333DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-15 are pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-9 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Latta et al. (US 20130326364 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Palos teaches an information processing device to be worn on a user, comprising: a display processing device configured to display an augmented reality object within a field of view display range; (Para 29. head mounted display device 2 with FOV.)
a walking detection sensor configured to detect a walking state of the user; and a processor, the processor being configured to execute control of: determining whether the user is walking based on sensor information by the walking detection sensor, (Para 22, 126. So the user’s walk is detected in the direction of the AR object to make the virtual object appear larger, which means there is a walking detection sensor. Para 29-31 show processor)
and upon determining that the user is walking, enlarging the augmented reality object; and displaying the augmented reality object as enlarged within the field of view display range. (Para 22, 126. So the user’s walk is detected in the direction of the AR object to make the virtual object appear larger)
Regarding claim 2, Latta already teaches the information processing device according to claim 1,
And Latta further teaches wherein the field of view display range has a central zone including a center point of the field of view display range and a peripheral zone located at an outer edge of the central zone, (Para 146. FOV inherently includes a central zone with a center point and a peripheral zone at an outer edge of the central zone)
and the processor enlarges the augmented reality object being displayed in the peripheral zone but does not enlarge the augmented reality object being displayed in the central zone. (Para 126, 146. So if the user is walking closer to the object located in the peripheral zone but is not walking closer to the augmented reality object being displayed in the central zone, like walking around the virtual object which is in the central zone as shown in paragraph 126 while walking closer to a virtual object located in peripheral zone)
Regarding claim 3, Latta already teaches the information processing device according to claim 2,
And Latta further teaches wherein the processor enlarges the augmented reality object being displayed in the peripheral zone to be larger than the augmented reality object being displayed in the central zone. (Para 126, 146. So if the user is walking closer to the object located in the peripheral zone but is not walking closer to the augmented reality object being displayed in the central zone, like walking around the virtual object which is in the central zone as shown in paragraph 126 while walking closer to a virtual object located in peripheral zone).
Regarding claim 4, Latta already teaches the information processing device according to claim 2,
And Latta further teaches and further comprising a head motion detection sensor configured to detect a motion of a head of the user wearing the information processing device, (Para 38, 96. Head motion is detected)
wherein upon detecting the motion of the head of the user based on sensor information by the head motion detection sensor when determining that the user is stationary based on the sensor information by the walking detection sensor, (Para 96, 126. This shows the HMD can detect head motion and user walking, and user can be stationary when turning its head)
the processor moves a position of the field of view display range following the motion of the head, (Para 96)
and enlarges the augmented reality object being displayed in the peripheral zone within the field of view display range after moving but does not enlarge the augmented reality object being displayed in the central zone within the field of view display range after moving. (Para 138. So in this case the dynamic object is located in the peripheral zone is enlarged due to collision, and the virtual object in the central zone has no collision)
Regarding claim 5, Latta already teaches the information processing device according to claim 4,
And Latta further teaches wherein upon detecting the motion of the head of the user based on the sensor information by the head motion detection sensor when determining that the user is walking based on the sensor information by the walking detection sensor, the processor does not change the display size of the augmented reality object before and after detecting the motion of the head. (Para 96, 126. In this case the user is not moving closer to the virtual object).
Regarding claim 6, Latta already teaches the information processing device according to claim 2,
And Latta further teaches wherein the processor detects a walking speed of the user based on the sensor information by the walking detection sensor, and controls a display size depending on the walking speed when enlarging the augmented reality object. (Para 126. So the virtual object is enlarged sooner if the user walks faster to get closer to the virtual object).
Regarding claim 8, Latta teaches an information processing device to be worn on a user, comprising: a display processing device configured to display an augmented reality object within a field of view display range; (Para 29. head mounted display device 2 with FOV)
a walking detection sensor configured to detect a walking state of the user; (Para 22, 126. So the user’s walk is detected in the direction of the AR object to make the virtual object appear larger, which means there is a walking detection sensor.)
and a processor, the field of view display range having a central zone including a center point of the field of view display range and a peripheral zone located at an outer edge of the central zone, (Para 146. FOV inherently includes a central zone with a center point and a peripheral zone at an outer edge of the central zone. Para 29-31 show processor)
and the processor being configured to execute display control of: determining whether the user is walking based on sensor information by the walking detection sensor, and upon determining that the user is walking, moving the augmented reality object being displayed in the central zone to the peripheral zone. (Para 96, 126, 146. So depending on the user’s walking direction, the virtual object may move from the central zone to the peripheral zone)
Regarding claim 9, Latta already teaches the information processing device according to claim 8,
And Latta further teaches wherein the processor executes the display control of enlarging the augmented reality object being displayed in the central zone (Para 22, 126. So the user’s walk is detected in the direction of the AR object to make the virtual object appear larger in the case when the virtual object is located in the central zone)
and moving the augmented reality object as enlarged to the peripheral zone. (Para 96, 126, 146. So depending on the user’s walking direction thereafter, the virtual object may move from the central zone to the peripheral zone)
Regarding claim 13, Latta already teaches the information processing device according to claim 1,
And Latta further teaches wherein the walking detection sensor is at least one of a camera for capturing an image of a foot of the user, an acceleration sensor, a geomagnetic sensor, or a gyroscope sensor, and the head motion detection sensor is at least one of the acceleration sensor, the geomagnetic sensor, or the gyroscope sensor. (Para 38)
Regarding claim 14, Latta teaches an information processing method to be executed by an information processing device to be worn on a user, (Para 29. head mounted display device 2 with FOV.)
comprising: a walking determination step of determining whether the user is walking based on sensor information by a walking detection sensor configured to detect a walking state of the user; (Para 22, 126. So the user’s walk is detected in the direction of the AR object to make the virtual object appear larger, which means there is a walking detection sensor. Para 29-31 show processor)
an enlargement step of enlarging an augmented reality object to be larger than that in a state where the user is stationary upon determining that the user is walking; and a display step of causing a display processing device to display the augmented reality object as enlarged. (Para 22, 126. So the user’s walk is detected in the direction of the AR object to make the virtual object appear larger)
Regarding claim 15, Latta already teaches the information processing method according to claim 14, and Latta further teaches further comprising a display position movement step of moving a display position of the augmented reality object within a field of view display range on the display processing device upon determining that the user is walking, (Para 96, 126, 146. So depending on the user’s walking direction, the virtual objects are moved around relatively)
wherein the field of view display range has a central zone including a center point of the field of view display range and a peripheral zone located at an outer edge of the central zone, (Para 146. FOV inherently includes a central zone with a center point and a peripheral zone at an outer edge of the central zone)
and the display position movement step includes moving the augmented reality object being displayed in the central zone to the peripheral zone. (Para 96, 126, 146. So depending on the user’s walking direction, the virtual object may move from the central zone to the peripheral zone)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latta et al. (US 20130326364 A1), further in view of Connellan et al. (US 20200310561 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Latta already teaches the information processing device according to claim 1,
However Latta does not teach wherein the processor displays and controls, within the field of view display range, an operation menu for setting and inputting a display size of the augmented reality object.
However Connellan teaches wherein the processor displays and controls, within the field of view display range, an operation menu for setting and inputting a display size of the augmented reality object. (Para 78)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Latta with Connellan to teach wherein the processor displays and controls, within the field of view display range, an operation menu for setting and inputting a display size of the augmented reality object in order to produce the predictable of virtual object size customization in order to further enhance the user experience of the AR device.
Regarding claim 12, Latta already teaches the information processing device according to claim 8,
However Latta teaches wherein the processor displays and controls, within the field of view display range, an operation menu for setting and inputting a display size of the augmented reality object.
However Connellan teaches wherein the processor displays and controls, within the field of view display range, an operation menu for setting and inputting a display size of the augmented reality object. (Para 78)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Latta with Connellan to teach wherein the processor displays and controls, within the field of view display range, an operation menu for setting and inputting a display size of the augmented reality object in order to produce the predictable of virtual object size customization in order to further enhance the user experience of the AR device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HANG LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626