Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 12-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rossignol et al.
Regarding claim 1, Rossignol et al. discloses a piston (item 1, figures 3a-3b) for a container (item 10, figures 4a-4e) provided with an airless dispenser (col. 6, lines 23-29) for a fluid product (col. 6, lines 49-50);
said piston comprising:
a main body (item 8, figures 3a-3b) having an outer lateral wall (four faces of item 8, figures 3a-3b);
and a peripheral sealing portion protruding transversally outwards from said outer lateral wall (item 2, figures 3a-3b) and extending perimetrically in a substantially continuous manner around said main body;
said peripheral sealing portion being configured to fluid-sealingly slide in a receptacle (col. 6, lines 49-53) defined by an inner lateral surface of a hollow reservoir of said container (item 14, figures 4b-4e);
a plurality of lateral extensions protruding transversally outwards from said outer lateral wall (items 4 and 6, figures 3a-3b) and being mutually spaced apart along a perimeter of said main body (items 4 and 6, figures 3a-3b);
said lateral extensions being axially spaced from said peripheral sealing portion (axial distance H: figure 1d; col. 7, lines 53-54) and being configured for sliding against the inner lateral surface of said hollow reservoir (col. 7, lines 23-27), to guide movement of the piston in said receptacle (item 3, figures 3a-3b; col. 6, lines 54-59);
wherein said peripheral sealing portion comprises:
at least one annular sealing gasket mounted perimetrically to said outer lateral wall (item 2, figures 3a-3b);
and wherein said plurality of lateral extensions comprise:
a plurality of tabs (items 4 and 6, figures 3a-3b) tending to bend transversally outwards in contact with the inner surface of said hollow reservoir (col. 7, lines 23-27).
Regarding claim 2, Rossignol et al. discloses the piston according to claim 1, wherein said peripheral sealing portion and said lateral extensions are on axially opposite sides of said main body (item 2 at lower end of item 8 and items 4 and 6 at opposite end axially, figures 3a-3b).
Regarding claim 3, Rossignol et al. discloses the piston according to claim 2, wherein said peripheral sealing portion is at or near a bottom of said main body (item 2 at lower end of item 8, figures 3a-3b).
Regarding claim 4, Rossignol et al. discloses the piston according to claim 1, wherein said lateral extensions are at or near a top of said main body (items 4 and 6 at top end of item 8, figures 3a-3b).
Regarding claim 12, Rossignol et al. discloses the piston according to claim 1, wherein said main body and said plurality of lateral extensions are made of plastic (col. 9, lines 61-62).
Regarding claim 13, Rossignol et al. discloses the piston according to claim 12, wherein said peripheral sealing portion is made of elastomeric material (col. 9, lines 65-67).
Regarding claim 15, Rossignol et al. discloses a container (item 10, figures 4a-4e) provided with an airless dispenser (col. 6, lines 23-29) for a fluid product (col. 6, lines 49-50);
said container comprising:
a hollow reservoir internally defining a receptacle configured to sealingly contain said product (internal volume of item 10, figures 4a-4e);
the piston (item 1, figure 4d-4e) according to claim 1;
an airless dispenser mounted on said hollow reservoir (col. 8, lines 40-43) and operable by a user to create in said receptacle a vacuum acting upon said piston, so that the piston is attracted and pushes an amount or dose of said product contained in said receptacle out of said hollow reservoir (col. 6, lines 23-29; figure 4d to 4e).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossignol et al.
Regarding claim 5, Rossignol et al., third embodiment, discloses the piston according to claim 1, wherein said plurality of lateral extensions comprise one piece with the main body (col. 9, lines 65-67).
However, in this embodiment, the sealing portion is an added part and not one piece with the main body.
Rossignol et al. ninth embodiment (figures 10a-10b) discloses the piston wherein at least one of said sealing portion (item 2, figures 10a-10b) and said plurality of lateral extensions (items 4 and 6, figures 10a-10b) comprise one piece with the main body (col. 12, lines 31-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention
was made to have formed the sealing portion of Rossignol et al. third embodiment integrally with the main body in order to simplify the injection method whilst retaining good performances in terms of sealing and guiding as taught by Rossignol et al. ninth embodiment.
Regarding claim 14, Rossignol et al., third embodiment, discloses the piston according to claim 12, but does not teach the peripheral sealing portion is made of plastic.
Rossignol et al. ninth embodiment discloses the piston wherein said peripheral sealing portion is made of plastic (col. 12, lines 34-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention
was made to have formed the sealing portion of Rossignol et al. third embodiment out of plastic in order to simplify the injection method whilst retaining good performances in terms of sealing and guiding as taught by Rossignol et al. ninth embodiment.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossignol et al. in view of Prague (US 20090297252 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Rossignol et al. discloses the piston according to claim 1.
However, Rossignol et al. does not teach a pair of annular sealing gaskets.
Prague discloses a piston (item 27, figure 2A), wherein said sealing portion comprises a pair of said annular sealing gaskets mounted perimetrically to the outer lateral wall and axially spaced apart (items 35 and 37, figure 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention
was made to have
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 7 is allowed primarily because the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
The prior art of record does not teach or provide motivation to form a piston for a container wherein “said outer lateral wall has a plurality of lateral recesses mutually spaced apart along the perimeter of said main body” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claim 7.
Claim 11 is allowed primarily because the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
The prior art of record does not teach or provide motivation to form a piston for a container wherein “said outer lateral wall comprises at least one lateral aperture configured to be crossed transversally by said product” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claim 11.
Therefore, the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a
single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art.
/NOAH JACOB ARIF/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/PAUL R DURAND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754 September 8, 2026