DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: “The marking or surface structure may at least to some extend be provided…” on page 7 in lines 21-22, should read, “The marking or surface structure may at least to some extent be provided…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-8 recite “Inhalation mask (1) for an…” in line 1, and should read, “An inhalation mask (1)”.
Claim 6 recites “to some extend…” in line 2, and should read, “to some extent”.
Claim 9 recites “Inhalation assembly (11) comprising an…” in line 1, and should read, “An inhalation assembly (11) comprising an”.
Claim 10 recites “Method for using an Inhalation mask (1) according to…” in line 1, and should read, “A Method for using an Inhalation mask (1) according to…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "…the conditions laying on the face…" in lines 9-10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is also unclear what is meant by, “in a sealing position the stowing area shows at least in one section one or more of the conditions laying on the face, being compressed or bent to an inner side of the inhalation mask”.
For examination purposes, the limitation is taken to mean, “in a sealing position the stowing area shows at least in one or more sections a condition wherein the stowing area is configured to be compressed or bent against the face to an inner side of the inhalation mask…”.
The dependent claims are rejected based on dependency.
The term “at least to some extent” in claim 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “at least to some extent” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The phrase “at least to some extent” is taken to mean that at least a portion or a part of what is defined as the marking or surface structure is in the remaining area.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "…the dimensions of the elements…" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the limitation is taken to be, “…dimensions of the elements…”
Claims 8 recites the limitation "…the outside of the mask body…" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the limitation is taken to be, “…an outside of the mask body…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 1 currently recites the limitation in lines 9-10, “in a sealing position the stowing area shows at least in one section one or more of the conditions laying on the face, being compressed or bent to an inner side of the inhalation mask…”.
Examiner suggest amending the language to read, “in a sealing position the stowing area shows at least in one or more sections a condition wherein the stowing area is configured to be compressed or bent against the face to an inner side of the inhalation mask…” in order to overcome the rejection.
The dependent claims are rejected based on dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scheiner (WO 2021019312 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Scheiner discloses an inhalation mask (Abstract and shown in FIG. 51-56 The Patient interface formed with cushion assembly 31105 as set forth in [0437]) for an inhalation system (As set forth in [0093]) comprising a mask body (FIG. 51-56 Plenum chamber 31200 as set forth in [0437]) with a port (FIG. 51-56 plenum chamber holes as set forth in [0438]) that can be connected to the inhalation system (The plenum chamber holes configured to receive a flow of air as set forth in [0438]), and an opening with a sealing lip being equipped for joining a face in such a way that the nose, the mouth or both of them are surrounded by the sealing lip (FIG. 51-56 The opening formed by cushion assembly 31105 and has a seal-forming structure 31100 that is configured to seal separately around the patient’s nares and mouth, i.e., an oro-nasal cushion assembly or ultra-compact full face mask set forth in [0437]), the sealing lip (FIG. 54 Cushion assembly 31105 as set forth in [0437]) comprising a stowing area (FIG. 54 Sealing portion 31130 as set forth in [0438]) and a remaining area (FIG. 54 Support structure 31120 as set forth in [0438]) arranged adjacent to the stowing area (As seen in FIG. 54), wherein in a sealing position the stowing area shows at least in one section one or more of the conditions laying on the face (The sealing portion is configured to sealingly engage the patient’s face as set forth in [0448], it is noted that the elements of FIG. 54 are similar to the features described in Fig. 39-50 and are not discussed separately), being compressed or bent to an inner side of the inhalation mask (The sealing portion may be attached to the support structure such that the sealing portion extends radially inwardly of the seal-forming structure beyond or to a further extent than the support structure as set forth in [0451]) and the inhalation mask is provided with an identification (The identification being the difference in material between the sealing portion and support structure, as well as the precense of the grip pads on the stowing area; FIG. 54 Grip pads 31150 as set forth in [0330]) distinguishing the stowing area from the remaining area (The grip pads are located on the stowing area, setting it apart from the remaining area without the grip pads as seen in FIG. 54).
Regarding claim 2, Scheiner as discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 1 above.
Scheiner further discloses that the identification comprises two different materials (The support structure comprise silicone and/or a thermoplastic elastomer as set forth in [0098] and [0115], wherein the sealing portion comprises a textile as set forth in [0085], [0115], and [0615], and the grip pads are formed as a relatively thin layer of silicone applied to the surface of the textile membrane as set forth in [0330]).
Regarding claim 3, Scheiner as discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 1 above.
Scheiner further discloses that the identification comprises a first color for the stowing area and a different color for the remaining area (The textile material of the sealing portion may have a solid color aesthetic or a melange aesthetic as set forth in [0615], which would not apply to the remaining area).
Regarding claim 4, Scheiner as discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 1 above.
Scheiner further discloses that the identification (8) comprises a marking or a surface structure (Marking: FIG. 54 The grip pads 31150 may be embossed such that the grip pad may form a bead or rim that protrudes slightly above the surface of the textile membrane as set forth in [0330]; Surface Structure: The remaining and stowing area are different materials, textures, and colors, meaning the structure of the surface between the areas are different, the surface structure of the stowing area would include that of the grip pads as well).
Regarding claim 5, Scheiner as discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 4 above.
Scheiner further discloses that the marking or surface structure comprises several elements (FIG. 54 The textile membrane may have one or more grip pads, the grip pads 29150, 31150 that form a perimeter can be in the form of a dotted line as set forth in [0330], the different grip pads being separate elements; Other separate elements would include the difference in the materials, textures, and colors of the areas).
Regarding claim 6, Scheiner as discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 5 above.
Scheiner further discloses that the surface structure is at least to some extent provided in the remaining area (The elements set forth above that classify as the surface structure, the material, texture, and color of its surface, of the remaining area are provided; The difference between the remaining and stowing area being the identification indicated by the surface structure), characterized in that the dimensions of the elements are related to their distance to the stowing area (The visible amount of the sealing portion, the colored textile with grip pads, showing would decrease with a donning of the mask and would be non-visible at the point wherein it is pressed to the user’s skin entirely. The dimension in this circumstance is the distance between the support structure and the user’s face. The dimension is related to the distance to the stowing area in the way that given the sealing portion and the support structure are directly connected, the distance between the two areas at their connection point being zero. Given that as the visible amount of the sealing portion is decreasing as it is being donned to the user’s face, the dimension, the distance between the support structure and user’s face, is also decreasing, which is a direct result of the distance between the stowing and remaining area, including the elements that define and set them apart).
Regarding claim 7, Scheiner as discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 4 above.
Scheiner further discloses that the surface structure comprises a rib (Marking: FIG. 54 The grip pads 31150 may be embossed such that the grip pad may form a bead or rim that protrudes slightly above the surface of the textile membrane as set forth in [0330], a bead being a rib in the sense that they are both wall like projections extending from a surface).
Regarding claim 8, Scheiner as discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 1 above.
Scheiner further discloses that the identification is invisible from the outside of the mask body when the mask is pressed on the face in a correct way (While donned correctly the sealing portion would contact the face and the grip pads would be invisible from the outside).
Regarding claim 9, Scheiner discloses an Inhalation assembly comprising an inhalation mask (Abstract and shown in FIG. 51-56 The Patient interface formed with cushion assembly 31105 as set forth in [0437]) according to claim 1 (See above) and an inhalation system (A ventilator as set forth in [0049]).
Regarding claim 10, Scheiner discloses a method for using an inhalation mask according to claim 1 (See above), comprising the steps of pressing the inhalation mask on a face in such a way that the nose, the mouth or both of them are surrounded by the sealing lip (FIG. 51-56 The opening formed by cushion assembly 31105 and has a seal-forming structure 31100 that is configured to seal separately around the patient’s nares and mouth, i.e., an oro-nasal cushion assembly or ultra-compact full face mask set forth in [0437]) and adjusting the pressure by watching the indetification such that the stowing area is deformed such that it is invisible from an outside of the inhalation mask or loses contact to an ambient environment outside the mask and the remaining area is still viewable or in contact with the ambient environment (The visible amount of the sealing portion, the colored textile with grip pads, showing would decrease with a donning of the mask and would be non-visible at the point wherein it is pressed to the user’s skin entirely, wherein just the support structure would be exposed to the ambient environment. The donning of the mask would include an amount of pressure provided in order to press it to or set it on the user’s face. As pressure is used to fully don the mask on the user’s face, the sealing portion, or stowing area, would be hidden to a greater extent than the support structure, or remaining area, that would still be exposed to the ambient environment).
Conclusion
/KEIRA EILEEN CALLISON/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/KENDRA D CARTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785