DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of A-V, B-I, C-I, D-I, E-I, G-I, H-II, I-II, J-II, K-I, and L-II in the reply filed on January 13, 2026 is acknowledged.
Based on applicant’s arguments, the examiner groups Figures 23 and 24 together as a single election for Election Group A as well as Figures 26 and 27 together as a single election for Election Group A. Applicant has therefore elected the blade shape of Figures 26 and 27 for prosecution. It is unclear if applicant is arguing that Figures 23, 24, 26, and 27 should be a single election. The examiner finds this potential argument as not persuasive based on the different geometric properties of the blades discussed in the specification.
The other grounds of traversal are not persuasive for the following reasons.
The applicant argues with respect to group K that the elections are not mutually exclusive. The examiner disagrees, arc-shaped is not conic; conic is a constant angle and arc-shaped is related to a circle. In arguendo, arc-shaped and conic are mutually exclusive concepts where they are different even if there is overlap.
The applicant further argues that there is not a serious burden. The examiner disagrees with the allegation that separate search strategies would not be required for different leading edge shapes. The examiner maintains the rationale presented in the requirement on November 13, 2025.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 11 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species as defined in the requirement of November 13, 2025 , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on January 13, 2026.
Claim 11 is directed towards subject matter in Figures 6 and 18 ([0095]) which are not elected in based on the election of A-V.
Claim Interpretation
The examiner notes paragraph [0043], “As used herein, the terms "about" or "approximately" may refer to the stated amount or value +/- 5%”. This is considered a special definition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 10, 13, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6 and 13 recite, “wherein the root/tip of each pivotable blade conforms to the shape of an outer surface of the hub / shape of a discharge ring of the housing during rotation of the pivotable blade from a maximum pitch to a minimum pitch”. This is a functional limitation that describes how a shape interacts with another shape as it rotates. No specific structural limitations are recited in the specification are tied to this functional concept. It is unclear what is the structural requirement on the runner to meet the functional geometric requirements. Also, it is unclear what “conform” requires as there is no clear delineation of when something can be considered conforming and when it does not.
Claim 10 recites, “wherein a radius of curvature of the one or more faces is larger than a radius of curvature of the rounded edges of the hub”. Both “the one or more faces” and “the rounded edges of the hub” have insufficient antecedent basis in the claim. It is therefore unclear if the faces can be any “face” of the runner or something related to a specific component.
Claim 16 recites, “wherein, in a meridional section, the trailing edge at the root of the blade is located further downstream than the trailing edge at the tip of the blade”. The trailing edge at the root of the blade and the trailing edge at the tip of the blade are effectively two points on the blade. It is unclear how a particular section taken of the blade impacts the claimed spatial relationship of the two points.
Claim 18 recites, “wherein at least one pivotable blade of the plurality of pivotable blades has a cross section at the root with a surface curvature having a first shape and a second shape, wherein the first shape is concave and the second shape is convex”. The concept of concave and convex is unclear without given clear reference surfaces/directionality. For instance, the letter “c” may be considered concave and/or convex depending on these references. The claim does not specify any appropriate references. It is unclear if given this ambiguity is opposing curvatures are required or if a single directionality of curvature may be interpreted in both manners. The specification paragraph [0124]-[0125] appears related to the claim, but provides no clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Phan et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20170370343) hereinafter Phan.
Regarding claim 16, Phan discloses:
A runner for a hydraulic turbine {Figure 4 (2); [0001]}, comprising:
a hub {[0035]; Annotated Figure 2 the portion of (1) along (III)}; and
a plurality of pivotable blades extending from the hub {Figures 4/5, blades (3) are pivotable and extend from hub (1); [0038]},
each pivotable blade of the plurality of pivotable blades comprising a root located at the hub {Figures 3/4/5 (31) is the root and is located at the hub (1)},
a tip opposite the root {Figure 3 (33) is the tip and is opposite root (31)}, and
a leading edge opposite a trailing edge {Figure 3 (34) is opposite (32); [0033]},
wherein each pivotable blade of the plurality of pivotable blades is pivotable relative to the hub about a respective pivot axis {Figures 3 and 5, (3) are pivotable relative to the hub (1) about pivot axis (R); [0038]},
wherein for at least one blade, the leading edge at the root is positioned along a radial axis of the runner and the leading edge at the tip is cantilevered beyond the radial axis in a circumferential direction of the runner {Annotated Figure 1, the leading edge at the root (Ia) defines a radial axis of the runner which extends in/out of the page. The leading edge at the tip (Ib) is cantilevered beyond this the axis which extends through (Ia) and in/out of the page in the circumferential direction of the runner which is roughly the left/right direction in the figure}.
wherein, in a meridional section, the trailing edge at the root of the blade is located further downstream than the trailing edge at the tip of the blade {Annotated Figure 2, the trailing edge at the root (IIa) is further downstream than the trailing edge at the tip (IIb)}.
Regarding claim 17, Phan further discloses:
wherein trailing edge extends downstream of a downstream end of the hub for at least one pivotable blade of the plurality of pivotable blades {Annotated Figure 2 (3) extends downstream of (III)}.
Regarding claim 18, Phan further discloses:
wherein at least one pivotable blade of the plurality of pivotable blades has a cross section at the root with a surface curvature having a first shape and a second shape, wherein the first shape is concave and the second shape is convex {axial turbine blades implicitly have a cross-section that is hydrofoil/airfoil shaped where a pressure side is concave and a suction side is convex, see MPEP 2144.01}.
Regarding claim 20, Phan further discloses:
wherein the trailing edge of a pivotable blade of the plurality of pivotable blades bows in an upstream direction between the tip and the root of the pivotable blade {Annotated Figure 2, (IIb) is more upstream than (IIa) due to the bow between the root and the tip of the trailing edge}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7-8, 10, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phan et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20170370343) hereinafter Phan in view of Schneider et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20210231094) hereinafter Schneider.
Regarding claim 1, Phan discloses:
A runner for a hydraulic turbine {Figure 4 (2); [0001]}, comprising:
a hub {Figure 4 (1); [0035]}; and
a plurality of pivotable blades extending from the hub {Figures 4/5, blades (3) are pivotable and extend from hub (1); [0038]},
each pivotable blade of the plurality of pivotable blades comprising a root located at the hub {Figures 3/4/5 (31) is the root and is located at the hub (1)},
a tip opposite the root {Figure 3 (33) is the tip and is opposite root (31)}, and
a leading edge {Figure 3 (34); [0033]},
wherein each pivotable blade of the plurality of pivotable blades is pivotable relative to the hub about a respective pivot axis {Figures 3 and 5, (3) are pivotable relative to the hub (1) about pivot axis (R); [0038]},
wherein for at least one blade, the leading edge at the root is positioned along a radial axis of the runner and the leading edge at the tip is cantilevered beyond the radial axis in a circumferential direction of the runner {Annotated Figure 1, the leading edge at the root (Ia) defines a radial axis of the runner which extends in/out of the page. The leading edge at the tip (Ib) is cantilevered beyond this the axis which extends through (Ia) and in/out of the page in the circumferential direction of the runner which is roughly the left/right direction in the figure}.
Phan is silent regarding exact dimensions of the blade/runner and is therefore silent regarding the ratio of the thickness of the leading edge to a diameter of the runner.
Schneider pertains to hydraulic turbine runners. Schneider teaches:
wherein a ratio of a thickness of the leading edge TLE to a diameter of the runner DR is in a range of approximately 0.03 to approximately 0.35 {[0123]}.
Since Phan is silent regarding exact dimensions of the blade/runner, one of ordinary skill in the art would have to choose. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the ratio of the thickness of the leading edge to a diameter of the run be in the range of 0.03 to 0.35. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for decreased fish mortality {Schneider [0123]-[0124]}.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Phan and Schneider teaches the runner of claim 1. Phan is silent with regard to precise dimensions of the axial length of the runner and diameter of the runner and therefore does not teach:
wherein a ratio of an axial length of the runner to a diameter of the runner is less than about 0.55.
Schneider pertains to hydraulic turbine runners. Schneider teaches:
wherein a ratio of an axial length of the runner to a diameter of the runner is less than about 0.55 {[0017]/[0123]}.
Since Phan is silent regarding exact dimensions of the blade/runner, one of ordinary skill in the art would have to choose. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the ratio of the axial length of the runner to a diameter of the runner be less than 0.55 for the runner of the combination of Phan and Schneider based on the teachings of Schneider. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for decreased fish mortality {Schneider [0123]-[0124]}, the range overlaps the claimed range {MPEP 2144.05}, and the ratio is a typical value for a hydraulic turbine.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Phan and Schneider teaches the runner of claim 1. Phan is silent with regard to precise dimensions of the chordwise length of the runner and diameter of the runner and therefore does not teach:
wherein a ratio of a chord length at the tip of each pivotable blade to the diameter of the runner is less than about 0.9.
Schneider pertains to hydraulic turbine runners. Schneider teaches:
wherein a ratio of a chord length at the tip of each pivotable blade to the diameter of the runner is less than about 0.9 {[0127], 0.6-0.64}.
Since Phan is silent regarding exact dimensions of the blade/runner, one of ordinary skill in the art would have to choose. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the ratio of the chord length of the runner to a diameter of the runner be less than about 0.9 for the runner of the combination of Phan and Schneider based on the teachings of Schneider. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for decreased fish mortality {Schneider [0123]-[0124]}, the range overlaps the claimed range {MPEP 2144.05}, and the ratio is a typical value for a hydraulic turbine.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Phan and Schneider further teaches:
wherein each pivot axis is angled relative to a shaft axis of the runner at an angle between approximately 8 degrees and approximately 155 degrees {Figure 5, pivot axis (R) is angled relative to a shaft axis (H) of the runner at an angle between approximately 8 degrees and approximately 155 degrees. It is noted that the angle is close to 90 degrees and may be interpreted as slightly greater or slightly less than 90 degrees depending on the up/down directionality of (H) that the angle is measured from. See MPEP 2125}.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Phan and Schneider teaches the runner of claim 1. Phan is silent with regard to precise dimensions of the thickness of the leading edge and therefore does not teach:
wherein a thickness of the leading edge of each pivotable blade is between about 100 mm and about 700 mm.
Schneider pertains to hydraulic turbine runners. Schneider teaches:
wherein a thickness of the leading edge of each pivotable blade is between about 100 mm and about 700 mm {[0123]}.
Since Phan is silent regarding exact dimensions of the blade/runner, one of ordinary skill in the art would have to choose. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the thickness of the leading edge be between 100 mm and 700 mm. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for decreased fish mortality {Schneider [0123]-[0124]}.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Phan and Schneider teaches the runner of claim 1, but is silent regarding the precise dimensions and geometric relationships of the blade. The combination of Phan and Schneider is therefore silent regarding:
wherein a portion of the leading edge at the tip of each pivotable blade is slanted relative to a radial axis of the runner at an angle between approximately 20 degrees and approximately 90 degrees.
Schneider teaches:
wherein a portion of the leading edge at the tip of each pivotable blade is slanted relative to a radial axis of the runner at an angle between approximately 20 degrees and approximately 90 degrees {claim 12, Figure 9A (θT)}
Since the combination of Phan and Schneider is silent regarding the dimensions / angles of the blades, one of ordinary skill in the art would have to choose. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have chosen the leading edge at the tip to be slanted relative to a radial axis at an angle of between 20 degrees and 90 degrees. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for decreased fish mortality {Schneider [0141]}.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Phan and Schneider further teaches:
wherein a radius of curvature of the one or more faces is larger than a radius of curvature of the rounded edges of the hub {Phan Figure 3, the radius of curvature of the inner face of (31) has a larger radius of curvature than the corresponding rounded edge of the hub to maintain a close clearance but not interfere; [0038]. This is implicitly understood by one of ordinary skill in the art when reading the disclosure of Phan, see MPEP 2144.01}.
Regarding claim 12, Phan discloses:
A turbine {[0001]} comprising:
a housing defining an inlet and an outlet for a flow of liquid {[0001]/[0002]. The housing that defines an inlet and outlet for flow of a liquid is implicitly in the turbine with the application simply focusing on the hub/runner; see MPEP 2144.01}; and
a runner for a hydraulic turbine {Figure 4 (2); [0001]}, comprising:
a hub {Figure 4 (1); [0035]}; and
a plurality of pivotable blades extending from the hub {Figures 4/5, blades (3) are pivotable and extend from hub (1); [0038]},
each pivotable blade of the plurality of pivotable blades comprising a root located at the hub {Figures 3/4/5 (31) is the root and is located at the hub (1)},
a tip opposite the root {Figure 3 (33) is the tip and is opposite root (31)}, and
a leading edge opposite a trailing edge {Figure 3 (34) is opposite trailing edge (32); [0033]},
wherein each pivotable blade of the plurality of pivotable blades is pivotable relative to the hub about a respective pivot axis {Figures 3 and 5, (3) are pivotable relative to the hub (1) about pivot axis (R); [0038]},
wherein for at least one blade, the leading edge at the root is positioned along a radial axis of the runner and the leading edge at the tip is cantilevered beyond the radial axis in a circumferential direction of the runner {Annotated Figure 1, the leading edge at the root (Ia) defines a radial axis of the runner which extends in/out of the page. The leading edge at the tip (Ib) is cantilevered beyond this the axis which extends through (Ia) and in/out of the page in the circumferential direction of the runner which is roughly the left/right direction in the figure}.
Phan is silent regarding exact dimensions of the blade/runner and is therefore silent regarding the ratio of the thickness of the leading edge to a diameter of the runner.
Schneider pertains to hydraulic turbine runners. Schneider teaches:
wherein a ratio of a thickness of the leading edge TLE to a diameter of the runner DR is in a range of approximately 0.03 to approximately 0.35 {[0123]}.
Since Phan is silent regarding exact dimensions of the blade/runner, one of ordinary skill in the art would have to choose. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the ratio of the thickness of the leading edge to a diameter of the run be in the range of 0.03 to 0.35. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for decreased fish mortality {Schneider [0123]-[0124]}.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Phan and Schneider further teaches:
wherein the root of the trailing edge extends further downstream than a remainder of the trailing edge {Annotated Figure (IIa) is the root of the of the trailing edge and is further downstream (down in the direction of the figure) than the remainder of the trailing edge}.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phan et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20170370343) hereinafter Phan in view of Sickinger et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20150337796) hereinafter Sickinger.
Regarding claim 19, Phan discloses the runner of claim 16, but does not disclose:
wherein the hub comprises a plurality of faces that are planar,
the faces being radially spaced around a longitudinal axis of the hub.
Sickinger pertains to hydraulic turbines. Sickinger teaches:
wherein the hub comprises a plurality of faces that are planar {Annotated Figure 3 (IVa-c) are planar},
the faces being radially spaced around a longitudinal axis of the hub {Annotated Figure 3 (IVa-c) are spaced around the longitudinal axis}
Since Phan is silent regarding the internal geometry of the hub, one of ordinary skill in the art would have to choose. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the hub of Phan have a plurality of planar faces as claimed in the internal hub geometry based on the teachings of Sickinger. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for basic engineering reasons of having a part with sufficient strength (thickness) and securing of elements.
Claims 5-6, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phan in view of Schneider as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Fisher Jr. et al. (U.S Patent 5,954,474) hereinafter Fisher.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Phan and Schneider teaches the runner of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein an outer surface of the hub swept by the root of each pivotable blade during rotation of the blade from a maximum pitch to a minimum pitch is spherically shaped
Fisher pertains to hydraulic turbines. Fisher teaches:
wherein an outer surface of the hub swept by the root of each pivotable blade during rotation of the blade from a maximum pitch to a minimum pitch is spherically shaped {Column 7 lines 16-42}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a spherical outer surface of the hub swept by the blade of the combination of Phan and Schneider based on the teachings of Fisher. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to have the blade be able to appropriately rotate and maintain the desired clearance {Fisher Column 7 lines 16-42; Phan [0004] and [0035]}.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Phan and Schneider teaches the runner of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the root of each pivotable blade conforms to the shape of an outer surface of the hub during rotation of the pivotable blade from a maximum pitch to a minimum pitch,
wherein the tip of each pivotable blade has a generally spherical sweep shape over a pivot range of the pivotable blade from the maximum pitch to the minimum pitch.
Fisher pertains to hydraulic turbines. Fisher teaches:
wherein the root of each pivotable blade conforms to the shape of an outer surface of the hub during rotation of the pivotable blade from a maximum pitch to a minimum pitch {Column 7 lines 16-42}.
wherein the tip of each pivotable blade has a generally spherical sweep shape over a pivot range of the pivotable blade from the maximum pitch to the minimum pitch {Column 9 lines 13-49}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a root matching the outer surface of the hub and tip of the blade have a spherical sweep as claimed for the combination of Phan and Schneider based on the teachings of Fisher. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to have the blade be able to appropriately rotate and maintain the desired clearance {Fisher Column 9 lines 13-49, Column 7 lines 16-42; Phan [0004] and [0035]}.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Phan and Schneider teaches the turbine of claim 12, but does not teach:
wherein the tip of each pivotable blade conforms to a shape of a discharge ring of the housing during rotation of the blade from a maximum pitch to a minimum pitch, and
wherein an inner surface of the discharge ring of the housing swept by the tip of each pivotable blade during rotation of the pivotable blade from the maximum pitch to the minimum pitch is spherically shaped.
Fisher pertains to hydraulic turbines. Fisher teaches:
wherein the tip of each pivotable blade conforms to a shape of a discharge ring of the housing during rotation of the blade from a maximum pitch to a minimum pitch {Column 9 lines 30-49}, and
wherein an inner surface of the discharge ring of the housing swept by the tip of each pivotable blade during rotation of the pivotable blade from the maximum pitch to the minimum pitch is spherically shaped {Column 9 lines 13-49}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have tip conform to a shape of the discharge ring and inner surface of the discharge ring be spherical as claimed for the combination of Phan and Schneider based on the teachings of Fisher. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to have the desired gap {Fisher Column 9 lines 30-49}.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phan in view of Schneider as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Torleif (U.S Patent 2,086,633) hereinafter Torleif.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Phan and Schneider teaches:
the turbine of claim 1 but is does not teach:
wherein the leading edge of each pivotable blade is arc-shaped when viewed along an axis that is perpendicular to a shaft axis of the runner
wherein the leading edge of each pivotable blade when viewed along the axis that is perpendicular to the shaft axis of the runner curves away from an upstream end of the runner at the root and back toward an upstream end of runner toward the tip.
Torleif pertains to a hydraulic turbine. Torleif teaches:
wherein the leading edge of each pivotable blade is arc-shaped when viewed along an axis that is perpendicular to a shaft axis of the runner {Figure 1, the leading edge at the top of blades (25) is arc shaped when viewed in Figure 1 which is perpendicular to the shaft axis of the runner}
wherein the leading edge of each pivotable blade when viewed along the axis that is perpendicular to the shaft axis of the runner curves away from an upstream end of the runner at the root and back toward an upstream end of runner toward the tip {Figure 1, the root curves away from the upstream (upper) end of the runner at the root and then back upstream}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a leading edge that curves as claimed as taught by Smith for the leading edge of the combination of Phan and Schneider. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to be able so as it is a simple substitution {MPEP 2143 I B}. Both leading edges have known functions of interacting with the flow entering the turbine with the results of the substitution being predicable.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phan in view of Schneider as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Obermeyer et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20160084218) hereinafter Obermeyer.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Phan and Schneider teaches the turbine of claim 12 but is silent regarding the details of the housing and is therefore silent regarding:
wherein a discharge ring of the housing has removable segments that are configured to be removably assembled from either an exterior or from an interior of the turbine, and
wherein the discharge ring of the housing is split.
Obermeyer pertains to a hydraulic turbine. Obermeyer teaches:
wherein a discharge ring of the housing has removable segments that are configured to be removably assembled from either an exterior or from an interior of the turbine {[0009]}, and
wherein the discharge ring of the housing is split {[0009]}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a split discharge ring with removable segments as claimed for the combination of Phan and Schneider based on the teachings of Obermeyer. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to be able to remove the runner for service {Obermeyer [0009]}.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rohden et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20140369837) teaches a hydraulic turbine with pivotable blades.
/MICHAEL K. REITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3745