DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-12, 16, 18-24, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yun et al . (US 2022/0139134, hereafter Yun).
Regarding claim 11, Yun (‘134) discloses that A method for improving an ultra-wide band ranging session of a vehicle {title (VEHICLE , AND CONTROLLING METHOD ); Fig.1; Fig.2 item 110 (UWB module); Fig.4; [0046] line 3 (UWB modules 111 to 117); [0143] lines 2-3 (controller 120 may make it more clear to belongs by expanding the range of each reference region A1 ,)}, comprising
obtaining sensor data indicative of an approach of a person to the vehicle {Fig.3; Fig.4; [0055] lines 2-3 (an object around the vehicle 100 is sensed through a sensor of the vehicle 100); [0065] lines 5-6 (in response to the user holding the smart key 200 approaching the vehicle 100)};
determining the approach of the person to the vehicle based on the sensor data { Fig.3; Fig.4; [0055] lines 2-3 (an object around the vehicle 100 is sensed through a sensor of the vehicle 100); [0065] lines 5-6 (in response to the user holding the smart key 200 approaching the vehicle 100)}; and
initiating the ultra-wide band ranging session based on the determined approach {[0065] lines 5-7 (in response to the user holding the smart key 200 approaching the vehicle 100 , UWB communication starts at a specific time)}.
Regarding claim 12, which depends on claim 11, Yun (‘134) discloses that in the method,
obtaining the sensor data comprises obtaining the sensor data from a sensor of the vehicle { Fig.3; Fig.4; [0055] lines 2-3 (an object around the vehicle 100 is sensed through a sensor of the vehicle 100)}.
Regarding claim 16, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claim 15. Accordingly, claim 16 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 15, shown below.
Regarding claim 18, which depends on claim 11, Yun (‘134) discloses that the method further comprising
checking whether the person is authorized to use the vehicle {[0050] lines 2-6 (The transmitter may transmit a UWB signal ( hereinafter , ` authentication signal ' ) for communicating with the smart key 200 of the vehicle 100 , and the authentication signal may be a signal generated based on a UWB impulse signal); [0051] lines 1-5 (The authentication signal transmitted by the transmitter may mean a response signal to the UWB signal transmitted from the smart key 200 , and the UWB signal and the response signal transmitted from the smart key 200 may include a preset data packet)}.
Regarding claim 19, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claim 15. Accordingly, claim 19 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 15, shown below.
Regarding claim 20, Yun (‘134) discloses that An apparatus {Fig.2 item 100}, comprising:
processing circuitry configured to perform the method of claim 11 {Fig.2 item 100; see the rejection of claim 11}; and
interface circuitry configured to communicate with at least one of a communication device, user equipment or backend {Fig.2 item 150 (BLUETOOTH MODULE); [0049] lines 1-5 (The Bluetooth module 150 may receive a BLE signal transmitted from a smart key 200. The Bluetooth module 150 may be located between the headlining and the vehicle body in order to perform BLE communication with the smart key 200); Examiner’s note: Fig.2 item 150 for “interface circuitry”}.
Regarding claim 21, Yun (‘134) discloses that A vehicle {Fig.1}, comprising:
an apparatus according to claim 20 {Fig.1; Fig.2 item 100; [0045] line 1 (a vehicle 100); see the rejection of claim 20}; and
a sensor configured to measure the sensor data {[0055] lines 2-3 (an object around the vehicle 100 is sensed through a sensor of the vehicle 100); Examiner’s note: “an object around the vehicle 100 is sensed” for “measure the sensor data”}.
Regarding claim 22, Yun (‘134) discloses that A non-transitory computer readable medium having program code for performing the method according to claim 11 when the program code is executed on a computer, a processor, or a programmable hardware component { Fig.2 item 140 (memory), 120 (controller); 110 (UWB module); [0088] lines 1-4 (The memory 140 may store a program for performing the above - described operation and an operation to be described later , and the processor may execute the stored program, integrated into one chip); also see the rejection of claim 11.}.
Regarding claim 23, Yun (‘134) discloses that A method for improving an ultra-wide band ranging session of a vehicle {title (VEHICLE , AND CONTROLLING METHOD ); Fig.1; Fig.2 item 110 (UWB module); Fig.4; [0046] line 3 (UWB modules 111 to 117); [0143] lines 2-3 (controller 120 may make it more clear to belongs by expanding the range of each reference region A1 ,)}, comprising:
receiving data indicative of a ranging intent from user equipment {[0049] lines 1-5 (The Bluetooth module 150 may receive a BLE signal transmitted from a smart key 200. The Bluetooth module 150 may be located between the headlining and the vehicle body in order to perform BLE communication with the smart key 200); [0138] lines 3-6 (at a point of time when the user enters the third region A3 while holding the smart key 200 , the Bluetooth module 150 may transmit and receive a Bluetooth signal with the smart key 200 .)};
obtaining sensor data indicative of an approach of a person to the vehicle { Fig.3; Fig.4; [0055] lines 2-3 (an object around the vehicle 100 is sensed through a sensor of the vehicle 100); [0065] lines 5-6 (in response to the user holding the smart key 200 approaching the vehicle 100)};
determining an approach of the person to the vehicle based on the sensor data { Fig.3; Fig.4; [0055] lines 2-3 (an object around the vehicle 100 is sensed through a sensor of the vehicle 100); [0065] lines 5-6 (in response to the user holding the smart key 200 approaching the vehicle 100)}; and
validating the ranging intent based on the approach to improve the ultra-wide band ranging session {[0050] lines 2-6 (The transmitter may transmit a UWB signal ( hereinafter , ` authentication signal ' ) for communicating with the smart key 200 of the vehicle 100 , and the authentication signal may be a signal generated based on a UWB impulse signal); [0051] lines 1-5 (The authentication signal transmitted by the transmitter may mean a response signal to the UWB signal transmitted from the smart key 200 , and the UWB signal and the response signal transmitted from the smart key 200 may include a preset data packet); [0065] lines 5-7 (in response to the user holding the smart key 200 approaching the vehicle 100 , UWB communication starts at a specific time); [0143] lines 2-3 (controller 120 may make it more clear to belongs by expanding the range of each reference region A1 ,)}.
Regarding claim 24, which depends on claim 23, Yun (‘134) discloses that the method further comprising
initiating the ultra-wide band ranging session based on the determined approach {[0065] lines 5-7 (in response to the user holding the smart key 200 approaching the vehicle 100 , UWB communication starts at a specific time)}.
Regarding claim 26, Yun (‘134) discloses that An apparatus, comprising:
processing circuitry configured to perform the method of claim 23; and
interface circuitry configured to communicate with at least one of a communication device, user equipment or backend.
{The claim limitations above are the same or substantially the same scope as the corresponding claim limitations in claim 20, except “claim 23”. Therefore the claim limitations above are rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as in claim 20. See the rejections of claim 20 and 23}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-15, 17, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun (‘134) as applied to claim 12 for claim 13, to claim 11 for claims 14-15 and 17, and to claim 23 for claim 25, respectively, above, and further in view of Kuehner et al. (US 20230339431, hereafter Kuehner).
Regarding claim 13, which depends on claims 11-12, Yun (‘134) does not explicitly discloses that “the sensor is at least one of the group consisting of: a microphone, an ultrasonic sensor, a radar sensor, a Bluetooth low energy sensor and a camera” In the same field of endeavor, Kuehner (‘431) discloses that in the method,
the sensor is at least one of the group consisting of: {Fig.1 items 124 (camera), 125 (camera); [0079] lines 15-16 (vehicle 120 can include a plurality of sensors 52); [0082] lines 1-6 (Sensors 52, Sensors that might be used to detect external conditions can include, for example, sonar, radar, lidar or other vehicle proximity sensors, and cameras or other image sensors.)}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yun (‘134) with the teachings of Kuehner (‘431) {use sensors (e.g. radar, camera) on a vehicle} to use sensors (e.g. radar, camera) on a vehicle. Doing so would detect external conditions to identify user so as to active functions for vehicle operation (e.g. active keyless entry system) accordingly for providing convenience to drivers, as recognized by Kuehner (‘431) {[0002] lines 4-5 (provide added convenience to drivers.); [0003] lines 5-10 (a keyless entry system utilizes a short-range radio frequency (RF) transmitter integrated into the key. Thus, the driver can use the transmitter/key to remotely communicate control signals, via RF, to a module/receiver that activates the automatic unlocking/locking of the door(s) in the vehicle); [0004] line 5 (a user identification device); [0024] lines 3-7 (The camera 124, obtain visual imaging data of the user 140 and area surrounding the vehicle 110 that may be relevant for the purposes of identification); [0082] lines 1-4 (Sensors 52, Sensors that might be used to detect external conditions)}.
Regarding claim 14, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claim 13. Accordingly, claim 14 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 13, shown above.
Regarding claim 15, which depends on claims 11 and 14, the combination of Yun (‘134) and Kuehner (‘431) discloses that the method further comprising
determining a position of the person relative to the vehicle based on the sensor data {see Yun (‘134) Fig.3; Fig.4; [0047] lines 1-3 (The UWB module no may be located between a headlining and the vehicle body for sensing inside and outside the vehicle); [0055] lines 2-3 (an object around the vehicle 100 is sensed through a sensor of the vehicle 100); [0059] lines 1-3 (The controller 120 may determine the location of the smart key 200 based on the UWB signal received through each of the plurality of UWB modules 111 to 117); } and
wherein initiating the ultra-wide band ranging session comprises initiating the ultra-wide band ranging session further based on the position of the person {see Yun (‘134) Fig.4; [0033] lines 1-3 (Fig.4, changing a first reference time and a second reference time based on a reference region in which a smart key is located); [0065] lines 5-7 (in response to the user holding the smart key 200 approaching the vehicle 100, UWB communication starts at a specific time) }.
Regarding claim 17, which depends on claim 11, Yun (‘134) discloses that in the method,
determining the approach further comprises determining the approach based on sensor data { [0055] lines 2-3 (an object around the vehicle 100 is sensed through a sensor of the vehicle 100); [0065] lines 5-6 (in response to the user holding the smart key 200 approaching the vehicle 100) }.
However, Yun (‘134) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underline) “sensor data of multiple sensors”. In the same field of endeavor, Kuehner (‘431) discloses that in the method,
sensor data of multiple sensors { Fig.1 items 124 (camera), 125 (camera), 141 (trajectory tracking); [0004] lines 8-10 (The trajectory tracking device configured to determine whether the trajectory of the user is approaching the vehicle.); [0029] lines 20-24 (the trajectory tracking device 122 analyzes the real-time image data that is collected by the camera 125 to determine that the user 140 has a corresponding trajectory 141 that is approaching the vehicle 110.); [0079] lines 15-16 (vehicle 120 can include a plurality of sensors 52); [0082] lines 1-6 (Sensors 52, Sensors that might be used to detect external conditions can include, for example, sonar, radar, lidar or other vehicle proximity sensors, and cameras or other image sensors.)}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yun (‘134) with the teachings of Kuehner (‘431) {use sensors (e.g. radar, camera) on a vehicle for detecting and tracking external objects } to use sensors (e.g. radar, camera) on a vehicle for detecting and tracking external objects. Doing so would detect external conditions to identify user so as to active functions for vehicle operation (e.g. active keyless entry system) accordingly for providing convenience to drivers, as recognized by Kuehner (‘431) {[0002] lines 4-5 (provide added convenience to drivers.); [0003] lines 5-10 (a keyless entry system utilizes a short-range radio frequency (RF) transmitter integrated into the key. Thus, the driver can use the transmitter/key to remotely communicate control signals, via RF, to a module/receiver that activates the automatic unlocking/locking of the door(s) in the vehicle); [0004] line 5 (a user identification device); [0024] lines 3-7 (The camera 124, obtain visual imaging data of the user 140 and area surrounding the vehicle 110 that may be relevant for the purposes of identification); [0082] lines 1-4 (Sensors 52, Sensors that might be used to detect external conditions)}.
Regarding claim 25, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claim 17. Accordingly, claim 25 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 17, shown above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20190135229 discloses that “the sensor is at least one of the group consisting of: a microphone, an ultrasonic sensor, a radar sensor, a Bluetooth low energy sensor and a camera” { Fig.2 (BT antenna); [0020] lines 1-2 (Bluetooth ( e . g . , Classic high speed , or low energy ( BTLE )); [0119] lines 2-3 (UWB sensors for ranging .); [0150] line6 (first wireless protocol is Bluetooth® ( e . g . , BTLE ))}, which further support the rejection of claim 13.
US 20190135229 also discloses that “checking whether the person is authorized to use the vehicle” { Fig.1 item 110 (Pair mobile device and vehicle using a first wireless protocol); Fig.2 (authenticate and prepare for ranging); [0081] lines 6-7 (Authentication and Establishing Secure Channel ( Pairing )); [0082] lines 1-4 from bottom (The connection - oriented channel can be is used to exchange ranging service messages to exchange capabilities and exchange security keys to complete UWB pairing); [0085] line 1 (For pairing to proceed , a password or “ Passkey ")}, which further support the rejection of claim 18.
/YONGHONG LI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648