DETAILED ACTION
2. This communication is a first office action, non-final rejection on the merits. Claims 1-15, filed as preliminary amendment, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-2, 4-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Tazume (JP-2021-054320A) in view of JP-2020-513122A ( inventor unknown, hereinafter “JP-3122”) in view of Beaurepaire et al. ( USP 2021/0012669).
As Per Claim 1, Tazume teaches, an operation control device of an air vehicle (UAV 1, Fig.1, [0005-0007), comprising: a weather information acquisition section that acquires weather information on a flight route of the air vehicle; ([0006], [0017], [0018], [0026], [0028], [0036-0037], [0042]); and a flight route designing section that modifies the flight route based on the impact range of the noise calculated by the noise impact range estimation section ([0025]).
However, Tazume does not explicitly teach, an air-vehicle information storage section that stores information on a structure and performance of the air vehicle;
a map information storage section that stores map information including information on a living area and topography; a noise impact range estimation section that calculates an impact range of noise generated by the air vehicle based on at least the weather information, the air vehicle information on the structure and the performance of the air vehicle, the map information, and the flight route, and/or other information.
In an analogous art, (JP-2020513122, hereinafter “JP-3122“), teaches, navigation systems for drones, wherein, an air-vehicle information storage section that stores information on a structure and performance of the air vehicle; a map information storage section that stores map information including information on a living area and topography; ( via UAV 100 using SLAM algorithm to determine UAV’s current and planned locations, and storing “a large area feature map onboard the UAV”, Page 11, 4th and 5th para, Figs. 1,3,4,6 and 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tazume and “JP3122” before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Tazume, to include the drone navigation teachings ( SLAM algorithm and on board database) of “JP-3122” and configure with the system of Tazume in order to UAV achieve SLAM algorithm and onboard database of the large area feature maps to adjust UAV flight route based on portion of the geographic area and population. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to using geographic area map to control UAV flight operation based on population density (i.e., an added safety feature to fly UAV at certain altitude in human population area and keep noise under tolerance level).
However, Tazume in view of “JP-3122”does not explicitly teach, a noise impact range estimation section that calculates an impact range of noise generated by the air vehicle based on at least the weather information, the air vehicle information on the structure and the performance of the air vehicle, the map information, and the flight route, and/or other information.
In an analogous Art, Beaurepaire et al.( Beaurepaire) teaches, method and apparatus for routing an aerial vehicle based on a relative noise impact, wherein,
a noise impact range estimation section that calculates an impact range of noise generated by the air vehicle based on at least the weather information,[0043] the air vehicle information on the structure and the performance of the air vehicle, the map information, and the flight route, and/or other information ( via mapping module 310, real-time data module 303, routing module 305 and routing validation module 307 of aerial vehicle routing platform 111, [0043-0048], Figs. 1, 3 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tazume “JP-3122” and Beaurepaire before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Tazume, to include the teachings (modules 301-307 of drone routing platform 111) and configure with the system of Tazume in order to estimating noise impact based in different parameters and controlling the UAV flight route to have minimum noise effect on resident. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to generate UAV flight route based on wind velocity, atmospheric temperature, flight speed to estimate noise impact, using permissible noise level near the ground and to control UAV to suppress generated noise to allowable level or less, and control UAV flight operation (i.e., an added safety feature to fly UAV at certain altitude in human population area and keep noise under tolerance level ).
As per Claim 2, Tazume as modified by “JP-3122” and Beaurepaire teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, Tazume in view of “JP-3122” and Beaurepaire teaches, wherein the weather information includes wind condition information including prediction information on wind speed and a wind direction, and the noise impact range estimation section sets an impact range of the noise based on an expansion coefficient of a noise propagation range according to the wind speed (Beaurepaire: via mapping module 310, real-time data module 303, routing module 305 and routing validation module 307 of aerial vehicle routing platform 111, [0043-0048], Figs. 1, 3 and 4). (See claim 1 above for rationale supporting obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine.).
As per Claim 4, Tazume as modified by “JP-3122” and Beaurepaire teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, Tazume in view of “JP-3122” and Beaurepaire teaches, wherein the map information storage section stores information on structures on the ground, and the noise impact range estimation section sets the noise impact range based on the information on the structures on the ground and the topography around the flight route. (Beaurepaire: via mapping module 310, real-time data module 303, routing module 305 and routing validation module 307 of aerial vehicle routing platform 111, [0043-0048], Figs. 1, 3 and 4). (See claim 1 above for rationale supporting obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine.).
As per Claim 5, Tazume as modified by “JP-3122” and Beaurepaire teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, Tazume in view of “JP-3122” and Beaurepaire further teaches, wherein the map information storage section includes predictive information on a densely populated area, and the flight route designing section designs the flight route to avoid overlap between the noise impact range estimated by the noise impact range estimation section and the densely populated area , (“JP-3122”: via UAV 100 using SLAM algorithm to determine UAV’s current and planned locations, and storing “a large area feature map onboard the UAV”, Page 11, 4th and 5th para, Figs. 1,3,4,6 and 9). (See claim 1 above for rationale supporting obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine.).
As per Claim 6, Tazume as modified by “JP-3122” and Beaurepaire teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, Tazume in view of “JP-3122” and Beaurepaire further teaches, wherein the air-vehicle information storage section includes information on propulsion performance of the air vehicle, (“JP-3122”: via UAV 100 using SLAM algorithm to determine UAV’s current and planned locations, and storing “a large area feature map onboard the UAV”, Page 11, 4th and 5th para, Figs. 1,3,4,6 and 9); and the noise impact range estimation section estimates an impact range of noise generated by the air vehicle being a noise source, based on the information on the propulsion performance.(Beaurepaire: via mapping module 310, real-time data module 303, routing module 305 and routing validation module 307 of aerial vehicle routing platform 111, [0043-0048], Figs. 1, 3 and 4). (See claim 1 above for rationale supporting obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine.).
As per Claim 7, Tazume as modified by “JP-3122” and Beaurepaire teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, Tazume in view of “JP-3122” and Beaurepaire further teaches, wherein when current or prediction information on the weather information or the map information varies, the flight route designing section modifies the flight route of the air vehicle based on the noise impact range estimated by the noise impact range estimation section, (Beaurepaire: via mapping module 310, real-time data module 303, routing module 305 and routing validation module 307 of aerial vehicle routing platform 111, [0043-0048], Figs. 1, 3 and 4). (See claim 1 above for rationale supporting obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine.).
As per Claim 8, Tazume as modified by “JP-3122” and Beaurepaire teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, Tazume in view of “JP-3122” and Beaurepaire further teaches, a flight speed designing section that designs a plan of flight speed of the air vehicle, wherein when a flight distance to a destination of the air vehicle is changed due to modification of the flight route, (Beaurepaire : via aerial vehicle routing platform 111, [0097]).
However, Baeurepaire does not teach, the flight speed designing section redesigns the flight speed to prevent delay in arrival time to the destination.
Therefore, like calculating 3D route planning taking into consideration of UAV speed calculation as in Beaurepaire, it would have been obvious to increase the speed of UAV when the destination distance changes (increase) to prevent delay arrival.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tazume and Beaurepaire before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Tazume, to include the teachings (modules 301-307 of drone routing platform 111) and configure with the system of Tazume in order to increase the UAV speed when destination distance increases in order to prevent delay of arrival. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to arrive on time at destination.
As per Claim 10, Tazume as modified by “JP-3122” and Beaurepaire teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, Tazume in view of “JP-3122” and Beaurepaire further teaches, wherein the noise impact range estimation section sets the noise impact range while dividing the densely populated area into a plurality of areas according to population density, and changing a noise level according to the population density (Beaurepaire: via mapping module 310, real-time data module 303, routing module 305 and routing validation module 307 of aerial vehicle routing platform 111, [0043-0048], Figs. 1, 3 and 4). (See claim 1 above for rationale supporting obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine.).
5. Claims 11-12 , 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Tazume (JP-2021-054320A) in view of Beaurepaire et al. ( USP 2021/0012669).
As Per Claim 11, Tazume teaches, an operation control method of an operation control device that controls an air vehicle (UAV 1, Fig.1, [0005-0007), that flies along a flight route, the operation control method comprising: acquiring weather information for the flight route of the air vehicle; ([0006], [0017], [0018], [0026], [0028], [0036-0037], [0042]); and modifying the flight route based on the calculated impact range of the noise ([0025]).
However, Tazume does not explicitly teach, calculating an impact range of noise generated by the air vehicle, based on the weather information, air vehicle information on a structure and performance of the air vehicle, map information, and a flight plan, and/or other information.
In an analogous Art, Beaurepaire et al.( Beaurepaire) teaches, method and apparatus for routing an aerial vehicle based on a relative noise impact, wherein,
calculating an impact range of noise generated by the air vehicle, based on the weather information, air vehicle information on a structure and performance of the air vehicle, map information, and a flight plan, and/or other information (via mapping module 310, real-time data module 303, routing module 305 and routing validation module 307 of aerial vehicle routing platform 111, [0043-0048], Figs. 1, 3 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tazume and Beaurepaire before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Tazume, to include the teachings (modules 301-307 of drone routing platform 111) and configure with the system of Tazume in order to estimating noise impact based in different parameters and controlling the UAV flight route to have minimum noise effect on resident . Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to generate UAV flight route based on wind velocity, atmospheric temperature, flight speed to estimate noise impact and control UAV flight route using permissible noise level near the ground and to control UAV to suppress generated noise to allowable level or less, and control UAV flight operation (i.e., an added safety feature to fly UAV at certain altitude in human population area and keep noise under tolerance level).
As per Claim 12, Tazume as modified by Beaurepaire teaches the limitation of Claim 11. However, Tazume in view of Beaurepaire further teaches, wherein the weather information includes wind condition information including prediction information on wind speed and a wind direction, and the nose impact range is set based on an expansion coefficient of a noise propagation range according to the wind speed (Beaurepaire: via mapping module 310, real-time data module 303, routing module 305 and routing validation module 307 of aerial vehicle routing platform 111, [0043-0048], Figs. 1, 3 and 4). (See claim 11 above for rationale supporting obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine.).
As per Claim 14, Tazume as modified by Beaurepaire teaches the limitation of Claim 11. However, Tazume in view of Beaurepaire further teaches, wherein the noise impact range is set based on information on structures on the ground and topography around the flight route (Beaurepaire: via mapping module 310, real-time data module 303, routing module 305 and routing validation module 307 of aerial vehicle routing platform 111, [0043-0048], Figs. 1, 3 and 4). (See claim 11 above for rationale supporting obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine.).
As per Claim 15, Tazume as modified by Beaurepaire and “JP-3122” teaches the limitation of Claim 11. However, Tazume in view of Beaurepaire and “JP-3122” further teaches, wherein the flight route is designed to avoid overlap between the calculated noise impact range and a densely populated area, (Beaurepaire: [0043], [0044-0048]). (See claim 11 above for rationale supporting obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine.).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 3, 9 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MUHAMMAD SHAFI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666C