DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR20190074390 (KR’390). This document was cited on an IDS and a copy thereof filed with the application. Therefore, a copy has not been included with this office action. A machine translation of this document has been included and recitations of specific portions of the text refer to the machine translation.
Regarding claim 1, KR’390 discloses a suction dispensing device (title/abstract) having a removal tip (disposable tips 131), comprising: a driving base module (feeder frames 121 and 121a) configured to raise and lower a movable plate (122, 123); and a syringe operation module having at least one syringe (syringes 126) installed therein so that when the movable plate rises from a reference position to a suction position, liquid is aspirated therein, and when the movable plate returns to the reference position from the suction position, the liquid is dispensed ([0036], [0042], [0044]), wherein the syringe operation module includes a tip removal plate (170, 171) configured to allow a dispensing tip, forcefully engaged with a front end of the syringe, to be removed when the movable plate moves downward from the reference position to a tip removal position (the position shown in Fig. 6 where the movable plate is lowered to engage with the tip remover).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR’390 in view of US Patent Application Publication 2014/0302611 to Orning et al. (Orning).
Regarding claim 10, KR’390 discloses the suction dispensing device of claim 1 (see above), but does not disclose the tip removal plate has a punching pin portion formed on a lower surface thereof to punch sealing paper of a cartridge. Orning teaches an assay cartridge which includes one or more cartridges having a sealing film and a punching pin (cutter 102) to punch the sealing film of the cartridge. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a punching pin as taught by Orning on the lower surface of the tip removal plate of KR’390 such that if cartridges having a sealing paper/film are used in the system, the seal can be punched to allow liquid to be dispensed to or withdrawn from the cartridge without the need for a user to puncture the paper/film.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9 and 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the cited documents do not disclose “the driving base module comprises: a driving base frame; the movable plate configured to be movable up and down along a guide member formed on the driving base frame; a first threaded rod screwed through a first nut member formed on the movable plate to allow the movable plate to move up and down through screw motion; a first motor formed on the driving base frame and configured to rotate the first threaded rod; and a first power transmission device which is formed on the driving base frame, is installed between the first threaded rod and the first motor, and is configured to transmit rotational power generated by the first motor to the first threaded rod.” The examiner finds no evidence that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the cited documents to include the claimed structure, absent the teachings of Applicant’s disclosure. Therefore, the cited documents do not disclose or render obvious the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and claimed invention.
/NICOLAS A ARNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753 January 22, 2026