DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Claims 1-15 filed 0n Jan. 30, 2025.
Claims 1-15 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yerramalli et al. (2023/0288524)
Regarding claim 1, Yerramalli discloses a method of operating a communication node, in particular a wireless device (UE) or an access node (AN) (see abstract, fig.5, element 510/520, paragraphs [0020] and its description), comprising receiving, on a wireless channel, a location determination signal (LDS) in particular a positioning reference signal (PRS) on at least a first subcarrier and a second subcarrier (see abstract, fig.5, elements 510, 520, 530, paragraphs [0020], [0063], [0071-0073] and its description); and providing, to a location server node (LN) a message indicative of a reception phase of the LDS on the first subcarrier (see abstract, fig.5, elements 510, 520, step 540, paragraphs [0020], [0071-0073] and its description).
Regarding claim 2, Yerramalli further discloses wherein the message indicative of the reception phase of the LOS on the first subcarrier is also indicative of a reception phase of the LOS on the second subcarrier (see abstract, [0006-0007]).
Regarding claim 3, Yerramalli further discloses wherein the message indicative of the reception phase of the LOS on the first subcarrier is also indicative of a propagation distance of the LOS expressed in multiples of the wavelength of the first subcarrier (see abstract, fig.6, elements 510, 530, step 3, paragraph [0021], [0063], [0080-0082] and its description).
Regarding claim 4, Yerramalli further comprising providing, to the LN, a message indicative of a capability of the communication node to perform a phase measurement on the first subcarrier and the second subcarrier (see abstract, fig.6, elements 510, 530, step 3, paragraph [0021], [0063], [0080-0082] and its description).
Regarding claim 5, Yerramalli further comprising providing, to the LN, a message indicative of a capability of the communication node to derive a propagation distance of the LOS based on a reception phase of the LOS on the first subcarrier and a reception phase of the LOS on the second subcarrier (see abstract, fig.6, elements 510, 530, step 3, paragraphs [0006-0007], [0021], [0063], [0080-0082] and its description).
Regarding claim 6, Yerramalli further comprising obtaining, from the LN, a message triggering the communication node to perform a phase measurement on the first subcarrier and the second subcarrier (see abstract, fig.6, elements 510, 530, step 2, paragraph [0021], [0063], [0080-0082] and its description).
Regarding claim 7, Yerramalli further comprising obtaining, from the LN, assistance data (see abstract, fig.6, elements 510, 530, step 2, paragraph [0021], [0080-0082] and its description).
Regarding claim 8, Yerramalli further discloses wherein the message indicative of the reception phase of the LOS on the first subcarrier is indicative of a signal quality of the LOS (see abstract, paragraphs [0006-0007]).
Regarding claim 9, Yerramalli further discloses, wherein the providing the message indicative of a reception phase of the PRS on the first subcarrier is selectively executed based on a determined signal quality of the LOS (see abstract, fig.6, element 510, steps 5-6, paragraph [0021], [0063-0065], [0084-0085] and its description).
Regarding claim 10, Yerramalli further discloses wherein the message indicative of the reception phase of the LOS on the first subcarrier is indicative of a line-of-sight, LOS, reception of the LOS (see paragraph [0072-0073], [0151]).
Regarding claim 11, Yerramalli further comprising obtaining a message indicative of a position estimate of the communication node (see abstract, fig.6, element 510, step 3, paragraph [0021], [0080-0082] and its description).
Regarding claim 12, Yerramalli further comprising obtaining a message indicative of a position estimate of a transmitter of the LOS (see abstract, fig.7, element 712, paragraph [0022], [0092-0093] and its description).
Regarding claim 13, Yerramalli further discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured for performing the method according to claim 1 (see abstract, fig.7, element 702, paragraph [0022], [0092] and its description).
Regarding claim 14, Yerramalli discloses a method of operating a location server node (LN) (see abstract, fig.5, element 530, paragraphs [0020] and its description), comprising obtaining, from a communication node a message indicative of a reception phase of a location determination signal on a first subcarrier (see abstract, fig.6, elements 510, 530, step 3, paragraph [0021], [0080-0082] and its description).
Regarding claim 15, Yerramalli further discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured for performing the method according to claim 14 (see abstract, fig.9, element 902/900, step 3, paragraphs [0024], [0123-0123] and its description).
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Conclusion
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Alison Slater can be reached on (571) 270-0375. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
UNITED STATES PATENT AND TRADEMARK OFFICE
/CONGVAN TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647