14 July 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imaoka et al. (US 2016/0204023) in view of Ushijima et al. (WO2021060513 using US 2022/0341054 as an English language equivalent).
Considering claim 1, Imaoka teaches a composite semiconductor substrate (abstract) for integrated circuits (Paragraph 2). An embodiment is taught of a support substrate of polycrystalline SiC bonded to a single crystalline SiC layer directly and by covalent bonding (Paragraph 42). However, Imaoka does not teach the resistivity of the polycrystalline SiC.
In a related field of endeavor, Ushijima teaches a polycrystalline SiC body (abstract) for semiconductor circuits (Paragraph 25). An embodiment is taught where a polycrystalline SiC substrate is bonded to a single crystal SiC substrate and where this requires the polycrystalline substrate to have a low resistivity (Paragraph 8) and a resistivity of 0.050 Ωcm achieves this (Paragraph 10) which suppresses a potential barrier in the joint surfaces (Paragraph 30).
As both Imaoka and Ushijima teach composite SiC materials for semiconductors they are considered analogous. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Imaoka with the resistivity taught by Ushijima as this is known to suppress a potential barrier and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Further, the resistivity of modified Imaoka overlaps that which is claimed and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 2, Imaoka teaches where the polycrystalline substrate is disc shaped, which applicant indicates as a wafer shape in paragraph 26 of the originally filed specification, and where the circumference of the polycrystalline substrate and contour thereof is substantially identical to the single crystal portion (Paragraph 26; Fig. 2) and where they are bonded by the joined surface (Paragraph 43).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Imaoka et al. (WO2015/174252) and Imaoka et al. (US 2017/0213735) teach similar polycrystalline and single crystal bonded SiC bodies.
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784