DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because it is not clear where the preamble ends. preamble must be followed with punctuation mark colon (:).
Claim 3 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim 1 and 2. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 3 not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because:
Regarding claim 1, the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claim 1 is a claim to A method for preventing application programming interface attacks; however, the claim does not disclose any step to perform the method.
Claims 2-8 are also rejected based on the claims dependencies form claim 1.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because:
The claim is recited such that it defines a system, but it does not positively identify hardware components of the system. Examiner suggest amending the claim by adding hardware processor and memory to overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUBBARAYAN; Udayakumar et al. US 20210004460 (hereinafter SUBBARAYAN) in view of Hart; Aaron R. et al. US 20210304860 (hereinafter Hart) and further in view of Bhargava; Apoorv et al. US 20180307723 (hereinafter Bhargava).
As per claim 1, SUBBARAYAN teaches: A method for preventing application programming interface attacks, comprising the definition of a secure system architecture characteristically having an API Virtual Server having an admin panel, a Request Process Flow, a Response Process Flow, and an API event log Database that provision for virtual addressing of the API and creation of unique sessions for API calls, thereby securing-
Business logic API calls for data access from the request to response (“In an instance where a user requests a service or a function of a software application, the request can be transmitted to an API in the form of an API request or an API call. Logins, saves, queries, and other instructions are examples of operations counted as API requests among other types of operations. The API calls can lead to performing one or more of the desired functions and may return any queried information.” SUBBARAYAN: para. 30, also para. 25);
SUBBARAYAN does not explicitly teach; however, Hart discloses:
b) Business logic API wrapped under the virtual servers (“The server(s) 108 can include one or more physical and/or virtual server computers configured to implement the case API 126, the ePCR API 128” Hart: para. 89);
c) Virtual servers mapped as per the configuration on the business logic API (Hart: para. 89);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine SUBBARAYAN with the teachings of Hart to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied in a predictable manner to enhance speed and efficiency of the method.
The combination of SUBBARAYAN and Hart does not teach; however, Bhargava discloses: d) Data moved to call by reference (Bhargava: para. 32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of SUBBARAYAN and Hart with the teachings of Bhargava to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied to improve memory efficiency and directly modifying the original variable.
As per claim 9, this claim defines a system that corresponds to method of claim 1 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 1.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUBBARAYAN in view of Hart in view of Bhargava and further in view of FULLER ANDREW J ET AL. KR 20060090168 (hereinafter Fuller).
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The combination of SUBBARAYAN, Hart and Bhargava does not teach; however, Fuller discloses:
wherein the admin panel consists of details of Business Logic mapping,
API data type, Allowed Application Details, API execution time in Seconds (Fuller: page 26, para. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of SUBBARAYAN, Hart and Bhargava with the teachings of Fuller to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied to create an informative admin panel..
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated herein. The combination of SUBBARAYAN, Hart and Bhargava does not teach; however, Fuller discloses:
the API data type is chosen among Video, Audio, and Standard Data(different formats are used (Fuller: page 26, para. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of SUBBARAYAN, Hart and Bhargava with the teachings of Fuller to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied to create variety of data formats for communication.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUBBARAYAN in view of Hart in view of Bhargava in view of Fuller and further in view of Corby; Karen Elizabeth et al. US 20070209073 (hereinafter Corby).
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated herein. The combination of SUBBARAYAN, Hart, Bhargava and Fuller does not teach; however, Corby discloses: the API Data distribution is selected between Critical, Major and
Minor (Corby: para. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of SUBBARAYAN, Hart, Bhargava and Fuller with the teachings of Corby to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied to enhance the security of the method.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUBBARAYAN in view of Hart in view of Bhargava in view of Fuller and further in view of Perng; Shyan-Ming et al. US 20220279046 (hereinafter Perng).
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated herein. The combination of SUBBARAYAN, Hart, Bhargava and Fuller does not teach; however, Perng discloses: the Allowed Application Details are selected among API access with View only, View and Write, View and Query (Perng: para. 52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of SUBBARAYAN, Hart, Bhargava and Fuller with the teachings of Perng to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied to prevent unauthorized access to the system resources.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUBBARAYAN in view of Hart in view of Bhargava and further in view of GRAHAM, JR.; William W. et al. US 20110161991 (hereinafter Graham).
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The combination of SUBBARAYAN, Hart and Bhargava does not teach; however, Graham discloses:
a) a session verification process is triggered to eliminate API data Vulnerability if
the API execution time exceeds a predetermined threshold of time, according
to the infrastructure allocated, including the server, processor, software
etcetera (Graham: para. 20);
b) Authentication process while first time access of API;
c) Client Whitelisting process, for avoiding priorly known malicious or suspicious
clients;
d) Client Access details, identified among access through laptop, mobile, or
desktop; and
e) Location ID of client, being Device Mac Address in particular.
Allowable Subject Matter
The subject matter of claims 2 and 3 are not suggested by the prior art of record. Claims 2 and 3 would be allowed if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101 set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
/GHODRAT JAMSHIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493