DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2009-203860 to Tomota (Tomota).
In reference to claim 1, Tomota teaches a process for feeding, with gaseous CO₂ (FIG. 1-4), a site (FIG. 1-4) comprising an installation (84, FIG. 1-4) requiring CO₂ or a mixture comprising CO₂ (abstract), the process comprising the steps of supplying hot water to the site using a boiler (20, FIG. 1-4), the boiler employing oxy-fuel combustion between a fuel (71, FIG. 1-4) and pure oxygen (52, FIG. 1-4), the pure oxygen fed to the boiler (20, FIG. 1-4) being obtained from a liquid oxygen source (51, FIG. 1-4) present on the site; recovering (at 80, FIG. 1-4) all or part of CO₂ contained in flue gases produced by the boiler (20, FIG. 1-4), arranging heat exchange (within 60, FIG. 1-4) between the flue gases and the liquid oxygen in a heat exchanger (60, FIG. 1-4) and recovering CO₂ in its gaseous form or its liquid form (at 84, FIG. 1-4), while having purified in the heat exchange all or part of water comprised in the flue gases (water separated in combustion and recovered in 83, FIG. 1-4).
In reference to claim 2, Tomota teaches the process as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Tomota additionally teaches wherein CO₂ recovered in its gaseous form (80, FIG. 1-4) is stored or sequestered for the purpose of subsequent use on the site under consideration (84, FIG. 1-4), or else used "as a just-in-time stream", as a stream "synchronized" with a hot water requirement (par 0051).
In reference to claim 3, Tomota teaches the process as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Tomota additionally teaches wherein the CO₂ thus recovered is in its liquid form is stored in a tank as liquid CO₂ for the purpose of subsequent use on the site under consideration (par 0047).
In reference to claim 4, Tomota teaches the process as explained in the rejection of claim 3 above, and Tomota additionally teaches wherein the heat exchanger (60, FIG. 1-4) in which heat exchange between the flue gases and the liquid oxygen is arranged is configured to convey the flue gases entering the heat exchanger under pressure and temperature conditions to liquefy CO₂ present in the flue gases, thus taking advantage of cold of the liquid oxygen present on the site, thereby without a need for a contribution of electrical energy (inherent in the process depicted in FIG. 1-4).
In reference to claim 8, Tomota teaches the process as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Tomota additionally teaches wherein the heat exchange between the flue gases and the liquid oxygen (in 60, FIG. 1-4) is preceded by one or more treatments of the flue gases by physical and/or chemical and/or cryogenic separation methods (in 51, FIG. 1-4), the one or more treatments comprising heating the liquid oxygen and the fuel gas in order to improve the combustion occurring in the boiler and to reduce the discharges of nitrogen oxides; condensing a steam of the flue gases and removing possible dust generated by a furnace of the boiler (condensation of 82 of water 83 suppresses dust).
In reference to claim 9, Tomota teaches a device for feeding, with gaseous CO₂, a site (FIG. 1-4) comprising an installation (20) (84, FIG. 1-4) requiring CO₂ or a mixture comprising CO₂ (abstract), the device comprising a boiler (20, FIG. 1-4) configured to and capable of providing hot water to the site (intended use recitation; the system in FIG. 1-4 is capable of performing said functional language), the boiler employing oxy-fuel combustion between a fuel (71, FIG. 1-4) and pure oxygen (52, FIG. 1-4), the oxygen fed to the boiler being obtained from a liquid oxygen source (51, FIG. 1-4) present on the site and a heat exchanger (60, FIG. 1-4) configured to arrange heat exchange between the flue gases and the liquid oxygen in order to recover (at 84, FIG. 1-4) all or part of CO₂ contained in the flue gases produced by the boiler (intended use recitation; the system in FIG. 1-4 is capable of performing said functional language), and to feed to, using the recovered CO₂, installation; wherein the heat exchanger (60, FIG. 1-4) is configured to recover, according to the use which will be made thereof on the site under consideration, CO₂ in its gaseous form or its liquid form (intended use recitation; the system in FIG. 1-4 is capable of performing said functional language), while having purified in the heat exchange all or part of water comprised in the flue gases (water separated in combustion and recovered in 83, FIG. 1-4).
In reference to claim 10, Tomota teaches the device as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Tomota additionally teaches wherein the heat exchanger (60, FIG. 1-4) in which the heat exchange between the flue gases and the liquid oxygen is arranged and configured to convey the flue gases entering the heat exchanger under pressure and temperature conditions to liquefy CO₂ present in the flue gases, thus taking advantage of cold of the liquid oxygen present on the site, thereby without a need for a contribution of electrical energy (inherent in the structure of FIG. 1-4).
In reference to claim 11, Tomota teaches the device as explained in the rejection of claim 9 above, and Tomota additionally teaches further comprising steps for treatment of the flue gases before their arrival in the heat exchanger (60, FIG. 1-4), wherein the treatment steps employ physical and/or chemical and/or cryogenic separation methods (in 51, FIG. 1-4), the treatment steps comprising one or more of the following actions heating the oxygen and the fuel gas in order to improve the combustion occurring in the boiler (20, FIG. 1-4) and to reduce the discharges of nitrogen oxides; condensing the a steam of the flue gases; and removing possible dust generated by the a furnace of the boiler (condensation of 82 of water 83 suppresses dust).
In reference to claim 12, Tomota teaches the device as explained in the rejection of claim 9 above, and Tomota additionally teaches wherein the installation requiring CO2 is an installation for anesthesia of poultry or animals, before slaughtering (intended use recitation; the system in FIG. 1-4 is capable of performing said functional language).
In reference to claim 13, Tomota teaches the device as explained in the rejection of claim 9 above, and Tomota additionally teaches wherein the installation requiring CO₂ is an installation for cultivation of plants in a greenhouse (intended use recitation; the system in FIG. 1-4 is capable of performing said functional language).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomota.
In reference to claim 5, Tomota teaches the process as claimed in claim 1, but does not teach wherein the installation requiring CO₂ is an installation for anesthesia of poultry or animals, before slaughtering.
However, the Examiner takes the Official Notice of facts not in the record by relying on “common knowledge” of various cryopreservation facilities utilizing carbon dioxide for livestock processing to be obvious in order to use waste energy resulting from air combustion.
In reference to claim 6, Tomota teaches the process as claimed in claim 1, but does not teach wherein the installation requiring CO₂ is an installation for cultivation of plants in a greenhouse.
However, the Examiner takes the Official Notice of facts not in the record by relying on “common knowledge” of various cryopreservation facilities utilizing carbon dioxide for plant cultivation to be obvious in order to use waste energy resulting from air combustion.
In reference to claim 7, Tomota teaches the process as explained in the rejection of claim 6 above, and Tomota additionally teaches wherein the requirement for CO₂ occurs essentially during the day, whereas the requirement for heating the greenhouse occurs essentially during the night, CO₂ recovered in liquid form during the night being stored in a tank for liquid CO₂ for the purpose of use of CO₂ during the day when the greenhouse requires CO₂ (inherent in the process depicted in FIG. 1-4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See attached PTO-892 for relevant prior art.
/FILIP ZEC/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
8/8/2026