DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 4 have been amended.
Claims 2-3 have been cancelled.
There are no new claims.
Claim 1 and 4-5 are currently pending.
The official correspondence below is an after non-final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (US 20210062467 A1) in view of King (US 20040238243 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 1, Watanabe discloses, a vehicle body (Watanabe: [FIG. 1]); a diesel engine (Watanabe: [0030] The engine 11 is mounted on the revolving frame 6, and is configured of an internal combustion engine such as a diesel engine); a generator that generates an electric power using a driving force of the diesel engine (Watanabe: [0011] an electric motor that is driven and rotated by the engine to generate power); a traveling motor (Watanabe: [0027] the operator can operate (drive) the traveling hydraulic motors 2B, 2C) that generates a driving force (Watanabe: [0027] the operator can operate (drive) the traveling hydraulic motors 2B, 2C) for rotating a tire (Watanabe: [0022] The lower traveling structure 2 includes, for example, crawler tracks 2A, and left and right traveling hydraulic motors 2B, 2C (refer to FIG. 2) causing the hydraulic excavator 1 to travel by causing the crawler tracks 2A to be driven and circulated) using the electric power generated by the generator (Watanabe: [FIG. 2] see main engine a and electric power connected to pump that power tracks that facilitate movement), and generates an electric power through braking of the tire (Watanabe: [0040] In this way, the electricity storage device 19 stores therein the power generated by the assist power generation motor 15 and the regenerative power generated by the revolving electric motor 20 at the revolution braking time of the hydraulic excavator 1); and a controller configured to control the diesel engine (Watanabe: [0030] The engine 11 is mounted on the revolving frame 6, and is configured of an internal combustion engine such as a diesel engine. The hydraulic pump 12 and the assist power generation motor 15 to be described later are attached mechanically to the output side of the engine 11 for serial connection. The hydraulic pump 12 and the assist power generation motor 15 are driven and rotated by the engine 11. The engine 11 is controlled by an engine control unit (not shown) called “ECU”; [0043]), the generator (Watanabe: [0030] The engine 11 is mounted on the revolving frame 6, and is configured of an internal combustion engine such as a diesel engine. The hydraulic pump 12 and the assist power generation motor 15 to be described later are attached mechanically to the output side of the engine 11 for serial connection. The hydraulic pump 12 and the assist power generation motor 15 are driven and rotated by the engine 11. The engine 11 is controlled by an engine control unit (not shown) called “ECU”; [0043]), and the traveling motor (Watanabe: [0027] the operator can operate (drive) the traveling hydraulic motors 2B, 2C; [0036] The first inverter 16 is configured using a plurality of switching elements such as a transistor and an insulating gate bipolar transistor (IGBT). An on/off operation of each of the switching elements in the first inverter 16 is controlled by a motor generator control unit (not shown) called “MGCU”. As a result, generating power (regenerative power) at the power generation time and drive power at the power running time of the assist power generation motor 15 are controlled; [0043]), wherein the generator (Watanabe: [0030] The engine 11 is mounted on the revolving frame 6, and is configured of an internal combustion engine such as a diesel engine. The hydraulic pump 12 and the assist power generation motor 15 to be described later are attached mechanically to the output side of the engine 11 for serial connection. The hydraulic pump 12 and the assist power generation motor 15 are driven and rotated by the engine 11. The engine 11 is controlled by an engine control unit (not shown) called “ECU”; [0043]) is configured to generate a traveling electric power (Watanabe: [0011] an electric motor that is driven and rotated by the engine to generate power or assists in a drive of the engine with supply of power; an electricity storage device that stores the power generated by the electric motor or supplies the stored power to the electric motor) to be supplied to the traveling motor (Watanabe: [0011] an electric motor that is driven and rotated by the engine to generate power or assists in a drive of the engine with supply of power; an electricity storage device that stores the power generated by the electric motor or supplies the stored power to the electric motor) and an auxiliary electric power (Watanabe: [0011] an electric motor that is driven and rotated by the engine to generate power or assists in a drive of the engine with supply of power; an electricity storage device that stores the power generated by the electric motor or supplies the stored power to the electric motor) to be supplied to an auxiliary machine mounted on the vehicle body (Watanabe: [0024] The upper revolving structure 4 is mounted on the lower traveling structure 2 through the revolving device 3 including revolving bearings, a speed reducing mechanism, a revolving hydraulic motor 3A (refer to FIG. 2 to FIG. 5), and a revolving electric motor 20 (FIG. 2 to FIG. 5), which will be described later. The revolving hydraulic motor 3A as a hydraulic motor (a hydraulic actuator) rotates based upon delivery of pressurized oil from the hydraulic pump 12. The revolving electric motor 20 rotates based upon delivery of power from the electricity storage device 19), the transportation vehicle further comprises an exhaust gas purifying device (Watanabe: [0031] the engine 11 includes, an engine auxiliary 11A (refer to FIG. 6) incorporated in the engine 11 such as a fuel injection device (an injector) , a turbocharger 11B (refer to FIG. 6) as a supercharger, and an exhaust gas purifying device 11C (refer to FIG. 6) for purifying an exhaust gas. The exhaust gas purifying device 11C is provided with, for example, an oxidation catalyst (DOC) that oxidizes and removes nitric oxide (NO), carbon oxide (CO) and hydrocarbon (HC) contained in an exhaust gas, and a particulate matter removal filter (DPF) that traps and removes particulate matter (PM) in an exhaust gas ... the exhaust gas purifying device 11C is provided with, for example, a urea water injection device that injects urea aqueous solution toward an exhaust gas, and a selective reduction catalyst that selectively carries out a reduction reaction of nitric oxides (NOx) contained in an exhaust gas with ammonia generated from the urea aqueous solution to be decomposed into nitrogen and water ... the engine auxiliary 11A, the turbocharger 11B and the exhaust gas purifying device 11C are cooled by engine cooling water as a cooling medium (a heat-transfer medium) for cooling the engine 11) that removes harmful substances contained in an exhaust gas generated from the diesel engine (Watanabe: [0031] the engine 11 includes, an engine auxiliary 11A (refer to FIG. 6) incorporated in the engine 11 such as a fuel injection device (an injector) , a turbocharger 11B (refer to FIG. 6) as a supercharger, and an exhaust gas purifying device 11C (refer to FIG. 6) for purifying an exhaust gas. The exhaust gas purifying device 11C is provided with, for example, an oxidation catalyst (DOC) that oxidizes and removes nitric oxide (NO), carbon oxide (CO) and hydrocarbon (HC) contained in an exhaust gas, and a particulate matter removal filter (DPF) that traps and removes particulate matter (PM) in an exhaust gas ... the exhaust gas purifying device 11C is provided with, for example, a urea water injection device that injects urea aqueous solution toward an exhaust gas, and a selective reduction catalyst that selectively carries out a reduction reaction of nitric oxides (NOx) contained in an exhaust gas with ammonia generated from the urea aqueous solution to be decomposed into nitrogen and water ... the engine auxiliary 11A, the turbocharger 11B and the exhaust gas purifying device 11C are cooled by engine cooling water as a cooling medium (a heat-transfer medium) for cooling the engine 11), identify an additional electric power (Watanabe: [0015] an assist power generation motor, an electricity storage device; [0034] The assist power generation motor 15 as a power generation electric motor; [0038] The electricity storage device 19 is connected to the DC buses 17A, 17B. That is, the electricity storage device 19 is connected electrically via the DC buses 17A, 17B to the assist power generation motor 15 and the revolving electric motor 20. The electricity storage device 19 is configured by ... an assembled battery (a lithium-ion battery unit) by electrically connecting a plurality of cells in the lithium-ion battery in series and in parallel, or in series or in parallel. The electricity storage device 19 stores therein the generating power supplied from the assist power generation motor 15, or supplies the stored power to the assist power generation motor; [0094] the electricity storage device maybe configured of any one of various kinds of secondary batteries capable of supplying necessary power) and a consumable electric power (Watanabe: [0015] an assist power generation motor, an electricity storage device; [0034] The assist power generation motor 15 as a power generation electric motor; [0038] The electricity storage device 19 is connected to the DC buses 17A, 17B. That is, the electricity storage device 19 is connected electrically via the DC buses 17A, 17B to the assist power generation motor 15 and the revolving electric motor 20. The electricity storage device 19 is configured by ... an assembled battery (a lithium-ion battery unit) by electrically connecting a plurality of cells in the lithium-ion battery in series and in parallel, or in series or in parallel. The electricity storage device 19 stores therein the generating power supplied from the assist power generation motor 15, or supplies the stored power to the assist power generation motor; [0094] the electricity storage device maybe configured of any one of various kinds of secondary batteries capable of supplying necessary power), the additional electric power being generated by the generator (Watanabe: [0011] an electric motor that is driven and rotated by the engine to generate power or assists in a drive of the engine with supply of power; an electricity storage device that stores the power generated by the electric motor or supplies the stored power to the electric motor; [0015] an assist power generation motor) in addition to the traveling electric power (Watanabe: [0065] the electricity storage device 19 is configured of a lithium-ion battery) and the auxiliary electric power (Watanabe: [0094] the electricity storage device maybe configured of any one of various kinds of secondary batteries capable of supplying necessary power).
Watanabe does not explicitly disclose, that converts the electric power generated by the traveling motor into heat to consume the electric power; and the controller is configured to: in a case of causing the generator to generate a load necessary to increase a temperature of the exhaust gas to a cleaning temperature, and the consumable electric power being consumable by the grid box other than the electric power generated by the traveling motor; in a case where the consumable electric power is equal to or more than the additional electric power, cause the generator to generate the additional electric power in addition to the traveling electric power and the auxiliary electric power to increase the temperature of the exhaust gas to the cleaning temperature, and cause the grid box to consume the electric power generated by the traveling motor and the additional electric power; and in a case where the consumable electric power is less than the additional electric power, cause the generator to generate the consumable electric power in addition to the traveling electric power and the auxiliary electric power to increase the temperature of the exhaust gas to a temperature below the cleaning temperature, and cause the grid box to consume the electric power generated by the traveling motor and the consumable electric power.
However, in the same field of endeavor, King discloses, a grid box (King: [0003] an electrically resistive grid (known as a dynamic braking grid or load box) is used to convert the electrical energy into heat energy, which is then vented to the atmosphere; [0010] controlling catalyst temperature of an exhaust system for a hybrid vehicle includes determining a mode of operation in which engine output power levels are below a threshold value, and using stored energy within an energy storage system of the vehicle to heat a vehicle exhaust catalyst whenever the engine output levels are below a threshold value; [0022] FIG. 11 is a flow diagram illustrating the use of captured electrical energy in an OHV for heating an exhaust system catalyst during periods of low power demand, in accordance with a further aspect of the present invention) that converts the electric power generated by the traveling motor into heat to consume the electric power (King: [0003] an electrically resistive grid (known as a dynamic braking grid or load box) is used to convert the electrical energy into heat energy, which is then vented to the atmosphere; [0010] controlling catalyst temperature of an exhaust system for a hybrid vehicle includes determining a mode of operation in which engine output power levels are below a threshold value, and using stored energy within an energy storage system of the vehicle to heat a vehicle exhaust catalyst whenever the engine output levels are below a threshold value; [0022] FIG. 11 is a flow diagram illustrating the use of captured electrical energy in an OHV for heating an exhaust system catalyst during periods of low power demand, in accordance with a further aspect of the present invention); and the controller is configured to: in a case of causing the generator to generate a load necessary to increase a temperature of the exhaust gas to a cleaning temperature (King: [0049] trap filters rely on high temperatures for proper operation. At low engine power levels (e.g., during a braking operation), DC power from the DC bus or from the energy storage devices could be used to heat the catalysts. Conventional diesel or gasoline engines used in heavy-duty trucks often use catalysts to reduce the exhaust emissions. These catalysts are required to operate at relatively high temperatures, typically in the range of about 500 to about 700 .degree. F. One example of such a catalyst is a regenerative particulate trap or soot filter. In conventional on-road mechanically driven trucks, the catalysts are placed in the exhaust stream and are thus heated to the required operating temperature), and the consumable electric power being consumable by the grid box other than the electric power generated by the traveling motor (King: [0006] For dynamic braking power levels in excess of the first threshold level, one or more resistive grid elements are coupled in the power system to dissipate the excess power levels; [0039-0041] in the next region (B), wherein the braking power to be dissipated ranges from about 600 kw to about 900 kw, a first resistive grid (e.g., DB1 in FIG. 2) is activated such that the first grid immediately serves to dissipate about 300 kw ... once-the braking power exceeds about 900 kw, the power dissipated by the first resistive grid DB1 begins to exceed 300 kw, since the battery cannot dissipate any additional power beyond 600 kw ... ; [Claims 11] for dynamic braking power levels between said first threshold level and a second threshold level, engaging a first contactor associated with a first resistive grid so as to dissipate a first fixed amount of power therethrough; [Claim 13] second resistive grid to dissipate an additional amount of power in excess of said second threshold level therethrough; and for dynamic braking power levels between said third threshold level and a fourth threshold level, engaging a second contactor associated with a third resistive grid); in a case where the consumable electric power is equal to or more than the additional electric power (King: [0006] dynamic braking power levels in excess of the first threshold level, one or more resistive grid elements are coupled in the power system to dissipate the excess power levels; [0037]), cause the generator to generate the additional electric power (King: [0010] a method for controlling catalyst temperature of an exhaust system for a hybrid vehicle includes determining a mode of operation in which engine output power levels are below a threshold value, and using stored energy within an energy storage system of the vehicle to heat a vehicle exhaust catalyst whenever the engine output levels are below a threshold value; [0051] the hybrid OHV propulsion system is configured to use some of the energy that is wasted in the dynamic electric braking to heat the catalysts during downhill operation or during periods of relatively low power operation of the diesel engine) in addition to the traveling electric power and the auxiliary electric power (King: [0052] Thus, at decision block 1102, if output OHV engine power levels do not fall below a threshold value, no further action is taken with regard to the catalyst (as shown by return block 1104). However, if the engine power levels are below the threshold value (such as may occur during a downhill run), the process proceeds to decision block 1106 where it is determined whether the actual catalyst temperature is below the desired minimum operating temperature thereof. If not, no further action is taken at that time (block 1108). On the other hand, if the temperature is below the desired minimum operating temperature, then energy from the energy storage system will be used to heat the catalyst) to increase the temperature of the exhaust gas to the cleaning temperature (King: [0010] a method for controlling catalyst temperature of an exhaust system for a hybrid vehicle includes determining a mode of operation in which engine output power levels are below a threshold value, and using stored energy within an energy storage system of the vehicle to heat a vehicle exhaust catalyst whenever the engine output levels are below a threshold value; [0051] the hybrid OHV propulsion system is configured to use some of the energy that is wasted in the dynamic electric braking to heat the catalysts during downhill operation or during periods of relatively low power operation of the diesel engine), and cause the grid box to consume the electric power generated by the traveling motor and the additional electric power (King: [Claim 28] A method for controlling catalyst temperature of an exhaust system for a hybrid vehicle, the method comprising: determining a mode of operation in which engine output power levels are below a threshold value; and using stored energy within an energy storage system of the vehicle to heat a vehicle exhaust catalyst whenever said engine output levels are below a threshold value; [Claim 29] The method of claim 24, further comprising: following said determining a mode of operation in which engine output power levels are below a threshold value, determining whether the temperature of said vehicle catalyst is below a minimum operational threshold value; wherein said stored energy is used to heat said vehicle catalyst if said the temperature of said vehicle catalyst is below said minimum operational threshold value); and in a case where the consumable electric power is less than the additional electric power (King: [0003] an electrically resistive grid (known as a dynamic braking grid or load box) is used to convert the electrical energy into heat energy, which is then vented to the atmosphere; [0006]; [0026]; [0049] trap filters rely on high temperatures for proper operation. At low engine power levels (e.g., during a braking operation), DC power from the DC bus or from the energy storage devices could be used to heat the catalysts. Conventional diesel or gasoline engines used in heavy-duty trucks often use catalysts to reduce the exhaust emissions. These catalysts are required to operate at relatively high temperatures, typically in the range of about 500 to about 700 .degree. F. One example of such a catalyst is a regenerative particulate trap or soot filter. In conventional on-road mechanically driven trucks, the catalysts are placed in the exhaust stream and are thus heated to the required operating temperature), cause the generator to generate the consumable electric power in addition to the traveling electric power and the auxiliary electric power to increase the temperature of the exhaust gas to a temperature below the cleaning temperature (King: [Claim 28] A method for controlling catalyst temperature of an exhaust system for a hybrid vehicle, the method comprising: determining a mode of operation in which engine output power levels are below a threshold value; and using stored energy within an energy storage system of the vehicle to heat a vehicle exhaust catalyst whenever said engine output levels are below a threshold value; [Claim 29] The method of claim 24, further comprising: following said determining a mode of operation in which engine output power levels are below a threshold value, determining whether the temperature of said vehicle catalyst is below a minimum operational threshold value; wherein said stored energy is used to heat said vehicle catalyst if said the temperature of said vehicle catalyst is below said minimum operational threshold value; [0049] trap filters rely on high temperatures for proper operation. At low engine power levels (e.g., during a braking operation), DC power from the DC bus or from the energy storage devices could be used to heat the catalysts. Conventional diesel or gasoline engines used in heavy-duty trucks often use catalysts to reduce the exhaust emissions. These catalysts are required to operate at relatively high temperatures, typically in the range of about 500 to about 700 .degree. F. One example of such a catalyst is a regenerative particulate trap or soot filter. In conventional on-road mechanically driven trucks, the catalysts are placed in the exhaust stream and are thus heated to the required operating temperature), and cause the grid box to consume the electric power generated by the traveling motor and the consumable electric power (King: [0049] trap filters rely on high temperatures for proper operation. At low engine power levels (e.g., during a braking operation), DC power from the DC bus or from the energy storage devices could be used to heat the catalysts. Conventional diesel or gasoline engines used in heavy-duty trucks often use catalysts to reduce the exhaust emissions. These catalysts are required to operate at relatively high temperatures, typically in the range of about 500 to about 700 .degree. F. One example of such a catalyst is a regenerative particulate trap or soot filter. In conventional on-road mechanically driven trucks, the catalysts are placed in the exhaust stream and are thus heated to the required operating temperature), for the benefit of energy management parameter particularly in storing or dissipating dynamic energy.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process disclosed by Watanabe to include three energy sources, including thresholds for recruiting energy sources, to heat a catalyst in a resistive grid to burn off bad stuff taught by King. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to energy management parameter particularly in storing or dissipating dynamic energy.
REGARDING CLAIM 4, Watanabe, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, King also discloses, even in the case where the consumable electric power is less than the additional electric power, in a case where a difference between the additional electric power and the consumable electric power is equal to or more than a threshold value, the controller does not cause the generator to generate the consumable electric power (King: [0044] the power capability of the motor becomes equal to the power drawn by the resistor grids, and thus no braking operation is possible beyond that speed. On the other hand, with energy storage capability, additional power may be supplied to the grids from the storage battery so that dynamic braking operation at higher speeds is enabled; [Claim 15]).
REGARDING CLAIM 5, Watanabe, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, King also discloses, in a case where the traveling motor is not generating the electric power, the controller determines that the additional electric power can be consumed by the grid box (King: [0006] In another aspect, a method for controlling a power system of a hybrid vehicle includes, during a dynamic braking mode of operation, configuring the power system so as to allow a storage battery to receive dynamic braking power outputted by a traction motor of the system, the battery receiving the dynamic braking power up to a first threshold level. For dynamic braking power levels in excess of the first threshold level, one or more resistive grid elements are coupled in the power system to dissipate the excess power levels).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to §112(b) rejection of record, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The §112(b) rejection of record has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of the independent claim(s) under 35 USC §103, obviousness, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the reference combination applied in the prior rejection of record for matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663