Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 12/03/2025 and 01/29/2025 have been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Libeskind (US 8873947) in view of Kozuka (US 20100165852).
Consider Claim 1, Libeskind discloses a communication system, comprising: an instruction device that transmits a loopback instruction for an optical signal (Column 5, Lines 1-7, where loopback mode is initiated based on instructions from terminal) ;a transceiver device that transmits the optical signal (Figure 2B, element 204); and a loopback device that loops back the transmitted optical signal to the transceiver device as light based on the loopback instruction (Figure 2B, element 282 receives signal from element 280 which eventually reaches back to original transmitter element 204) ,wherein the transceiver device acquires the looped-back optical signal (Figure 2B, element 204 receives looped back signal from element 210 which came via element 282) but does not disclose determining whether a path of the optical signal is normal based on the acquired optical signal.
However, Kozuka discloses an acquired optical signal (Paragraph 00123, where received loopback test signal is analyzed for normal functionality through an established path and Paragraph 0101, where if loopback test signal is not returned within certain time, it indicates path disconnection (line fault)). While Kozuka does not explicitly disclose determining whether a path of the optical signal is normal, it would be obvious that if the measured loopback signal is returned on time and indicated as “normal”, then the loopback path had minimal to no issues and is performing as expected or in a “normal” manner.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Kozuka into Libeskind to ensure correct signal has been received.
Consider Claim 3, Libeskind does not disclose the limitations of this claim.
However, Kozuka discloses the communication system according to claim 1, wherein the transceiver device determines that the path of the optical signal is normal in a case where a time length during which the optical signal is looped back is equal to a predetermined time length (Paragraph 0101, where if loopback test signal is not returned within certain time, it indicates path disconnection (line fault)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Kozuka into Libeskind to ensure correct signal has been received.
Consider Claim 7, Libeskind discloses A normality determination method executed by a communication system, comprising: transmitting a loopback instruction for an optical signal (Column 5, Lines 1-7, where loopback mode is initiated based on instructions from terminal); transmitting the optical signal (Figure 5, element 204 transmits signal); looping back the transmitted optical signal to a transceiver device as light based on the loopback instruction (Figure 2B, element 282 receives signal from element 280 which eventually reaches back to original transmitter element 204); acquiring the looped-back optical signal (Figure 2B, element 204 receives looped back signal from element 210 which came via element 282); but does not disclose determining whether a path of the optical signal is normal based on the acquired optical signal.
However, Kozuka discloses an acquired optical signal (Paragraph 00123, where received loopback test signal is analyzed for normal functionality through an established path and Paragraph 0101, where if loopback test signal is not returned within certain time, it indicates path disconnection (line fault)).. While Kozuka does not explicitly disclose determining whether a path of the optical signal is normal, it would be obvious that if the measured loopback signal is indicated as “normal”, then the loopback path had minimal to no issues and is performing as expected or in a “normal” manner.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Kozuka into Libeskind to ensure correct signal has been received.
Claim 2 is rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Libeskind in view of Kozuka and further in view of Johnson (US 6714715).
Consider Claim 2, Libeskind and Kozuka do not disclose the limitations of this claim.
However, Johnson discloses the communication system according to claim 1, wherein the transceiver device determines that the path of the optical signal is normal in a case where an attenuation amount of the acquired optical signal is a predetermined attenuation amount (Column 4, Lines 9-26, where a predetermined attenuation level is set for attenuator in path of loopback and predetermined attenuation is detected in event of faults or conditions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Johnson into Kozuka into Libeskind to correct faults within paths to reduce damage to system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ASIF SHAMEEM/Examiner, Art Unit 2634
/KENNETH N VANDERPUYE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2634