DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-12 and 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “a size larger than that of the material usually available naturally and commercially” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. If the limitation were allowed to issue, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the limitation so as to be able to avoid infringement.
The term “a size such that they can penetrate deeply into the human respiratory system, and particularly to the level of the alveoli” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. If the limitation were allowed to issue, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the limitation so as to be able to avoid infringement.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the market" in the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the port for the entrance of air" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as --the first port--.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the port for the exit of air" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as --the second port--.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the cylindrical porous receptacle" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as --the porous receptacle--.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the cylindrical porous receptacle" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as --the porous receptacle--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-12, 15-17 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farrell (US 4,499,012) in view of Muhmel et al. (US 6,135,431; hereinafter “Muhmel”).
In regard to claims 1 and 15, Farrell discloses a process for preparing a scent diffuser cartridge comprising the steps of providing a quantity of granules of vermiculite (col. 1, lines 39-66) which are capable of retaining a scent substance, subjecting the material to sieving, or an equivalent separation technique, so as to obtain large particles of a size of 1 mm or 3 mm to 6 mm (1000 microns or 3000 microns to 6000 microns; col. 1, line 39-52), placing a predetermined quantity of the granules into a container (as necessary to admix with perfume oils; see Examples 1-2 in col. 2), diffusing a liquid scent substance (perfume oils) into the container (see Examples 1-2) in a quantity which is proportional to the quantity of granules present in the container (Examples 1-2 recite the ratio of weights), closing the container (as necessary to have the container “shaken” without losing granules; see col. 2, line 55), letting the granules in the container stand for a predetermined time and ensuring that an absence of residues of liquid has been detected (as necessary to result in the composition being not wet; see col. 1, lines 63), letting the thus-obtained mixture stand (the mixture can necessarily be stored as desired), providing a casing (“a container”; col. 1, line 67) with the mixture placed into the casing. See col. 1, line 39 through col. 2, line 61.
Farrell is silent in regard to wherein the casing is provided with an air-permeable porous wall and wherein the casing is closed and packaged.
Muhmel discloses a scent cartridge 1 comprised of a glass or aluminum tube 2 for containing a substrate 3 comprised of granules which have been impregnated with scents. The cartridge further includes air-permeable porous walls (wire mesh caps 4) and is closed with membrane disks 6 which are sealed with caps 7 so that the cartridge can be stored and necessarily placed on sale. See the Figure; col. 1, lines 41-48; col. 3, lines 9-30.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the cartridge construction of Muhmel for the container of Farrell for the purpose of allowing for sealed storage of the granules.
In regard to claims 3, Farrell discloses wherein the granules can have a size of 3,000 to 6,000 microns (3 to 6 mm). Therefore, Farrell discloses that the maximum granule size is 6 mm which is within the claimed range of having a maximum diameter between 4 to 10 mm. See col. 1, line 48-52.
In regard to claims 4-5, the combination of Farrell and Muhmel discloses wherein the container is a vertically elongated cylindrical container (see tube 2 of Muhmel) but is silent in regard to wherein the step of diffusing the scent substance by gravity in the form of rain or through a nebulizing nozzle. However, Farrell discloses wherein the fragrance oil is impregnated into the vermiculite by admixture. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have applied the scent substance in the form of rain by means of a strainer with holes having a diameter of about 1.0 mm or through a nebulizing nozzle without creating any new or unexpected results as such is a known manner of applying liquid via admixture and would have not resulted in any new or unexpected results. The Examiner takes Official Notice that applying a liquid to a solid absorbent via “rain” or nebulization application is extremely well-known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill as liquids are commonly sprayed to avoid oversaturation and dripping.
In regard to claim 6, Farrell and Muhmel are silent in regard to allowing the granules of the material in the container to stand for a time proportional to the quantity of diffused substance at a temperature in the range of 15 to 20 degrees C and in the dark. However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is extremely well-known in the art to a person of ordinary skill that storing materials in room or cool temperature storage locations and in the dark can prevent degradation of the materials. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have stored the materials of the above combined invention of Farrell and Muhmel in the dark and at the recited claimed temperatures without creating any new or unexpected results.
In regard to claim 7, Farrell discloses wherein the contents of the container were “well shaken to ensure uniform and complete dispersion of the perfume” which is viewed to be tantamount to the recited step of the container being “turned upside down.” See col. 2, lines 55-57 of Farrell.
In regard to claims 8, Farrell and Muhmel are silent in regard to letting the granules stand for 30 minutes per each mL of scent substance. However, Farrell teaches that the perfume oil is mixed with the granules and is not wet. See col. 1, lines 62-66. Therefore, it is viewed to have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have determined an optimal or workable range of time through routine experimentation to allow the perfume oil to be absorbed by the vermiculite without creating any new or unexpected results. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). It is further noted that the specification does not disclose the criticality of the time to let the granules stand.
In regard to claim 9, Muhmel is silent in regard to the filtering capacity of the wire mesh caps 4 of the above combination of Farrell and Muhmel. However, it would have been within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art to have determined an optimal or workable range of wire mesh opening size for the purpose of retaining the granules within the casing through routine experimentation and without the creation of any new or unexpected results. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.). It is further noted that the specification does not disclose the criticality of the filtering capacity.
In regard to claims 10-11, Farrell is silent in regard to wherein the mixture contains 90% or 8g of granules with scent substance and 10% or 2 g of granules without scent substance. However, Farrell does disclose wherein the weight of the perfume oil relative to the weight of the material can be altered as desired. See col. 1, lines 58-62. It is held that it would have been obvious to have arrived at the recited mixing ratios by diluting scented vermiculite granules with unscented granules as it would be well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that the relative perfume ratio of a mixture of granules can be altered in this way without creating any new or unexpected results. Therefore, it would have been within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art to have determined an optimal or workable range of saturation of granules and mixing ratio of perfume oil to granule material for the purpose of maintaining a dry composition through routine experimentation and without the creation of any new or unexpected results. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.). It is further noted that the specification does not disclose the criticality of the mixture of granules with and without scent substance.
In regard to claims 12, Farrell and Muhmel are silent in regard to letting the granules stand for a time of four hours per each ten grams of compound obtained. However, Farrell teaches that the perfume oil is mixed with the granules and is not wet. See col. 1, lines 62-66. Therefore, it is viewed to have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have determined an optimal or workable range of time through routine experimentation to allow the perfume oil to be absorbed by the vermiculite without creating any new or unexpected results. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). It is further noted that the specification does not disclose the criticality of the time to let the mixture stand per each ten grams of compound obtained.
In regard to claim 16, Farrell discloses that the container can be in the form of a dispenser with a fan to increase the diffusion rate of the material. See col. 2, lines 5-6.
Farrell is silent in regard to multiple ports on the casing.
Muhmel discloses a casing (tube 2) and a first port (one side of the tube 2) which air flow passes through the casing and exits again to the outside through a second port (the other side of the tube 2) and which, while travelling inside the casing, hits a porous receptacle (space between wire mesh caps 4) in which a scented cartridge (scent cartridge 1 having substrate 3) is housed. See the Figure; col. 1, lines 41-48; col. 3, lines 9-30.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the scented material and fan of Farrell with the cartridge construction of Muhmel for the purpose of allowing for sealed storage and increased diffusion of the granules by increasing the airflow therethrough.
In regard to claim 17, Muhmel does not disclose wherein the casing has a parallelepiped shape and wherein the two ports are provided on two perpendicular, adjacent sidewalls of the casing. However, it would have been within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have rearranged and/or changed the shape of the casing of the above combined apparatus to the recited form without creating any new or unexpected results as the change in form or shape is merely an obvious engineering design absent new or unexpected results. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04). The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
In regard to claim 20, Farrell discloses wherein the granules can have a size of 3,000 to 6,000 microns (3 to 6 mm). See col. 1, line 48-52.
Farrell does not explicitly disclose wherein the maximum diameter is between about 4 and 5 mm. However, it would have been within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art to have determined an optimum or workable range of maximum diameter of the granules through routine experimentation and without the creation of new or unexpected results. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.). It is further noted that the specification does not disclose the criticality of the maximum diameter of the granules.
In regard to claims 21-22, the combination of Farrell and Muhmel discloses wherein the container is a vertically elongated cylindrical container (see tube 2 of Muhmel) but is silent in regard to wherein the step of diffusing the scent substance by gravity in the form of rain or through a nebulizing nozzle. However, Farrell discloses wherein the fragrance oil is impregnated into the vermiculite by admixture. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have applied the scent substance in the form of rain by means of a strainer with holes having a diameter of about 1.0 mm or through a nebulizing nozzle without creating any new or unexpected results as such is a known manner of applying liquid via admixture and would have not resulted in any new or unexpected results. The Examiner takes Official Notice that applying a liquid to a solid absorbent via “rain” or nebulization application is extremely well-known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill as liquids are commonly sprayed to avoid oversaturation and dripping.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farrell in view of Muhmel as applied to claims 16-17 above and further in view of Burgeson et al. (US 2021/0187145; hereinafter “Burgeson”).
In regard to claims 18-19, Farrell and Muhmel are silent in regard to the casing having a front wall comprising an opening which can be closed by a hinged cover. Muhmel does disclose wherein the cartridge has ends with openings as the tube 2 has two open ends.
Burgeson discloses a scent device 100 which has a casing (container 102) with a front wall (top surface as depicted in Figure 1b) with an opening (cap has vents 109 as seen in Figure 1a) that can be closed by a hinged cover (cap 106 which can be attached to the container 102 with a hinge; see [0032 and Figure 1b) such that the porous receptable (fill material 118 and breathable insert 110) can be housed therein. See Figures 1a and 1b and paragraphs [0024]-[0032].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the above combined cartridge of Farrell and Muhmel with the casing of Burgeson for the purpose of allowing for replace of the cartridge within the casing by opening the hinged cover.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY C CLEVELAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774