Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/31/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 28 depends on “The method of claim 27”. Claim 27 has been cancelled, and therefore renders claim 28 an improper dependent claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant is required to correct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-14, 16-17, 19, 21, 23-25, and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 20150281705 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang et al. teaches an apparatus for processing video data, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (Paragraph 13), the at least one processor configured to:
obtain a frame of video data associated with a display of a computing device, wherein the frame of video data includes one or more layers (Paragraphs 12-13; Paragraphs 134-147);
compare layer information associated with the one or more layers included in the frame of video data and layer information associated with one or more layers included in a previous frame of video data (Paragraph 84; Paragraphs 108-118; Paragraphs 134-148);
generate, based on determining a frame geometry change associated with the frame of video data, an inter-predicted frame using the frame of video data (Paragraphs 104-112; Paragraphs 134-147; Paragraphs 164-168; since geometry information is clearly used to determine activity in images within scenes, the detection of scene change necessarily is also a geometry change); and
determine an updated group of pictures (GOP) length based on the layer information associated with the one or more layers included in the frame of video data (Paragraphs 104-122; Paragraphs 134-147).
Regarding Claim 2, Wang et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the updated GOP length based on layer information associated with a primary layer included in the frame of video data (Paragraphs 104-122; Paragraphs 134-147).
Regarding Claim 4, Wang et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the layer information includes, for each respective layer included in the one or more layers, at least one of a layer name associated with each respective layer, a layer format associated with each respective layer, and one or more coordinates associated with each respective layer (Paragraphs 134-147).
Regarding Claim 5, Wang et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the layer information includes at least one of a quantity of layers or a frame layer number (Paragraphs 134-147).
6. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the frame geometry change associated with the frame of video data based on comparing the layer information associated with the one or more layers included in the frame of video data and the layer information associated with the one or more layers included in the previous frame of video data (Paragraphs 104-122; Paragraphs 134-147).
Regarding Claim 8, Wang et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: determine that a frame geometry change is not associated with the frame of video data, based on the layer information associated with the one or more layers included in the frame of video data changing by less than a threshold amount compared to the layer information associated with the one or more layers included in the previous frame of video data (Paragraphs 104-122; Paragraphs 134-147).
Regarding Claim 9, Wang et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: detect a display idle state associated with the frame of video data, based on the frame of video data and a pre-determined quantity of previous frames of video data not being associated with a frame geometry change; and apply a display idle GOP length, wherein the display idle GOP length is greater than the updated GOP length (Paragraphs 104-122; Paragraphs 134-147).
Regarding Claim 10, Wang et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: encode the frame of video data as a predicted frame (P-frame) or a bidirectional frame (B- frame) based on the frame of video data not being associated with a frame geometry change (Paragraph 80; Paragraph 85; Paragraphs 104-122).
Regarding Claim 12, Wang et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the frame of video data is a frame of captured video display data associated with wireless display sharing from the computing device to a second computing device (Paragraph 45).
Regarding Claim 13, Wang et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the frame of video data and the previous frame of video data are sequential frames included in a plurality of frames of captured video display data (Paragraphs 12-13).
Regarding Claim 14, Wang et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: encode at least a portion of the plurality of frames of captured video display data using the inter-predicted frame (Paragraphs 73-80; Paragraph 85-87).
Method claims 16-17, 19, 21, 23-25, and 28-29 are drawn to the method of using corresponding apparatus of claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, and 12-14 and are rejected for the same reasons as used above.
Conclusion
/FARHAN MAHMUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483