DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 11, 13-18, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Burton (WO 2005067790 A1, copy attached to Office action).
Regarding claim 1, Burton discloses a cardiorespiratory monitoring device, configured to: receive sensor data comprising cardiac data and respiratory data for a subject (page 11, ln 26-page 12, ln 6; page 18, ln 30-34; page 21, ln 14-22); determine a respiratory sinus arrhythmia, RSA, value based on the cardiac data and the respiratory data (page 11, ln 26-page 12, ln 6; page 18, ln 30-34; page 21, ln 14-22); determine a cardio-respiratory phase synchronization, CRPS, value based on the cardiac data and the respiratory data (page 18, ln 30-page 19, ln 7; page 19, ln 32-page 20, ln 12; page 42, ln 5-15); and output a health indication for the subject based on the RSA value and the CRPS value (page 18, ln 30-page 19, ln 7; page 19, ln 32-page 20, ln 12; page 42, ln 5-15).
Regarding claim 3, Burton discloses the device is configured to: receive activity data (page 11, ln 26-page 12, ln 6; page 18, ln 30-34; page 21, ln 14-22); determine a plurality of RSA values and a plurality of CRPS values during a period of physiological demand as indicated by the activity data; and determine the health indication based on the plurality of RSA values (page 11, ln 26-page 12, ln 6; page 18, ln 30-34; page 21, ln 14-22) and the plurality of CRPS values (page 18, ln 30-page 19, ln 7; page 19, ln 32-page 20, ln 12; page 42, ln 5-15).
Regarding claim 4, Burton discloses the device is configured to determine the health indication based on: a variation in the RSA values during the period of physiological demand (page 11, ln 26-page 12, ln 6; page 18, ln 30-34; page 21, ln 14-22); and a variation in the CRPS values during the period of physiological demand (page 18, ln 30-page 19, ln 7; page 19, ln 32-page 20, ln 12; page 42, ln 5-15).
Regarding claim 11, Burton discloses the sensor data comprises a plurality of sensor readings over a time window and wherein the device is configured to determine a plurality of RSA values (page 11, ln 26-page 12, ln 6; page 18, ln 30-34; page 21, ln 14-22) and a plurality of CRPS values (page 18, ln 30-page 19, ln 7; page 19, ln 32-page 20, ln 12; page 42, ln 5-15) and output the health indication based on the plurality of RSA values and the plurality of CRPS values (page 18, ln 30-page 19, ln 7; page 19, ln 32-page 20, ln 12; page 42, ln 5-15).
Regarding claim 13, Burton discloses the device is configured to output the health indication to one or more of: a subject user interface; a clinician device; a pacemaker device; a peripheral stimulation device; an emergency responder device; and a remote monitoring centre (page 18, ln 30-page 19, ln 7; page 19, ln 32-page 20, ln 12; page 40, ln 27-34; page 42, ln 5-15; page 44, ln 12-15).
Regarding claim 14, Burton discloses the device is configured to output therapeutic instructions to a subject user interface if the health indication is representative of cardiorespiratory stress in the subject (page 14, ln 33-page 15, ln 5; page 24, ln 26-29; page 44, ln 12-15).
Regarding claim 15, Burton discloses the therapeutic instructions comprise one or more of: breathing instructions; activity instructions; and an instruction to seek immediate medical attention (page 14, ln 33-page 15, ln 5; page 24, ln 26-29; page 44, ln 12-15).
Regarding claim 16, Burton discloses a cardiorespiratory monitoring system comprising: the device of claim 1 (see rejection above) and one or more sensors configured to provide the sensor data (page 11, ln 26-page 12, ln 6; page 18, ln 30-34; page 21, ln 14-22).
Regarding claim 17, Burton discloses a patient user interface for displaying the health indication (page 18, ln 30-page 19, ln 7; page 19, ln 32-page 20, ln 12; page 40, ln 27-34; page 42, ln 5-15; page 44, ln 12-15).
Regarding claim 18, Burton discloses a method for providing a health indication, the method comprising: receiving sensor data comprising cardiac data and respiratory data for a subject (page 11, ln 26-page 12, ln 6; page 18, ln 30-34; page 21, ln 14-22); determining a respiratory sinus arrhythmia, RSA, value based on the cardiac data and the respiratory data (page 11, ln 26-page 12, ln 6; page 18, ln 30-34; page 21, ln 14-22); determining a cardio-respiratory phase synchronization, CRPS, value based on the cardiac data and the respiratory data (page 18, ln 30-page 19, ln 7; page 19, ln 32-page 20, ln 12; page 42, ln 5-15); and outputting a health indication for the subject patient based on the RSA value and the CRPS value (page 18, ln 30-page 19, ln 7; page 19, ln 32-page 20, ln 12; page 42, ln 5-15).
Regarding claim 20, Burton discloses a cardiorespiratory monitoring device, configured to: receive sensor data comprising cardiac data and respiratory data for a subject (page 11, ln 26-page 12, ln 6; page 18, ln 30-34; page 21, ln 14-22); determine cardiorespiratory synchronization data based on the cardiac data and the respiratory data (page 11, ln 26-page 12, ln 6; page 18, ln 30-34; page 21, ln 14-22); determine a cardiorespiratory coupling factor based on a response of the cardiorespiratory synchronization data to a period of physiological demand as indicated by the sensor data (page 18, ln 30-page 19, ln 7; page 19, ln 32-page 20, ln 12; page 42, ln 5-15); and output a health indication for the subject based on the cardiorespiratory coupling factor (page 18, ln 30-page 19, ln 7; page 19, ln 32-page 20, ln 12; page 42, ln 5-15).
Regarding claim 21, Burton discloses the device is configured to determine the cardiorespiratory synchronization data by determining one or more of: a plurality of respiratory sinus arrhythmia, RSA, values based on the cardiac data and the respiratory data (page 11, ln 26-page 12, ln 6; page 18, ln 30-34; page 21, ln 14-22); or a plurality of cardio-respiratory phase synchronization, CRPS. values based on the cardiac data and the respiratory data (page 18, ln 30-page 19, ln 7; page 19, ln 32-page 20, ln 12; page 42, ln 5-15).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5-10, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Lindsey G Wehrheim
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3799
/LINDSEY G WEHRHEIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799