DETAILED ACTION
Examiners Comment on Allowance
Option #1 for Allowance:
Incorporating one of claims 5, 6, or 8 into independent claim 1.
Incorporating one of claims 15, 16, or 18 into independent claim 11.
Option #2 for Allowance:
The following will place this Application in immediate condition for Allowance:
1. (Currently Amended) A system, comprising:
a first antenna modulation circuit configured to selectively transmit a first signal at a first predetermined frequency and a second predetermined frequency via a first electrically-small antenna (ESA) according to a first modulation schema, the first and second predetermined frequencies being different from one another;
a second antenna modulation circuit configured to selectively transmit a second signal at a third predetermined frequency and a fourth predetermined frequency via a second electrically-small antenna according to a second modulation schema, the third and fourth predetermined frequencies being different from one another;
a third antenna modulation circuit configured to selectively transmit a third signal at a fifth predetermined frequency and a sixth predetermined frequency; and
a receiver circuit configured to receive a radiated signal being a total of the first signal, [[and]] the second signal, and the third signal and demodulate the radiated signal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4, 7, 9-14, 17, 19-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Manteghi (US 20160294056) in view of White (US 11,240,078), and further in view of Shoji (US 20200203823).
Regarding Claim 1 and 11, Manteghi discloses first antenna modulation circuit configured to selectively transmit a first signal at a first predetermined frequency and a second predetermined frequency via a first electrically-small antenna (ESA) according to a first modulation schema, the first and second predetermined frequencies being different from one another (Paragraphs 0050, 0055; Figure 2).
Manteghi does not disclose second antenna modulation circuit configured to selectively transmit a second signal at a third predetermined frequency and a fourth predetermined frequency via a second electrically- small antenna according to a second modulation schema, the third and fourth predetermined frequencies being different from one another. However, White discloses second antenna modulation circuit configured to selectively transmit a second signal at a third predetermined frequency and a fourth predetermined frequency via a second electrically- small antenna according to a second modulation schema, the third and fourth predetermined frequencies being different from one another (Column 4 lines 20-30, Column 4 lines 45-64; Column 10 lines 12-35; Figure 10). Examiner submits that top-loaded monopole antenna disclosed is equivalent to an electrically- small antenna; Continuous Phase Frequency Shift Keying modulation is equivalent to second modulation schema. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Manteghi to add on to the antenna modulation circuit of Manteghi and to incorporate second antenna modulation circuit configured to selectively transmit a second signal at a third predetermined frequency and a fourth predetermined frequency via a second electrically- small antenna according to a second modulation schema, the third and fourth predetermined frequencies being different from one another, as taught by White, since both Manteghi and White identically disclose antenna modulation circuits configured to selectively transmit a signal at different frequencies via an electrically- small antenna, as disclosed in Column 4 lines 20-30, Column 4 lines 45-64; Column 10 lines 12-35; Figure 10 of White; Paragraphs 0050, 0055; Figure 2 Manteghi.
The combination of Manteghi and White does not disclose receiver circuit configured to receive a radiated signal being a total of the first signal and the second signal, and demodulate the radiated signal. However, Shoji discloses receiver circuit configured to receive a radiated signal being a total of the first signal and the second signal, and demodulate the radiated signal (Paragraph 0057). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the combination of Manteghi and White (receiver 34 of White being modified to incorporate receiving a radiated signal being a total of the first signal and the second signal as taught by Shoji) to incorporate receiver circuit configured to receive a radiated signal being a total of the first signal and the second signal, and demodulate the radiated signal, as taught by Shoji, since both White and Shoji identically disclose antenna modulation circuits configured to selectively transmit a signal at different frequencies via an electrically- small antenna, and receiver circuit configured to receive a radiated signal and demodulate the radiated signal as disclosed in Column 10 lines 12-35; Figure 10 of White; Paragraph 0057, 0066 Shoji.
Regarding Claim 2, White discloses wherein at least one of the first antenna modulation circuit and the second antenna modulation circuit comprise two inductors of equal inductance that connect to a source and a respective antenna (Column 4 lines 20-30, Column 4 lines 45-64; Column 10 lines 12-35; Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 3, Manteghi discloses wherein the first modulation schema are different from one another (Paragraphs 0050, 0055; Figure 2). White discloses wherein the second modulation schema are different from one another (Column 4 lines 20-30, Column 4 lines 45-64; Column 10 lines 12-35; Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 4, Manteghi discloses wherein the first modulation schema are selected from a group consisting of: amplitude shift keying (ASK); frequency shift keying (FSK); on-off keying (OOK); and amplitude modulation (AM) (Paragraphs 0050, 0055; Figure 2). White discloses wherein the second modulation schema are selected from a group consisting of: amplitude shift keying (ASK); frequency shift keying (FSK); on-off keying (OOK); and amplitude modulation (AM) (Column 4 lines 20-30, Column 4 lines 45-64; Column 10 lines 12-35; Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 7, Manteghi discloses wherein the first electrically-small antenna is an electric antenna (Paragraphs 0050, 0055; Figure 2). White discloses second electrically-small antenna is a magnetic antenna (Column 4 lines 20-30, Column 4 lines 45-64; Column 10 lines 12-35; Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 9, Manteghi discloses wherein the first antenna modulation circuit is not connected to a second antenna modulation circuit (Paragraphs 0050, 0055; Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 10, White discloses wherein the first antenna modulation circuit and a second antenna modulation circuit are in close proximity to one another (Column 10 lines 12-35; Figure 8).
Regarding Claim 12, White discloses wherein at least one of the first antenna modulation circuit and the second antenna modulation circuit comprise two inductors of equal inductance that connect to a source and a respective antenna (Column 4 lines 20-30, Column 4 lines 45-64; Column 10 lines 12-35; Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 13, Manteghi discloses wherein the first modulation schema are different from one another (Paragraphs 0050, 0055; Figure 2). White discloses wherein the second modulation schema are different from one another (Column 4 lines 20-30, Column 4 lines 45-64; Column 10 lines 12-35; Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 14, Manteghi discloses wherein the first modulation schema are selected from a group consisting of: amplitude shift keying (ASK); frequency shift keying (FSK); on-off keying (OOK); and amplitude modulation (AM) (Paragraphs 0050, 0055; Figure 2). White discloses wherein the second modulation schema are selected from a group consisting of: amplitude shift keying (ASK); frequency shift keying (FSK); on-off keying (OOK); and amplitude modulation (AM) (Column 4 lines 20-30, Column 4 lines 45-64; Column 10 lines 12-35; Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 17, Manteghi discloses wherein the first electrically-small antenna is an electric antenna (Paragraphs 0050, 0055; Figure 2). White discloses second electrically-small antenna is a magnetic antenna (Column 4 lines 20-30, Column 4 lines 45-64; Column 10 lines 12-35; Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 19, Manteghi discloses wherein the first antenna modulation circuit is not connected to a second antenna modulation circuit (Paragraphs 0050, 0055; Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 20, White discloses wherein the first antenna modulation circuit and a second antenna modulation circuit are in close proximity to one another (Column 10 lines 12-35; Figure 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 8, 15-16, 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim.
The Examiner submits that no intervening claims are required for claims 6 and 16 and that both these claims may be directly incorporated into their respective independent claims. Applicant would only have to ensure that proper antecedent basis is maintained.
There are no references which teach the following features:
system further comprises a third antenna modulation circuit configured to selectively transmit a third signal at a fifth predetermined frequency and a sixth predetermined frequency via a third electrically-small antenna, the fourth and fifth predetermined frequencies being different from one another; and the radiated signal is the total of the first signal, the second signal, and the third signal.
wherein the first predetermined frequency is a resonant frequency in the first antenna modulation circuit and is within 15% MHz of the second predetermined frequency, and the third predetermined frequency is a resonant frequency in the third antenna modulation circuit and is within 15% MHz of the fourth predetermined frequency.
wherein at least one of the first antenna modulation circuit and the second antenna modulation circuit comprises: a source, a low pass filter in series with the source, a plurality of inductors in series with the low pass filter, a plurality of switches, and an antenna, wherein each of the switches is in parallel with a respective one of the inductors; and a switch control switch and switch control circuitry connected to the switch control switch that toggles the switch control switch between on and off, wherein the switch control switch is coupled between a first subset of the inductors and a second subset of the inductors.
Conclusion
/ANKUR JAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649