DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed on 29 January 2025 and preliminary amendment received on 29 January 2025.
Claims 1-10 are cancelled.
Claims 11-24 are new and presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Neuhoff et al. US patent No. 10,906,508 B2.
As to claim 11, Neuhoff discloses substantially the invention as claimed, including a method for permitting an access to a vehicle (Figures 1, 11, the vehicle 1), comprising:
obtaining first sensor data (distance information and/or signal strength of the communication field K) indicative of a position of User Equipment (UE) (a mobile identification transmitter 300) configured to unlock the vehicle from a Bluetooth Low Energy sensor (the proximity sensor 2 with detection device 10, detection evaluation unit 11and communication device 2, communication unit 30, …, the BT or BLE interface 31.2 or BLE interface 32.2) (Figures 1-12 and associated text, Figure 11, … “the information, in particular the distance information detected by the first communication unit 31, can be transmitted to the processing device 60 via the transmission system 50 in an encrypted manner. The processing device 60 particularly serves as a distance determination device 400 for the (additional) determination, verification and/or evaluation of the distance information. Thus, the security of the distance determination and/or of the evaluation of the distance information can be ensured by the encrypted transmission. The first communication part 35.1 and/or the second communication part 35.2 is/are formed, for example, as an antenna and/or transmitter and/or receiver for the communication, in particular by means of a UWB communication method” (col. 26, line 67 – col. 27, line 13); “a distance determination and/or the localization is used to increase security in the authentication. In particular , the localization allows determining whether the identification transmitter is physically situated inside or outside a security zone, e.g., a first or a second security zone…” (col. 2, lines 53-65); (col. 13, line 46 – col. 15, line 30);
determining a first position (low-precision distance positioning) of the UE relative to the vehicle based on the first sensor data (Figures 1-4 and associated text; col. 22, line 61 – col. 23, line 47);
activating an ultra-wide band sensor based on the determined first position (Figures 1-4 and associated text; if the user is detected being close to the vehicle, the UWB precision positioning is turned ON, col. 22, line 61 – col. 23, line 47);
obtaining second sensor data (distance information and/or signal strength of the communication field K renewed by the user’s changing position) indicative of a position of the UE from the ultra-wide band sensor (Figures 1-4 and associated text; if the user is detected being close to the vehicle, the UWB precision positioning is turned ON, col. 22, line 61 – col. 23, line 47);
determining a second position (high-precision distance positioning) of the UE relative to the vehicle based on the second sensor data (Figures 1-4 and associated text; if the user is detected being close to the vehicle, the UWB precision positioning is turned ON, col. 22, line 61 – col. 23, line 47); and
permitting an access to the vehicle based on the second position of the user equipment (Figures 1-4 and associated text, col. 3, lines 20-59; col. 23, lines 40-47).
As to claim 12, Neuhoff discloses, wherein determining the second position of the UE further comprises determining the second position of the UE based at least in part on the first sensor data (Figures 1-4 and associated text, the low-precision distance positioning is repeated for first, second, third and so on positions until a predefined distance to the vehicle is reached, (col. 23, lines 40-47)).
As to claim 13, Neuhoff discloses, further comprising: obtaining third sensor data from a third sensor (s second Bluetooth module or the second UWB module or a third UWB module); and determining the second position of the UE further comprises determining the second position of the User Equipment based at least in part on the third sensor data (Figures 1-4 and associated text, col. 19, lines 32-47; col. 23, lines 40-47).
.As to claim 14, Neuhoff discloses, wherein determining the second position of the UE further comprises determining the second position based on channel sounding of a Bluetooth Low Energy signal received at the Bluetooth low energy sensor (Figures 1-4 and associated text, col. 3, lines 20-59; col. 23, lines 40-47).
Claim 15 has similar limitations of claim 14; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale as in claim 14 shown above.
As to claim 16, Neuhoff discloses further comprising comparing the first position with a predefined spatial area (a Security Zone 3 or predefined maximum range) around the vehicle and wherein activating the ultra-wide band sensor further comprises activating the ultra-wide band sensor responsive to a determination that the first position is within the predefined spatial area around the vehicle (Figures 1-4 and associated text, col. 22, line 61 – col. 23, line 47).
As to claim 17, Neuhoff discloses, further comprising: redetermining the first position based on further first sensor data; and deactivating the ultra-wide band sensor responsive to the redetermined first position being outside the predefined spatial area (Figures 1-4 and associated text, col. 3, lines 20-59; col. 13, line 58 – col. 15, line 30;col. 23, lines 40-47).
Claim 18 has similar limitations of claim 16; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale as in claim 16 shown above.
Claim 19 has similar limitations of claim 17; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale as in claim 17 shown above.
Claim 20 has similar limitations of claim 13; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale as in claim 13 shown above.
As to claim 21, Neuhoff discloses an apparatus (Figure 1, a security system 200), comprising: processing circuitry (a processing device 60) configured to perform a method according to claim 11; interface circuitry (a communication unit 30) configured to communicate with the Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) sensor and the Ultra-Wide Band (UWB) sensor (Figures 1-4 and associated text, a proximity sensor 2 for detection of an approach of an operator of the vehicle 1).
As to claim 22, Neuhoff discloses a vehicle (Figure the vehicle 1), comprising: an apparatus (a security system 200) according to claim 21, the Bluetooth Low energy sensor; and the Ultra-Wide Band sensor
Claim 23 corresponds to the Non-Transitory Computer Readable Medium (NTCRM) claim of the method claim 11; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as in method claim 11 shown above.
As to claim 24, Neuhoff discloses a method for permitting an access to a vehicle, comprising:
obtaining first sensor data (distance information and/or signal strength of the communication field K) indicative of a position of UE (a mobile identification transmitter 300) configured to unlock the vehicle from a Bluetooth Low Energy sensor (the proximity sensor 2 with detection device 10, detection evaluation unit 11and communication device 2, communication unit 30, …, the BT or BLE interface 31.2 or BLE interface 32.2) (Figures 1-12 and associated text, Figure 11, … “the information, in particular the distance information detected by the first communication unit 31, can be transmitted to the processing device 60 via the transmission system 50 in an encrypted manner. The processing device 60 particularly serves as a distance determination device 400 for the (additional) determination, verification and/or evaluation of the distance information. Thus, the security of the distance determination and/or of the evaluation of the distance information can be ensured by the encrypted transmission. The first communication part 35.1 and/or the second communication part 35.2 is/are formed, for example, as an antenna and/or transmitter and/or receiver for the communication, in particular by means of a UWB communication method” (col. 26, line 67 – col. 27, line 13); “a distance determination and/or the localization is used to increase security in the authentication. In particular , the localization allows determining whether the identification transmitter is physically situated inside or outside a security zone, e.g., a first or a second security zone…” (col. 2, lines 53-65); (col. 13, line 46 – col. 15, line 30)configured to unlock the vehicle from a Bluetooth low energy sensor;
obtaining second sensor data (distance information and/or signal strength of the communication field K renewed by the user’s changing position) indicative of a position of the UE from the ultra-wide band sensor (Figures 1-4 and associated text; if the user is detected being close to the vehicle, the UWB precision positioning is turned ON, col. 22, line 61 – col. 23, line 47);
determining a position of the UE relative to the vehicle based on the first sensor data and the second sensor data (Figures 1-11 and associated text; if the user is detected being close to the vehicle, the UWB precision positioning is turned ON, col. 22, line 61 – col. 23, line 47); and
permitting an access to the vehicle based on the determined position of the user equipment (Figures 1-4 and associated text, col. 3, lines 20-59; col. 23, lines 40-47).
As to claim 25, Neuhoff discloses an apparatus (Figure 1, a security system 200), comprising: processing circuitry (a processing device 60) configured to perform a method according to claim 24; interface circuitry (a communication unit 30) configured to communicate with the Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) sensor and the Ultra-Wide Band (UWB) sensor( Figures 1-4 and associated text, a proximity sensor 2 for detection of an approach of an operator of the vehicle 1).
As to claim 26, Neuhoff discloses a vehicle (Figure the vehicle 1), comprising: an apparatus (a security system 200) according to claim 25; a Bluetooth low energy sensor for measuring first sensor data; and an ultra-wide band sensor for measuring second sensor data (Figures 1-12 and associated text).
Claim 27 corresponds to the Non-Transitory Computer Readable Medium (NTCRM) claim of the method claim 24; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as in method claim 11 shown above.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
The following prior art having the same technical concept in the instant application’s as claimed:
QIAN et al. CN 213565803U discloses in Abstract that, “The utility model claims a vehicle greeting starting device using Bluetooth and UWB technology, comprising a key end and an automobile end; the key end is provided with a first Bluetooth module and a first UWB module; the first Bluetooth module is connected with the first UWB module; the vehicle end is provided with an ECU module, a main module and at least one third UWB module; between the third UWB module and the main module; the main module and the ECU module are in communication connection; The automobile digital key system using Bluetooth and UWB technology uses the Bluetooth low power consumption characteristic; the Bluetooth long time in the vehicle is polled; if the user is detected to be close to the user, the UWB precise location is opened, so as to solve the problem that the traditional low-frequency polling power consumption is large; UWB ultra-wideband technology uses the ToF principle, calculating the distance through time, which can effectively prevent relay attack, so as to improve the safety of the automobile”
Betz et al. US Patent No. 12,335,811 B2 discloses in Figure 1, claim 1 that,
“1. A method for authorizing access to a motor vehicle by a mobile electronic identification transmitter, wherein the vehicle is unlockable by the mobile electronic identification transmitter, wherein the mobile electronic identification transmitter communicates in a data-transmitting manner with the motor vehicle both via a first wireless communication connection, which works with a UWB standard, and via a second wireless communication connection, which works with a BLE standard, wherein a maximum range of the first wireless communication connection is shorter than a maximum range of the second wireless communication connection, the method comprising: a) monitoring a decrease in signal strength of the second wireless communication connection, while the mobile electronic identification transmitter is moved away from the motor vehicle, such that a spacing between the motor vehicle and the mobile electronic identification transmitter increases; b) storing a current signal strength of the second wireless communication connection as a reference value as soon as the first wireless communication connection between the motor vehicle and the mobile electronic identification transmitter is deactivated or interrupted; and c) reactivating the first wireless communication connection so soon as a signal strength of the second wireless communication connection exceeds the stored reference value due to the decreasing spacing between the motor vehicle and mobile electronic identification transmitter when the mobile electronic identification transmitter is moved towards the motor vehicle again”.
Mutlu US Patent No. 12,491,840 B2 discloses in Figure 2 and claim 9 that,
“9. A motor vehicle comprising: a close proximity monitoring device configured to scan an inner zone directly surrounding the motor vehicle; a first monitoring device configured to monitor an outer zone surrounding the inner zone; and a second monitoring device configured to monitor a second outer zone surrounding the first outer zone, wherein the first monitoring device is configured to monitor the outer zone such that a current position of the user relative to the motor vehicle is determined by the first monitoring device if the monitoring shows the user is located in the first outer zone, wherein the close proximity monitoring device is configured to activate scanning the inner zone if the monitoring shows the user is crossing from the first outer zone into the inner zone such that the current position of the user relative to the motor vehicle is only determined by the close proximity monitoring device if the user is located in the inner zone, wherein the second monitoring device is configured to monitor the current position of the user relative to the motor vehicle if the user is located in the second outer zone, wherein after the monitoring shows that the user is in the inner zone, at least one of the points of access to the vehicle interior of the motor vehicle is configured to be released, wherein the close proximity monitoring device, the first monitoring device, and the second monitoring device are configured to employ different modes of operation to monitor the inner zone, first outer zone, and second outer zone, respectively”.
-------------------
The prior art cited in this Office action are: Neuhoff et al. US patent No. 10,906,508 B2; QIAN et al. CN 213565803U; Betz et al. US Patent No. 12,335,811 B2; Mutlu US Patent No. 12,491,840 B2.
Conclusion
/HAI V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649