DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 57 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 Line 6 recites “a nozzle” and then in line 11 recites “a nozzle” where it appears this is the same nozzle, and should be written “the nozzle”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 59, 65 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 59 ends in a “;” instead of a “ .” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 61 Line 3: “heat liquid” should be “heated liquid”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 61 recites the limitation "the liquid". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as only “a liquid vapor phase-changing material” and “heat transfer liquid” have been previously recited.
Claim 73 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 73 recites “the LVPhC pump for receiving the liquified LVPhC discharged from the LVPhC pump” where the language appears to indicate that the pump is merely feeding itself, which is generally unclear and appears to have been intended to indicate a different feature feeding the pump as no rationale or reason for a self feeding pump is supplied in the specification. Further the specification has the fluid undergoing phase change and fluid mixing before eventually returning to the pump, and does not reasonably meet the limitation of feeding itself the liquified LVPhC.
Claim 74 recites the limitation "the method". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as no method has been recited in any preceding claim from which 74 depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 57-58,64-65,69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by US Patent 3879949 to Hays.
As to claim 57, Hays discloses a method for converting heat into work, comprising: (Fig 1) vaporizing or bringing a liquid vapor phase-changing material (Fluid “B”)(LVPhC), selected from a list consisting of: pentane, isobutane, propane, R134a, R245fa, fluorocarbons and toluene or any vapors used in organic Rankine Cycle (ORC) technology (water or other vaporizable fluid Col 4, Line 1-10), from a liquid phase to a vapor phase or a supercritical phase at a temperature of about T1 and a pressure of about P1 and mixing it in a nozzle with a heat transfer liquid (HTL) (Fluid “A”) having a temperature of about T1 and a pressure of about P1 (vaporized in nozzle: Col 3, line 13-32,45-Col 4, line 10), wherein the LVPhC is at a liquid phase below a temperature of about TO in pressure of about P1, wherein TO is lower than T1, thereby resulting in a quasi-isothermal expansion (Col 3, line 13-32,45-Col 4, line 10), while reducing the pressure to P0, causing an acceleration of the HTL/LVPhC mixture (Col 3, line 13-32,45-Col 4, line 10); and ejecting the accelerated HTL/LVPhC mixture through a nozzle (15) for converting its kinetic energy into work and collecting the LVPhC and the HTL at a pressure of P0 (21); wherein said nozzle is connected to or part of a reaction turbine (11);wherein the method further comprises following said collecting (at 22): heating at least a portion of the HTL (26) to a temperature of about T1 and increasing its pressure to a pressure P1 to allow an additional cycle of said mixing (back to input of 15).
As to claim 58, Hays discloses said collecting the LVPhC vapor comprises separating the LVPhC /HTL mixture (Fig 1, to line “A” and “B”).
As to claim 64, Hays discloses said mixing and said vaporizing are carried out simultaneously (at 15, Col 3, line 13-32,45-Col 4, line 10).
As to claim 65, Hays discloses wherein the HTL is selected from a list consisting of:molten salt, thermal oil (Col 4, Line 6-7), water, salty water, Ethylene glycol.
As to claim 69, Hays discloses wherein the jet ejected from the nozzle is channeled to form a film flow under centrifugal forces (Col 4, line 35-41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 3879949 to Hays as applied to claim 57 above in view of US Patent 12140051 to Schlegel.
As to claim 68, Hays does not expressly disclose said nozzle supports a supersonic flow.
Schlegel discloses how a deLaval nozzle (which is known in the art to be the nozzle used in Hays) can support supersonic flow (Col 11, Line 30-35).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the deLaval nozzle of Hays would be capable of supporting supersonic flow, and further it would be advantageous to use supersonic flow using the teachings of Schlegel so as to increase overall power production from the turbine system.
Claims 57-61,63,65-66,71-73,75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 20120006022 to Woodland in view of US Patent 3879949 to Hays.
As to claim 57, Woodland discloses A method for converting heat into work, comprising: vaporizing (16) or bringing a liquid vapor phase-changing material (LVPhC), selected from a list consisting of: pentane, isobutane, propane, R134a, R245fa, fluorocarbons and toluene or any vapors used in organic Rankine Cycle (ORC) technology (Par 0016), from a liquid phase to a vapor phase or a supercritical phase at a temperature of about T1 and a pressure of about P1 and mixing it in a nozzle (22) with a heat transfer liquid (HTL) (Flooding Media: Par 0016) having a temperature of about T1 and a pressure of about P1 (Par 0017); wherein said nozzle is connected to or part of a reaction turbine (24); wherein the method further comprises following said collecting: heating at least a portion of the HTL to a temperature of about T1 and increasing its pressure to a pressure P1 to allow an additional cycle of said mixing (18,20).
Woodland does not expressly disclose an ejection nozzle wherein the LVPhC is at a liquid phase below a temperature of about TO in pressure of about P1, wherein TO is lower than T1, thereby resulting in a quasi-isothermal expansion, while reducing the pressure to P0, causing an acceleration of the HTL/LVPhC mixture; and ejecting the accelerated HTL/LVPhC mixture through a nozzle for converting its kinetic energy into work and collecting the LVPhC and the HTL at a pressure of P0.
Hays discloses an ejection nozzle, specifically a de Laval nozzle, where fluid is combined and accelerated under a pressure drop to move a turbine (Col 3, line 13-32,45-Col 4, line 10).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Woodland to include an ejection nozzle, specifically a de Laval nozzle, where fluid is combined and accelerated under a pressure drop to move a turbine using the teachings of Hays, such that the LVPhC is at a liquid phase below a temperature of about TO in pressure of about P1, wherein TO is lower than T1, thereby resulting in a quasi-isothermal expansion, while reducing the pressure to P0, causing an acceleration of the HTL/LVPhC mixture; and ejecting the accelerated HTL/LVPhC mixture through a nozzle for converting its kinetic energy into work and collecting the LVPhC and the HTL at a pressure of P0, so as to increase the movement of the vaporized fluid to increase overall power production in the system.
As to claim 58, Woodland discloses said collecting the LVPhC vapor comprises separating the LVPhC /HTL mixture (26).
As to claim 59, Woodland discloses wherein the method further comprises following said collecting (26): cooling and increasing the pressure of the LVPhC to obtain liquified LVPhC at a pressure of about P1 and a temperature of about TO to allow an additional cycle of said mixing (from 26 to 16); wherein said cooling comprises passing the vaporized LVPhC through a heat exchanger (14 on its way to 28) to exchange heat with the liquified LVPhC (14 fluid between 12 and 16), wherein the liquified LVPhC enters the heat exchanger at an entrance temperature of about TO (as coming from 12); wherein said passing comprises maintaining the majority of the liquified LVPhC in a liquid phase (preheating Par 0018).
As to claim 60, Woodland discloses said cooling (28) and increasing (12) comprises condensing the vaporized LVPhC prior to increasing its pressure (28 prior 12, Fig 2).
As to claim 61, Woodland discloses the method further comprises following said collecting (26): condensing the liquid (28) and then passing it through a heat exchanger (14) to exchange heat with the collected vaporized LVPhC (reheater 14) to obtain heat liquified LVPhC (outlet of 14 toward 16), wherein the method further comprises increasing the pressure of the heated LVPhC to about P1 (P1 from 12 and heating in 16 to P1 at inlet of 22).
As to claim 63, Woodland discloses wherein following said cooling and increasing (28,12), the method further comprises heating the LVPhC by a LVPhC heat source from a temperature of about TO to a temperature between TO and T1 (14 or 16).
As to claim 65, Woodland discloses the HTL is selected from a list consisting of: molten salt, thermal oil (Par 0016), water, salty water, Ethylene glycol.
As to claim 66, Woodland discloses wherein the LVPhC is pentane (Par 0016).
As to claim 71, Woodland discloses A system for converting heat into work, comprising: an evaporator (16) for receiving a liquified vapor phase-changing material (LVPhC) (Working fluid, Fig 2), selected from a list consisting of: pentane (Par 0016), isobutane, propane, R134a, R245fa, fluorocarbons and toluene or any vapors used in organic Rankine Cycle (ORC) technology, and vaporizing it or bringing to a vapor phase or a supercritical phase at a pressure of about P1 and a temperature of about T1 (at 22); a heating volume (20) for heating heat transfer liquid (HTL) (Flooding Media) to a temperature of about T1 (Par 0017); a HTL pump (18) for increasing pressure of said HTL to a pressure of about said P1 (Par 0017); a nozzle in fluid communication with the HTL pump and the evaporator and having an inlet portion for receiving said HTL and a mixing portion (22 with fluid mixing vaporization from heat of Flooding Media, alt 22&16) for (i) allowing mixing said HTL at about said temperature T1 and at about said pressure P1 with said LVPhC at a vapor phase (Par 0017); a reaction turbine (24) configured for rotation in result to the acceleration of said mixture, thereby converting the kinetic energy of the mixture to work (Fig 2), wherein the nozzle is coupled to or part of the reaction turbine (22 coupled 24); and a separation unit for separating the ejected HTL and the vaporized LVPhC (26), said separation unit comprises a collection unit to collect the ejected HTL and to allow to direct it to either the heating volume, the HTL pump, the nozzle, the evaporator or any combination thereof (26 to 18,20,22); wherein the collection unit defines a drain for accumulating the separated HTL, and the HTL is suctioned from the drain into the nozzle in result to the operation of the reaction turbine (via the operation of the cycle it passes by suction through 18 to 22 Par 0018), thereby constituting said HTL pump (18), wherein the suctioning causes the HTL to enter the nozzle at a pressure of about P1 (Par 0017).
Woodland does not expressly disclose how the nozzle functions to allowing said mixture to undergo isothermal expansion to a pressure of about PO lower than said pressure P1, thereby causing acceleration of said mixture at said nozzle towards an outlet of the nozzle.
Hays discloses an ejection nozzle, specifically a de Laval nozzle, where fluid is combined and accelerated under a pressure drop to move a turbine (Col 3, line 13-32,45-Col 4, line 10) where the nozzle functions to allowing said mixture to undergo isothermal expansion to a pressure of about PO lower than said pressure P1, thereby causing acceleration of said mixture at said nozzle towards an outlet of the nozzle.
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Woodland to include an ejection nozzle, specifically a de Laval nozzle, where fluid is combined and accelerated under a pressure drop to move a turbine where the nozzle functions to allowing said mixture to undergo isothermal expansion to a pressure of about PO lower than said pressure P1, thereby causing acceleration of said mixture at said nozzle towards an outlet of the nozzle using the teachings of Hays, so as to increase the movement of the vaporized fluid to increase overall power production in the system.
As to claim 72, Woodland discloses wherein said mixing portion is constituting said evaporator (22 alt 16&22); wherein the system further comprises: a condenser for receiving said separated vaporized LVPhC and condense it to a liquid state (28); a LVPhC pump downstream said condenser (12) for increasing the pressure of the condensed LVPhC.
As to claim 73, Woodland discloses comprising one of the following: (i) a heat exchanger in fluid communication with (1) the separation unit for receiving said ejected vaporized LVPhC into a heat removal portion of the heat exchanger (14), (2) condenser for streaming the vaporized LVPhC discharged from the heat removal portion thereto (28), (3) the LVPhC pump for receiving the liquified LVPhC discharged from the LVPhC pump into a heat receiving portion of the heat exchanger (12 feeds 14), and (4) the evaporator for streaming the liquified LVPhC discharged from the heat receiving portion (16 receives from 14); or
(ii) a heat exchanger in fluid communication with (1) the separation unit for receiving said ejected vaporized LVPhC into a heat removal portion of the heat exchanger (14), (2) condenser for streaming the vaporized LVPhC discharged from the heat removal portion (28 form 14) thereto and for receiving the liquefied LVPhC therefrom into a heat receiving portion of the heat exchanger (14), (3) the LVPhC pump for streaming the liquified LVPhC discharged from the heat receiving portion into the LVPhC pump (12); wherein the evaporator is configured to receive the liquified LVPhC from the LVPhC pump (12 to 16).
As to claim 75, Woodland discloses wherein the HTL is selected from a list consisting of: molten salt, thermal oil (Par 0016), water, salty water, Ethylene glycol; wherein the LVPhC is pentane (Par 0016).
Claims 68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 20120006022 to Woodland in view of US Patent 3879949 to Hays as applied to claim 57 above in view of US Patent 12140051 to Schlegel.
As to claim 68, the modified Woodland does not expressly disclose said nozzle supports a supersonic flow.
Schlegel discloses how a deLaval nozzle (which is known in the art to be the nozzle used in Hays) can support supersonic flow (Col 11, Line 30-35).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the deLaval nozzle of the modified Woodland would be capable of supporting supersonic flow, and further it would be advantageous to use supersonic flow using the teachings of Schlegel so as to increase overall power production from the turbine system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 62,67,70,74,76 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcoming any 112 issues.
Conclusion
/JESSE S BOGUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746