DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 21-38 are pending. Claims 1-22 have been canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement PTO-1449
The Information Disclosure Statement submitted by applicant on 01-30-2025 has been considered. Please see attached PTO-1449.
Objections
Claims 22 and 33 are objected to for the following informalities:
Claim 22 recites “…determining…based on communication channel hat…via a communication channel hat…”. It is assumed communication channel that…was intended. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 33 improperly depends on the canceled claim 12. It is assumed claim depends on claim 32. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
835 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows:
Claims 21-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claims when analyzed under 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, are directed to abstract idea.
Claim 21, recites a method which falls within the statutory categories of “machine”,” manufacture”, and “process”. Accordingly, the claim meets the requirements of being directed to a statutory class of invention under §101.
The claim 21 recites the limitation “determining first information, which characterizes an identity of at least one partition of a computing device that accesses the hardware security module; and using the first information for controlling an operation of the hardware security module based on at least the first information”. These limitations, under broadest reasonable interpretation are directed performance of the limitation by a human or in a human mind. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed by a human or in the mind. For example, a person could determine information identifying a partition by its name, number or other identifier and then use the identified data to decide how a security module should operate with respect to the partition. For instance, upon identifying a partition the person could instruct the security module to permit or deny access to the partition. Thus, the claim recites a mental process when analyzed under step 2A prong 1.
Claim 21 is further analyzed in step 2A prong 2, to evaluate whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. However, each of the remaining limitations (hardware security module, computing device) is recited at a high level of generality, and is no more than mere instruction to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The combination of these additional element is no more than generic computer functions. Thus, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limitations on practicing the abstract idea.
Claim 21 is additionally analyzed under Step 2B to evaluate whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the recited exception, whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. When claims are evaluated under step 2B, it is no more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The specification does not provide any indication anything other than a generic computer component. The mere “determining first information, which characterizes an identity of at least one partition of a computing device that accesses the hardware security module; and using the first information for controlling an operation of the hardware security module based on at least the first information” is a well-understood, routing and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner as it is here.
Independent claims 29 and 37 include limitations similar to the limitations of claim 21 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to abstract idea for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 21.
Claim 32, recites a method which falls within the statutory categories of “machine”,” manufacture”, and “process”. Accordingly, the claim meets the requirements of being directed to a statutory class of invention under §101.
Claim 32 recites the limitation of “providing an identity for at least one partition of a computing device that is configured to access the hardware security module; and transmitting information characterizing the identity to the hardware security module, via a communication channel”. These limitations, under broadest reasonable interpretation are directed performance of the limitation by a human or in a human mind. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed by a human or in the mind. For example, a person could determine information by identifying a partition by its name, number or other identifier and then provide the identified information to another person or entity. Thus, the claim recites a mental process when analyzed under step 2A prong 1.
Claim 32 is further analyzed in step 2A prong 2, to evaluate whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. However, each of the remaining limitations (hardware security module, computing device) is recited at a high level of generality and is no more than mere instruction to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The combination of these additional elements is no more than generic computer functions. Thus, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limitations on practicing the abstract idea.
Claim 32 is additionally analyzed under Step 2B to evaluate whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the recited exception, whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. When claim is evaluated under step 2B, it is no more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The specification does not provide any indication anything other than a generic computer component. The mere “providing an identity for at least one partition of a computing device that is configured to access the hardware security module; and transmitting information characterizing the identity to the hardware security module, via a communication channel” is a well-understood, routing and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner as it is here.
Independent claim 36 includes limitations similar to the limitations of claim 21 and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to abstract idea for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 32.
Claim 34, recites a method which falls within the statutory categories of “machine”,” manufacture”, and “process”. Accordingly, the claim meets the requirements of being directed to a statutory class of invention under §101.
The claim 34 recites the limitation of “providing a first communication channel for exchanging information between a first partition of a computing device and the hardware security module; and using the first communication channel for exchanging information between the first partition of the computing device and the hardware security module”. These limitations, under broadest reasonable interpretation are directed performance of the limitation by a human or in a human mind. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed by a human or in the mind. For example, a person could designate a particular line such as telephone line as a communication path between two parties, and using the telephone line for exchanging information between them. Thus, the claim recites a mental process when analyzed under step 2A prong 1.
Claim 34 is further analyzed in step 2A prong 2, to evaluate whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. However, each of the remaining limitations (hardware security module, computing device) is recited at a high level of generality and is no more than mere instruction to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The combination of these additional elements is no more than generic computer functions. Thus, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limitations on practicing the abstract idea.
Claim 34 is additionally analyzed under Step 2B to evaluate whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the recited exception, whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. When claim is evaluated under step 2B, it is no more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The specification does not provide any indication anything other than a generic computer component. The mere “providing a first communication channel for exchanging information between a first partition of a computing device and the hardware security module; and using the first communication channel for exchanging information between the first partition of the computing device and the hardware security module” is a well-understood, routing and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner as it is here.
In claim 22, wherein the determining of the first information includes at least one of the following elements: a) determining the first information based on a communication channel hat is associated with the at least one partition, b) receiving the first information via a communication channel hat is at least temporarily usable by the at least one partition, wherein the communication channel is usable by multiple partitions in time-division multiplexing, could be performed by human. The claim does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In claim 23, receiving, from the at least one partition, second information: (i) including an interrupt request and/or (ii) associated with an interrupt request, from the at least one partition; determining the first information based on a communication channel via which the second information was received, could be performed by human. The claim does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In claim 24, further comprising at least one of the following elements: a) using a plurality of communication channels for communication with different partitions of the computing device, b) using a common communication channel for communication with different partitions of the computing device based of a time-division multiplexing method, could be performed by human. The claim does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In claim 25, further comprising, for communication with different partitions of the computing device, at least one of the following elements: a) using a first memory area to implement a first communication channel, b) using a second memory area to implement a second communication channel, c) using a third memory area to implement a common communication channel. For example, a person could write a telephone number in a designated area of a sheet of paper, which another person could read and use to establish a telephone communication. The claim does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In claim 26, further comprising at least one of the following elements: a) using a shared memory area to exchange information with the at least one partition, b) virtualizing the shared memory area including allocating different sub-areas to, in each case, a different partition of the computing device, c) using a memory protection unit to protect at least some memory areas from access by at least some partitions of the computing unit, could be performed by human. The claim does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In claim 27, configuring a memory protection unit, the configuring being carried out such that the memory protection unit protects at least one memory area, which is associated with a first partition, from manipulation by at least one other partition, could be performed by a human. The claim does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In claim 28, allocating a priority to the at least one partition; executing an operation associated with the at least one partition, based on at least the priority of the at least one partition, could be performed by a human. The claim does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In claim 30, recites the additional element of a hardware security module comprises the apparatus, which is directed generic computer component. Therefore, it does not change the abstract idea characterization or add significantly more.
In claim 31, a system on a chip (SoC) comprises at least one of: a) the apparatus, b) the hardware security module, c) at least one partition, is directed generic computer component. Therefore, it does not change the abstract idea characterization or add significantly more.
In claim 33, wherein the providing and/or the transmitting is carried out entirely in a hardware-based manner. is directed generic computer component. Therefore, it does not change the abstract idea characterization or add significantly more.
In claim 35, providing a second communication channel for exchanging information between a second partition of the computing device and the hardware security module; and using the second communication channel for exchanging information between the second partition of the computing device and the hardware security module, could be performed by human. The claim does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In claim 38, wherein the method is used for at least one of the following elements: a) determining the first information, which characterizes the identity of the at least one partition of the computing device that is configured access the hardware security module, b) virtualizing the hardware security module, c) determining an identity of a partition that accesses the hardware security module, d) prioritizing operations associated with different partitions of the computing device based on an identity of at least one of the different partitions, e) increasing a security of the hardware security module that can be accessed by multiple partitions of the computing device, could be performed by human. The claim does not recite additional element that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 24, 25, 27, 29, 30, 32-34 and 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Warner et al. (US Publication No. 2020/0167085), hereinafter Warner.
As per claim 21, 29 and 37, Warner discloses a method for processing data associated with a hardware security module (paragraph [0004], “a method for operating a secure storage device”), the method comprising the following steps: determining first information, which characterizes an identity of at least one partition of a computing device that accesses the hardware security module (paragraph [0090]-[0091], “the secure hash 566 may include an OSidl 562 and (a) an identity of the logical partition (VM) 558 or (b) a cryptographic configuration data 560, or both (a) and (b). The secure hash 566 is loaded by the OSLI into the secure storage device 103”; and paragraph [0094], “the secure hash 666 may include the OSid2 662 and (a) an identity of the logical partition (VM) 658 or (b) cryptographic configuration data 660, or both (a) and (b).); and using the first information for controlling an operation of the hardware security module based on at least the first information (paragraph [0091], “The secure hash 566 is loaded by the OSLI into the secure storage device 103 in step S518, followed by a verifying process (or authentication process) in the secure storage device 103”; paragraph [0094], “The secure hash 666 is loaded by the second level operating system OSL2 into the secure storage device 103 (e.g. in a subdomain assigned to OSL2) in step S618. This is followed by a verifying process (or authentication process) in the secure storage device 103”; paragraph [0074], “the first portion of secret data 341A.1 may be used by the secure storage device 103 to perform authentication or secure binding for the second level operating system OSL2, 233 before enabling the OSL2 to access the second portion of secret data 3418.1”).
As per claims 32 and 36, Warner discloses a method for transmitting data associated with a hardware security module, the method comprising the following steps: providing an identity for at least one partition of a computing device that is configured to access the hardware security module; and transmitting information characterizing the identity to the hardware security module, via a communication channel (paragraph [0019], [0020], [0090]-[0091], firmware control setup comprising an identity of the logical portion and cryptographic configuration are set up in secure storage device. secure Hash includes an OSid1 and identity of logical portion).
As per claim 34, Warner discloses a method for transmitting data associated with a hardware security module, comprising the following steps: providing a first communication channel for exchanging information between a first partition of a computing device and the hardware security module; and
using the first communication channel for exchanging information between the first partition of the computing device and the hardware security module (paragraph [0091], “The secure hash 566 is loaded by the OSLI into the secure storage device 103 in step S518, followed by a verifying process (or authentication process) in the secure storage device 103”; paragraph [0094], “The secure hash 666 is loaded by the second level operating system OSL2 into the secure storage device 103 (e.g. in a subdomain assigned to OSL2) in step S618. Claim 6, second OS communicate with the secure storage device via first OS).
As per claim 24, Warner furthermore discloses at least one of the following elements: a) using a plurality of communication channels for communication with different partitions of the computing device, b) using a common communication channel for communication with different partitions of the computing device based of a time-division multiplexing method (device ((paragraph [0091] and [0094], the secure hash is loaded by OSL1 and OSL2 into the secure storage device 103, corresponding to using a plurality of communication channels for communication with different partitions of the computing device).
As per claim 25, Warner furthermore discloses communication with different partitions of the computing device, at least one of the following elements: a) using a first memory area to implement a first communication channel, b) using a second memory area to implement a second communication channel,
c) using a third memory area to implement a common communication channel (claim 1, “storing in the computer system first profile data indicative of the first level OS and the domain of the secure storage device; storing in the computer system second profile data indicative of the second level OS and the subdomain of the secure storage device; sending the first profile data from the computer system to
the secure storage device”, corresponding to using a first memory area to implement a first communication channel).
As per claim 27, Warner furthermore discloses configuring a memory protection unit, the configuring being carried out such that the memory protection unit protects at least one memory area, which is associated with a first partition, from manipulation by at least one other partition (paragraph [0075], “the first level operating system OSLI 133 is not allowed to access the data stored in the subdomain 3331.n. Only second level operating system OSL2 is allowed to access data stored in subdomain 3331.n”).
As per claim 30, Warner furthermore discloses wherein a hardware security module comprises the apparatus (fig. 3, paragraph [0063]).
As per claim 33, Waner furthermore discloses, wherein the providing and/or the transmitting is carried out entirely in a hardware-based manner (claim 1, “sending the first profile data from the computer system to the secure storage device”).
As per claim 38, Warner furthermore discloses wherein the method is used for at least one of the following elements: a) determining the first information, which characterizes the identity of the at least one partition of the computing device that is configured access the hardware security module, b) virtualizing the hardware security module, c) determining an identity of a partition that accesses the hardware security module, d) prioritizing operations associated with different partitions of the computing device based on an identity of at least one of the different partitions, e) increasing a security of the hardware security module that can be accessed by multiple partitions of the computing device (paragraph [0090]-[0091], “the secure hash 566 may include an OSidl 562 and (a) an identity of the logical partition (VM) 558 or (b) a cryptographic configuration data 560, or both (a) and (b). The secure hash 566 is loaded by the OSLI into the secure storage device 103”; and paragraph [0094], “the secure hash 666 may include the OSid2 662 and (a) an identity of the logical partition (VM) 658 or (b) cryptographic configuration data 660, or both (a) and (b), which corresponds to determining the first information, which characterizes the identity of the at least one partition of the computing device that is configured access the hardware security module).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warner in view of Cardona et al. (US Publication No. 2009/0182967), hereinafter Cardona, further in view of Makhervaks et al. (US Patent No. 9,723,008), hereinafter Makhervaks.
As per claim 23, Warner does not explicitly disclose receiving from the at least one partition, second information: (i) including an interrupt request and/or (ii) associated with an interrupt request, from the at least one partition; determining the first information based on a communication channel via which the second information was received. However, in an analogous art, Cardona discloses, receiving from the at least one partition, second information: (i) including an interrupt request and/or (ii) associated with an interrupt request, from the at least one partition (Paragraph [0056], “receiving an interrupt from a partition management firmware”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Warner with Cardona. This would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide interruption request in order to promptly notify the processor of an event requiring change in execution, thereby improving processor responsiveness.
Warner in view of Cardona does not explicitly disclose, but in an analogous art, Makhervaks discloses determining the first information based on a communication channel via which the second information was received (column 10, lines 8-14, “The hardware of compute nodes 220a, 220b, 220c, and 220d transmits communication packets between the applications on the virtual machines and the database nodes. The hardware of the compute nodes includes in a header of each packet, a source global identifier (SGID) including the VMID associated with the virtual machine communicating; and column 15, lines 42-44, “each InfiniBand packet includes a Source GUID 440 which uniquely identifies the virtual machine associated with the packet”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Warner and Cardona. This would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide secure and reliable identification of partitions and thereby enable access control based on the identified partition.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warner in view of Gulick et al. (US Patent No. 6,314,501), hereinafter Gulick.
As per claim 26, Warner does not explicitly disclose at least one of: a) using a shared memory area to exchange information with the at least one partition, b) virtualizing the shared memory area including allocating different sub-areas to, in each case, a different partition of the computing device,
c) using a memory protection unit to protect at least some memory areas from access by at least some partitions of the computing unit. However, in an analogous art, Gulick discloses using a shared memory area to exchange information with the at least one partition (column 2, lines 14-19, “the different partitions to communicate with one another through share memory”, corresponding to using a shared memory area to exchange information with the at least one partition).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Warner with Gulick. This would have been obvious because one or ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve the predictable result of reducing processor overhead and lowering latency.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warner in view of McCharthy et al. (US Publication No. 2003/0037092), hereinafter McCharthy.
As per claim 28, Warner does not explicitly disclose, but in an analogous art, McCarthy discloses: allocating a priority to the at least one partition (abstract “…at least one priority assigned to its partition”); executing an operation associated with the at least one partition, based on at least the priority of the at least one partition (paragraph [0023], “A partition arbiter or partition resource allocator allocates the resources between the different partitions, based on the priorities of the partitions and the resource requests”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Warner with McCarthy. This would have been obvious because one or ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to ensure that higher priority workloads receive preferential access to processor and other system resources and improving overall resource utilization.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warner in view of Pohl et al. (US Publication No. 2016/0125202), hereinafter Pohl
As per claim 31, Warner does not explicitly disclose, wherein a system on a chip (SoC) comprises at least one of: a) the apparatus, b) the hardware security module, c) at least one partition. However, a system on a chip (SoC) comprising the hardware security module is old and well known as illustrated by Pohl (paragraph [0004], “SoC can also include a so-called hardware security module (HSM)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Warner to include the well-known SoC with hardware security module, in order to achieve the predictable result of providing protected on-chip storage and processing of sensitive information while reducing communication overhead and latency associated with transferring sensitive information between separate components.
Claim 22 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warner.
As per claim 22, Warner furthermore discloses, wherein the determining of the first information includes at least one of the following elements: a) determining the first information based on a communication channel hat is associated with the at least one partition (paragraph [0091] and [0094], the secure hash is loaded by OSL1 and OSL2 into the secure storage device 103), b) receiving the first information via a communication channel hat is at least temporarily usable by the at least one partition, wherein the communication channel is usable by multiple partitions in time-division multiplexing.
Although warner does not expressly state that the first information is determined based on the communication channel, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that OS1 and OS2 necessary communicate with the secure storage device 103 through a communication channel to load the secure hash into the device. Thus, the information loaded into the secure storage device 103 is associated with and obtained through the communication channel used by the OS. In other words, Warner’s disclosed loading of the secure hash form OS1 or OS2 into secure storage device 103 necessarily involves communication between the respective OS and the secure storage device. The communication channel therefore provides information identifying OSL1 and OSL2. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the identification of OSL1 and OSL2 is based on the communications channel through which the information is received, thereby providing mechanism for identifying the source of the information.
As per claim 35, Warner discloses providing a [second] communication channel for exchanging information between a second partition of the computing device and the hardware security module; and
using the [second] communication channel for exchanging information between the second partition of the computing device and the hardware security module (paragraph [0034], the determine OS may be a first level…and may be configured by the computer system to forward the request to the secure storage device”).
Although Warner does not expressly state that a second communication channel, Warner discloses the first level OS is communicating with secure storage device. Warner also in claim 6 discloses the communication between OS2 and secure storage device is through a OS1. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art understand and it would have been obvious that the communication from OS1 to secure storage is a direct communication channel (OS1[Wingdings font/0xE0]HSM) which is different than the indirect communication between OS2 and HSM (OS2[Wingdings font/0xE0]OS1[Wingdings font/0xE0]HSM).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second communication channel between the second partition and hardware security module. This would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide multiple communication channel in order to achieve the predictable result of facilitating isolation and independent handling of communication.
References Cited, Not Used
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lang et al. (US Publication No. 2019/0228163), discloses a method for operating a secure storage device with a non-volatile memory on a computer system which executes multiple operating system instances. The non-volatile memory comprises one or more domains which are used by the operating system instances. A separate trusted key entry system is used to configure secret data of an operating
system instance stored in the non-volatile memory. The method comprises setting a domain to either secure or non-secure mode; generating a unique identifier of the operating system instance; generating a secure hash for the operating system instance; and storing the secure hash in the domain.
Sherwin, et al. (US Publication No.2024/0241943), discloses a computer system supports a nested isolation host. The computer system operates a hypervisor that creates a virtualized interface to a security module that is configured to provide hardware-based virtual machine isolation functionality, and that creates a child partition that comprises a nested hypervisor. The hypervisor presents the virtualized interface to the child partition. Based on receiving a command at the virtualized interface from the nested hypervisor, the hypervisor performs one of (i) modifying the command and forwarding a modified command to the security module, (ii) forwarding the command to the security module, or (iii) blocking the command.
Conclusion
/ALI S ABYANEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2437