DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “external unit” in claim 28 with specification support in paragraph [0033].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 33-35, “the second substrate” lacks antecedence.
In claim 33, lines 7-8, it is unclear whether the second substrate and the at least one second substrate are the same component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 18-21, 25, and 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Farr et al (US Pub 2010/0198009 -cited by applicant).
Re claims 16, 33: Farr discloses an endoscope accessory, the accessory comprising:
a first flexible substrate comprising a first side and a second side, wherein the first flexible substrate further comprises a window, the window defining an opening between the first side of the first flexible substrate and the second side of the first flexible substrate [0076, 0081, figure 11; see the flexible substrate 1005 with two sides and a window 1006a, 1006b];
a second substrate comprising a first surface and a second surface, the first surface of the second substrate comprising at least one radiating element, the radiating element coupled to a transmission line, the transmission line connected to a connector; wherein the transmission line is configured to transmit electrical signals towards the radiating element [0077, 0081, figure 11; see substrate 607 with two surfaces, one that comprises a radiating element 602a, 602b; also see the connector 609 connected to transmission line for transmitting signals to the radiating element];
wherein the second substrate is attached to the first flexible substrate with the first surface of the second substrate adjacent to the first flexible substrate (figure 11; see the substrates 1005, 607 that are adjacent);
and wherein the radiating element is at least partially aligned with the window of the first flexible substrate (figure 11; see the radiating element 602a, 602b and the window 1006a, 1006b).
Farr further discloses, mutatis mutandis, a method of manufacture of an endoscope accessory (see the above citations).
Re claims 18, 19, 34: The second substrate is metallized and at least an edge of the window comprises a metallized portion and wherein the edge of the window comprises a non-metallized portion aligned with the transmission line, wherein the accessory is manufactured by metallizing at least an edge of the at least one window of the first flexible substrate and metallizing the second substrate (figure 11; see the substrate 607 that is a circuit with metallic components which is adjacent the windows, thereby having a metallized portion, wherein the optical window portion is non-metallized).
Re claims 20, 21, 35: The accessory comprising at least two radiating elements wherein the second substrate further comprises a plurality of metallized via-holes between the at least two radiating elements, which are manufactured by the steps of drilling via-holes on the second substrate and metallizing the via-holes [0081; see elements 602a, 602b and see the metallized via holes as part of the circuitry substrate 607].
Re claim 25: The second side of the first flexible substrate comprises the transmission line and the first side of the first flexible substrate comprises a ground plane (figure 11; see the transmission line for the first substrate 1005 which has a ground plane).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17, 24, 26-28, and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farr et al, in view of Guardiola et al (“Design and Evaluation of an Antenna Applicator for a Microwave Colonoscopy System” -cited by applicant).
Re claims 17, 24, 26, 27, 30-32: Farr discloses all features including the second substrate is metallized and at least an edge of the window comprises a metallized portion and the edge of the window comprises a non-metallized portion aligned with the transmission line and further comprising at least two radiating elements wherein the second substrate further comprises a plurality of metallized via-holes between the at least two radiating elements (figure 11; see the substrate 607 that is a circuit with metallic components which is adjacent the windows, thereby having a metallized portion, wherein the optical window portion is non-metallized; 0081; see elements 602a, 602b and see the metallized via holes as part of the circuitry substrate), except that the radiating element is printed or etched on the second substrate. However, Guardiola teaches of a microwave system wherein the radiating element is printed or etched on the second substrate (page 3, column 2; see the printed element on the substrate). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Farr, to print the element as taught by Guardiola, as such is well known manner of coupling and would yield predictable results.
Re claim 28: Farr discloses an endoscope accessory, the accessory comprising:
a first flexible substrate comprising a first side and a second side, wherein the first flexible substrate further comprises a window, the window defining an opening between the first side of the first flexible substrate and the second side of the first flexible substrate [0076, 0081, figure 11; see the flexible substrate 1005 with two sides and a window 1006a, 1006b];
a second substrate comprising a first surface and a second surface, the first surface of the second substrate comprising at least one radiating element, the radiating element coupled to a transmission line, the transmission line connected to a connector; wherein the transmission line is configured to transmit electrical signals towards the radiating element [0077, 0081, figure 11; see substrate 607 with two surfaces, one that comprises a radiating element 602a, 602b; also see the connector 609 connected to transmission line for transmitting signals to the radiating element];
wherein the second substrate is attached to the first flexible substrate with the first surface of the second substrate adjacent to the first flexible substrate (figure 11; see the substrates 1005, 607 that are adjacent);
and wherein the radiating element is at least partially aligned with the window of the first flexible substrate (figure 11; see the radiating element 602a, 602b and the window 1006a, 1006b).
The accessory is part of a system with an external unit to provide and process the signals [0046, 0047; see control and display unit 610], but the unit does not provide and process microwave signals to detect polyps. However, Guardiola teaches of an antenna applicator for a microwave colonoscopy system (see abstract). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Farr, to receive and process microwave signals as taught by Guardiola, as such is well known to detect colorectal cancer and would improve the medical procedure.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farr et al, as applied to claim 16.
Re claim 22: Farr discloses the optical windows 1006a, 1006b (figure 11) but does not disclose that the window has a width and length comprised in a range from 0.1A to 0.5A, where A represents the length of a wavelength of a microwave signal which, in use, is transmitted and/or received by the accessory. However, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Farr to configure the window with the specified dimensions, as such can be attained through routine experimentation to achieve optimal/predictable results.
Claims 23 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farr or Farr/Guardiola, as applied to claims 16 and 28, further in view of Garrido et al (“Automatic Polyp Detection Using Microwave Endoscopy for Colorectal Cancer Prevention and Early Detection: Phantom Validation” -cited by applicant).
Re claims 23, 29: Farr or Farr/Guardiola disclose all features including two radiating elements and a connection point (figure 11: see elements 602a, 602b and connector 609 of Farr) but does not disclose a multiplexor to select a signal coming from one of the at least two radiating elements. However, Garrido teaches of a microwave endoscopy system including a multiplexor to select a signal coming from one of the at least two radiating elements (pg 148050, colum 1; see the antenna arrays that are multiplexed). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify
Conclusion
/MICHAEL T ROZANSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797