DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment filed on 01/31/2025, No Claims have been cancelled, and Claims 1-9 and newly added Claims 10-15 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation " the first hinge mounting base" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3-5 are rejected for incorporating errors from the parent claim by dependency.
Claim 6 recites the limitation the second retractable rod" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 7-9 are rejected for incorporating errors from the parent claim by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 10, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Conlon (US PGPub 2010/0131005).
Regarding Claim 1, Conlon teaches a minimally invasive surgical instrument assembly (Figures 1-2; Paragraph 0002), characterized by comprising:
a rotatable wrist (22; Figures 1-2) with a distal end (22b) to which an end effector (14) is attachable (Paragraph 0024) and a proximal end (22a) provided with a first connecting part (pivot joint between 20 and 22; Paragraph 0024; Figure 2) and a second connecting part (Pivot pin between 22 and 24; Paragraph 0024; Figure 2);
a fixed rod (20) with a distal end (20b) rotatably connected to the first connecting part via a first hinge (pivot joint between 20 and 22; Paragraph 0024; Figure 2);
a linkage (24) with a distal end (24b) rotatably hinged to the second connecting part (Pivot pin between 22 and 24; Paragraph 0024; Figure 2); and
a first retractable rod (30/34) connected to the fixed rod (20; Paragraph 0024-0025), with a distal end (34) rotatably hinged to a proximal end (24a) of the linkage (24; Figure 2), the first retractable rod (30/34) being drivable to move retractably along a longitudinal length of the fixed rod (20; Paragraph 0024-0025), to force the rotatable wrist (22) to rotate around the first hinge (pivot joint between 20 and 22; Paragraph 0024; Figure 2) relative to the fixed rod (20; Paragraphs 0024-0025).
Conlon fails to teach that the first retractable rod is detachable from the fixed rod.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the first retractable rod detachable from the fixed rod, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Newin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177 (BdPatApp&Int 1969). In this case, making the components of the device detachable and removable from one another for the purposes of cleaning or the purpose of modularity involves only routine skill in the art, and in this particular case, the fixed rod (20) would be removable via components 28 and 26 in Figure 2A.
Regarding Claim 2, Conlon teaches the minimally invasive surgical instrument assembly of claim 1, characterized in that the fixed rod (20) has a tubular structure with the first hinge mounting base (at number 22a in Figure 2; Paragraph 0024) at its distal end, wherein the first hinge mounting base is hinged to the first connecting part (Figure 2), and the tube wall of the fixed rod (20) is provided with a first receiving groove communicating with an internal space of the tubular structure (Figures 1-2A), and wherein the first retractable rod (30) is located inside the fixed rod (20; Figures 1-2A), and the distal end (34) of the first retractable rod (30) is received in the first receiving groove to connect with the proximal end of the linkage (24; as seen in Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 5, Conlon teaches the minimally invasive surgical instrument assembly of claim 2, characterized in that the proximal end of the rotatable wrist (22) includes a tube wall with an axially protruded portion forming the first connecting part (pivot joint between 20 and 22; Paragraph 0024; Figure 2) and a non-protruded portion forming the second connecting part (Pivot pin between 22 and 24; Paragraph 0024; Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 6, Conlon teaches the minimally invasive surgical instrument assembly of claim 1, characterized in that the first retractable rod (34) has a tubular structure with a second hinge mounting base at its distal end (Figure 2), wherein the second hinge mounting base is hinged to the proximal end of the linkage (24; Figure 2), the first retractable rod (34) is coaxially sleeved outside the second retractable rod (30), and the second retractable rod (30) is drivable to move retractably relative to the fixed rod (20; Paragraph 0024-0025).
Regarding Claim 7, Conlon teaches the minimally invasive surgical instrument assembly of claim 6, characterized in that the first retractable rod (34) comprises a first retractable rod tube and a first retractable rod tube connector (pivot pin) hat are detachably connected (pivot pins are removable), wherein the first retractable rod tube (34) has a straight tubular structure (Figure 2), the second hinge mounting base is arranged distally on the first retractable rod tube connector (on the pivot pin), and the first retractable rod tube connector (34) is further provided with an opening for the second retractable rod (30) or the connector to pass through (as seen in Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 10, Conlon teaches the minimally invasive surgical instrument assembly of claim 1, characterized in that the rotatable wrist (22) is provided with a space for sliding (Figure 1-2); and
wherein the minimally invasive surgical instrument assembly further comprises:
an end effector (14) with an installation end located within the space for sliding (Figure 1);
a flexibly deformable connector (540) positioned where the rotatable wrist is connected to the fixed rod (20), with a distal end attached to the installation end of the end effector (Paragraph 0031); and
a second retractable rod (530) with a distal end connected to a proximal end of the connector (540), the second retractable rod (530) being drivable to move retractably along the longitudinal length of the fixed rod, to force the end effector to move retractably in a direction of extending into or retracting from the space for sliding (Paragraph 0030-0031).
Regarding Claim 11, Conlon teaches the minimally invasive surgical instrument assembly of claim 10, characterized in that the fixed rod (20) has the tubular structure with the first hinge mounting base at its distal end (Figure 2), wherein the second retractable rod (530) is located inside the fixed rod (20), and an opening for the connector (540) to pass through is arranged between the first hinge mounting base and a tube wall of the fixed rod (20), and wherein the rotatable wrist (22) is internally hollow to form the space for sliding and a channel for the connector (540) to enter the space for sliding (Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 13, Conlon teaches the minimally invasive surgical instrument assembly of claim 11, characterized in that the connector (540) is an elastic sheet, an elastic rod or a flexible rope (Paragraph 0031).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conlon (US PGPub 2010/0131005) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Conlon (US PGPub 2009/0299143; referred to as Conlon-2)
Regarding Claim 12, Conlon teaches the minimally invasive surgical instrument assembly of claim 11, but fails to disclose characterized in that the first hinge mounting base is provided with a limit bar, which is arranged radially along the fixed rod, and a limit space adapted for the connector to pass through is formed between the limit bar and the first connecting part, and/or wherein the connector extends from a centerline of the rotatable wrist to a centerline of the fixed rod.
Conlon-2 teaches an articulating device comprising a rotatable wrist (22; Figure 1C), a fixed rod (20; Figure 1C), a linkage (24; Figure 1C), and a first retractable rod (30), wherein the first hinge mounting base (22) is provided with a limit bar (70; Figure 1C), which is arranged radially along the fixed rod (20; Figure 1C), and a limit space adapted for the connector (32) to pass through is formed between the limit bar (70) and the first connecting part (see Figure 1C), and/or wherein the connector (32) extends from a centerline of the rotatable wrist (22) to a centerline of the fixed rod (20; Figure 1C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Conlon to include the limit bar teachings of Conlon-2 for the advantage of limit the actuation of the end effector from the articulation of the end effector Paragraph 0042).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 and 8-9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to disclose:
Claim 3: the minimally invasive surgical instrument assembly of claim 2, characterized in that the fixed rod comprises a fixed tube and a fixed tube connector that are detachably connected, wherein the fixed tube has a straight tubular structure, and the first hinge mounting base and the first receiving groove are arranged distally on the fixed tube connector.
Claim 4: the minimally invasive surgical instrument assembly of claim 3, characterized in that an L-shaped groove arranged in a tube wall at a distal end of the fixed tube comprises a limit portion extending circumferentially around the fixed tube and an access passage extending axially along the fixed tube, the access passage defining an opening at an end of the fixed tube, and a radially protruding limit protrusion is arranged on an outer peripheral surface of a proximal end of the fixed tube connector, the limit protrusion being engageable or disengageable from the limit portion through the access passage, wherein the limit portion is adapted in length to the limit protrusion along the axial direction of the fixed tube.
Claim 8: the minimally invasive surgical instrument assembly of claim 7, characterized in that the first retractable rod tube has a tube wall provided with two bayonets, and the first retractable rod tube connector has a proximal end provided with two elastic hooks, each capable of extending into the first retractable rod tube to engage with one of the two bayonets respectively, wherein the opening for the second retractable rod or the connector to pass through is positioned between the two elastic hooks.
Claim 9: the minimally invasive surgical instrument assembly of claim 7, characterized in that the second retractable rod (30) comprises a second retractable rod body located inside the first retractable rod tube (34) and a second retractable rod body connector, with its distal end positioned between the second hinge mounting base and a tube wall of the fixed tube connector of the fixed rod, and its proximal end passing through the opening in the first retractable rod tube connector and being detachably connected to the first retractable rod tube.
Claims 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to disclose:
Claim 14: the minimially invasive surgical instrument assembly of claim 10 characterized in that the end effector is a clamp that is driven by the second retractable rod (530) to open and close, the clamp comprising:
two claws, at least one of which is provided with an arcuate limit hole and is rotatably connected to the rotatable wrist via a first rotating structure, wherein the first rotating structure has an axis of rotation perpendicular to a direction of movement of the end effector, and the first rotating structure is positioned on a concave curved side of the arcuate limit hole;
a claw mounting base provided with a linear limit hole extending along a direction of extension and retraction of the end effector, and provided with an abutment for abutting against the clamp provided with the arcuate limit hole on a side of the linear limit hole facing the fixed rod, the claw mounting base being connected to the connector; and
a limit pin arranged at the rotatable wrist, the limit pin penetrating through the linear limit hole and the arcuate limit hole.
Claim 15: the minimally invasive surgical instrument assembly of claim 14, characterized in that the clamp provided with the arcuate limit hole is rotatably connected to the claw mounting base via a second rotating structure, wherein the second rotating structure has an axis of rotation perpendicular to the direction of movement of the end effector, and the second rotating structure is positioned on a side of the arcuate limit hole different from the concave curved side of the arcuate limit hole.
Conclusion
/MOHAMED G GABR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771