DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura (US 2021/0084212) (Kazuya Tamura) in view of Narushima et al. (US 2024/0308338) (Noriaki Narushima).
Regarding Claim 1, Tamura discloses an occupant imaging apparatus, comprising: a board; an imager disposed on the board to image at least one occupant on a driver seat, a passenger's seat, or a rear seat of a vehicle [See abstract and Paragraphs 77-89 unit 7-8, 4, 4a, 4b]; and a plurality of light emitters disposed on the board to emit light to be directed to the at least one occupant [See Paragraphs 56-60, 85-91 and Figs. 5-7 e.g. unit 4a-b] and ,a light proof enclosure covering the imager and the plurality of light emitters, the light proof enclosure including a wall that prevents the light emitted from the plurality of light emitters from entering the imager, and the wall of the light proof enclosure is disposed between the imager and the plurality of light emitters [See Paragraphs 55-60 and Figs. 4-5].
Tamura doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of light emitters are located on one side of the imager in a vehicle- width direction of the vehicle.
However, Narushima discloses wherein the plurality of light emitters are located on one side of the imager in a vehicle- width direction of the vehicle [See abstract and Paragraphs 39-40],
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at time of invention to modify the system disclosed by Tamura to add the teachings in Narushima as above, to provide a device that reduced power consumption of the light source, enhanced convenience for the occupant and improved the visibility of the displayed virtual image [See Narushima Paragraphs 5].
Regarding Claim 2, Tamura discloses wherein the plurality of light emitters include a first light emitter and a second light emitter, the occupant imaging apparatus, further comprising a light guide to direct light from the first light emitter to the occupant on the driver seat, and direct light from the second light emitter to the occupant on the passenger's seat or the rear seat [See Paragraphs 56-60, 85-91 and Figs. 5-7 e.g. unit 4a-b].
Regarding Claim 3, Tamura discloses wherein the occupant imaging apparatus is disposed in a central portion of a front portion in a cabin of the vehicle [See Paragraphs 29-36 and Claim 9].
Regarding Claim 4, Tamura doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the occupant imaging apparatus is disposed to face the driver seat, and the plurality of light emitters include a first light emitter and a second light emitter, the occupant imaging apparatus, further comprising a light guide to direct light from the first light emitter to the occupant on the driver seat, and direct light from the second light emitter to the occupant on the driver seat in a range that differs in directing angle and directing distance from the light from the first light emitter
However, Narushima discloses wherein the occupant imaging apparatus is disposed to face the driver seat, and the plurality of light emitters include a first light emitter and a second light emitter, the occupant imaging apparatus, further comprising a light guide to direct light from the first light emitter to the occupant on the driver seat, and direct light from the second light emitter to the occupant on the driver seat in a range that differs in directing angle and directing distance from the light from the first light emitter [See Paragraphs 35-43].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at time of invention to modify the system disclosed by Tamura to add the teachings in Narushima as above, to provide a device that reduced power consumption of the light source, enhanced convenience for the occupant and improved the visibility of the displayed virtual image [See Narushima Paragraphs 5].
Regarding Claim 5, Tamura doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of light emitters include a first light emitter and a second light emitter, the occupant imaging apparatus, further comprising a light guide to direct light from the first light emitter and light from the second light emitter in a same direction
However, Narushima discloses wherein the plurality of light emitters include a first light emitter and a second light emitter, the occupant imaging apparatus, further comprising a light guide to direct light from the first light emitter and light from the second light emitter in a same direction [See Paragraphs 35-43].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at time of invention to modify the system disclosed by Tamura to add the teachings in Narushima as above, to provide a device that reduced power consumption of the light source, enhanced convenience for the occupant and improved the visibility of the displayed virtual image [See Narushima Paragraphs 5].
Regarding Claim 6, Tamura discloses wherein the plurality of light emitters include a first light emitter and a second light emitter, the occupant imaging apparatus, further comprising a light guide to direct light from the first light emitter and light from the second light emitter in different directions [See Paragraphs 85-90 and Fig. 7].
Regarding Claim 7, Tamura discloses a power circuit disposed on the board, the power circuit being electrically connected to the plurality of light emitters, wherein the power circuit is located on a same side as the plurality of light emitters with respect to the imager in a plan view of the board [See Paragraphs 56-70].
Regarding Claim 8, the limitations claimed are substantially similar to claim 1 above, therefore the ground for rejecting claim l also applies here.
Regarding Claim 9, the limitations claimed are substantially similar to claim 1 above, therefore the ground for rejecting claim l also applies here.
Conclusion
/TSION B OWENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487