DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Bio-signal measurement unit in claims 6-13
Condition analysis device in claim 9
The bio-signal measurement unit is defined as the headset 14 in paragraph [0031] of the published specification.
The condition analysis device is defined as a computer in paragraph [00333] of the published specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the other end part of the headband" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is recommended the claims be amended to say “a first earmuff provided at a first end part of the headband, and configured to cover one ear of the head with the headband mounted; a second earmuff provided at a second end part of the headband, and configured to cover the other ear of the head with the headband mounted” for clarity, and to amend the terms claim 11 to match.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “wherein the plurality of electrode parts include a center electrode part disposed at a center position of the headband in an extending direction of the headband”. It is unclear what is meant by “an extending direction of the headband”. It is recommended the claims be amended to say wherein the plurality of electrode parts include a center electrode part disposed at a center position of the headband extending in a direction inward toward the head of the person to be measured”.
Claims not explicitly rejected above are rejected because they depend from claims rejected above as indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7, 9, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flood (US 20200029881 A1) in view of Lillydahl (US 20110288445 A1).
In regards to claim 6 Flood teaches a biosignal measurement unit comprising:
a headband having an inverted U-shape, and being mountable on a head of a person to be measured ([0133] headband 200);
a first earmuff provided at one end part of the headband, and configured to cover one ear of the head with the headband mounted ([0133] earcups 400);
a second earmuff provided at the other end part of the headband, and configured to cover the other ear of the head with the headband mounted ([0133] earcups 400);
and a first muff-side electrode part connected to the first earmuff and a second muff-side electrode part connected to the second earmuff configured to measure a biosignal in the person to be measured (Fig. 23 earcup electrodes 360)
Flood fails to teach a first muff-side electrode provided at a position separated from a first position located at an outer edge part of the first earmuff, the first muff- side electrode part being configured to measure a biosignal in the person to be measured;
and a second muff-side electrode part connected provided at a position separated from a second position located at an outer edge part of the second earmuff, the second muff-side electrode part being configured to measure a biosignal in the person to be measured,
wherein in a side view from the first earmuff, when a straight line parallel to a downwardly extending direction of the headband and passing through a centroid of a plane region formed by the first earmuff is defined as a first reference line, and a straight line orthogonal to the first reference line and passing through the centroid is defined as a second reference line, the first position is located at a position forward of the first reference line and downward of the second reference line, and in a side view from the second earmuff, when a straight line parallel to the downwardly extending direction of the headband and passing through a centroid of a plane region formed by the second earmuff is defined as a third reference line, and a straight line orthogonal to the third reference line and passing through the centroid is defined as a fourth reference line, the second position is located at a position rearward of the third reference line and downward of the fourth reference line.
Lillydahl teaches a first muff-side electrode provided at a position separated from a first position located at an outer edge part of the first earmuff, the first muff- side electrode part being configured to measure a biosignal in the person to be measured ([0065] “Headset attachment 1100 fits over a headset 1150 and includes electrodes 1110, 1115 and ground 1120, as well as connection arms 1125. This embodiment is designed to fit over headset 1150. In some embodiments, connection arms 1125 are flexible and hold the position they are flexed into”);
and a second muff-side electrode part connected provided at a position separated from a second position located at an outer edge part of the second earmuff, the second muff-side electrode part being configured to measure a biosignal in the person to be measured ([0065] “Headset attachment 1100 fits over a headset 1150 and includes electrodes 1110, 1115 and ground 1120, as well as connection arms 1125. This embodiment is designed to fit over headset 1150. In some embodiments, connection arms 1125 are flexible and hold the position they are flexed into”),
wherein in a side view from the first earmuff, when a straight line parallel to a downwardly extending direction of the headband and passing through a centroid of a plane region formed by the first earmuff is defined as a first reference line, and a straight line orthogonal to the first reference line and passing through the centroid is defined as a second reference line, the first position is located at a position forward of the first reference line and downward of the second reference line, and in a side view from the second earmuff, when a straight line parallel to the downwardly extending direction of the headband and passing through a centroid of a plane region formed by the second earmuff is defined as a third reference line, and a straight line orthogonal to the third reference line and passing through the centroid is defined as a fourth reference line, the second position is located at a position rearward of the third reference line and downward of the fourth reference line (see annotated fig 11b below).
Lillydahl Fig. 11b Right and left sides annotated with reference lines
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the ear cup electrodes of Flood to be a positionable headset attachment like the electrodes of Lillydahl. Doing so would be combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of making the electrodes’ positions adjustable.
In regards to claim 7 modified Flood teaches the biosignal measurement unit according to claim 6, further comprising a first protruding member extending from the first position, the first muff-side electrode part being provided at a distal end part of the first protruding member, wherein at least the distal end part of the first protruding member is provided to extend toward a forward and inward direction in an inclined manner relative to the first position (Lillydahl [0065] In some embodiments, connection arms 1125 are flexible and hold the position they are flexed into, Fig. 11a-c the arms extend outward from the earmuff and press the electrode against the user’s skin).
In regards to claim 9 modified Flood teaches a condition analysis system comprising: the biosignal measurement unit according to claim 6; and a condition analysis device configured to perform analysis processing on the biosignal, which is measured by the biosignal measurement unit, to analyze motor intention, a cognitive state, or a fatigue state of the person to be measured ([0098] “According to an embodiment, the inferred mental and physical state can be used to allow the user to track, monitor, and improve their attention, alertness, and concentration in real time. One may also monitor features defined as engagement, cognitive workload, executive functioning, sustained attention, mind wandering, distraction, etc”).
In regards to claim 11 modified Flood teaches the biosignal measurement unit according to claim 6, further comprising a plurality of electrode parts attached to the headband, and configured to measure biosignals in the head (Figure 8 Electrodes 310),
wherein the plurality of electrode parts include a center electrode part disposed at a center position of the headband in an extending direction of the headband, a first electrode part disposed at a first position separated from the center position by a predetermined distance toward the one end part of the headband, and a second electrode part disposed at a second position separated from the center position by the predetermined distance toward the other end part of the headband (Figure 8 Electrodes 310 comprise one in the center and one on each side),
and the predetermined distance is any value selected from 56.2 to 80.0 mm ([0136] “According to an embodiment, the lateral sensors are distant from the center sensor from about 65 mm (i.e., half the head arc length of a standard person), or between 60 mm and 70 mm, or between 45 mm and 70 mm, or between 45 mm and 80 mm. These distances allow electrodes to lie at the C3 and C4 locations according to the international 10/20 standard”).
In regards to claim 12 modified Flood teaches the biosignal measurement unit according to claim 11, wherein the headband is configured to include a first adjusting mechanism configured to adjust a length from the first electrode part to the first earmuff, and a second adjusting mechanism configured to adjust a length from the second electrode part to the second earmuff ([0165] “According to an embodiment, the earcup holder 450 may comprise a sliding rail 455 or any other means by which the overall length can be adjusted up to certain limits by raising or lowering the earcups”).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flood (US 20200029881 A1) in view of Lillydahl (US 20110288445 A1) as applied to claim 8, further in view of Hayakawa (US 20120190959 A1).
In regards to claim 8 modified Flood teaches the biosignal measurement unit according to claim 6, further comprising a band- side electrode part attached to the headband (Figure 8 Electrodes 310).
Modified Flood fails to teach a unit configured to measure a biosignal in the head, wherein a difference between a first biosignal acquired from the band-side electrode part and a second biosignal acquired from the first muff-side electrode part or the second muff-side electrode part is amplified and outputted.
Hayakawa teaches a differential amplifier that takes difference between a first biosignal acquired from an electrode and a second biosignal acquired from a ground electrode part and the signal is amplified and outputted ([0268] “In the third embodiment mentioned above, the amplification section 631 is adopted which amplifies the difference between each of the electrodes 320, 370, and 400, and a ground point that is made common”, [0093] amplifier outputs signal).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling fate of the claimed invention to modify the device of modified Flood to include a differential amplifier like the one of Hayakawa. The headband electrodes would be the measurement electrodes and the second earmuff electrode is the ground/reference electrode. Doing so would merely be combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of improving accuracy of the signal by canceling out noise.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flood (US 20200029881 A1) in view of Lillydahl (US 20110288445 A1) as applied to claim 8, further in view of Wang (US 20230190196 A1).
In regards to claim 10 modified Flood teaches a biosignal measurement unit according to claim 7, wherein the first protruding member is configured to position a contact portion thus fixing the first muff-side electrode part to a portion located forward and downward of an ear of the person to be measured.
Modified Flood fails to teach an action of an elastic force of the first protruding member in a mounted state of the headband. Wang teaches spring-loaded electrode holders located at the ends of the arms of an EEG headset ([0006] “The electrodes may be contained in spring-loaded electrode holders. The spring-loaded electrode holders can be located at the ends of the arms of the EEG headset. Springs in the spring-loaded electrode holders allow an electrode to move relative to the holder. This helps to maintain the electrode in contact with the scalp at a constant pressure). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling fate of the claimed invention to modify the connection arms of modified Flood to include spring loaded holders at the ends of the arms like the device of Wang in order to maintain the electrode in contact with the skin at a constant pressure (Wang [0006]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flood (US 20200029881 A1) in view of Lillydahl (US 20110288445 A1) as applied to claim 11, further in view of Gunasekar (US 20200237249 A1).
In regards to claim 13 modified Flood teaches the biosignal measurement unit according to claim 11, wherein the electrodes are configured to be attachable to and detachable from the headband (Flood [0047] “According to an embodiment, the headband electrodes are user-detachable from the base without having to dismount the flexible band”).
Modified Flood fails to teach wherein the plurality of electrode parts include electrode parts of two or more kinds having different thicknesses, and each of the electrode parts of two or more kinds is configured to be attachable to and detachable from the headband. Gunasekar teaches electrode tips of various thickness ([0125] “As shown in FIG. 4, the sense electrode can also be configured to accept interchangeable electrode tips 144, such as one of an elastic bristle electrode tip, a rigid prong electrode tip, a flat contact disk electrode tip, and a domed contact disk electrode tip, as described below”, Fig.4 electrode tips 144). t would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling fate of the claimed invention to modify the device of modified Flood to include detachable electrodes with varying thicknesses of electrode tips like the device of Gunasekar. Doing so would merely be combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of allowing the user to choose an electrode with tips long enough to penetrate the user’s hair.
Conclusion
/LUCY EPPERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ADAM J EISEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791