DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the container having reinforcing rings and a support element as well as an insulating element enveloping the inner container must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-12, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Patterson et al. (US 4579249) (hereinafter Patterson).
Regarding Claim 1
Patterson teaches a storage container (below – Fig. 2, 10) for storing a cryogen (F), comprising an inner container (1) for receiving the cryogen and an outer container (2) in which the inner container is accommodated, wherein the outer container has reinforcing rings (3) for reinforcing the outer container, and the outer container has a support element (6) which is made of a composite material and of which at least some portions are arranged within a gap between two neighboring reinforcing rings, in order to support the reinforcing rings, as can be seen in Fig. 2 below (Col. 4, Ln.52 – Col. 5, Ln. 68).
Regarding Claims 2 and 3
Patterson teaches the inner container (1) is arranged within the reinforcing rings (3); and the inner container (1) is arranged within the support element (6), as can be seen in Fig. 2 above.
Regarding Claim 4
Patterson teaches the outer container (2) envelops the support element (6), as can be seen in Fig. 2 above.
Regarding Claims 5 and 6
Patterson teaches the reinforcing rings (3) and the support element (6) are attached to the inside of the outer container (2); and the outer container has an inner surface facing the inner container (1), and wherein the reinforcing rings (3) and the support element (6) are at least partially materially connected to the inner surface.
Regarding Claims 9 and 10
Patterson teaches a gap (9) subjected to a vacuum is provided between the inner container (1) and the outer container (2), wherein the reinforcing rings (3) and the support element (6) are arranged within the gap; and an insulating element (4) enveloping the inner container (1) is arranged in the gap, as can be seen in Fig. 2 above.
Regarding Claims 11 and 12
Patterson teaches the composite material (6) is long-fiber reinforced or short-fiber reinforced; or a laminate or a casting compound (Col. 5, Ln. 58-68).
Regarding Claim 14
Patterson teaches the inner container (1) and the outer container (2) are made of stainless steel.
Regarding Claim 15
Patterson teaches the outer container (2) has a cylindrical base portion to which the reinforcing rings (3) are attached, as can be seen in Fig. 2 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patterson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Aceves et al. (US 10082246) (hereinafter Aceves).
Regarding Claim 13
Patterson teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above. Patterson does not specifically teach the reinforcing rings are made of an aluminum alloy or a composite material.
Aceves teaches a storage container (below – Fig. 4, 400) for storing a cryogen, comprising an inner container (404) for receiving the cryogen and an outer container (402) in which the inner container is accommodated, wherein the outer container has reinforcing rings (415) for reinforcing the outer container; and the reinforcing rings are made of a composite material (Col. 6, Ln. 25-63).
Patterson and Aceves are analogous inventions in the field of cryogen containers having reinforcing rings. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the reinforcing rings of Patterson with the teachings of the reinforcing rings being made of a composite material of Aceves in order to provide reinforcing rings which have the strength to withstand a vacuum between the inner and outer containers.
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 8, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a second embodiment of Aceves et al. (US 10082246) (hereinafter Aceves2).
Regarding Claim 1
Aceves2 teaches a storage container (below – Fig. 3A and B, 300) for storing a cryogen, comprising an inner container (304) for receiving the cryogen and an outer container (302) in which the inner container is accommodated, wherein the outer container has a reinforcing ring (314) for reinforcing the outer container, and the outer container has a support element (316a/b) which is made of a composite material and supports the reinforcing ring.
Aceves2 does not teach multiple reinforcing rings, and the support element arranged within a gap between two neighboring reinforcing rings.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to have multiple reinforcing rings in order to further strengthen the outer container – see for example the embodiment shown in Fig. 4 of Aveces. Further, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
With the modified embodiment of Aceves2, it would further appear obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the support element (316a/b) would be arranged within a gap between two neighboring reinforcing rings.
As such, the claim of the container having multiple reinforcing rings, and the support element arranged within a gap between two neighboring reinforcing rings does not provide patentable distinction over the prior art of record.
Regarding Claims 2 and 3
Modified Aceves2 teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Modified Aceves2 further teaches the inner container (304) is arranged within the reinforcing rings (314); and the inner container (304) is arranged within the support element (316a/b), as can be seen in the figures above.
Regarding Claims 7 and 8
Modified Aceves2 teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Modified Aceves2 further teaches the reinforcing rings (314) and the support element (316a/b) are attached to the outside of the outer container (302); and the outer container (302) has an outer surface facing away from the inner container (304), and wherein the reinforcing rings (314) and the support element (316a/b) are materially connected to the outer surface, as can be seen in the figures above.
Regarding Claim 14
Modified Aceves2 teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Modified Aceves2 further teaches the inner container (304) and the outer container (304) are made of stainless steel.
Regarding Claim 15
Modified Aceves2 teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Modified Aceves2 further teaches the outer container (304) has a cylindrical base portion to which the reinforcing rings (314) are attached, as can be seen in the figures above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Further pertinent prior art includes but is not limited to that which is listed in the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JENNIFER CASTRIOTTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/NATHAN J JENNESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733 1 April 2026