DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is based on the 19/099845 application originally filed January 30, 2025.
Amended claims 1-20, filed January 30, 2025, are pending and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slivensky et al. (WO 2020/247192 A1) hereinafter cited under US 2022/0220391 “Slivensky” in view of Timken (US 2021/0189252).
Regarding Claims 1-5 and 7-14
Slivensky discloses in the abstract, a recycle content cracked effluent composition having a certain compositional profile produced by cracking a cracker feed comprising a recycle content pyrolysis oil composition, and methods of producing the recycle content cracked effluent composition.
Slivensky discloses in paragraph 0007, a large-scale production of one or more materials having recycle content. The recycle content of the products can originate from recycled waste and/or from recycle content pyrolysis oil (r-pyoil) produced via pyrolysis of recycled waste. In certain embodiments, a pyrolysis unit producing r-pyoil can be co-located with the production facility. In other embodiments, the r-pyoil can be sourced from a remote pyrolysis unit and transported to the production facility.
Slivensky discloses in paragraph 0078, an r-composition is considered to be indirectly derived from the cracking of r-pyoil if it has associated with it a recycle content allotment and may or may not contain a physical component that is traceable to an r-composition at least a portion of which is obtained by or with the cracking of r-pyoil.
Slivensky discloses in paragraph 0212, the pyrolysis system 110 may include a waste plastic source 112 for supplying one or more waste plastics to the system 110. The plastic source 112 can be, for example, a hopper, storage bin, railcar, over-the-road trailer, or any other device that may hold or store waste plastics. In an embodiment or in combination with any of the embodiments mentioned herein, the waste plastics supplied by the plastic source 112 can be in the form of solid particles, such as chips, flakes, or a powder. Although not depicted in FIG. 2, the pyrolysis system 110 may also comprise additional sources of other types of recycled wastes that may be utilized to provide other feed types to the system 110.
Slivensky discloses in paragraph 0213, any of the embodiments mentioned herein, the waste plastics can include one or more post-consumer waste plastic such as, for example, high density polyethylene, low density polyethylene, polypropylene, other polyolefins, polystyrene, polyvinyl chloride (PVC), polyvinylidene chloride (PVDC), polyethylene terephthalate, polyamides, poly(methyl methacrylate), polytetrafluoroethylene, or combinations thereof. In an embodiment or in combination with any of the embodiments mentioned herein, the waste plastics may include high density polyethylene, low density polyethylene, polypropylene, or combinations thereof.
Slivensky discloses in paragraph 0235, at least a portion of the pyrolysis oil vapor stream 136 may be introduced into a hydroprocessing unit 142 for further refinement. The hydroprocessing unit 142 may comprise a hydrocracker, a catalytic cracker operating with a hydrogen feed stream, a hydrotreatment unit, and/or a hydrogenation unit. While in the hydroprocessing unit 142, the pyrolysis oil vapor stream 136 may be treated with hydrogen and/or other reducing gases to further saturate the hydrocarbons in the pyrolysis oil and remove undesirable byproducts from the pyrolysis oil. The resulting hydroprocessed pyrolysis oil vapor stream 144 may be removed and introduced into the quench unit 138.
Slivensky discloses in paragraph 0236, the pyrolysis system 110 described herein may produce a pyrolysis oil (e.g., r-pyoil) and pyrolysis gases (e.g., r-pyrolysis gas) that may be directly used in various downstream applications based on their desirable formulations.
Slivensky discloses in paragraph 0264, the pyrolysis oil is hydrotreated in a treatment zone, while, in other embodiments, the pyrolysis oil is not hydrotreated prior to entering downstream units, such as a cracking furnace.
Slivensky discloses in paragraph 0267, the cracking furnace 20 and separation zones 30 of a system for producing an r-composition obtained from cracking r-pyoil. As shown in FIG. 4, a feed stream comprising r-pyoil (the r-pyoil containing feed stream) may be introduced into a cracking furnace 20, alone or in combination with a non-recycle cracker feed stream. A pyrolysis unit producing r-pyoil can be co-located with the production facility. In other embodiments, the r-pyoil can be sourced from a remote pyrolysis unit and transported to the production facility.
Slivensky discloses in paragraph 0275, the r-pyoil includes one or more of paraffins, naphthenes or cyclic aliphatic hydrocarbons, aromatics, aromatic containing compounds, olefins, oxygenated compounds and polymers, heteroatom compounds or polymers, and other compounds or polymers.
Slivensky discloses a recycle hydrocarbon stream from r-pyoil and hydroprocessing but fails to further teach the hydrocarbon streams of naphtha and diesel.
However, Timken discloses in the abstract, a continuous process for converting waste plastic into recycle for polyethylene polymerization. The process comprises selecting waste plastics containing polyethylene and/or polypropylene and passing the waste plastics through a pyrolysis reactor to thermally crack at least a portion of the polyolefin waste and produce a pyrolyzed effluent. The pyrolyzed effluent is separated into offgas, a naphtha/diesel fraction, a heavy fraction, and char. The naphtha/diesel fraction is passed to a crude unit distillation column in a refinery where a straight run naphtha (C5-C8) fraction or a propane/butane (C3-C4) fraction is recovered. The straight run naphtha fraction (C5-C8) or the propane/butane (C3-C4) fraction is passed to a steam cracker for ethylene production.
Timken discloses in paragraph 0008, a continuous process for converting waste plastic into recycle for polyethylene polymerization. The process comprises selecting waste plastics containing polyethylene and/or polypropylene and passing the waste plastics through a pyrolysis reactor to thermally crack at least a portion of the polyolefin waste and produce a pyrolyzed effluent. The pyrolyzed effluent is separated into offgas, a naphtha/diesel fraction, a heavy fraction, and char. Timken further discloses in paragraph 0009, the naphtha/diesel fraction is passed to a crude unit in a refinery. A straight run naphtha (C5-C8) fraction is recovered from the crude unit distillation column and passed to a steam cracker for ethylene production.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to separate the effluent of pyrolysis of waste plastics of Slivensky to be further passed to a steam cracker, as taught by Timken. The motivation to do so is to improve processes that establish “circular economy” for the waste polyethylene and polypropylene plastics where the spent waste plastics are recycled effectively back as starting materials for polymers and high value byproducts.
Regarding Claim 6
Slivensky discloses in paragraph 0212, the pyrolysis system 110 may include a waste plastic source 112 for supplying one or more waste plastics to the system 110. The plastic source 112 can be, for example, a hopper, storage bin, railcar, over-the-road trailer, or any other device that may hold or store waste plastics. In an embodiment or in combination with any of the embodiments mentioned herein, the waste plastics supplied by the plastic source 112 can be in the form of solid particles, such as chips, flakes, or a powder. Although not depicted in FIG. 2, the pyrolysis system 110 may also comprise additional sources of other types of recycled wastes that may be utilized to provide other feed types to the system 110.
Slivensky discloses in paragraph 0218, while in the pyrolysis reactor 118, at least a portion of the plastic feed may be subjected to a pyrolysis reaction that produces a pyrolysis effluent comprising a pyrolysis oil (e.g., r-pyoil) and a pyrolysis gas (e.g., r-pyrolysis gas). The pyrolysis reactor 118 can be, for example, an extruder, a tubular reactor, a tank, a stirred tank reactor, a riser reactor, a fixed bed reactor, a fluidized bed reactor, a rotary kiln, a vacuum reactor, a microwave reactor, an ultrasonic or supersonic reactor, or an autoclave, or a combination of these reactors.
Regarding Claims 15-20
Slivensky discloses in paragraph 0275, the r-pyoil includes one or more of paraffins, naphthenes or cyclic aliphatic hydrocarbons, aromatics, aromatic containing compounds, olefins, oxygenated compounds and polymers, heteroatom compounds or polymers, and other compounds or polymers.
Slivensky discloses in paragraph 0257, the pyrolysis gas can have a C3 hydrocarbon content in the range of 1 to 50 weight percent, 5 to 50 weight percent, or 20 to 50 weight percent. Slivensky further discloses in paragraph 0258, the pyrolysis gas can have a C4 hydrocarbon content in the range of 1 to 50 weight percent, 5 to 50 weight percent, or 20 to 50 weight percent.
Slivensky discloses in paragraph 0263, the heavy fraction may have a C4 to C7 content or a C8+ content of at least 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, 50, 55, 60, 65, 70, 75, 80, or 85 weight percent. The light fraction may include at least about 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, 50, 55, 60, 65, 70, 75, 80, or 85 percent of C3 and lighter (C3−) or C7 and lighter (C7−) content. In some embodiments, separator may concentrate desired components into the heavy fraction, such that the heavy fraction may have a C4 to C7 content or a C8+ content that is at least 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, 50, 55, 60, 65, 70, 75, 80, 85, 90, 95, 100, 105, 110, 115, 120, 125, 130, 135, 140, 145, or 150% greater than the C4 to C7 content or the C8+content of the pyrolysis oil withdrawn from the pyrolysis zone. As shown in FIG. 3, at least a portion of the heavy fraction may be sent to the cracking furnace 230 for cracking as or as part of the r-pyoil composition to form an olefin-containing effluent 258.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ellrich et al. (US 2012/0149958) discloses in the abstract, the process relates to the use of any naphtha-range stream containing a portion of C8+ aromatics combined with benzene, toluene, and other non-aromatics in the same boiling range to produce toluene. By feeding the A8+ containing stream to a dealkylation/transalkylation/cracking reactor to increase the concentration of toluene in the stream, a more suitable feedstock for the methylation reaction can be produced. This stream can be obtained from a variety of sources, including the pygas stream from a steam cracker, “cat naphtha” from a fluid catalytic cracker, or the heavier portion of reformate.
Slivensky et al. (US 2022/0380328) discloses in the abstract, ethylene oxide composition having a recycle content value is obtained by reacting an ethylene stream containing recycle content ethylene to make a recycle content ethylene oxide or by deducting from a recycle inventory a recycle content value applied to ethylene oxide composition. At least a portion of the recycle content value in the feedstock or in an allotment obtained by ethylene oxide M manufacturer has its origin in recycled waste and/or pyrolysis of recycled waste and/or in thermal steam cracking of recycle content pyoil. An alkylene diol composition and/or an alkylene diol polyester composition having a recycle content value that is obtained by reacting a recycle content feedstock to make a recycle content alkylene diol or alkylene diol polyester or by deducting from a recycle inventory a recycle content value applied to an alkylene diol composition and/or alkylene diol polyester. At least a portion of the recycle content value in the feedstock or in an allotment obtained by an alkylene diol or alkylene diol polyester manufacturer has its origin in recycled waste and/or pyrolysis of recycled waste and/or in thermal steam cracking of recycle content pyoil.
/Latosha Hines/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771