DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-2, 4, 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Oirschot et al. (EP 3795397 A1) in view of Skorianz et al. (DE 102007053079 B3).
Regarding claim 1, Van Oirschot et al. teaches “A wind deflector (5; Van Oirschot et al. Fig 1) for a vehicle sunroof system, comprising a vehicle-fixed bearing component (3; Van Oirschot et al. Annotated Fig 3B), a raising lever (7; Van Oirschot et al. Annotated Fig 3B) which is mounted at a bearing end (9; Van Oirschot et al. Annotated Fig 3B) so as to be displaceable on the bearing component in a guide (Van Oirschot et al. Annotated Fig 3B), a raising spring (12; Van Oirschot et al. Annotated Fig 3B is described in claim 1 as a biasing device which achieves the same function as a spring. While the art does not explicitly state “spring”, one of ordinary skill in the art would know this feature is a spring) which has a spring arm (13; Van Oirschot et al. Annotated Fig 3B) having one end rotatably mounted on the bearing component and the other end rotatably mounted on the raising lever at that end thereof which faces away from the bearing end…”
Van Oirschot et al. does not teach a latching structure.
However, Skorianz et al. teaches a latching structure (17; Skorianz et al. Fig 2) configured to retain the wind deflector in the raised position.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the latching structure of Skorianz et al. with the wind deflector of Van Oirschot et al. with a reasonable expectation of success for retaining the deflector in the fully raised position so that high speed forces do not move the deflector, thus allowing the deflector to maintain the aerodynamic benefits of its intended use.
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Van Oirschot et al. and Skorianz et al., as applied to claim 1, teaches “The wind deflector of claim 1, wherein the latching structure (17; Skorianz et al. Fig 2) has a spring (11; Van Oirschot et al. Annotated Fig 3B) on the bearing component (3; Van Oirschot et al. Annotated Fig 3B) which cooperates with the bearing end (9; Van Oirschot et al. Annotated Fig 3B) of the raising lever (7; Van Oirschot et al. Annotated Fig 3B).”
In reference to claim 4, the combination of Van Oirschot et al. and Skorianz et al., as applied to claim 1, teaches “The wind deflector of claim 2,wherein the spring (11; Van Oirschot et al. Annotated Fig 3B) is a separate component which is attached to the bearing component (3; Van Oirschot et al. Annotated Fig 3B).”
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Van Oirschot et al. and Skorianz et al., as applied to claim 1, teaches “The wind deflector of claim1,wherein the guide is a sliding guide which has a guide slot (Van Oirschot et al. Annotated Fig 3B) on the bearing component (3; Van Oirschot et al. Annotated Fig 3B) and a sliding element (10; Van Oirschot et al. Annotated Fig 3B) on the raising lever (7; Van Oirschot et al. Annotated Fig 3B).”
With respect to claim 17, the combination of Van Oirschot et al. and Skorianz et al., as applied to claim 1, teaches “The wind deflector of claim 1, wherein a wind deflector (5; Van Oirschot et al. Annotated Fig 3B) element, in particular a wind deflector net (Van Oirschot et al. (US 11396223 B2) used as translation column 4 lines 62-67), is attached to the raising lever (7; Van Oirschot et al. Annotated Fig 3B).”
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 3, 5-10 and 12-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, there is no art that can be taken alone or in combination to suggest a spring element integrally formed with the bearing component without the use of impermissible hindsight. Therefore, claim 3 contains allowable subject matter, but due to its dependence on a rejected claim, is hereby objected to.
With respect to claim 5, there is no art that can be taken alone or in combination to suggest a spring element integrally formed with the bearing component without the use of impermissible hindsight. Therefore, claim 5 contains allowable subject matter, but due to its dependence on a rejected claim, is hereby objected to.
In reference to claim 6, there is no art that can be taken alone or in combination to suggest a latching projection. Therefore, claim 6 contains allowable subject matter, but due to its dependence on a rejected claim, is hereby objected to.
Regarding claim 7, there is no art that can be taken alone or in combination to suggest a latching projection. Therefore, claim 7 contains allowable subject matter, but due to its dependence on a rejected claim, is hereby objected to.
With respect to claim 8, there is no art that can be taken alone or in combination to suggest a latching surface. Therefore, claim 8 contains allowable subject matter, but due to its dependence on a rejected claim, is hereby objected to.
In reference to claim 9, there is no art that can be taken alone or in combination to suggest a latching surface. Therefore, claim 9 contains allowable subject matter, but due to its dependence on a rejected claim, is hereby objected to.
Regarding claim 10, there is no art that can be taken alone or in combination to suggest a latching projection. Therefore, claim 10 contains allowable subject matter, but due to its dependence on a rejected claim, is hereby objected to.
With respect to claim 12, there is no art that can be taken alone or in combination to suggest a latching projection. Therefore, claim 12 contains allowable subject matter, but due to its dependence on a rejected claim, is hereby objected to.
In reference to claim 13, there is no art that can be taken alone or in combination to suggest a latching surface. Therefore, claim 13 contains allowable subject matter, but due to its dependence on a rejected claim, is hereby objected to.
Regarding claim 14, there is no art that can be taken alone or in combination to suggest a latching surface. Therefore, claim 14 contains allowable subject matter, but due to its dependence on a rejected claim, is hereby objected to.
With respect to claim 15, there is no art that can be taken alone or in combination to teach a sliding element on the bearing component without destroying the primary reference. Therefore, claim 15 contains allowable subject matter, but due to its dependence on a rejected claim, is hereby objected to.
In reference to claim 16, there is no art that can be taken alone or in combination to suggest a latching nose. Therefore, claim 16 contains allowable subject matter, but due to its dependence on a rejected claim, is hereby objected to.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kohout et al. (US-8246111-B2) teaches a wind deflector a bearing component, raising lever, raising spring, bearing end and guide slot. However, this art does not teach a latching structure.
Eberst et al. (US-9033409-B2) teaches a wind deflector a bearing component, raising lever, raising spring, bearing end and guide slot. However, this art does not teach a latching structure.
Geurts et al. (US-10399422-B2) teaches a wind deflector a bearing component, raising lever, bearing end and guide slot. However, this art does not teach a latching structure or a raising spring.
/D.R.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612