DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (CN114907005A – hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 1, Yang (Figs. 1-2, [0037]-[0038], and [0041]) discloses an electrode pushing assembly (“propulsion mechanism 3” and “electrode support mechanism 2”) comprising:
a frame assembly (“pushing bracket 3-1”);
a plurality of driving assemblies (“pushing screws 3-5”, “first fixing nut 3-3”, “second fixing nut 3-5”) coupled to the frame assembly; and
a push frame (“electrode pressure plate 3-6” and “columns 2-3”) coupled to the plurality of driving assemblies via pushing screws 3-5 and configured to exert a pushing force against the electrode (“electrode brick 5”); and
wherein the plurality of driving assemblies are configured to move the push frame. Yang ([0038]) discloses screw 3-5 is connected and installed on the propulsion support 3-1 through a second fixing nut 3-4, and ([0038]) discloses the propulsion/pushing screws rest on the electrode pressure plate 3-6, which is interpreted to provide for the plurality of driving assemblies are each independently removable from the frame assembly and the push frame.
Regarding claim 8, Yang (Figs. 1-2, [0037]-[0038], and [0041]) discloses an electrode pushing assembly (“propulsion mechanism 3” and “electrode support mechanism 2”) comprising:
a frame assembly (“pushing bracket 3-1”);
a plurality of driving assemblies (“pushing screws 3-5”, “first fixing nut 3-3”, “second fixing nut 3-5”) coupled to the frame assembly; and
a push frame (“electrode pressure plate 3-6” and “columns 2-3”) coupled to the plurality of driving assemblies via pushing screws 3-5 and configured to exert a pushing force against the electrode (“electrode brick 5”); and
wherein the plurality of driving assemblies are configured to move the push frame. Yang ([0038]) discloses screw 3-5 is connected and installed on the propulsion support 3-1 through a second fixing nut 3-4, and ([0038]) discloses the propulsion/pushing screws rest on the electrode pressure plate 3-6 and the propulsion screws advance the electrode. These disclosures are interpreted to provide for the plurality of driving assemblies are each independently removable from the frame assembly and the push frame and exerting a pushing force against the electrode with a push frame that is coupled to a plurality of drive assemblies.
Regarding claim 15, in addition to the rejection of claim 1 above, Yang ([0001]) discloses the electrode propulsion device is for substrate glass furnaces, which is interpreted to provide for a glass manufacturing apparatus (i.e. glass furnace) comprising the electrode pushing assembly.
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guo et al. (CN107892464A – hereinafter Guo).
Regarding claim 1, Guo (abstract, Figs. 1 and 2 and pg. 4) discloses an electrode pushing assembly (“electrode pushing device”) for melting glass. Guo discloses the electrode pushing assembly comprising: a frame assembly (“fixed base 3”); a plurality of driving assemblies (“push/pushing rod 4” – pg. 2 discloses more than 2) fixedly coupled to the frame assembly, since it is disclosed the push rods are set on the fixed base (pg. 2) ; and a push frame (“pushing board 5”) coupled to the plurality of driving assemblies and configured to exert a pushing force against the electrode (“electrode tile 1”) and wherein the plurality of driving assemblies (i.e. push rods) are configured to move the push frame (pg. 8 – discloses push rod 4 pushes the pushing plate) and are each independently removable from the frame assembly and push frame, since (pg. 6) it is disclosed the pushing rod is a first screw rod through mounting hole 31.
Regarding claim 8, Guo (abstract, Figs. 1 and 2 and pg. 4) discloses an electrode pushing assembly (“electrode pushing device”) for melting glass. Guo discloses the electrode pushing assembly comprising: a frame assembly (“fixed base 3”); a plurality of driving assemblies (“push/pushing rod 4” – pg. 2 discloses more than 2) fixedly coupled to the frame assembly, since it is disclosed the push rods are set on the fixed base (pg. 2) ; and a push frame (“pushing board 5”) coupled to the plurality of driving assemblies and configured to exert a pushing force against the electrode (“electrode tile 1”) and wherein the plurality of driving assemblies (i.e. push rods) are configured to move the push frame (pg. 8 – discloses push rod 4 pushes the pushing plate) and are each independently removable from the frame assembly and push frame, since (pg. 6) it is disclosed the pushing rod is a first screw rod through mounting hole 31. These disclosures are interpreted to provide for the plurality of driving assemblies are each independently removable from the frame assembly and the push frame and exerting a pushing force against the electrode with a push frame that is coupled to a plurality of drive assemblies.
Regarding claim 15, in addition to the rejection of claim 1 above, Guo (pgs. 1-2) discloses the electrode brick pushing device is for melting glass in the substrate glass manufacturing field with an electric melting furnace, which is interpreted to provide for a glass manufacturing apparatus (i.e. electric melting furnace) comprising the electrode brick pushing assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 and 9-14 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of Yang provides for a plurality of driving assemblies comprising an axially extending drive shaft (corresponding to pushing screws 3-5) or Guo provides for a plurality of driving assemblies comprising an axially extending drive shaft (corresponding to pushing rods as screw rods), as claimed in claims 4 and 11. However, the prior art fails to disclose or fairly suggest the apparatus and method of claim 1, where the push frame is coupled to each of the plurality of driving assemblies via a removable bearing, as claimed in claims 2 and 9. Claims 3-7 include dependency from claim 2 and claims 10-14 include dependency from claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Caripolti (US 4,215,461) (Figs. 1 and 2, abstract, and Col. 2, line 5965) discloses apparatus for inserting an electrode comprising a column 20 comprising an elevator screw mechanism and within the column 20 is a vertically extending screw shaft 35, an upper stub shaft 36, a stub bearing 37 secured by a nut 38, and another stub shaft 40 received in bearing 41. Caripolti fails to disclose a plurality of driving assemblies coupled to a frame assembly.
/LISA L HERRING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741