DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/31/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 01/31/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “calculation means for calculating the attenuation” “measurement result transmission means for transmitting” “opposite-phase signal generation means for generating” “opposite-phase signal generation means for generating”; “installation position information storage means for storing”; and “opposite-phase signal output means for outputting” claims 1-14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as not falling within one of the four statutory categories of invention. Supreme Court precedent and recent Federal Circuit decisions indicate that a statutory “process" under 35 U.S.C. 101 must (1) be tied to another statutory category (such as a particular apparatus), or (2) transform underlying subject matter (such as an article or material) to a different state or thing.
While the instant claim recites a series of steps or acts to be performed, the claim neither transforms underlying subject matter nor positively ties to another statutory category that accomplishes the claimed method steps, and therefore does not qualify as a statutory process, recalling In re Bilski.
Claim 13 is directed to non-statutory subject matter because it recited merely a program (i.e., computer program code).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US 2010/0183156 A1) in view of Imahama et al (JP 2019-212993 A).
Regarding claim 1, Park et al disclose an audio system (Park et al; Fig 5), comprising: an audio device configured to output an audio reproduction signal (Park et al; Fig 5; AV source 100); and a reproduction speaker configured to output, in the form of audio, the audio reproduction signal output from the audio device (Park et al; Fig 5; speaker 400), wherein the audio system further comprises an opposite-phase speaker (Park et al; Fig 5; Para [0045]), wherein the audio device includes: opposite-phase signal generation means for generating an opposite-phase signal of the audio reproduction signal (Park et al; Fig 5; Para [0045]; unit 330); opposite-phase signal output means for outputting the opposite-phase signal generated by the opposite-phase signal generation means to the opposite-phase speaker (Park et al; Fig 5; Para [0045]); but do not expressly disclose installation position information storage means for storing an attenuation rate and a delay time of the audio reproduction signal output in the form of audio from the reproduction speaker that are observed at an installation position of the opposite-phase speaker; and, with the opposite-phase signal attenuated based on the attenuation rate stored in the installation position information storage means, and delayed based on the delay time stored in the installation position information storage means. However, in the same field of endeavor, Imahama et al disclose a system comprising installation position information storage means for storing an attenuation rate and a delay time of the audio reproduction signal output in the form of audio from the reproduction speaker that are observed at an installation position of the opposite-phase speaker (Imahama et al; Para [0042]), and, with the opposite-phase signal attenuated based on the attenuation rate stored in the installation position information storage means, and delayed based on the delay time stored in the installation position information storage means (Imahama et al; Para [0046][0062]-[0065][0076]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the parameters selection taught by Imahama as parameters implementation in the system taught by Park. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a technique capable of more easily generating preferred acoustic profile information to be set in a multi-channel audio device (Imahama et al; Para [0007]).
Regarding claim 6, Park et al in view of Imahama et al disclose the audio system according to claim 1, wherein the audio device is configured to reproduce multi-channel audio and output the audio reproduction signal for each of channels (Park et al; Para [0052]), wherein the reproduction speaker is provided for each of the channels, wherein the opposite-phase signal generation means is configured to generate an opposite-phase signal of the audio reproduction signal for each of the channels (Park et al; Para [0052]), synthesize opposite-phase signals of the respective channels into a synthesized opposite-phase signal (Park et al; Para [0052]); and output the synthesized opposite-phase signal (Park et al; Para [0052]); but do not expressly disclose wherein the installation position information storage means is configured to store, for each reproduction speaker, the attenuation rate and the delay time of the audio reproduction signal output in the form of audio from the each reproduction speaker that are observed at the installation position of the opposite-phase speaker, and wherein the opposite-phase signal output means is configured to: attenuate, for each reproduction speaker, the opposite-phase signal generated by the opposite-phase signal generation means with respect to one of the channels that corresponds to the each reproduction speaker, based on the attenuation rate stored in the installation position information storage means in association with the each reproduction speaker, and delay the opposite-phase signal based on the delay time stored in the installation position information storage means in association with the each reproduction speaker. However, in the same field of endeavor, Imahama et al disclose a system further comprising wherein the installation position information storage means is configured to store, for each reproduction speaker, the attenuation rate and the delay time of the audio reproduction signal output in the form of audio from the each reproduction speaker that are observed at the installation position of the opposite-phase speaker (Imahama et al; Para [0042]), and wherein the opposite-phase signal output means is configured to: attenuate, for each reproduction speaker, the opposite-phase signal generated by the opposite-phase signal generation means with respect to one of the channels that corresponds to the each reproduction speaker (Imahama et al; Para [0046][0062]-[0065][0076]), based on the attenuation rate stored in the installation position information storage means in association with the each reproduction speaker, and delay the opposite-phase signal based on the delay time stored in the installation position information storage means in association with the each reproduction speaker (Imahama et al; Para [0046][0062]-[0065][0076]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the parameters selection taught by Imahama as parameters implementation in the system taught by Park The motivation to do so would have been to provide to provide a technique capable of more easily generating preferred acoustic profile information to be set in a multi-channel audio device (Imahama et al; Para [0007]).
Regarding claim 14, Park et al disclose an audio reproduction method for reproducing audio by an audio system including an audio device configured to output an audio reproduction signal (Park et al; Fig 5; AV source 100) and a reproduction speaker configured to output, in the form of audio, the audio reproduction signal output from the audio device (Park et al; Fig 5; speaker 400), the audio reproduction method comprising: installing an opposite-phase speaker (Park et al; Fig 5; Para [0045]); generating, by the audio device, an opposite-phase signal of the audio reproduction signal (Park et al; Fig 5; Para [0045]; unit 330); outputting, by the opposite-phase speaker, in the form of audio, the opposite-phase signal output from the audio device (Park et al; Fig 5; Para [0045]); but do not expressly disclose outputting, by the audio device, the opposite-phase signal attenuated and delayed based on an attenuation rate and a delay time that are stored in advance, the stored attenuation rate and delay time being an attenuation rate and a delay time of the audio reproduction signal output in the form of audio from the reproduction speaker that are observed at an installation position of the opposite-phase speaker. However, in the same field of endeavor, Imahama et al disclose a method comprising the stored attenuation rate and delay time being an attenuation rate and a delay time of the audio reproduction signal output in the form of audio from the reproduction speaker that are observed at an installation position of the opposite-phase speaker (Imahama et al; Para [0042]), outputting, by the audio device, the opposite-phase signal attenuated and delayed based on an attenuation rate and a delay time that are stored in advance (Imahama et al; Para [0046][0062]-[0065][0076]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the parameters selection taught by Imahama as parameters implementation in the system taught by Park. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a technique capable of more easily generating preferred acoustic profile information to be set in a multi-channel audio device (Imahama et al; Para [0007]).
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US 2010/0183156 A1) in view of Imahama et al (JP 2019-212993 A) and further in view of Lang et al (WO 2014/032709 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Park et al in view of Imahama et al disclose the audio system according to claim 1, but do not expressly disclose further comprising a wireless terminal configured to remotely operate the audio device, wherein the wireless terminal includes: a built-in or external microphone; measurement means for picking up, with the built-in or external microphone, the audio reproduction signal output in the form of audio from the reproduction speaker, and for measuring a volume level and arrival timing of the audio reproduction signal at the installation position of the opposite-phase speaker; and measurement result transmission means for transmitting results of the measurement by the measurement means to the audio device, and wherein the audio device further includes calculation means for calculating the attenuation rate and the delay time of the audio reproduction signal at the installation position of the opposite-phase speaker based on an output volume level and output timing at which the audio reproduction signal is output from the reproduction speaker, and on the results of the measurement received from the wireless terminal, and for storing the calculated attenuation ratio and delay time in the installation position information storage means. However, in the same field of endeavor, Lang et al disclose a system further comprising a wireless terminal configured to remotely operate the audio device, wherein the wireless terminal includes: a built-in or external microphone (Lang et al; Page 4; lines 4-13); measurement means for picking up, with the built-in or external microphone, the audio reproduction signal output in the form of audio from the reproduction speaker (Lang et al; Page 4; lines 20-30), and for measuring a volume level and arrival timing of the audio reproduction signal at the installation position of the opposite-phase speaker (Lang et al; Page 5; lines 10-20); and measurement result transmission means for transmitting results of the measurement by the measurement means to the audio device (Lang et al; Page 4; lines 20-30), and wherein the audio device further includes calculation means for calculating the attenuation rate and the delay time of the audio reproduction signal at the installation position of the opposite-phase speaker based on an output volume level and output timing at which the audio reproduction signal is output from the reproduction speaker (Lang et al; Page 12; lines 5-20; Page 13; lines 15-30), and on the results of the measurement received from the wireless terminal, and for storing the calculated attenuation ratio and delay time in the installation position information storage means (Lang et al; Page 12; lines 5-20; Page 13; lines 15-30; Page 14; lines 15-25). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the parameters selection taught by Lang as parameters implementation in the system taught by Park The motivation to do so would have been to provide audio rendering flexible and dynamic with respect to changing environment (Lang et al; Page 5; lines 15-20).
Regarding claim 3, Park et al in view of Imahama et al disclose the audio system according to claim 1, but do not expressly disclose further comprising a microphone connected to the audio device, wherein the audio device further includes: measurement means for picking up, with the microphone, the audio reproduction signal output in the form of audio from the reproduction speaker, and for measuring a volume level and arrival timing of the audio reproduction signal at the installation position of the opposite-phase speaker; and calculation means for calculating the attenuation rate and the delay time of the audio reproduction signal at the installation position of the opposite- phase speaker based on an output volume level and output timing at which the audio reproduction signal is output from the reproduction speaker, and on results of the measurement by the measurement means, and for storing the calculated attenuation ratio and delay time in the installation position information storage means. However, in the same field of endeavor, Lang et al disclose a system further comprising a microphone connected to the audio device, wherein the audio device further includes: measurement means for picking up, with the microphone (Lang et al; Page 4; lines 4-13); the audio reproduction signal output in the form of audio from the reproduction speaker, and for measuring a volume level and arrival timing of the audio reproduction signal at the installation position of the opposite-phase speaker (Lang et al; Page 4; lines 20-30), and calculation means for calculating the attenuation rate and the delay time of the audio reproduction signal at the installation position of the opposite- phase speaker based on an output volume level and output timing at which the audio reproduction signal is output from the reproduction speaker (Lang et al; Page 5; lines 10-20); and measurement result transmission means for transmitting results of the measurement by the measurement means to the audio device (Lang et al; Page 4; lines 20-30), and wherein the audio device further includes calculation means for calculating the attenuation rate and the delay time of the audio reproduction signal at the installation position of the opposite-phase speaker based on an output volume level and output timing at which the audio reproduction signal is output from the reproduction speaker (Lang et al; Page 12; lines 5-20; Page 13; lines 15-30), and on results of the measurement by the measurement means, and for storing the calculated attenuation ratio and delay time in the installation position information storage means (Lang et al; Page 12; lines 5-20; Page 13; lines 15-30; Page 14; lines 15-25). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the parameters selection taught by Lang as parameters implementation in the system taught by Park The motivation to do so would have been to provide audio rendering flexible and dynamic with respect to changing environment (Lang et al; Page 5; lines 15-20).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US 2010/0183156 A1) in view of Imahama et al (JP 2019-212993 A) and further in view of Lang et al (WO 2014/032709 A1) and further in view of Artega et al (US 2019/0253801 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Park et al in view of Imahama et al and further in view of Lang disclose the audio system according to claim 3, but do not expressly disclose wherein the opposite phase speaker is a wireless speaker, and wherein the microphone is built in the opposite-phase speaker. However, in the same field of endeavor, Artega et al disclose a system wherein the opposite phase speaker is a wireless speaker, and wherein the microphone is built in the opposite-phase speaker (Artega et al; Para [0034]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the speaker taught by Artega as speaker in the system taught by Park. The motivation to do so would have been to generate appropriate speaker feeds to the individual speakers (Artega et al; Para [0033]).
Claim(s) 5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US 2010/0183156 A1) in view of Imahama et al (JP 2019-212993 A) and further in view of Christner (US 2008/0137894 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Park et al in view of Imahama et al disclose the audio system according to claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the opposite-phase signal output means includes a low-pass filter configured to cut a high-frequency component of the opposite-phase signal output to the opposite-phase speaker. However, in the same field of endeavor, Christner discloses a system wherein the opposite-phase signal output means includes a low-pass filter configured to cut a high-frequency component of the opposite-phase signal output to the opposite-phase speaker (Christner; Para [0060]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the speaker taught by Christner as speaker in the system taught by Park. The motivation to do so would have been to make bass reproduction significantly more precise (Christner; Para [0005]).
Regarding claim 7, Park et al in view of Imahama et al disclose the audio system according to claim 5, wherein the audio device is configured to reproduce multi-channel audio and output the audio reproduction signal for each of channels (Park et al; Para [0052]), wherein the reproduction speaker is provided for each of the channels, wherein the opposite-phase signal generation means is configured to generate an opposite-phase signal of the audio reproduction signal for each of the channels (Park et al; Para [0052]), synthesize opposite-phase signals of the respective channels into a synthesized opposite-phase signal (Park et al; Para [0052]); and output the synthesized opposite-phase signal (Park et al; Para [0052]); but do not expressly disclose wherein the installation position information storage means is configured to store, for each reproduction speaker, the attenuation rate and the delay time of the audio reproduction signal output in the form of audio from the each reproduction speaker that are observed at the installation position of the opposite-phase speaker, and wherein the opposite-phase signal output means is configured to: attenuate, for each reproduction speaker, the opposite-phase signal generated by the opposite-phase signal generation means with respect to one of the channels that corresponds to the each reproduction speaker, based on the attenuation rate stored in the installation position information storage means in association with the each reproduction speaker, and delay the opposite-phase signal based on the delay time stored in the installation position information storage means in association with the each reproduction speaker. However, in the same field of endeavor, Imahama et al disclose a system further comprising wherein the installation position information storage means is configured to store, for each reproduction speaker, the attenuation rate and the delay time of the audio reproduction signal output in the form of audio from the each reproduction speaker that are observed at the installation position of the opposite-phase speaker (Imahama et al; Para [0042]), and wherein the opposite-phase signal output means is configured to: attenuate, for each reproduction speaker, the opposite-phase signal generated by the opposite-phase signal generation means with respect to one of the channels that corresponds to the each reproduction speaker (Imahama et al; Para [0046][0062]-[0065][0076]), based on the attenuation rate stored in the installation position information storage means in association with the each reproduction speaker, and delay the opposite-phase signal based on the delay time stored in the installation position information storage means in association with the each reproduction speaker (Imahama et al; Para [0046][0062]-[0065][0076]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the parameters selection taught by Imahama as parameters implementation in the system taught by Park The motivation to do so would have been to provide to provide a technique capable of more easily generating preferred acoustic profile information to be set in a multi-channel audio device (Imahama et al; Para [0007]).
Claim(s) 8, 11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki (US 2017/0272884 A1) in view of Imahama et al (JP 2019-212993 A).
Regarding claim 8, Aoki discloses an audio device for outputting an audio reproduction signal to a reproduction speaker (Aoki; Fig 1; Para [0021]), comprising: opposite-phase signal generation means for generating an opposite-phase signal of the audio reproduction signal (Aoki; Fig 10; opposite phase signal generation 21B; Para [0078]); the reproduction speaker that are observed at an installation position of an opposite-phase speaker provided separately from the reproduction speaker (Aoki; Fig 10; opposite-phase speaker provided separately from the reproduction speaker) opposite-phase signal output means for outputting the opposite-phase signal generated by the opposite-phase signal generation means to the opposite-phase speaker (Aoki; Fig 1; Para [0083]) but do not expressly disclose installation position information storage means for storing an attenuation rate and a delay time of the audio reproduction signal output in the form of audio from the reproduction speaker that are observed at an installation position of an opposite-phase speaker provided separately from the reproduction speaker; and with the opposite-phase signal attenuated based on the attenuation rate stored in the installation position information storage means, and delayed based on the delay time stored in the installation position information storage means. However, in the same field of endeavor, Imahama et al disclose a system installation position information storage means for storing an attenuation rate and a delay time of the audio reproduction signal output in the form of audio from the reproduction speaker that are observed at an installation position of an opposite-phase speaker provided separately from the reproduction speaker (Imahama et al; Para [0042]), and with the opposite-phase signal attenuated based on the attenuation rate stored in the installation position information storage means, and delayed based on the delay time stored in the installation position information storage means (Imahama et al; Para [0046][0062]-[0065][0076]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the parameters selection taught by Imahama as parameters implementation in the system taught by Aoki. The motivation to do so would have been to provide to provide a technique capable of more easily generating preferred acoustic profile information to be set in a multi-channel audio device (Imahama et al; Para [0007]).
Regarding claim 11, Aoki in view of Imahama et al disclose the audio device according to claim 8, wherein the audio device is configured to reproduce multi-channel audio and output, for each of channels, the audio reproduction signal from the reproduction speaker that corresponds to the each of the channels (Aoki; Fig 1; Para [0072]), wherein the opposite-phase signal generation means is configured to generate an opposite-phase signal of the audio reproduction signal for each of the channels (Aoki; Fig 10; Para [0072][0083]), wherein the opposite-phase signal output means is configured to: attenuate, for each reproduction speaker, the opposite-phase signal generated by the opposite-phase signal generation means with respect to one of the channels that corresponds to the each reproduction speaker (Aoki; Fig 10; Para [0072][0083] amplifier 113 attenuate opposite phase signal); synthesize opposite-phase signals of the respective channels into a synthesized opposite-phase signal (Aoki; Fig 10; Para [0072][0083] surround generation 111 interpreted as synthesize opposite-phase signals of the respective channels into a synthesized opposite-phase signal); and output the synthesized opposite-phase signal (Aoki; Fig 10; Para [0072][0083]) but do not expressly disclose wherein the installation position information storage means is configured to store, for each reproduction speaker, the attenuation rate and the delay time of the audio reproduction signal output in the form of audio from the each reproduction speaker that are observed at the installation position of the opposite-phase speaker, and, based on the attenuation rate stored in the installation position information storage means in association with the each reproduction speaker, and delay the opposite-phase signal based on the delay time stored in the installation position information storage means in association with the each reproduction speaker. However, in the same field of endeavor, Imahama et al disclose a system disclose further comprising wherein the installation position information storage means is configured to store, for each reproduction speaker, the attenuation rate and the delay time of the audio reproduction signal output in the form of audio from the each reproduction speaker that are observed at the installation position of the opposite-phase speaker (Imahama et al; Para [0042]), and, based on the attenuation rate stored in the installation position information storage means in association with the each reproduction speaker, and delay the opposite-phase signal based on the delay time stored in the installation position information storage means in association with the each reproduction speaker (Imahama et al; Para [0046][0062]-[0065][0076]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the parameters selection taught by Imahama as parameters implementation in the system taught by Aoki. The motivation to do so would have been to provide to provide a technique capable of more easily generating preferred acoustic profile information to be set in a multi-channel audio device (Imahama et al; Para [0007]).
Regarding claim 13, Aoki discloses a program for causing a computer to function as an audio device for outputting an audio reproduction signal to a reproduction speaker (Aoki; Para [0097]), the program causing the computer to function as: opposite-phase signal generation means for generating an opposite-phase signal of the audio reproduction signal (Aoki; Para [0072];[0086]); opposite-phase signal output means for outputting the opposite-phase signal generated by the opposite-phase signal generation means to the opposite- phase speaker (Aoki; Fig 10; Para [0072][0083]); but do not expressly disclose installation position information storage means for storing an attenuation rate and a delay time of the audio reproduction signal output in the form of audio from the reproduction speaker that are observed at an installation position of an opposite-phase speaker provided separately from the reproduction speaker; and,with the opposite-phase signal attenuated based on the attenuation rate stored in the installation position information storage means, and delayed based on the delay time stored in the installation position information storage means. However, in the same field of endeavor, Imahama et al disclose a system disclose installation position information storage means for storing an attenuation rate and a delay time of the audio reproduction signal output in the form of audio from the reproduction speaker that are observed at an installation position of an opposite-phase speaker provided separately from the reproduction speaker (Imahama et al; Para [0042]), ,with the opposite-phase signal attenuated based on the attenuation rate stored in the installation position information storage means, and delayed based on the delay time stored in the installation position information storage means (Imahama et al; Para [0046][0062]-[0065][0076]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the parameters selection taught by Imahama as parameters implementation in the system taught by Aoki. The motivation to do so would have been to provide to provide a technique capable of more easily generating preferred acoustic profile information to be set in a multi-channel audio device (Imahama et al; Para [0007]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki (US 2017/0272884 A1) in view of Imahama et al (JP 2019-212993 A) and further in view of Lang et al (WO 2014/032709 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Aoki et al in view of Imahama et al disclose the audio device according to claim 8, but do not expressly disclose further comprising: measurement means for measuring a volume level and arrival timing of the audio reproduction signal output in the form of audio from the reproduction speaker at the installation position of the opposite-phase speaker; and calculation means for calculating the attenuation rate and the delay time of the audio reproduction signal at the installation position of the opposite-phase speaker based on a volume level and output timing at which the audio reproduction signal is output from the reproduction speaker, and on results of the measurement by the measurement means, and for storing the calculated attenuation ratio and delay time in the installation position information storage means. However, in the same field of endeavor, Lang et al disclose a system further comprising: measurement means for measuring a volume level and arrival timing of the audio reproduction signal output in the form of audio from the reproduction speaker at the installation position of the opposite-phase speaker (Lang et al; Page 4; lines 20-30), and calculation means for calculating the attenuation rate and the delay time of the audio reproduction signal at the installation position of the opposite-phase speaker based on a volume level and output timing at which the audio reproduction signal is output from the reproduction speaker (Lang et al; Page 12; lines 5-20; Page 13; lines 15-30), and on results of the measurement by the measurement means, and for storing the calculated attenuation ratio and delay time in the installation position information storage means (Lang et al; Page 12; lines 5-20; Page 13; lines 15-30; Page 14; lines 15-25). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the parameters selection taught by Lang as parameters implementation in the system taught by Aoki The motivation to do so would have been to provide audio rendering flexible and dynamic with respect to changing environment (Lang et al; Page 5; lines 15-20).
Claim(s) 10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki (US 2017/0272884 A1) in view of Imahama et al (JP 2019-212993 A) and further in view of Christner (US 2008/0137894 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Aoki et al in view of Imahama et al disclose the audio device according to claim 8, but do not expressly disclose wherein the opposite-phase signal output means includes a low-pass filter configured to cut a high-frequency component of the opposite-phase signal output to the opposite-phase speaker. However, in the same field of endeavor, Christner discloses a system wherein the opposite-phase signal output means includes a low-pass filter configured to cut a high-frequency component of the opposite-phase signal output to the opposite-phase speaker (Christner; Para [0060]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the speaker taught by Christner as speaker in the system taught by Aoki. The motivation to do so would have been to make bass reproduction significantly more precise (Christner; Para [0005]).
Regarding claim 12, Aoki in view of Imahama et al and further in view of Christner disclose the audio device according to claim 10, wherein the audio device is configured to reproduce multi-channel audio and output, for each of channels, the audio reproduction signal from the reproduction speaker that corresponds to the each of the channels (Aoki; Fig 1; Para [0072]), wherein the opposite-phase signal generation means is configured to generate an opposite-phase signal of the audio reproduction signal for each of the channels (Aoki; Fig 10; Para [0072][0083]), and wherein the opposite-phase signal output means is configured to: attenuate, for each reproduction speaker, the opposite-phase signal generated by the opposite-phase signal generation means with respect to one of the channels that corresponds to the each reproduction speaker (Aoki; Fig 10; Para [0072][0083] amplifier 113 attenuate opposite phase signal) synthesize opposite-phase signals of the respective channels into a synthesized opposite-phase signal (Aoki; Fig 10; Para [0072][0083] surround generation 111 interpreted as synthesize opposite-phase signals of the respective channels into a synthesized opposite-phase signal); and output the synthesized opposite-phase signal (Aoki; Fig 10; Para [0072][0083]); but do not expressly disclose wherein the installation position information storage means is configured to store, for each reproduction speaker, the attenuation rate and the delay time of the audio reproduction signal output in the form of audio from the each reproduction speaker that are observed at the installation position of the opposite-phase speaker, based on the attenuation rate stored in the installation position information storage means in association with the each reproduction speaker, and delay the opposite-phase signal based on the delay time stored in the installation position information storage means in association with the each reproduction speaker. However, in the same field of endeavor, Imahama et al disclose a system further comprising wherein the installation position information storage means is configured to store, for each reproduction speaker, the attenuation rate and the delay time of the audio reproduction signal output in the form of audio from the each reproduction speaker that are observed at the installation position of the opposite-phase speaker (Imahama et al; Para [0042]), based on the attenuation rate stored in the installation position information storage means in association with the each reproduction speaker, and delay the opposite-phase signal based on the delay time stored in the installation position information storage means in association with the each reproduction speaker (Imahama et al; Para [0046][0062]-[0065][0076]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the parameters selection taught by Imahama as parameters implementation in the system taught by Aoki. The motivation to do so would have been to provide to provide a technique capable of more easily generating preferred acoustic profile information to be set in a multi-channel audio device (Imahama et al; Para [0007]).
Conclusion
/KUASSI A GANMAVO/Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692