DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed January 31, 2025 has been entered.
Claim 1, 3-23, and 25 are amended.
Claims 1-25 are pending this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 1/31/2025 has been acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-14, and 17-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid et al (US 2020/0379118 A1) in view of Cattenoz (TUM, 2011).
Regarding Claim 1, Reid teaches a method of operating a satellite payload with receive and transmit capabilities in Earth orbit, the method comprising [0175 for GNSS receivers, attitude sensors e.g. star trackers, horizon sensor, etc (payload), radio signal receivers to signals from neighboring satellites in this satellite positioning system]:
receiving a Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS} signal from a GNSS in a GNSS frequency band [0176 for received GNSS L1/L2/L5 signals are received from a zenith antenna];
and transmitting a navigation signal in the GNSS frequency band towards Earth [0176 for a satellite configuration where the broadcast signals are nadir pointing (earth pointing)].
Reid fails to explicitly teach wherein the receiving and transmitting are performed in a time division duplex (TDD) mode, with alternating time slots for receiving the GNSS signal and transmitting the navigation signal.
Cattenoz has a GNSS that gives the possibility to determine user's position, time and velocity anywhere on Earth (page 4, first paragraph) and teaches wherein the receiving and transmitting are performed in a time division duplex (TDD) mode [page 15, 3rd paragraph for A pulsed signal is assumed to have always the same pulse characteristics duration (time division) and repetition frequency also page 87, third paragraph for take advantage of the knowledge of the time of start and end of the pulses (time division) in a dedicated front-end in order to augment the performance for pseudolite tracking],
with alternating time slots for receiving the GNSS signal and transmitting the navigation signal [page 87, third paragraph for pseudolite tracking": signal acquisition only during a priori time of pulse presence].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite navigation techniques, as disclosed by Reid, further including the timing calculations as taught by Cattenoz for the purpose to avoid possibly long transitions which may lead to SNIR degradation (Cattenoz, page 87, fourth paragraph).
Regarding Claim 2, Reid fails to explicitly teach a duty cycle of the TDD mode is synchronized with timing epochs of the GNSS.
Cattenoz has a GNSS that gives the possibility to determine user's position, time and velocity anywhere on Earth (page 4, first paragraph) and teaches a duty cycle of the TDD mode is synchronized with timing epochs of the GNSS [page 5 last paragraph for synchronization is the broadcasting of each pseudolite during a dedicated segment of the epoch].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite navigation techniques, as disclosed by Reid, further including the timing calculations as taught by Cattenoz for the purpose to avoid possibly long transitions which may lead to SNIR degradation (Cattenoz, page 87, fourth paragraph).
Regarding Claim 3, Reid teaches performing at least one of orbit determination and or time synchronization for the satellite payload based on the GNSS signal [0081 for determining an orbital position of the LEO satellite based on the first signaling].
Regarding Claim 4, Reid teaches synchronization of the duty cycle of the TDD mode to the timing epochs of the GNSS is performed based on a result of the at least one of orbit determination and or time synchronization [0068 for the same clock is utilized by both GNSS receiver and the navigation signal transmitted].
Regarding Claim 6, Reid teaches the at least one of orbit determination and or time synchronization uses information about the an authenticity of the GNSS signal [0233 for a spoofing scenario where one or more spoofing stations capture and repeat valid signals (authentic). The secure timing signal can be used by the client device].
Regarding Claim 7, Reid teaches the at least one of orbit determination and or time synchronization uses information about the an integrity of the GNSS signal [0089 for the satellite itself can exclude signals from the one of the non-LEO navigation satellites when calculating its orbital position].
Regarding Claim 9, Reid fails to explicitly teach maintaining signal tracking of the GNSS signal during time slots for transmitting the navigation signal to avoid loss of lock and/or re-acquisition, based on a result of the at least one of orbit determination and or time synchronization.
Cattenoz has a GNSS that gives the possibility to determine user's position, time and velocity anywhere on Earth (page 4, first paragraph) and teaches maintaining signal tracking of the GNSS signal during time slots for transmitting the navigation signal to avoid loss of lock and/or re-acquisition, based on a result of the at least one of orbit determination and or time synchronization [page 5 last paragraph for GNSS receivers are robust against low-duty cycle pulsed interference].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite navigation techniques, as disclosed by Reid, further including the timing calculations as taught by Cattenoz for the purpose to avoid possibly long transitions which may lead to SNIR degradation (Cattenoz, page 87, fourth paragraph).
Regarding Claim 10, Reid teaches demodulating the GNSS signal to obtain GNSS content transmitted with the GNSS signal [0076 for demodulating and decoding the ranging signals to generate and extract the associated navigation messages from the GNSS satellite];
and including at least part of the GNSS content into a navigation message transmitted with the navigation signal in the GNSS frequency band towards Earth [0089 for integrity monitoring data that includes an alert signal that indicates the error condition associated with the one of the non-LEO navigation satellites].
Regarding Claim 11, Reid teaches the GNSS content relates to one or more of: a space-based augmentation systems (SBAS) message; a synthetic aperture radar (SAR) return link message; an integrity support message, (ISM); a high accuracy service, (HAS) message; an emergency warning message; and/or an authentication message [0089 for integrity monitoring data that includes an alert signal that indicates the error condition associated with the one of the non-LEO navigation satellites].
Regarding Claim 12, Reid teaches the navigation signal is a first navigation signal transmitted in a first GNSS frequency band towards Earth, the method further comprising [0075 for navigating ranging signals and 0176 for nadir pointing signals]:
transmitting a second navigation signal towards Earth in a second GNSS frequency band different from the first GNSS frequency band or in a non-GNSS frequency band [0077 for dual frequency measurements and 0098 for two navigation signal transmitters, for example, corresponding to two different frequency channels],
in frequency division duplex (FDD) mode [0075 for generated in two or more frequency channels at a signal power].
Regarding Claim 13, Reid teaches performing radio occultation based on the received GNSS signal in the time slots for receiving the GNSS signal of the TDD mode [0036 for provide signals to satellites for GNSS Radio Occultation for use in atmospheric monitoring].
Regarding Claim 14, Reid teaches performing reflectometry based on the received GNSS signal in the time slots for receiving the GNSS signal of the TDD mode [0273 for satellite signals reflecting off the surface of the earth (reflectometry)].
Regarding Claim 17, Reid teaches the navigation signal is a navigation signal for one or more of code-based ranging measurements, carrier-based measurements, and Doppler measurements at a receiver and/or low complexity acquisition at the receiver [0213 for adds a navigation signal to provide additional range and range rate information].
Regarding Claim 18, Reid teaches receiving an uplink signal from user equipment for two-way navigation services, wherein the two-way navigation services relate to one or more of: a time transfer between the user equipment and the satellite payload; a time transfer between the user equipment and another user equipment; bounding of the time of the user equipment; bounding of the position of the user equipment; and/or verification of the position of the user equipment by the satellite payload [0047-0048 for having both uplink and down link (two way) services].
Regarding Claim 19, Reid teaches the satellite payload is a satellite payload abord aboard a satellite in low Earth orbit, (LEO) [0030].
Regarding Claim 20, Reid teaches multiple satellite payloads are provided at-in respective spacecrafts in one or more layers of a multi-layer satellite navigation system [0072 for at least one backhaul satellite is located in a more outer orbit than LEO].
Regarding Claim 21, Reid teaches the a composition of the uplink signal depends on prior reception of a downlink navigation message by one or more of [0048 for Backhaul downlink can communicate information such as RO measurement data, navigation message information, status information about each of the satellites]:
a signal from the satellite payload; a signal from another satellite payload; and/or a GNSS signal [0048 for another satellite].
Regarding Claim 22, Reid teaches the GNSS frequency band is one of bands El, E6, E5, E5a, and E5b as defined for Galileo or one of L1, L2 and L5 as defined for GPS [0176 for L1 L2 L5 bands].
Regarding Claim 23, Reid teaches satellite payload with receive and transmit capabilities, wherein the satellite payload is configured to perform the method [0175 for GNSS receivers, attitude sensors e.g. star trackers, horizon sensor, etc (payload), radio signal receivers to signals from neighboring satellites in this satellite positioning system].
Regarding Claim 24, Reid teaches satellite comprising the satellite payload [0175 for GNSS receivers, attitude sensors e.g. star trackers, horizon sensor, etc (payload), radio signal receivers to signals from neighboring satellites in this satellite positioning system].
Regarding Claim 25 Reid teaches a satellite navigation system comprising one or more satellite payloads [0175 for GNSS receivers, attitude sensors e.g. star trackers, horizon sensor, etc (payload), radio signal receivers to signals from neighboring satellites in this satellite positioning system with 0179 for means to compute].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid et al (US 2020/0379118 A1) in view of Cattenoz (TUM, 2011), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al (Hindawi, 2015).
Regarding Claim 5, Reid fails to explicitly teach the at least one of orbit determination and or time synchronization is based on a high accuracy correction received with the GNSS signal.
Wang has an application for combine ranging performance provided by GNSS like GPS or Galileo with those offered by ground emitters (abstract) and teaches he at least one of orbit determination and or time synchronization is based on a high accuracy correction received with the GNSS signal [page 2, left column, last paragraph for corrections broadcast through GNSS or GEO satellites, e.g., the Multi-GNSS Advanced Demonstration of Orbit and Clock Analysis].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite navigation techniques, as disclosed by Reid, further including the correction calculations as taught by Wang for the purpose to reduce dynamic POD (Wang, page 87, fourth paragraph).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid et al (US 2020/0379118 A1) in view of Cattenoz (TUM, 2011), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al (GPS Solutions, 2021).
Regarding Claim 8, Reid fails to explicitly teach the at least one of orbit determination and or time synchronization is based on one or more of: an a Space Based Augmentation Systems (SBAS) message received with the GNSS signal; ranging authentication and/or message authentication of the GNSS signal; a High Accuracy Service (HAS) message received with the GNSS signal; and/or an Integrity Support Message (ISM) message received with the GNSS signal.
Kim has low earth orbit (LEO) satellite GPS receivers, space-based augmentation system ephemeris/clock corrections can be applied to improve positioning accuracy in real time (abstract) and teaches the at least one of orbit determination and or time synchronization is based on one or more of: an a Space Based Augmentation Systems (SBAS) message received with the GNSS signal; ranging authentication and/or message authentication of the GNSS signal; a High Accuracy Service (HAS) message received with the GNSS signal; and/or an Integrity Support Message (ISM) message received with the GNSS signal [page 2, left column, third paragraph for SBAS messages include GPS satellite ephemeris/clock corrections, pseudorange fast corrections, and ionospheric delay corrections].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite navigation techniques, as disclosed by Reid, further including the correction message calculations as taught by Kim for the purpose provide SBAS integrity for an error bound correction (Wang, page 2, right column, 2nd paragraph).
Claims 15-16 ae rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid et al (US 2020/0379118 A1) in view of Cattenoz (TUM, 2011), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Murrian et al (ION GNSS, 2019).
Regarding Claim 15, Reid fails to explicitly teach performing operations for detecting and/or locating unwanted emission in the GNSS frequency band in the time slots for receiving the GNSS signal of the TDD mode.
Murrian has a method for Observation of terrestrial GNSS interference (jamming and spoofing) from low-earth orbit (page 3239, abstract) and teaches performing operations for detecting and/or locating unwanted emission in the GNSS frequency band in the time slots for receiving the GNSS signal of the TDD mode [page 3249 figures 7-8 for estimating transmitter locations].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite navigation techniques, as disclosed by Reid, further including the location calculations as taught by Murrian for the purpose to isolate the variations in reported CINR due to interference (Murrian, page 3249, 4th paragraph).
Regarding Claim 16, Reid fails to explicitly teach performing radio interference estimation in the time slots for receiving the GNSS signal of the TDD mode.
Murrian has a method for Observation of terrestrial GNSS interference (jamming and spoofing) from low-earth orbit (page 3240, 5th paragraph for Detection via C/No Monitoring: a simple and effective interference detection test can be formulated solely from the
standard carrier-to-noise density ratio].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite navigation techniques, as disclosed by Reid, further including the location calculations as taught by Murrian for the purpose to isolate the variations in reported CINR due to interference (Murrian, page 3249, 4th paragraph).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cohen et al (US 2008/0001818 A1) has Low earth orbit (LEO) satellites are used to provide navigation signals. In one embodiment, a method of providing a LEO signal from a LEO satellite includes providing a plurality of transmit channels over a plurality of transmit slots.
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648