DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7 and 10-12 are pending examination.
Claims 8 and 9 cancelled by applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1,3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over Khaleghi et al. ( USPAT 10211920 ) in view of Smith et al. ( USPUB 20110170860) .
Regarding claim 1, Khaleghi et al. teaches A communication system ( FIG. 1 teaches a communication system) comprising one or more control apparatuses and one or more user apparatuses ( control apparatus taught within FIG. 1- OSC – 116 & 146) , wherein a first user apparatus or first control apparatus responds with a second control signal to a first control signal transmitted from an opposing second user apparatus or second control apparatus ( communication between nodes within the communication system taught within FIG. 1 and FIG. 2A and Col. 5- lines 48- 65- “…an optical communication system 200 includes a first network node 202 and a second network node 222 that include respective optical couplers 203, 223 that combine and separate optical beams among appropriate inputs/outputs of one or more optical transceivers. An optical fiber pair 206 couples the first and second network nodes 202, 222. An OTDR 210 delivers a probe pulse at the network node 202 and the optical coupler 203 combines the probe pulse with the communication optical signals. The probe pulse can be coupled to one or both of the optical fibers of the optical fiber pair 206. The OTDR determines a propagation time to a reflective surface at or near the second network node 222 and can estimate an optical fiber length based on propagation speed in the optical fiber…”) , the second user apparatus or second control apparatus determines whether a signal path including sections between the first user apparatus or first control apparatus and the second user apparatus or second control apparatus is normal on the basis of the second control signal used in the response ( Col. 4- lines 47-67- “…FIG. 1, a representative optical communication system 100 includes a first network node 102 and a second network node 142 coupled by optical fibers 104, 106. The first network node 102 includes optical transceivers 110.sub.1, . . . , 110.sub.N that are coupled to a mux/demux 112 (or an optical switch) so that wavelength division multiplexed or other combined optical beams are communicated between the mux/demux 112 and an optical line system (OLS) 114 that is coupled to the optical fibers 104, 106. An optical supervisory channel (OSC) 116 is coupled to the optical line system 114 so that one or more optical signals associated with network control are communicated between the first network node 102 and the second network node 104, typically at wavelengths other than data communication wavelengths. The optical line system 116 typically includes one or more processors, memory, and electrical network connections as well as an optical time domain reflectometer (OTDR) 118 that delivers a probe pulse to the OLS 114 and to one or both of the optical fibers 104, 106. Portions of the probe pulse are reflected and are returned to the OTDR 118. ….” ) ,
Khaleghi et al. does not explicitly teach the first user apparatus or first control apparatus loops back the first control signal transmitted from the opposing second user apparatus or second control apparatus, and the second user apparatus or second control apparatus determines whether a signal path including the section between the first user apparatus or first control apparatus and the second user apparatus or second control apparatus is normal on the basis of the looped back first control signal.
However, within analogous art, Smith et al. teaches the first user apparatus or first control apparatus loops back the first control signal transmitted from the opposing second user apparatus or second control apparatus (FIG. 5 and Paragraph [0032]- “…The nodes 302, 304 are configured to operate OTN, SONET, or SDH, and are adjacent to one another from either a section or line perspective with respect to overhead. In OTN, G.709 includes the use of an overhead byte for a delay measurement between PM and TCM end points. Each line TCM provides the ability to perform a latency measurement within 50 .mu.sec accuracy. Note, accuracy is dependent on the line rate and is bounded by the frame rate as the data must wait for the frame boundary before it can be looped back. Every link, such as a line 310 between the nodes 302, 304, is assigned a default value. When a link's latency can be measured, the measured value overwrites the default. When a link's latency cannot be measured, the user can manually enter a value for the links latency. Latency is measured by inserting a transition in a specified bit from a 0 to 1 or 1 to 0 at the node 302. This bit is looped back by the far end at the node 304. At the node 302, …”) , and the second user apparatus or second control apparatus determines whether a signal path including the section between the first user apparatus or first control apparatus and the second user apparatus or second control apparatus is normal on the basis of the looped back first control signal ( Paragraph [0040]- “…The management system 802 is communicatively coupled to a plurality of nodes 804 within an I-NNI domain 806. The management system 802 may include a network management system (NMS), element management system (EMS), operations support system (OSS), craft interface (CI), and the like. Generally, the management system 802 is a computer system with a network connection to one or more of the nodes 804. The network connection to the one or more nodes 804 provides the ability for the management system 802 to communicate with all of the nodes 804, such as through an optical service channel,….” AND Paragraph [0033]- “…each of the nodes 302, 304 learns the other's identification (i.e., Node_ID), and the node 302 with the higher Node_ID assign itself to be the master, the other node 304 assigns itself to be a slave node, or vice versa. If both of the nodes 302, 304 are able to do latency measurements, the master node 302 automatically initiates latency measurements by writing to a register in a framer, and the framer will transition the bits from a 0 to 1 or 1 to 0. The slave node 304 automatically configures the framer on the line 310 to loop back the overhead bytes back to the master node 302. Once a measurement is initiated, the master node 302 counts the number of frames that transpire before a transitioned bit is returned from the framer at the end of the line 310, and the master node 302 converts the frame count to time and divides by two with this becoming the measured value for the latency of the line 310….”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Smith et al. within the modified teaching of the Latency Based Chromatic Dispersion Estimation Methods mentioned by Khaleghi et al. because the Systems and methods of measuring latency and routing thereon in optical networks mentioned by Smith et al. provides a method and system for implementation of routing connection and traffic within optical network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the Systems and methods of measuring latency and routing thereon in optical networks mentioned by Smith et al. within the modified teaching of the Latency Based Chromatic Dispersion Estimation Methods mentioned by Khaleghi et al. for implementation of routing connection and traffic within optical network.
Regarding claim 3, Khaleghi et al. teaches A communication system ( FIG. 1 teaches a communication system) comprising one or more control apparatuses and one or more user apparatuses( control apparatus taught within FIG. 1- OSC – 116 & 146), wherein a first user apparatus or first control apparatus loops back a first main signal transmitted from a second user apparatus or second control apparatus that generates and terminates a main signal in a signal format selected on the basis of a signal format used by an opposing second user apparatus or second control apparatus ( Col. 4- lines 47-65- “… An optical supervisory channel (OSC) 116 is coupled to the optical line system 114 so that one or more optical signals associated with network control are communicated between the first network node 102 and the second network node 104, typically at wavelengths other than data communication wavelengths. The optical line system 116 typically includes one or more processors, memory, and electrical network connections as well as an optical time domain reflectometer (OTDR) 118 that delivers a probe pulse to the OLS 114 and to one or both of the optical fibers 104, 106. Portions of the probe pulse are reflected and are returned to the OTDR 118….”) , the second user apparatus or second control apparatus determines whether a signal path including sections between the second user apparatus or second control apparatus and the first user apparatus or first control apparatus is normal on the basis of the looped back first main signal ( Col. 6- lines 20-55- “…IG. 3 illustrates an alternative optical communication network 300. Optical transceivers 3021, 302A, . . . are coupled to a mux/demux 304 to produce combined beams for transmission and receive separated optical beams. An OTDR 305 is also coupled to the mux/demux 304 so that an optical line system 306 receives multiplexed beams and an OTDR probe pulse. The probe pulse is directed to one or both of optical fibers 308, 310 for measurement of optical fiber length. At a remote node, combined beams are communicated with an optical line system 314 that also receives the probe pulse. Portions of the probe pulse can be returned to the OTDR 305 from the optical line system 314, a mux/demux 316, or detectors or emitters or other components associated with transceivers 318. As shown in FIG. 3, the remote node includes an OTDR 320 as well, and either or both OTDRs can be used for fiber measurement as convenient….”) , or the first user apparatus or first control apparatus loops back the second main signal transmitted from the second user apparatus or second control apparatus in a signal format selected on the basis of a signal format used by the opposing second user apparatus or second control apparatus ( Col. 6- Lines 37-58- “…At 404, a reflected pulse portion or other returned pulse portion is detected at the OTDR, typically from one or more typical network node components. If desired, a reflector, fiber coupler, circulator or other device can be used to produce the returned pulse but in practice this is typically unnecessary. At 406, based on the reflected pulse delay, chromatic dispersion can be estimated for some or all wavelengths of interest based on a fiber length associated with pulse delay. In response, recommended communication bit rates can be determined and reported at 408, the value of CD can be confirmed to be within an acceptable range at 410, CD can be reported via a control network or displayed for a network operator at 414, a suitable modulation format can be selected and communicated to one or more network nodes at 1419, or CD compensation can be introduced at 412 for one or more or all transceivers. At 404, a reflected pulse portion or other returned pulse portion is detected at the OTDR, typically from one or more typical network node components. If desired, a reflector, fiber coupler, circulator or other device can be used to produce the returned pulse but in practice this is typically unnecessary. At 406, based on the reflected pulse delay, chromatic dispersion can be estimated for some or all wavelengths of interest based on a fiber length associated with pulse delay. In response, recommended communication bit rates can be determined and reported at 408, the value of CD can be confirmed to be within an acceptable range at 410, CD can be reported via a control network or displayed for a network operator at 414, a suitable modulation format can be selected and communicated to one or more network nodes at 1419, or CD compensation can be introduced at 412 for one or more or all transceivers….”) , the second user apparatus or second control apparatus determines whether a signal path including sections between the second user apparatus or second control apparatus and the first user apparatus or first control apparatus is normal on the basis of the looped back second main signal ( Col. 8- Lines 35- 65- “…combined received optical communication signal on optical fiber 1042 is directed to receive mux (i.e., demux) 1038 that separates the combined signal and delivers portions to the receivers 1012, 1022. Reflected probe pulse portions received at the OTDR 1030 permit estimation of CD, and the node controller 1050 is coupled to the data sources/sinks 1002, 1004 to selected suitable data rates or modulation format consistent with estimated CD. The transmit mux 1016 and the receive demux 1038 can be provided in a mux/demux 1039. While muxes are shown for combining and separating beams, optical switches can be used as well….”) ,
Khaleghi et al. does not explicitly teach the first user apparatus or first control apparatus responds with a third main signal to the first main signal transmitted from the second user apparatus or second control apparatus that generates and terminates the main signal in the signal format selected on the basis of the signal format used by the opposing second user apparatus or second control apparatus, the second user apparatus or second control apparatus determines whether a signal path including sections between the second user apparatus or second control apparatus and the first user apparatus or first control apparatus is normal on the basis of the third main signal used in the response, or the first user apparatus or first control apparatus responds with a fourth main signal to the second main signal transmitted from the second user apparatus or second control apparatus in the signal format selected on the basis of the signal format used by the opposing second user apparatus or second control apparatus, and signal path including sections between the second user apparatus or second control and the first user apparatus or first control apparatus is normal on the basis of the fourth main signal used in the response.
However, within analogous art, the first user apparatus or first control apparatus responds with a third main signal to the first main signal transmitted from the second user apparatus or second control apparatus that generates and terminates the main signal in the signal format selected on the basis of the signal format used by the opposing second user apparatus or second control apparatus, the second user apparatus or second control apparatus determines whether a signal path including sections between the second user apparatus or second control apparatus and the first user apparatus or first control apparatus is normal on the basis of the third main signal used in the response, or the first user apparatus or first control apparatus responds with a fourth main signal to the second main signal transmitted from the second user apparatus or second control apparatus in the signal format selected on the basis of the signal format used by the opposing second user apparatus or second control apparatus, and signal path including sections between the second user apparatus or second control and the first user apparatus or first control apparatus is normal on the basis of the fourth main signal used in the response.
However, within analogous art, Smith et al. teaches the first user apparatus or first control apparatus responds with a third main signal to the first main signal transmitted from the second user apparatus or second control apparatus that generates and terminates the main signal in the signal format selected on the basis of the signal format used by the opposing second user apparatus or second control apparatus (FIG. 5 and Paragraph [0032]- “…The nodes 302, 304 are configured to operate OTN, SONET, or SDH, and are adjacent to one another from either a section or line perspective with respect to overhead. In OTN, G.709 includes the use of an overhead byte for a delay measurement between PM and TCM end points. Each line TCM provides the ability to perform a latency measurement within 50 .mu.sec accuracy. Note, accuracy is dependent on the line rate and is bounded by the frame rate as the data must wait for the frame boundary before it can be looped back. Every link, such as a line 310 between the nodes 302, 304, is assigned a default value. When a link's latency can be measured, the measured value overwrites the default. When a link's latency cannot be measured, the user can manually enter a value for the links latency. Latency is measured by inserting a transition in a specified bit from a 0 to 1 or 1 to 0 at the node 302. This bit is looped back by the far end at the node 304. At the node 302, …”) , the second user apparatus or second control apparatus determines whether a signal path including sections between the second user apparatus or second control apparatus and the first user apparatus or first control apparatus is normal on the basis of the third main signal used in the response ( Paragraph [0040]- “…The management system 802 is communicatively coupled to a plurality of nodes 804 within an I-NNI domain 806. The management system 802 may include a network management system (NMS), element management system (EMS), operations support system (OSS), craft interface (CI), and the like. Generally, the management system 802 is a computer system with a network connection to one or more of the nodes 804. The network connection to the one or more nodes 804 provides the ability for the management system 802 to communicate with all of the nodes 804, such as through an optical service channel,….” AND Paragraph [0033]- “…each of the nodes 302, 304 learns the other's identification (i.e., Node_ID), and the node 302 with the higher Node_ID assign itself to be the master, the other node 304 assigns itself to be a slave node, or vice versa. If both of the nodes 302, 304 are able to do latency measurements, the master node 302 automatically initiates latency measurements by writing to a register in a framer, and the framer will transition the bits from a 0 to 1 or 1 to 0. The slave node 304 automatically configures the framer on the line 310 to loop back the overhead bytes back to the master node 302. Once a measurement is initiated, the master node 302 counts the number of frames that transpire before a transitioned bit is returned from the framer at the end of the line 310, and the master node 302 converts the frame count to time and divides by two with this becoming the measured value for the latency of the line 310….”) ,or the first user apparatus or first control apparatus responds with a fourth main signal to the second main signal transmitted from the second user apparatus or second control apparatus in the signal format selected on the basis of the signal format used by the opposing second user apparatus or second control apparatus ( Paragraphs [0027-0029]- “…redundant control modules (CMs) 200, 202 are illustrated to provide configuration and control of a network element or node. The CMs 200, 202 may be part of common equipment of the nodes 102, 104 in FIG. 1. In general, the CMs 200, 202 are configured to provide operations, administration, maintenance, and provisioning (OAM&P) functions associated with a network element, node, network, etc. In an exemplary embodiment, the CMs 200, 202 may be further configured to provide control plane processing, such as OSRP, ASON, G-MPLS, etc. In the present invention, the CMs 200, 202 are configured to provide latency measurements over line interfaces, to exchange latency measurements for particular lines with other CMs 200, 202, and to optionally route circuits based at least in part of the latency measurements…..”) , and signal path including sections between the second user apparatus or second control and the first user apparatus or first control apparatus is normal on the basis of the fourth main signal used in the response ( Paragraphs [0038-0040] “…hen node 1 is designated the master and initiates the latency measurements. After measurements are made, node 1 distributes latency information among all nodes by way of routing messages using a signaling and routing protocol. For example, all of the optical switches 606 (nodes 1-6) may be included in an Internal-Network to Network Interface (I-NNI) domain associated with the signaling and routing protocol. Thus, all nodes in the domain will know the latency of the links between Nodes 1, 2, 3 and 4. Likewise, other master nodes may do the same as node 1. With all the latencies of the links 608 (labeled links 1-14) known, latency of any path between the clients 602, 604 may be easily computed….” AND Paragraphs [0048-0050]- “…0050] Referring to FIG. 14, in an exemplary embodiment, a diagram illustrates a latency routing software architecture 1400 that may exist between the management system 802, nodes, and a signaling and routing protocol. In general, the latency routing software architecture 1400 includes three components including the management system 802, a signaling and routing protocol 1402 (e.g., OSRP in this example), and hardware, firmware, and software components 1404. The management system 802 generally interfaces with the signaling and routing protocol 1402, and the signaling and routing protocol 1402 generally interfaces with the components 1404. The signaling and routing protocol 1402 may operate within the CMs 200, 202 in FIG. 2, and generally includes an edge call control (ECC) 1410 module and a routing database 1412. The signaling and routing protocol 1402 may include values 1414 for maximum latency of particular SNCs, …”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Smith et al. within the modified teaching of the Latency Based Chromatic Dispersion Estimation Methods mentioned by Khaleghi et al. because the Systems and methods of measuring latency and routing thereon in optical networks mentioned by Smith et al. provides a method and system for implementation of routing connection and traffic within optical network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the Systems and methods of measuring latency and routing thereon in optical networks mentioned by Smith et al. within the modified teaching of the Latency Based Chromatic Dispersion Estimation Methods mentioned by Khaleghi et al. for implementation of routing connection and traffic within optical network.
Regarding claim 7, Khaleghi et al. teaches A normality determination method executed by a communication system( FIG. 1 teaches a communication system) comprising one or more control apparatuses and one or more user apparatuses( control apparatus taught within FIG. 1- OSC – 116 & 146), the normality determination method comprising: a first user apparatus or first control apparatus responds with a second control signal to a first control signal transmitted from a second user apparatus or second control apparatus( communication between nodes within the communication system taught within FIG. 1 and FIG. 2A and Col. 5- lines 48- 65- “…an optical communication system 200 includes a first network node 202 and a second network node 222 that include respective optical couplers 203, 223 that combine and separate optical beams among appropriate inputs/outputs of one or more optical transceivers. An optical fiber pair 206 couples the first and second network nodes 202, 222. An OTDR 210 delivers a probe pulse at the network node 202 and the optical coupler 203 combines the probe pulse with the communication optical signals. The probe pulse can be coupled to one or both of the optical fibers of the optical fiber pair 206. The OTDR determines a propagation time to a reflective surface at or near the second network node 222 and can estimate an optical fiber length based on propagation speed in the optical fiber…”) ,the second user apparatus or second control apparatus determines whether a signal path including sections between the first user apparatus or first control apparatus and the second user apparatus or second control apparatus is normal on the basis of the second control signal used in the response ( Col. 4- lines 47-67- “…FIG. 1, a representative optical communication system 100 includes a first network node 102 and a second network node 142 coupled by optical fibers 104, 106. The first network node 102 includes optical transceivers 110.sub.1, . . . , 110.sub.N that are coupled to a mux/demux 112 (or an optical switch) so that wavelength division multiplexed or other combined optical beams are communicated between the mux/demux 112 and an optical line system (OLS) 114 that is coupled to the optical fibers 104, 106. An optical supervisory channel (OSC) 116 is coupled to the optical line system 114 so that one or more optical signals associated with network control are communicated between the first network node 102 and the second network node 104, typically at wavelengths other than data communication wavelengths. The optical line system 116 typically includes one or more processors, memory, and electrical network connections as well as an optical time domain reflectometer (OTDR) 118 that delivers a probe pulse to the OLS 114 and to one or both of the optical fibers 104, 106. Portions of the probe pulse are reflected and are returned to the OTDR 118. ….” ),
Khaleghi et al. does not explicitly teach the first user apparatus or first control apparatus loops back the first control signal transmitted from the second user apparatus or second control apparatus, and the second user apparatus or the second control apparatus determines whether the signal path including the section between the first user apparatus or first control apparatus and the second user apparatus or second control apparatus is normal on the basis of the looped back first control signal.
However, within analogous art, Smith et al. teaches the first user apparatus or first control apparatus loops back the first control signal transmitted from the second user apparatus or second control apparatus (FIG. 5 and Paragraph [0032]- “…The nodes 302, 304 are configured to operate OTN, SONET, or SDH, and are adjacent to one another from either a section or line perspective with respect to overhead. In OTN, G.709 includes the use of an overhead byte for a delay measurement between PM and TCM end points. Each line TCM provides the ability to perform a latency measurement within 50 .mu.sec accuracy. Note, accuracy is dependent on the line rate and is bounded by the frame rate as the data must wait for the frame boundary before it can be looped back. Every link, such as a line 310 between the nodes 302, 304, is assigned a default value. When a link's latency can be measured, the measured value overwrites the default. When a link's latency cannot be measured, the user can manually enter a value for the links latency. Latency is measured by inserting a transition in a specified bit from a 0 to 1 or 1 to 0 at the node 302. This bit is looped back by the far end at the node 304. At the node 302, …”) , and the second user apparatus or the second control apparatus determines whether the signal path including the section between the first user apparatus or first control apparatus and the second user apparatus or second control apparatus is normal on the basis of the looped back first control signal ( Paragraph [0040]- “…The management system 802 is communicatively coupled to a plurality of nodes 804 within an I-NNI domain 806. The management system 802 may include a network management system (NMS), element management system (EMS), operations support system (OSS), craft interface (CI), and the like. Generally, the management system 802 is a computer system with a network connection to one or more of the nodes 804. The network connection to the one or more nodes 804 provides the ability for the management system 802 to communicate with all of the nodes 804, such as through an optical service channel,….” AND Paragraph [0033]- “…each of the nodes 302, 304 learns the other's identification (i.e., Node_ID), and the node 302 with the higher Node_ID assign itself to be the master, the other node 304 assigns itself to be a slave node, or vice versa. If both of the nodes 302, 304 are able to do latency measurements, the master node 302 automatically initiates latency measurements by writing to a register in a framer, and the framer will transition the bits from a 0 to 1 or 1 to 0. The slave node 304 automatically configures the framer on the line 310 to loop back the overhead bytes back to the master node 302. Once a measurement is initiated, the master node 302 counts the number of frames that transpire before a transitioned bit is returned from the framer at the end of the line 310, and the master node 302 converts the frame count to time and divides by two with this becoming the measured value for the latency of the line 310….”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Smith et al. within the modified teaching of the Latency Based Chromatic Dispersion Estimation Methods mentioned by Khaleghi et al. because the Systems and methods of measuring latency and routing thereon in optical networks mentioned by Smith et al. provides a method and system for implementation of routing connection and traffic within optical network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the Systems and methods of measuring latency and routing thereon in optical networks mentioned by Smith et al. within the modified teaching of the Latency Based Chromatic Dispersion Estimation Methods mentioned by Khaleghi et al. for implementation of routing connection and traffic within optical network.
2. Claims 4,6,10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over Khaleghi et al. ( USPAT 10211920 ) in view of Smith et al. ( USPUB 20110170860) in further view of Soto et al. ( USPUB 20140016926).
Regarding claim 4, Combination of Khaleghi et al. and Smith et al. teach claim 1,
Combination of Khaleghi et al. and Smith et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the second user apparatus also determines whether the inside of the second user apparatus is normal by using a predetermined signal in the second user apparatus, in addition to determining whether the signal path is normal.
Within analogous art, Soto et al. teaches wherein the second user apparatus also determines whether the inside of the second user apparatus is normal by using a predetermined signal in the second user apparatus, in addition to determining whether the signal path is normal ( Normal data traffic detection within user ( ONU ) taught within Paragraph [0139]- “… initiating test methods or obtaining test method results directly from an ONU/T client or remotely from an OLT is desired. ONU/T Data Communication entity 470 represents normal data traffic (i.e., data not related to test methods, for example user application layer data communications)….”) .
Regarding claim 6, Combination of Khaleghi et al. and Smith et al. teach claim 1,
Combination of Khaleghi et al. and Smith et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the second control apparatus transmits a control signal, to which the error correction code is assigned, to the second user apparatus, and determines whether the signal path is normal further on the basis of whether predetermined processing is performed on the control signal looped back from the second user apparatus.
Within analogous art, Soto et al. teaches wherein the second control apparatus transmits a control signal, to which the error correction code is assigned, to the second user apparatus ( Paragraph [0138]- “… Forward Error Correction (FEC) for bit error detection or recovery, electrical-to-optical and optical-to-electrical conversion for the transmission and reception of optical communication signals. The OLT PLSE 443A is responsible for controlling the OLT transceiver to perform test light transmission, recording of test light for ISIL measurements and recording of reflected test light for OTDR and OFDR measurements….”) , and determines whether the signal path is normal further on the basis of whether predetermined processing is performed on the control signal looped back from the second user apparatus ( Paragraph [0174]- “…allocating test measurement windows and extracting test measurements or test results in synchrony with OAM Client traffic. Additionally, OAM Sub-layer 912 exchanges frames with the MAC Control Sub-layer 914 comprising of ONU/T data and test method communications, and comprising of other OAM sub-layer specific frames used by the OAM sub-layer entity 912 for processing link performance monitoring, alarm and status monitoring, loopback, OAM receive and transmission rule setting, or discovery of other OAM processing capable network terminals capabilities….”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Soto et al. within the combined modified teaching of the Latency Based Chromatic Dispersion Estimation Methods mentioned by Khaleghi et al. and the Systems and methods of measuring latency and routing thereon in optical networks mentioned by Smith et al. because the System and method for performing in-service optical network certification mentioned by Soto et al.
provides a method and system for implementation of diagnostic and optical measurement within optical communication network .
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the System and method for performing in-service optical network certification mentioned by Soto et al. within the combined modified teaching of the Latency Based Chromatic Dispersion Estimation Methods mentioned by Khaleghi et al. and the Systems and methods of measuring latency and routing thereon in optical networks mentioned by Smith et al. for implementation of diagnostic and optical measurement within optical communication network .
Regarding claim 10, Combination of Khaleghi et al. and Smith et al. teach claim 1,
Combination of Khaleghi et al. and Smith et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the second user apparatus also determines whether the inside of the second user apparatus is normal by using a predetermined signal in the second user apparatus, in addition to determining whether the signal path is normal.
Within analogous art, Soto et al. teaches wherein the second user apparatus also determines whether the inside of the second user apparatus is normal by using a predetermined signal in the second user apparatus, in addition to determining whether the signal path is normal ( Normal data traffic detection within user ( ONU ) taught within Paragraph [0139]- “… initiating test methods or obtaining test method results directly from an ONU/T client or remotely from an OLT is desired. ONU/T Data Communication entity 470 represents normal data traffic (i.e., data not related to test methods, for example user application layer data communications)….”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Soto et al. within the combined modified teaching of the Latency Based Chromatic Dispersion Estimation Methods mentioned by Khaleghi et al. and the Systems and methods of measuring latency and routing thereon in optical networks mentioned by Smith et al. because the System and method for performing in-service optical network certification mentioned by Soto et al.
provides a method and system for implementation of diagnostic and optical measurement within optical communication network .
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the System and method for performing in-service optical network certification mentioned by Soto et al. within the combined modified teaching of the Latency Based Chromatic Dispersion Estimation Methods mentioned by Khaleghi et al. and the Systems and methods of measuring latency and routing thereon in optical networks mentioned by Smith et al. for implementation of diagnostic and optical measurement within optical communication network .
Regarding claim 12, Combination of Khaleghi et al. and Smith et al. teach claim 1,
Combination of Khaleghi et al. and Smith et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the second control apparatus transmits a control signal, to which the error correction code is assigned, to the second user apparatus, and determines whether the signal path is normal further on the basis of whether predetermined processing is performed on the control signal looped back from the second user apparatus.
Within analogous art, Soto et al. teaches wherein the second control apparatus transmits a control signal, to which the error correction code is assigned, to the second user apparatus ( Paragraph [0138]- “… Forward Error Correction (FEC) for bit error detection or recovery, electrical-to-optical and optical-to-electrical conversion for the transmission and reception of optical communication signals. The OLT PLSE 443A is responsible for controlling the OLT transceiver to perform test light transmission, recording of test light for ISIL measurements and recording of reflected test light for OTDR and OFDR measurements….”) , and determines whether the signal path is normal further on the basis of whether predetermined processing is performed on the control signal looped back from the second user apparatus ( Paragraph [0174]- “…allocating test measurement windows and extracting test measurements or test results in synchrony with OAM Client traffic. Additionally, OAM Sub-layer 912 exchanges frames with the MAC Control Sub-layer 914 comprising of ONU/T data and test method communications, and comprising of other OAM sub-layer specific frames used by the OAM sub-layer entity 912 for processing link performance monitoring, alarm and status monitoring, loopback, OAM receive and transmission rule setting, or discovery of other OAM processing capable network terminals capabilities….”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Soto et al. within the combined modified teaching of the Latency Based Chromatic Dispersion Estimation Methods mentioned by Khaleghi et al. and the Systems and methods of measuring latency and routing thereon in optical networks mentioned by Smith et al. because the System and method for performing in-service optical network certification mentioned by Soto et al.
provides a method and system for implementation of diagnostic and optical measurement within optical communication network .
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the System and method for performing in-service optical network certification mentioned by Soto et al. within the combined modified teaching of the Latency Based Chromatic Dispersion Estimation Methods mentioned by Khaleghi et al. and the Systems and methods of measuring latency and routing thereon in optical networks mentioned by Smith et al. for implementation of diagnostic and optical measurement within optical communication network .
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 2,5 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
4. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for objecting the claims as allowable subject matter:
As to claim 2, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 2 : “…first control apparatus multiplexes the second control signal on another optical signal different from the main signal when the optical signal for carrying the second control signal does not reach the first control apparatus or multiplexes the second control signal on the optical signal for carrying the second control signal when the optical signal for carrying the second control signal reaches the control apparatus, and determines whether the signal path is normal on the basis of the second control signal multiplexed on the other optical signal or the optical signal.”
As to claim 5, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 5 : “…when the second user apparatus does not transmit a control signal or main signal indicating a signal for measuring an error rate to the second control apparatus, the second control apparatus transmits a control signal or main signal indicating a signal for measuring an error rate to the second user apparatus, and determines whether the signal path is normal further on the basis of a measurement result of the error rate based on the control signal or main signal looped back by the second user apparatus, or when the second user apparatus transmits a control signal or main signal indicating a signal for measuring an error rate to the second control apparatus, the second control apparatus determines whether the signal path is normal further on the basis of a measurement result of the error rate based on the control signal or main signal transmitted from the second user apparatus.”
As to claim 11, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 11: “…when the second user apparatus does not transmit a control signal or main signal indicating a signal for measuring an error rate to the second control apparatus, the second control apparatus transmits a control signal or main signal indicating the signal for measuring an error rate to the second user apparatus, and determines whether the signal path is normal further on the basis of a measurement result of the error rate based on the control signal or main signal looped back by the second user apparatus, or when the second user apparatus transmits a control signal or main signal indicating a signal for measuring an error rate to the second control apparatus, the second control apparatus determines whether the signal path is normal further on the basis of a measurement result of the error rate based on the control signal or main signal transmitted from the second user apparatus.”
Examiner’s Notes
5. The Examiner acknowledges the following prior arts below as pertinent to the current applications claim limitations and inventive concept, although the following prior arts shown below were not relied upon to address the limitations within the claim , they are analogous art mentioning the inventive concept key points on ( All optical network, multiple control modules, multiple users, OTDR, loop back traffic, error function detection, routing traffic etc.).
Yasunari Tanaka et al.," High-power-budget End-to-end Optical Connection with AMCC Superposition of SOA-integrated EA-DFB Transmitter in All-Photonics Network," 29th August 2021, 2021 Opto-Electronics and Communications Conference (OECC),Pages 1-3.
X.Z Qiu et al.," High Performance Burst-Mode Upstream Transmission for Next Generation PONs," 12th February 2007, Conference, Pages 1-3.
Yu Rong Zhou et al.," Field Trial Demonstration of Novel Optical Superchannel Capacity Protection for 400G Using DP–16QAM and DP–QPSK with In-service OTDR Fault Localization," 11th August 2016, 2016 Optical Fiber Communications Conference and Exhibition (OFC) ,Pages 1-3.
4) Handelman et al. (USPUB 20020048067 )
5) Way et al. (USPAT 8139476)
6) PARASCHIS et al. (USPUB 20180220210)
7) YOSHINO MANABU (JP 2018142837)
8) Zhang et al. (USPUB 20210400537 )
9) Sridhar et al. (USPUB 20230224614 )
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/OMAR S ISMAIL/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635