DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-13, 15-16 and 18-22 are pending in this application.
Response to Amendment
3. This office action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 03/12/2026 in response to the non-final rejection filed on 12/12/2025. Claims 1 and 15-16 have been amended. Claims 2-7 and 9 have been kept original. Claims 14 and 17 have been cancelled. Claims 8, 10-13 and 18-22 have been previously presented. Amendment has been entered.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments, filed on 03/12/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1,3-8 and 10-21 under 35 U.S.C. §103 (Applicant’s arguments, pages 11-17), have been fully considered and are but are moot because the independent claims are amended and introduce new limitations that were not previously presented newly found prior art has been applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 8-10, 13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20200257414 A1) in view of Cormican (US 20240004927 A1).
As per claim 1, Wang teaches a method (i.e. “a method for search page interaction”; fig. 1a, para. [0009], [0010], [0012]) for page display (i.e. “display interface”; fig.1a, para. [0024]), comprising:
displaying a first page (i.e. “in response to a first preset operation on a search control in a current display interface”; fig.1a, para. [0024]; Examiner note: the displaying a first page is interpreted as the current display interface);
in response to a search page display operation performed on the first page (i.e. “in response to a first preset operation on a search control in a current display interface, the current display interface is switched to a search interface and at least one subject of recommended content is displayed in the search interface”; fig.1a-b, para. [0024]; Examiner note: the search page display operation is interpreted as the first preset operation on the search control),
switching a current page from the first page to a search page (i.e. “the current display interface is switched to a search interface”; fig. 1a, para. [0024]; Examiner note: the current page from the first page is interpreted as the current display interface. The search page is interpreted as the search interface);
switching the current page from the search page to a target page (i.e. “reference is made to FIG. 3b, which is a schematic diagram showing an effect of jumping from a search interface to a play interface”; fig. 3b, para. [0045]; Examiner note: the switching the current page from the search page to the target page is the jumping from the search interface to the play interface where target page is play interface);
However, it is noted that the prior art of Wang does not explicitly teach “wherein the search page is used for searching based on search information from a user; and in response to a page return operation performed on the search page; displaying associated content of a target topic on the target page, wherein the target topic is a media content topic associated with target search information, wherein the associated content of the target topic is displayed after switching the current page from the first page to the search page, and wherein the target search information is search information searched by the user on the search page.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Cormican teaches wherein the search page is used for searching based on search information from a user (i.e. “Referring to FIG. 4A, the user may input text for a search query for related media content items in a search text box 410 using input keyboard 420.”; fig.4a, para. [0067]; Examiner note: the search page herein can be considered as the search text box 410. The searching based on search information from a user is interpreted as the user may input text for a search query for related media content items wherein the search information is the related media content items); and
in response to a page return operation performed on the search page (i.e. “if the corresponding media content item is not the movie XYZ or is not what the user intended to view, then the user would have to return to the list of search results (typically in a different user interface) in order to select a different search result item.”; para. [0034]);
displaying associated content of a target topic on the target page (i.e. “present a preview of a media content item corresponding to a specific search result item within the focus area 430.”; fig. 4c, para. [0077]; Examiner note: the displaying is interpreted as the present. The associated content is interpreted as the media content. The target topic is interpreted as the specific search result item. The target page is interpreted as the focus area 430),
wherein the target topic is a media content topic associated with target search information (i.e. “the received plurality of search result items are search results corresponding to media content items related to a search for “Actor A.””; fig.4c, para. [0077]; Examiner note: the target topic is interpreted as the search results. The media content topic associated with target search information is interpreted as the media content items related to a search for “Actor A),
wherein the associated content of the target topic is displayed after switching the current page from the first page to the search page (i.e. “The process of selecting and playing media content items corresponding to different search result items may result in the user having to repeatedly select and reselect different search result items (and typically also switch between different user interfaces) until the desired search result item and a corresponding media content item is found.”; para. [0034], [0035]; Examiner note: the associated content of the target topic is displayed is interpreted as the playing media content items corresponding to different search result items. The switching the current page from the first page to the search page is interpreted as the repeatedly select and reselect different search result items (and typically also switch between different user interfaces), and
wherein the target search information is search information searched by the user on the search page (i.e. “the scrollable search result area 435 may display a subset of the plurality of search result items received from the search engine platform 150”; fig. 4c, para. [0073]; Examiner note: the target search information is the subset of the plurality of search result items. Further, i.e. “the user may input text for a search query for related media content items in a search text box 410”; para [0067]; Examiner note: the search information searched by the user on the search page is interpreted as the search query for related media content items in a search text box).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Cormican that teaches providing a preview of the media content item while presenting the search results into the prior art of Wang that teaches search page interaction. Additionally, this can improve and enriching functions for guiding uses in the search interface.
The motivation for doing so is to accurately predict user interest in certain search results and provide a preview of corresponding media content in a scrollable UI. This reduces computing resources and improves network bandwidth by eliminating the unnecessary downloading/streaming of media content that is not of interest to the user (Cormican, para. [0039]).
As per claim 8, Wang and Cormican teach all the limitations as discussed in claim 5 above.
Additionally, Wang teaches wherein after displaying target media content associated with the target topic on the second page (i.e. “An area 1 in the top of the detail page is configured to display a brief introduction of the challenge content”; para. [0030]; Examiner note: the target media content is interpreted as the brief introduction of the challenge content), the method further comprises:
in response to a media content switching operation performed on the second page, switching the current media content displayed on the second page according to a media content stream of the second page (i.e. “dynamic thumbnails of videos displayed in the display area may be moved according to the direction and the distance of the left-right slide operation, so that the user may select a video which the user likes from the dynamic thumbnails of videos.”; para. [0038]),
wherein first n media contents in the media content stream are the target media content, and n is a positive integer (i.e. “dynamic thumbnails of videos displayed in the display area may be moved according to the direction and the distance of the left-right slide operation, so that the user may select a video which the user likes from the dynamic thumbnails of videos.”; para. [0038]; Examiner note: the n media contents are the videos. The number of videos select herein is at least one video and one is a positive integer).
As per claim 9, Wang and Cormican teach all the limitations as discussed in claim 8 above.
Additionally, Wang teaches wherein before displaying target media content associated with the target topic on the second page (i.e. “An area 1 in the top of the detail page is configured to display a brief introduction of the challenge content”; para. [0030]; Examiner note: the target media content is interpreted as the brief introduction of the challenge content), the method further comprises:
increasing a recommendation priority corresponding to the target topic (i.e. “when a target comment content is: “Erha is surely the most naughty dog on the net, not one of them”, through fuzzy matching, “Husky” describing a same target entity as the “Erha” in the target comment content may be determined as a first search recommendation word.”; fig. 6, para. [0058], [0083]; Examiner note: the recommendation priority corresponding to the target topic is interpreted as the Erha is surely the most naughty dog on the net, not one of them); and
generating the media content stream of the second page based on the increased recommendation priority corresponding to the target topic and recommendation priorities of other media content topics except the target topic (i.e. “In addition to the above first search recommendation word, in the above first area, at least one second search recommendation word not appearing in the target comment content and associated with the video may be further presented, and for a process of determining the second search recommendation word, reference is specifically made to the description of the search recommendation word in the above S101”; figs. 6, 9, para. [0084]; Examiner note: Figures 6 and 9-13 display an interface where a result that appears to be a video is generated based on the word that is considered a priority in the context).
As per claim 10, Wang and Cormican teach all the limitations as discussed in claim 5 above.
Additionally, Wang teaches wherein after displaying target media content associated with the target topic on the second page (i.e. “An area 1 in the top of the detail page is configured to display a brief introduction of the challenge content”; para. [0030]; Examiner note: the target media content is interpreted as the brief introduction of the challenge content), the method further comprises:
in response to a media content switching operation performed on the second page (i.e. “in response to a selection operation on the search prompt information, the search result page is presented”; para. [0078]),
switching the current media content displayed on the second page according to a media content stream of the second page (i.e. “dynamic thumbnails of videos displayed in the display area may be moved according to the direction and the distance of the left-right slide operation, so that the user may select a video which the user likes from the dynamic thumbnails of videos.”; para. [0038]),
wherein media contents in the media content stream are the target media content (i.e. “the user may select a video which the user likes from the dynamic thumbnails of videos.”; para. [0038]; Examiner note: the n media contents are the videos).
As per claim 13, Wang and Cormican teach all the limitations as discussed in claim 1 above.
Additionally, Wang teaches wherein after switching a current page from the first page to a search page (i.e. “the current display interface is switched to a search interface”; fig. 1a, para. [0024]; Examiner note: the current page from the first page is interpreted as the current display interface. The search page is interpreted as the search interface), the method further comprises:
in response to a search operation performed on the target search information (i.e. “In response to a click operation on any subject of recommended content performed by the user”; para. [0034]),
displaying, on the search page, a target search result obtained by a searching operation based on the target search information (i.e. “In response to a click operation on the dynamic thumbnail of any video performed by the user, it is jumped to a play interface of the video.”; para. [0034]).
As per claim 15, Wang teaches an electronic device (i.e. “a terminal”; figs. 1b-c, para. [0009]), comprising:
at least one processor (i.e. “a processor”; figs. 1b-c, para. [0010]); and
a memory communicably connected with the at least one processor for storing instructions executable by the at least one processor,
wherein the memory stores a computer program performed by the at least one processor, and the computer program, performed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processor (i.e. “a computer readable storage medium storing computer programs is provided according to an embodiment of the disclosure. The computer programs, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method for search page interaction according to any one of embodiments of the disclosure.”; fig.6, para. [0010]. Further, i.e. “The computer executable instructions, when executed by a processor of a computer, cause the processor to perform a method for search page interaction applied to a terminal.”; para. [0071])
to display a first page (i.e. “in response to a first preset operation on a search control in a current display interface”; fig.1a, para. [0024]; Examiner note: the displaying a first page is interpreted as the current display interface);
in response to a search page display operation performed on the first page (i.e. “in response to a first preset operation on a search control in a current display interface, the current display interface is switched to a search interface and at least one subject of recommended content is displayed in the search interface”; fig.1a-b, para. [0024]; Examiner note: the search page display operation is interpreted as the first preset operation on the search control),
switch a current page from the first page to a search page (i.e. “the current display interface is switched to a search interface”; fig. 1a, para. [0024]; Examiner note: the current page from the first page is interpreted as the current display interface. The search page is interpreted as the search interface);
switch the current page from the search page to a target page (i.e. “reference is made to FIG. 3b, which is a schematic diagram showing an effect of jumping from a search interface to a play interface”; fig. 3b, para. [0045]; Examiner note: the switching the current page from the search page to the target page is the jumping from the search interface to the play interface where target page is play interface);
However, it is noted that the prior art of Wang does not explicitly teach “wherein the search page is used for searching based on search information from a user; and in response to a page return operation performed on the search page; displaying associated content of a target topic on the target page, wherein the target topic is a media content topic associated with target search information, wherein the associated content of the target topic is displayed after switching the current page from the first page to the search page, and wherein the target search information is search information searched by the user on the search page.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Cormican teaches wherein the search page is used for searching based on search information from a user (i.e. “Referring to FIG. 4A, the user may input text for a search query for related media content items in a search text box 410 using input keyboard 420.”; fig.4a, para. [0067]; Examiner note: the search page herein can be considered as the search text box 410. The searching based on search information from a user is interpreted as the user may input text for a search query for related media content items wherein the search information is the related media content items); and
in response to a page return operation performed on the search page (i.e. “if the corresponding media content item is not the movie XYZ or is not what the user intended to view, then the user would have to return to the list of search results (typically in a different user interface) in order to select a different search result item.”; para. [0034]);
displaying associated content of a target topic on the target page (i.e. “present a preview of a media content item corresponding to a specific search result item within the focus area 430.”; fig. 4c, para. [0077]; Examiner note: the displaying is interpreted as the present. The associated content is interpreted as the media content. The target topic is interpreted as the specific search result item. The target page is interpreted as the focus area 430),
wherein the target topic is a media content topic associated with target search information (i.e. “the received plurality of search result items are search results corresponding to media content items related to a search for “Actor A.””; fig.4c, para. [0077]; Examiner note: the target topic is interpreted as the search results. The media content topic associated with target search information is interpreted as the media content items related to a search for “Actor A),
wherein the associated content of the target topic is displayed after switching the current page from the first page to the search page (i.e. “The process of selecting and playing media content items corresponding to different search result items may result in the user having to repeatedly select and reselect different search result items (and typically also switch between different user interfaces) until the desired search result item and a corresponding media content item is found.”; para. [0034], [0035]; Examiner note: the associated content of the target topic is displayed is interpreted as the playing media content items corresponding to different search result items. The switching the current page from the first page to the search page is interpreted as the repeatedly select and reselect different search result items (and typically also switch between different user interfaces), and
wherein the target search information is search information searched by the user on the search page (i.e. “the scrollable search result area 435 may display a subset of the plurality of search result items received from the search engine platform 150”; fig. 4c, para. [0073]; Examiner note: the target search information is the subset of the plurality of search result items. Further, i.e. “the user may input text for a search query for related media content items in a search text box 410”; para [0067]; Examiner note: the search information searched by the user on the search page is interpreted as the search query for related media content items in a search text box).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Cormican that teaches providing a preview of the media content item while presenting the search results into the prior art of Wang that teaches search page interaction. Additionally, this can improve and enriching functions for guiding uses in the search interface.
The motivation for doing so is to accurately predict user interest in certain search results and provide a preview of corresponding media content in a scrollable UI. This reduces computing resources and improves network bandwidth by eliminating the unnecessary downloading/streaming of media content that is not of interest to the user (Cormican, para. [0039]).
As per claim 16, Wang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having computer instructions stored thereon, wherein when executed by a processor, the computer instructions cause the processor to (i.e. “computer readable storage medium storing computer programs is provided according to an embodiment of the disclosure. The computer programs, when executed by a processor, cause the processor”; para. [0010]);
display a first page (i.e. “in response to a first preset operation on a search control in a current display interface”; fig.1a, para. [0024]; Examiner note: the displaying a first page is interpreted as the current display interface);
in response to a search page display operation performed on the first page (i.e. “in response to a first preset operation on a search control in a current display interface, the current display interface is switched to a search interface and at least one subject of recommended content is displayed in the search interface”; fig.1a-b, para. [0024]; Examiner note: the search page display operation is interpreted as the first preset operation on the search control),
switch a current page from the first page to a search page (i.e. “the current display interface is switched to a search interface”; fig. 1a, para. [0024]; Examiner note: the current page from the first page is interpreted as the current display interface. The search page is interpreted as the search interface);
switch the current page from the search page to a target page (i.e. “reference is made to FIG. 3b, which is a schematic diagram showing an effect of jumping from a search interface to a play interface”; fig. 3b, para. [0045]; Examiner note: the switching the current page from the search page to the target page is the jumping from the search interface to the play interface where target page is play interface);
However, it is noted that the prior art of Wang does not explicitly teach “wherein the search page is used for searching based on search information from a user; and in response to a page return operation performed on the search page; displaying associated content of a target topic on the target page, wherein the target topic is a media content topic associated with target search information, wherein the associated content of the target topic is displayed after switching the current page from the first page to the search page, and wherein the target search information is search information searched by the user on the search page.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Cormican teaches wherein the search page is used for searching based on search information from a user (i.e. “Referring to FIG. 4A, the user may input text for a search query for related media content items in a search text box 410 using input keyboard 420.”; fig.4a, para. [0067]; Examiner note: the search page herein can be considered as the search text box 410. The searching based on search information from a user is interpreted as the user may input text for a search query for related media content items wherein the search information is the related media content items); and
in response to a page return operation performed on the search page (i.e. “if the corresponding media content item is not the movie XYZ or is not what the user intended to view, then the user would have to return to the list of search results (typically in a different user interface) in order to select a different search result item.”; para. [0034]);
displaying associated content of a target topic on the target page (i.e. “present a preview of a media content item corresponding to a specific search result item within the focus area 430.”; fig. 4c, para. [0077]; Examiner note: the displaying is interpreted as the present. The associated content is interpreted as the media content. The target topic is interpreted as the specific search result item. The target page is interpreted as the focus area 430),
wherein the target topic is a media content topic associated with target search information (i.e. “the received plurality of search result items are search results corresponding to media content items related to a search for “Actor A.””; fig.4c, para. [0077]; Examiner note: the target topic is interpreted as the search results. The media content topic associated with target search information is interpreted as the media content items related to a search for “Actor A),
wherein the associated content of the target topic is displayed after switching the current page from the first page to the search page (i.e. “The process of selecting and playing media content items corresponding to different search result items may result in the user having to repeatedly select and reselect different search result items (and typically also switch between different user interfaces) until the desired search result item and a corresponding media content item is found.”; para. [0034], [0035]; Examiner note: the associated content of the target topic is displayed is interpreted as the playing media content items corresponding to different search result items. The switching the current page from the first page to the search page is interpreted as the repeatedly select and reselect different search result items (and typically also switch between different user interfaces), and
wherein the target search information is search information searched by the user on the search page (i.e. “the scrollable search result area 435 may display a subset of the plurality of search result items received from the search engine platform 150”; fig. 4c, para. [0073]; Examiner note: the target search information is the subset of the plurality of search result items. Further, i.e. “the user may input text for a search query for related media content items in a search text box 410”; para [0067]; Examiner note: the search information searched by the user on the search page is interpreted as the search query for related media content items in a search text box).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Cormican that teaches providing a preview of the media content item while presenting the search results into the prior art of Wang that teaches search page interaction. Additionally, this can improve and enriching functions for guiding uses in the search interface.
The motivation for doing so is to accurately predict user interest in certain search results and provide a preview of corresponding media content in a scrollable UI. This reduces computing resources and improves network bandwidth by eliminating the unnecessary downloading/streaming of media content that is not of interest to the user (Cormican, para. [0039]).
7. Claims 2, 4-7, 11-12, 18 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20200257414 A1) in view of Cormican (US 20240004927 A1) in further view of Wu et al. (US 20230401256 A1).
As per claim 2, Wang and Cormican teach all the limitations as discussed in claim 1 above.
Additionally, Wang teaches wherein the target page comprises the first page (i.e. “in response to a first preset operation on a search control in a current display interface”; fig.1a, para. [0024]; Examiner note: the first page is interpreted as the current display interface), and
wherein switching the current page from the search page to a target page (i.e. “it is jumped to a detail page corresponding to the target subject of recommended content.”; fig. 1a, para. [0028]; Examiner note: The switching the current page from the search page to a target page is the jumped to the detail page corresponding to the target subject of recommended content) and
displaying associated content of a target topic on the target page (i.e. “displaying at least one subject of recommended content in the search interface and displaying a dynamic thumbnail of at least one video corresponding to each subject of recommended content under the subject of recommended content”; para. [0070]) comprises:
switching the current page from the search page to the first page (i.e. “switching a search interface to a video play interface”; fig.3b, para. [0017]; Examiner note: the first page is interpreted as the video play interface);
However, it is noted that the combination of the prior arts of Wang and Cormican do not explicitly teach “displaying target associated prompt information of the target topic on the first page, wherein the target associated prompt information is used for prompting to watch media content associated with the target topic on a second page.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches displaying target associated prompt information of the target topic on the first page (i.e. “in response to a triggering operation on the comment content corresponding to the video, the search prompt information is presented”; para. [0079]; Examiner note: the displaying target associated prompt information is interpreted as the search prompt information is presented),
wherein the target associated prompt information is used for prompting to watch media content associated with the target topic on a second page (i.e. “in the search result page, the search recommendation word can be further presented, which is matched with the comment content and/or the video, so that a user can further acquire the related video search result by triggering the search recommendation word,”; para. [0080]; Examiner note: the target associated prompt information is used for prompting is interpreted as the by triggering the search recommendation word. The watch media content associated with the target topic is interpreted as the related video search result. The second page is interpreted as the search result page).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Wu that teaches information presentation into the combination of the prior arts of Wang that teaches search page interaction, and Cormican that teaches providing a preview of the media content item while presenting the search results. Additionally, this can improve and enriching functions for guiding uses in the search interface.
The motivation for doing so would be to select the search prompt information, without the need to exit a presentation page for the comment content and then input related information in a search page for searching, because it improves the efficiency of acquiring a search result related to the currently read comment content (Wu, para. [0047]).
As per claim 4, Wang and Cormican teach all the limitations as discussed in claim 2 above.
However, it is noted that the combination of the prior arts of Wang and Cormican do not explicitly teach “wherein displaying target associated prompt information of the target topic on the first page comprises: in response to a total number of display times of associated prompt information of the media content topic within a current prompt cycle not reaching a preset number of times, displaying the target associated prompt information of the target topic on the first page, wherein the associated prompt information comprises the target associated prompt information.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches wherein displaying target associated prompt information of the target topic on the first page (i.e. “in response to a triggering operation on the comment content corresponding to the video, the search prompt information is presented”; para. [0078]-[0079]; Examiner note: the displaying target associated prompt information is interpreted as the search prompt information is presented) comprises:
in response to a total number of display times of associated prompt information of the media content topic within a current prompt cycle not reaching a preset number of times (i.e. “number of times of the first candidate search recommendation word being presented within a preset time period.”; para. [0065], [0078]; Examiner note: The not reaching a preset number of times is interpreted as the within a preset time period),
displaying the target associated prompt information of the target topic on the first page (i.e. “in response to a triggering operation on the comment content corresponding to the video, the search prompt information is presented”; para. [0079]; Examiner note: the displaying target associated prompt information is interpreted as the search prompt information is presented),
wherein the associated prompt information comprises the target associated prompt information (i.e. “the search prompt information comprises the target recommendation word, after the user triggers the search prompt information”; para. [0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Wu that teaches information presentation into the combination of the prior arts of Wang that teaches search page interaction, and Cormican that teaches providing a preview of the media content item while presenting the search results. Additionally, this can improve and enriching functions for guiding uses in the search interface.
The motivation for doing so would be to select the search prompt information, without the need to exit a presentation page for the comment content and then input related information in a search page for searching, because it improves the efficiency of acquiring a search result related to the currently read comment content (Wu, para. [0047]).
As per claim 5, Wang, Cormican and Wu teach all the limitations as discussed in claim 2 above.
However, it is noted that the combination of the prior arts of Wang and Cormican do not explicitly teach “wherein after displaying target associated prompt information of the target topic on the first page, the method further comprises: in response to a triggering operation for displaying the second page, switching the current page to the second page, and displaying target media content associated with the target topic on the second page.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches wherein after displaying target associated prompt information of the target topic on the first page (i.e. “in response to a triggering operation on the comment content corresponding to the video, the search prompt information is presented”; para. [0079]; Examiner note: the displaying target associated prompt information is interpreted as the search prompt information is presented), the method further comprises:
in response to a triggering operation for displaying the second page, switching the current page to the second page, and displaying target media content associated with the target topic on the second page (i.e. “in response to the triggering operation of the user for the search prompt information … presents a search result page corresponding to the video search result;”; para. [0078]. “in response to a triggering operation on the comment content corresponding to the video, the search prompt information is presented;”; para. [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Wu that teaches information presentation into the combination of the prior arts of Wang that teaches search page interaction, and Cormican that teaches providing a preview of the media content item while presenting the search results. Additionally, this can improve and enriching functions for guiding uses in the search interface.
The motivation for doing so would be to select the search prompt information, without the need to exit a presentation page for the comment content and then input related information in a search page for searching, because it improves the efficiency of acquiring a search result related to the currently read comment content (Wu, para. [0047]).
As per claim 6, Wang and Cormican teach all the limitations as discussed in claim 1 above.
Additionally, Wang teaches wherein switching the current page from the search page to a target page (i.e. “reference is made to FIG. 3b, which is a schematic diagram showing an effect of jumping from a search interface to a play interface”; fig. 3b, para. [0045]; Examiner note: The switching the current page from the search page to a target page is the jumping from a search interface to a play interface where target page is play interface), and
displaying associated content of a target topic on the target page (i.e. “it is switched to a play interface of the dynamic thumbnail c, to play a video corresponding to the dynamic thumbnail c.”; para. [0045]; Examiner note: The displaying associated content of a target topic is interpreted as the play a video on the play interface) comprises:
switching the current page from the search page to the second page (i.e. “the search interface is jumped to a detail page corresponding to the clicked subject of the challenges or music.”; para. [0029]; Examiner note: the second page is interpreted as the detail page), and
displaying target media content associated with the target topic on the second page (i.e. “An area 1 in the top of the detail page is configured to display a brief introduction of the challenge content”; para. [0030]; Examiner note: the target media content is interpreted as the brief introduction of the challenge content).
However, it is noted that the combination of the prior arts of Wang and Cormican do not explicitly teach “wherein the target page comprises a second page;”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches wherein the target page comprises a second page (i.e. “FIG. 10 illustrates a schematic diagram of another specific presentation page of a search result page”; fig.10, para. [0039]; Examiner note: the target page is interpreted as the search result page. The second page is interpreted as the another specific presentation page);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Wu that teaches information presentation into the combination of the prior arts of Wang that teaches search page interaction, and Cormican that teaches providing a preview of the media content item while presenting the search results. Additionally, this can improve and enriching functions for guiding uses in the search interface.
The motivation for doing so would be to select the search prompt information, without the need to exit a presentation page for the comment content and then input related information in a search page for searching, because it improves the efficiency of acquiring a search result related to the currently read comment content (Wu, para. [0047]).
As per claim 7, Wang and Cormican teach all the limitations as discussed in claim 2 above.
Additionally, Wang teaches switching the current page from the search page to a target page (i.e. “reference is made to FIG. 3b, which is a schematic diagram showing an effect of jumping from a search interface to a play interface”; fig. 3b, para. [0045]; Examiner note: The switching the current page from the search page to a target page is the jumping from a search interface to a play interface where target page is play interface), and
displaying associated content of a target topic on the target page (i.e. “it is switched to a play interface of the dynamic thumbnail c, to play a video corresponding to the dynamic thumbnail c.”; para. [0045]; Examiner note: The displaying associated content of a target topic is interpreted as the play a video on the play interface) comprises:
in response to the page return operation performed on the search page (i.e. “Dynamic thumbnails a, b and c are adjacent. If the user clicks the dynamic thumbnail b, a video corresponding to the dynamic thumbnail b is played in the play interface.”; fig.3b, para. [0045]; Examiner note: the page return operation is interpreted as the user video corresponding to the dynamic thumbnail b is played in the play interface),
switching the current page from the search page to the first page (i.e. “switching a search interface to a video play interface”; fig.3b, para. [0017]; Examiner note: the first page is interpreted as the video play interface); and
in response to a triggering operation for displaying the second page, switching the current page to the second page (i.e. “the search interface is jumped to a detail page corresponding to the clicked subject of the challenges or music.”; para. [0029]; Examiner note: the second page is interpreted as the detail page), and
displaying target media content associated with the target topic on the second page (i.e. “An area 1 in the top of the detail page is configured to display a brief introduction of the challenge content”; para. [0030]; Examiner note: the target media content is interpreted as the brief introduction of the challenge content).
However, it is noted that the prior art of Wang does not explicitly teach “wherein the target page comprises a second page, and wherein in response to a page return operation performed on the search page;”
However, it is noted that the combination of the prior arts of Wang and Cormican do not explicitly teach wherein the target page comprises a second page (i.e. “FIG. 10 illustrates a schematic diagram of another specific presentation page of a search result page”; fig.10, para. [0039]; Examiner note: the target page is interpreted as the search result page. The second page is interpreted as the another specific presentation page), and
wherein in response to a page return operation performed on the search page (i.e. “The preset gesture here may comprise a gesture set as needed and capable of triggering a return operation, such as a leftward-swiping gesture.”; para. [0091]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Wu that teaches information presentation into the combination of the prior arts of Wang that teaches search page interaction, and Cormican that teaches providing a preview of the media content item while presenting the search results. Additionally, this can improve and enriching functions for guiding uses in the search interface.
The motivation for doing so would be to select the search prompt information, without the need to exit a presentation page for the comment content and then input related information in a search page for searching, because it improves the efficiency of acquiring a search result related to the currently read comment content (Wu, para. [0047]).
As per claim 11, Wang and Cormican teach all the limitations as discussed in claim 5 above.
Additionally, Wang teaches wherein switching the current page from the search page to a target page (i.e. “reference is made to FIG. 3b, which is a schematic diagram showing an effect of jumping from a search interface to a play interface”; fig. 3b, para. [0045]; Examiner note: The switching the current page from the search page to the target page is the jumping from the search interface to the play interface where target page is play interface) and displaying associated content of a target topic on the target page (i.e. “it is switched to a play interface of the dynamic thumbnail c, to play a video corresponding to the dynamic thumbnail c.”; para. [0045]; Examiner note: The displaying is the play. The content of the target topic is interpreted as the dynamic thumbnail c. The target page is the play interface) comprises:
switching the current page from the search page to the target page (i.e. “reference is made to FIG. 3b , which is a schematic diagram showing an effect of jumping from a search interface to a play interface”; fig. 3b, para. [0045]; Examiner note: The switching the current page from the search page to a target page is the jumping from a search interface to a play interface where target page is play interface), and
displaying the associated content of the target topic on the target page (i.e. “it is switched to a play interface of the dynamic thumbnail c, to play a video corresponding to the dynamic thumbnail c.”; para. [0045]; Examiner note: The displaying associated content of a target topic is interpreted as the play a video on the play interface),
wherein region information corresponding to the target search result item is consistent with region information corresponding to the second page (i.e. “An area 1 in the top of the detail page is configured to display a brief introduction of the challenge content.”; para. [0030]; Examiner note: the region information is the area 1).
However, it is noted that the combination of the prior arts of Wang and Cormican do not explicitly teach “in response to a target search result obtained by searching based on the target search information containing a target search result item;”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches in response to a target search result obtained by searching based on the target search information containing a target search result item (i.e. “search may be initiated based on the target comment content in this case, a video search result matched with the target comment content is acquired,”; fig. 13, para. [0097]; Examiner note: the target search result item is interpreted as the video search result);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Wu that teaches information presentation into the combination of the prior arts of Wang that teaches search page interaction, and Cormican that teaches providing a preview of the media content item while presenting the search results. Additionally, this can improve and enriching functions for guiding uses in the search interface.
The motivation for doing so would be to select the search prompt information, without the need to exit a presentation page for the comment content and then input related information in a search page for searching, because it improves the efficiency of acquiring a search result related to the currently read comment content (Wu, para. [0047]).
As per claim 12, Wang and Cormican teach all the limitations as discussed in claim 1 above.
However, it is noted that the combination of the prior arts of Wang and Cormican do not explicitly teach “wherein a relevance between the target search information and the target topic is greater than a preset relevance threshold.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches wherein a relevance between the target search information and the target topic is greater than a preset relevance threshold (i.e. “a first candidate search recommendation word whose number of being-searched times is greater than a preset searching times threshold is selected as the first search recommendation word.”; para. [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Wu that teaches information presentation into the combination of the prior arts of Wang that teaches search page interaction, and Cormican that teaches providing a preview of the media content item while presenting the search results. Additionally, this can improve and enriching functions for guiding uses in the search interface.
The motivation for doing so would be to select the search prompt information, without the need to exit a presentation page for the comment content and then input related information in a search page for searching, because it improves the efficiency of acquiring a search result related to the currently read comment content (Wu, para. [0047]).
As per claim 18, Wang and Cormican teach all the limitations as discussed in claim 15 above.
Additionally, Wang teaches wherein the target page comprises the first page (i.e. “in response to a first preset operation on a search control in a current display interface”; fig.1a, para. [0024]; Examiner note: the first page is interpreted as the current display interface), and
wherein the computer program causing the at least one processor to (i.e. “the computer programs, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to”; para. [0010])
switch the current page from the search page to a target page (i.e. “reference is made to FIG. 3b, which is a schematic diagram showing an effect of jumping from a search interface to a play interface”; fig. 3b, para. [0045]; Examiner note: The switching the current page from the search page to a target page is the jumping from a search interface to a play interface where target page is play interface), and
display associated content of a target topic on the target page (i.e. “it is switched to a play interface of the dynamic thumbnail c, to play a video corresponding to the dynamic thumbnail c.”; para. [0045]; Examiner note: The display is the play. The content of the target topic is interpreted as the dynamic thumbnail c. The target page is the play interface), comprises instructions to:
switch the current page from the search page to the first page (i.e. “switching a search interface to a video play interface”; fig.3b, para. [0017]; Examiner note: the first page is interpreted as the video play interface);
However, it is noted that the combination of the prior arts of Wang and Cormican do not explicitly teach “displaying target associated prompt information of the target topic on the first page, wherein the target associated prompt information is used for prompting to watch media content associated with the target topic on a second page.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches displaying target associated prompt information of the target topic on the first page (i.e. “in response to a triggering operation on the comment content corresponding to the video, the search prompt information is presented”; para. [0079]; Examiner note: the displaying target associated prompt information is interpreted as the search prompt information is presented),
wherein the target associated prompt information is used for prompting to watch media content associated with the target topic on a second page (i.e. “in the search result page, the search recommendation word can be further presented, which is matched with the comment content and/or the video, so that a user can further acquire the related video search result by triggering the search recommendation word,”; para. [0080]; Examiner note: the target associated prompt information is used for prompting is interpreted as the by triggering the search recommendation word. The watch media content associated with the target topic is interpreted as the related video search result. The second page is interpreted as the search result page).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Wu that teaches information presentation into the combination of the prior arts of Wang that teaches search page interaction, and Cormican that teaches providing a preview of the media content item while presenting the search results. Additionally, this can improve and enriching functions for guiding uses in the search interface.
The motivation for doing so would be to select the search prompt information, without the need to exit a presentation page for the comment content and then input related information in a search page for searching, because it improves the efficiency of acquiring a search result related to the currently read comment content (Wu, para. [0047]).
As per claim 20, Wang and Cormican teach all the limitations as discussed in claim 18 above.
However, it is noted that the combination of the prior arts of Wang and Cormican do not explicitly teach “wherein the computer program causing the processor to display target associated prompt information of the target topic on the first page comprises the instructions to: in response to a total number of display times of associated prompt information of the media content topic within a current prompt cycle not reaching a preset number of times, display the target associated prompt information of the target topic on the first page, wherein the associated prompt information comprises the target associated prompt information.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches wherein the computer program causing the processor to display target associated prompt information of the target topic on the first page (i.e. “in response to a triggering operation on the comment content corresponding to the video, the search prompt information is presented”; para. [0079]; Examiner note: the displaying target associated prompt information is interpreted as the search prompt information is presented) comprises the instructions to:
in response to a total number of display times of associated prompt information of the media content topic within a current prompt cycle not reaching a preset number of times (i.e. “number of times of the first candidate search recommendation word being presented within a preset time period.”; para. [0065]; Examiner note: the not reaching a preset number of times is interpreted as the within a preset time period),
display the target associated prompt information of the target topic on the first page (i.e. “in response to a triggering operation on the comment content corresponding to the video, the search prompt information is presented”; para. [0079]; Examiner note: the displaying target associated prompt information is interpreted as the search prompt information is presented),
wherein the associated prompt information comprises the target associated prompt information (i.e. “the search prompt information comprises the target recommendation word, after the user triggers the search prompt information”; para. [0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Wu that teaches information presentation into the combination of the prior arts of Wang that teaches search page interaction, and Cormican that teaches providing a preview of the media content item while presenting the search results. Additionally, this can improve and enriching functions for guiding uses in the search interface.
The motivation for doing so would be to select the search prompt information, without the need to exit a presentation page for the comment content and then input related information in a search page for searching, because it improves the efficiency of acquiring a search result related to the currently read comment content (Wu, para. [0047]).
As per claim 21, Wang and Cormican teach all the limitations as discussed in claim 18 above.
However, it is noted that the combination of the prior arts of Wang and Cormican do not explicitly teach “wherein the computer program further comprises instructions to after displaying target associated prompt information of the target topic on the first page: in response to a triggering operation for displaying the second page, switch the current page to the second page, and displaying target media content associated with the target topic on the second page.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches wherein the computer program further comprises instructions to
after displaying target associated prompt information of the target topic on the first page (i.e. “in response to a triggering operation on the comment content corresponding to the video, the search prompt information is presented”; para. [0079]; Examiner note: the displaying target associated prompt information is interpreted as the search prompt information is presented):
in response to a triggering operation for displaying the second page, switching the current page to the second page, and displaying target media content associated with the target topic on the second page (i.e. “ in response to a selection operation on the search prompt information, the search result page is presented”; para. [0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Wu that teaches information presentation into the combination of the prior arts of Wang that teaches search page interaction, and Cormican that teaches providing a preview of the media content item while presenting the search results. Additionally, this can improve and enriching functions for guiding uses in the search interface.
The motivation for doing so would be to select the search prompt information, without the need to exit a presentation page for the comment content and then input related information in a search page for searching, because it improves the efficiency of acquiring a search result related to the currently read comment content (Wu, para. [0047]).
As per claim 22, Wang and Cormican teach all the limitations as discussed in claim 15 above.
Additionally, Wang teaches wherein the computer program causing the at least one processor to switch the current page from the search page to a target page (i.e. “reference is made to FIG. 3b , which is a schematic diagram showing an effect of jumping from a search interface to a play interface”; fig. 3b, para. [0045]; Examiner note: The switching the current page from the search page to a target page is the jumping from a search interface to a play interface where target page is play interface) and
display associated content of a target topic on the target page (i.e. “it is switched to a play interface of the dynamic thumbnail c, to play a video corresponding to the dynamic thumbnail c.”; para. [0045]; Examiner note: The displaying associated content of a target topic is interpreted as the play a video on the play interface) comprises instructions to:
switch the current page from the search page to the second page (i.e. “the search interface is jumped to a detail page corresponding to the clicked subject of the challenges or music.”; para. [0029]; Examiner note: the second page is interpreted as the detail page), and
displaying target media content associated with the target topic on the second page (i.e. “An area 1 in the top of the detail page is configured to display a brief introduction of the challenge content”; para. [0030]; Examiner note: the target media content is interpreted as the brief introduction of the challenge content).
However, it is noted that the combination of the prior arts of Wang and Cormican do not explicitly teach “wherein the target page comprises a second page;”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches wherein the target page comprises a second page (i.e. “FIG. 10 illustrates a schematic diagram of another specific presentation page of a search result page”; fig.10, para. [0039]; Examiner note: the target page is interpreted as the search result page. The second page is interpreted as the another specific presentation page);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Wu that teaches information presentation into the combination of the prior arts of Wang that teaches search page interaction, and Cormican that teaches providing a preview of the media content item while presenting the search results. Additionally, this can improve and enriching functions for guiding uses in the search interface.
The motivation for doing so would be to select the search prompt information, without the need to exit a presentation page for the comment content and then input related information in a search page for searching, because it improves the efficiency of acquiring a search result related to the currently read comment content (Wu, para. [0047]).
8. Claims 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20200257414 A1) in view of Cormican (US 20240004927 A1) in further view of Wu et al. (US 20230401256 A1) still in further view of Good et a. (US 20070094267 A1).
As per claim 3, Wang, Cormican and Wu teach all the limitations as discussed in claim 2 above.
However, it is noted that the prior art of Wang, Cormican and Wu do not explicitly teach “wherein after displaying target associated prompt information of the target topic on the first page, the method further comprises: in response to a triggering operation for displaying the second page, switching the current page to the second page, and displaying target media content associated with the target topic on the second page.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Good teaches wherein after displaying target associated prompt information of the target topic on the first page (i.e. “in response to a triggering operation on the comment content corresponding to the video, the search prompt information is presented”; para. [0079]; Examiner note: the displaying target associated prompt information is interpreted as the search prompt information is presented), the method further comprises:
in response to a triggering operation for displaying the second page, switching the current page to the second page, and displaying target media content associated with the target topic on the second page (i.e. “in response to the triggering operation of the user for the search prompt information … presents a search result page corresponding to the video search result;”; para. [0078]. “in response to a triggering operation on the comment content corresponding to the video, the search prompt information is presented;”; para. [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Good that teaches web site navigation utilize an internet browser for navigating a plurality of web pages that are configured by a web server into the combination of the prior arts of Wang that teaches search page interaction, Cormican that teaches providing a preview of the media content item while presenting the search results, and Wu that teaches information presentation. Additionally, this can improve and enriching functions for guiding uses in the search interface.
The motivation for doing so would be to provide consistent placement of graphic elements, text and hyperlinks, in an effort to foster familiarity to the user because it can help users navigate the interface more intuitively and efficiently (Good, para. [0008]-[0009]).
As per claim 19, Wang, Cormican and Wu teach all the limitations as discussed in claim 18 above.
However, it is noted that the prior art of Wang, Cormican and Wu do not explicitly teach “wherein a page identifier of the first page and a page identifier of the second page are displayed on the first page and wherein the computer program causing the at least one processor to display target associated prompt information of the target topic on the first page comprises instructions to: display the target associated prompt information of the target topic at a display position corresponding to the page identifier of the second page, wherein the page identifier is used for triggering to display a page corresponding to the triggered page identifier.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Good teaches wherein a page identifier of the first page and a page identifier of the second page are displayed on the first page (i.e. “first page indicia display 222 indicates to the user a unique page number corresponding to the currently displayed page within the subset. Second page indicia display 224 indicates the total number of pages within the subset. By way of example in FIG. 6, the user is currently viewing page 5 (indicated at first page indicia display 222) of a group of 12 (indicated by second page indicia display 224) related pages in a subset.”; para. [0052]; Examiner note: Figure 6 shows all the page identifier such as first page indicia display 222 and Second page indicia display 224 on the same webpage) and
wherein the computer program causing the at least one processor to display target associated prompt information of the target topic on the first page comprises instructions to: display the target associated prompt information of the target topic at a display position corresponding to the page identifier of the second page (i.e. “Page navigation section 280 is displayed on navigation bar 204 for all content pages, including the directory web page 250 illustrated in FIG. 5. Page navigation section 280 includes status location indicator 282. The status location indicator 282 is not a button, but is rather content that is displayed in accordance with the loaded page. According to a preferred embodiment, the content of status location indicator 282 is text.”; para. [0048]; Examiner note: the target associated prompt information of the target topic at a display position is interpreted as the content of status location indicator. the page identifier of the second page is the Page navigation section 280),
wherein the page identifier is used for triggering to display a page corresponding to the triggered page identifier (i.e. “As the user strolls between pages, jump page box 234 also changes in accordance with the newly selected page. Accordingly, the user may continuously and simultaneously view the current page number within the web site (provided by jump page box 234) and the current page number within the subset (provided by first page indicia display 222).”; para. [0061]. Further, i.e. “Page navigation section 280 includes a strolling control section 216 and a jump control section 230.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Good that teaches web site navigation utilize an internet browser for navigating a plurality of web pages that are configured by a web server into the combination of the prior arts of Wang that teaches search page interaction, Cormican that teaches providing a preview of the media content item while presenting the search results, and Wu that teaches information presentation. Additionally, this can improve and enriching functions for guiding uses in the search interface.
The motivation for doing so would be to provide consistent placement of graphic elements, text and hyperlinks, in an effort to foster familiarity to the user because it can help users navigate the interface more intuitively and efficiently (Good, para. [0008]-[0009]).
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTONIO J CAIA DO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2164
/AMY NG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2164