DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Blokzijj et al, US 5,789,367.
Blokzijl et al teach a solid laundry detergent comprising surfactant, builder and a soil release polymer which is formed from terephthalic acid, isophthalic acid, sulphoisophthalic acid, and ethylene glycol (see abstract). An example includes soap, nonionic surfactants, builders, and the SRP (example I). This appears to be precisely the invention claimed and so the reference is anticipatory.
In the alternative, if there is a minor difference in the SRP of the reference, such that it does not anticipate the SRP claimed, the reference teaches an anionically modified polyester with sulphoisophthalic acid precisely as claimed and so it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to formulate the polyester claimed based on the teachings of Blokzijl et al.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Wo, US 6,576,716.
Wo teaches sulfonated polyester compounds for use as a soil release agent (see abstract). An example of this sulfonated polyester is formed from polyethylene terephthalate, isophthalic acid, sodiosulfoisophthalic acid, and ethylene glycol (col. 5, example 1). This appears to be precisely the SRP claimed and so the reference is anticipatory.
In the alternative, if there is a minor difference in the SRP of the reference, such that it does not anticipate the SRP claimed, the reference teaches an anionically modified polyester with sodiosulfoisophthalic acid precisely as claimed and so it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to formulate the polyester claimed based on the teachings of Wo.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Goda et al, US 2009/0042031.
Goda et al teach an islands in sea spun fiber wherein the sea component is a modified sulfonated polyethylene terephthalate where polyethylene terephthalate, polyethylene glycol, and sodiosulfoisophthalic acid are copolymerized (¶56, example 1). This appears to be precisely the SRP claimed and so the reference is anticipatory.
In the alternative, if there is a minor difference in the SRP of the reference, such that it does not anticipate the SRP claimed, the reference teaches an anionically modified polyester with sodiosulfoisophthalic acid precisely as claimed and so it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to formulate the polyester claimed based on the teachings of Goda et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The examiner notes that it is well-known to treat a PET polyester with sulphoisophthalic acid.
/CHARLES I BOYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761