DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Timken (US 2021/0332299).
Regarding claim 19, Timken ‘299 discloses a process for producing a recycled content organic chemical compound (see Abstract; [0008]), comprising:
(a) cracking a recycled content hydrocarbon stream (r-HC stream) in a gas oil cracker in a refinery (FCC unit), wherein at least a portion of the recycled content of the r-HC stream is derived from waste plastic (see [0037]; [0046]-[0047]);
(b) recovering a recycled content light gas (r-light gas) stream from a gas plant in fluid communication with the gas oil cracker unit (see [0048]; [0050]-[0051], describing separation of the FCC effluent and gaseous fraction, i.e., teaching a gas plant as claimed); and
(c) providing at least a portion of the r-light gas stream to at least one downstream processing facility to provide a recycled content hydrocarbon (r-hydrocarbon) stream (see [0050], propane sent to steam cracker to produce ethylene).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Timken ‘299 in view of Al-Gamdi (US 2018/0142168).
Regarding claims 1-5, Timken ‘299 discloses a process for producing a recycled content organic chemical compound (see Abstract; [0008]), comprising:
(a) cracking a r-HC stream in at least one gas oil cracker (FCC unit, i.e., in the presence of a catalyst) (see [0037]; [0046]-[0047]);
(b) withdrawing a recycled content effluent (r-effluent) stream from the gas oil cracker (see [0011]; [0048]; [0050]-[0051]);
(c) separating at least a portion of the r-effluent stream in a gas plant to form an r-light gas stream comprising predominantly C4 and lighter components (see [0011]; [0048]; [0050]-[0051]); and
(d) introducing at least a portion of the r-light gas stream into an upgrading unit to provide a recycled content pyrolysis gasoline (r-pyrolysis gasoline) stream (see [0012]; [0051]).
The r-HC stream sent to FCC is a heavy fraction from pyrolysis oil (see [0046]) and would have a boiling point substantially as claimed or overlapping therewith, as well as teaching the r-HC stream(s) represented in claims 4 and 5.
Timken ‘299 does not disclose that the r-light gas stream is upgraded specifically by steam cracking to provide the r-pyrolysis gasoline.
However, steam cracking is known in the art to be a suitable upgrading process to convert streams comprising C3 and C4 to gasoline (see Al-Ghamdi: [0007]-[0008]; [0020]; [0069]-[0070]; [0073]). Armed with this knowledge and the fact that Timken ‘299 explicitly discloses upgrading processes to produce more gasoline, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to select steam cracking specifically for the stated purpose. The selection of a known technique to achieve the stated goal in Timken ‘299 would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, required nothing more than routine experimentation, and would have been associated with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 6, Timken ‘299 discloses the r-HC stream comprising liquified waste plastic and the cracking step (a) comprises cracking at least a portion of the liquified waste plastic (see [0008]; [0011], pyrolysis oil effluent is liquid, i.e., liquefied waste plastic).
Regarding claim 7, Timken ‘299 discloses the process further comprising, prior to the cracking of step (a), separating a stream comprising recycled content pyrolysis oil (r-pyoil) in a distillation column to provide at least a portion of the r-HC stream (see [0011]).
Regarding claim 8, Timken ‘299 discloses wherein the r-HC stream comprises metal compounds, nitrogen-containing compounds, chlorine-containing compounds, and/or sulfur-containing compounds (contaminant compounds) and further comprising, prior to the cracking of step (a), treating at least a portion of the r-HC stream to remove at least a portion of the contaminant compounds, thereby providing a treated r-HC stream and wherein the cracking of step (a) comprises cracking at least a portion of the treated r-HC stream (see Fig. 3; [0034]-[0035]; [0039]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 13, Timken ‘299 discloses wherein all of the gas oil cracker, the gas plant, and the upgrading unit (steam cracking facility per the modification with Al-Ghamdi) may be co-located (see [0038]).
Regarding claim 20, Timken ‘299 discloses a process for producing a recycled content organic chemical compound, comprising:
(a) introducing an r-light gas stream into an upgrading unit, wherein at least a portion of the r-light gas stream is obtained by processing an r-HC stream including recycled content derived from mixed plastic waste in a refinery along with one or more streams derived from petroleum crude oil; and
(b) processing at least a portion of the r-light gas stream in the upgrading unit to provide a stream of r-pyrolysis gasoline (see [0011]-[0012]; [0048]-[0051]).
Timken ‘299 does not disclose that the r-light gas stream is upgraded specifically by steam cracking to provide the r-pyrolysis gasoline.
However, steam cracking is known in the art to be a suitable upgrading process to convert streams comprising C3 and C4 to gasoline (see Al-Ghamdi: [0007]-[0008]; [0020]; [0069]-[0070]; [0073]). Armed with this knowledge and the fact that Timken ‘299 explicitly discloses upgrading processes to produce more gasoline, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to select steam cracking specifically for the stated purpose. The selection of a known technique to achieve the stated goal in Timken ‘299 would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, required nothing more than routine experimentation, and would have been associated with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Timken ‘299 in view of Al-Gamdi, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Ramamurthy et al (US 2019/0177626).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Timken ‘299 discloses that the r-light gas stream comprises alkanes and alkenes (see [0011]-[0012]), but not specifically the concentration of each component. The reference notes that the butanes and butenes can also be sent to various upgrading processes to make gasoline or that the C4 may be sent to a gasoline blending pool (see [0051]). Al-Ghamdi discloses passing light alkanes along with other fraction(s) such as naphtha to steam cracking (see [0007]-[0008]; [0020]; [0069]-[0070]; [0073]).
Ramamurthy is directed to a process for converting waste plastics to valuable chemicals (see Abstract; [0001]). The process entails steam cracking of a light gas stream obtained after pyrolysis of the waste plastic (see Figs. 3-4). Ramamurthy discloses that the steam cracker requires a low olefin content and therefore proposes a separation unit upstream of the steam cracker to separate the gas stream into a light olefins stream and a saturated gas stream. The saturated gas stream is sent to the steam cracker and the light olefin gas is combined with the steam cracker effluent in a second separation zone and separated therein into a saturated gas stream and a light olefin gas stream (see [0084]-[0092]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the process of Timken ‘250 in view of Al-Gamdi to separate the r-light gas stream into an alkane portion and an olefin portion, send the alkane portion to steam cracking, and combine the olefinic portion of the r-light gas stream with effluent from the steam cracker and separating the combined stream into an olefin stream and an alkane stream, as suggested by Ramamurthy, in order to ensure a low olefins content of the feed to the stream cracker, which ensures proper feed characteristics to convert the feed material to the desired products.
The concentration of alkane and/or alkene in the light gas stream is a matter of routine optimization based on the intended use of the gas stream. Absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results, the claimed concentrations are not considered to patentably distinguish the instant claims over the cited prior art, based on Ramamurthy’s explicit teaching of minimizing olefin content in the steam cracking feed (see also [0086], which discloses an olefin content of less than 1 wt.% in the alkane stream).
The office notes that Ramamurthy does not explicitly disclose compressing in a compression stage as in claim 10. However, compression is well-known and commonly practiced in the art for the purpose of providing the driving force necessary to transport effluent gases from one unit to the next (see Al-Gamdi: [0088]; [0114]; [0199] for evidence). Recitation of compression in the claim is therefore not considered to provide a patentably distinguishing feature over the cited prior art.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Timken ‘299 in view of Al-Gamdi, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Mazanec et al (US 2014/0107306).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Timken ‘299 does not disclose processing the r-pyrolysis gasoline in an aromatics complex to provide a recycled content paraxylene (r-paraxylene) stream and further treatment of the r-paraxylene stream, as claimed.
Mazanec is directed to reacting a portion of products formed in a pyrolysis reactor in a process to form one or more chemical intermediates (see Abstract). Paraxylene is separated from the primary product mixture (see [0006]; [0009], i.e., aromatics complex as claimed). Paraxylene is then oxidized to terephthalic acid in a secondary process, where terephthalic acid can be used in the production of polyethylene terephthalate (PET) by reaction with ethylene glycol (see [0119]-[0120]). PET is a valuable product used to form synthetic fibers, food containers, thermoform plastic materials, and engineering resins in combination with glass or other fiber (see [0123]-[0124]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the process of Timken ‘299 in view of Al-Gamdi by separating paraxylene from the pyrolysis gasoline and subjecting it to downstream reaction steps to produce PET, as suggested by Mazanec, in order to provide a valuable chemical product which is used for synthetic fibers, food containers, etc.
The concentration of paraxylene is considered a routinely optimizable variable and is not a patentably distinguishing feature absent new or unexpected results.
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Timken (US 2021/0189250) in view of Al-Gamdi.
Regarding claim 14, Timken ‘250 discloses a process for producing a recycled content organic chemical compound, comprising (see [0008]):
(a) distilling recycled content pyrolysis oil (r-pyoil) and petroleum crude oil in at least one distillation column to provide at least one r-HC stream (see [0010]; [0013]; [0037]-[0038]; [0040]-[0041]);
(b) generating a r-light gas from at least a portion of the r-HC stream (see [0038]); and
(c) introducing at least a portion of the r-light gas stream into an upgrading unit to produce a r-pyrolysis gasoline stream (see [0015]; [0077]).
Timken ‘250 does not disclose that the r-light gas stream is upgraded specifically by steam cracking to provide the r-pyrolysis gasoline.
However, steam cracking is known in the art to be a suitable upgrading process to convert streams comprising C3 and C4 to gasoline (see Al-Ghamdi: [0007]-[0008]; [0020]; [0069]-[0070]; [0073]). Armed with this knowledge and the fact that Timken ‘250 explicitly suggests upgrading processes to produce more gasoline, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to select steam cracking specifically for the stated purpose. The selection of a known technique to achieve the stated goal in Timken ‘250 would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, required nothing more than routine experimentation, and would have been associated with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Timken ‘250 discloses cracking at least a portion of the r-HC stream in a gas oil cracker (FCC unit) to provide a recycled content cracked (r-cracked) stream. FCC produces light gases, including saturated and unsaturated gases (see [0072]-[0073]; Table 6). Separation of the gases is implied and furthermore is common practice in the art (see, e.g., Timken ‘299 for evidence: Figs. 3 & 4). Supplying the light gas(es) to steam cracking would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art for the same reasons discussed above in the rejection of claim 14 in light of the teachings in Al-Gamdi.
Regarding claim 17, Al-Gamdi discloses steam cracking a mixed feed, including C3 and C4 components as well as naphtha, for example (see [0074]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Timken ‘250 in view of Al-Gamdi, as applied to claim 14, in further view of Ramamurthy.
Regarding claim 18, Timken ‘250 in view of Ramamurthy does not disclose the process flow of the r-light gas stream recited therein.
Ramamurthy is directed to a process for converting waste plastics to valuable chemicals (see Abstract; [0001]). The process entails steam cracking of a light gas stream obtained after pyrolysis of the waste plastic (see Figs. 3-4). Ramamurthy discloses that the steam cracker requires a low olefin content and therefore proposes a separation unit upstream of the steam cracker to separate the gas stream into a light olefins stream and a saturated gas stream. The light olefin gas is combined with the steam cracker effluent in a second separation zone and separated therein into a saturated gas stream and a light olefin gas stream. The saturated gas stream is then recycled to the steam cracker (see [0084]-[0092]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the process of Timken ‘250 in view of Al-Gamdi to combine the olefinic portion of the r-light gas stream with effluent from the steam cracker and separating the combined stream into an olefin stream and an alkane stream which can be recycled to the steam cracker, as suggested by Ramamurthy, in order to ensure a low olefins content of the feed to the stream cracker, which ensures proper feed characteristics to convert the feed material to the desired products.
The office notes that Ramamurthy does not explicitly disclose compressing in a compression stage. However, compression is well-known and commonly practiced in the art for the purpose of providing the driving force necessary to transport effluent gases from one unit to the next (see Al-Gamdi: [0088]; [0114]; [0199] for evidence). Recitation of compression in the claim is therefore not considered to provide a patentably distinguishing feature over the cited prior art.
Conclusion
/Renee Robinson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772