Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 20 recites the limitation “first entertainment”, which should read “first entertainment system”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1, 8 and 19 are directed to the abstract idea of connecting a central control hub of a first entertainment system to a display device of a second entertainment system and to actuate the display of the second entertainment system via the central control hub. The claimed step—“communicatively connecting a central control hub of a first entertainment system to one or more display devices of a second entertainment system”—is cognitive and decision making operations that reflect mental processes of certain methods of organizing devices. Such mental processes and conceptual mappings are recognized judicial exceptions to § 101. See Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 U.S. 208 (2014); Step 2A — Prong One (Judicial Exception), MPEP § 2106.04.
The claim’s final step—“ actuating the one or more display devices of the second entertainment system via the central control hub”—is an output or communication of the result of the abstract mapping.
The claim recites communicatively connecting two systems. However, the claim does not recite a specific technological improvement to the functioning of the communication connection, or the systems that are being connected thereby. The limitations are expressed at a high level of generality and lack concrete technical detail (for example, no specific communication protocol details, sensor modalities, signal processing steps, or non generic actuation/control logic are recited). As such, the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application by the recited elements. See Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (claims that improve computer functionality are not directed to an abstract idea); Electric Power Group v. Alstom, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (collect/analyze/display held abstract). Step 2A — Prong Two (Integration into a Practical Application).
The additional claim elements (generically connecting systems ‘communicatively’, a generic ‘central control hub’ or ‘display device’) are well understood, routine, and conventional activities for implementing control and communication systems absent further limitations. Using generic wireless technology to connect systems amounts to implementing the abstract idea on conventional hardware rather than supplying an inventive concept. See Alice; BASCOM Global Internet Servs. v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (conventional components do not automatically supply significantly more). Step 2B — “Significantly More” Analysis.
The ordered combination of claim steps—communicatively connecting → actuating—reflects a conventional information processing and control workflow (communicate/actuate) and does not recite an unconventional arrangement or technical improvement that would transform the abstract idea into patent eligible subject matter. Absent specification evidence or claim limitations showing that the recited steps are not well understood, routine, or conventional, the claim does not supply “significantly more.” See Berkheimer v. HP Inc., 881 F.3d 1360 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (factual showing required to rebut conventionality).
For the reasons stated above, Claims 1, 10 and 19 are directed to an abstract idea (cognitive and decision making operations that reflect mental processes of certain methods of organizing devices and mapping of inputs to outputs), and the additional recited elements, individually and as an ordered combination, do not add significantly more. Claims 1, 10 and 19 are therefore rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to non statutory subject matter.
Dependent claims rejected for depending on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 8-10, 12-16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Igoe (US Patent No. 20210152881).
In re claim 1, Igoe teaches A method, comprising:
communicatively connecting a central control hub of a first entertainment system to one or more display devices of a second entertainment system (Abstract: “A wireless hub device may receive wireless signals associated with a plurality of audio or visual output (A/V) devices for registering with a wireless hub system, wherein the plurality of A/V devices are configured into a plurality of zones.”); and
actuating the one or more display devices of the second entertainment system via the central control hub (Abstract: “The wireless hub device may receive a command and transmit signals to a plurality of A/V devices in one of the zones so that the plurality of A/V devices are calibrated within the zone. The wireless hub device may receive a command and transmit signals to the plurality of A/V devices in the one zone so that an output level of the plurality of the A/V devices in the one zone is increased or decreased.”).
In re claim 4, Igoe teaches further comprising actuating one or more display devices of the first entertainment system via the central control hub (Abstract: “The wireless hub device may receive a command and transmit signals to a plurality of A/V devices in one of the zones so that the plurality of A/V devices are calibrated within the zone. The wireless hub device may receive a command and transmit signals to the plurality of A/V devices in the one zone so that an output level of the plurality of the A/V devices in the one zone is increased or decreased.”).
In re claim 8, Igoe teaches A method, comprising:
detecting a request to operate both a first entertainment system and one or more additional entertainment systems in a party mode (Para [0027]: “The WHEH 102 facilitates the transfer of data between the source and sink devices in the HES 100, as well as coordinates the interaction between the user 120 and the source and sink devices 122, 124. For example, referring to FIG. 2, the WHEH 102 may perform a register devices use-case, change source use-case, direct audio and video signal use-case, program remote use-case, control volume use-case, and calibrate system use-case, which are described in more detail below. Within the HES 100, the WHEH 102 controls the flow of data, information and other “traffic” by recognizing the devices within the HES 100, tracking their current status (e.g., active, standby, etc.), directing the transfer of data between devices, etc. In addition, the WHEH 102 provides a central controller for the HES 100 that allows a user 120 to operate the HES 100 in an efficient manner through interaction with the WHEH 102, which then subsequently provides instructions to the other devices in the HES 100 to perform the function requested by the user 120.”);
communicatively connecting a first central control hub of the first entertainment system to the one or more additional entertainment systems (Abstract: “A wireless hub device may receive wireless signals associated with a plurality of audio or visual output (A/V) devices for registering with a wireless hub system, wherein the plurality of A/V devices are configured into a plurality of zones.”); and
actuating one or more display devices of the first entertainment system and the one or more additional entertainment systems via the first central control hub (Abstract: “The wireless hub device may receive a command and transmit signals to a plurality of A/V devices in one of the zones so that the plurality of A/V devices are calibrated within the zone. The wireless hub device may receive a command and transmit signals to the plurality of A/V devices in the one zone so that an output level of the plurality of the A/V devices in the one zone is increased or decreased.”).
In re claim 9, Igoe teaches wherein communicatively connecting the first central control hub to the one or more additional entertainment systems includes enabling the first central control hub to actuate devices of the first entertainment system and the one or more additional entertainment systems (Para [0027]: “The WHEH 102 facilitates the transfer of data between the source and sink devices in the HES 100, as well as coordinates the interaction between the user 120 and the source and sink devices 122, 124. For example, referring to FIG. 2, the WHEH 102 may perform a register devices use-case, change source use-case, direct audio and video signal use-case, program remote use-case, control volume use-case, and calibrate system use-case, which are described in more detail below. Within the HES 100, the WHEH 102 controls the flow of data, information and other “traffic” by recognizing the devices within the HES 100, tracking their current status (e.g., active, standby, etc.), directing the transfer of data between devices, etc. In addition, the WHEH 102 provides a central controller for the HES 100 that allows a user 120 to operate the HES 100 in an efficient manner through interaction with the WHEH 102, which then subsequently provides instructions to the other devices in the HES 100 to perform the function requested by the user 120.”).
In re claim 10, Igoe teaches wherein the first entertainment system and the one or more additional entertainment systems comprise different types of devices (Para [0024]: “Referring generally to FIGS. 1 and 2, devices in the HES 100 can broadly be classified into two categories: source devices 122 and sink devices 124. Source devices 122 transmit data within the HES 100. Source devices 122 include, but are not limited to, DVD players 104, digital video recorders (DVR) (not shown), set-top boxes (STB) 106 (e.g., cable or satellite channel tuners), gaming consoles 108 (e.g. Xbox®, PlayStation®), CD players or other audio playback devices (e.g., MP3 player) (not shown). It is understood by those skilled in the art that external data can be introduced into the HES 100 for transmission by one or more of the source devices 122 by various means, such as optical fiber, co-axial cable, or a satellite dish system connected to the STB 106. Sink devices 124 receive the transmitted data within the HES 100, sometimes converting a signal into an audible or visible stimulus. Sink devices 124 include, but are not limited to, speakers 110, audio/visual receivers (AVR) 145 (see FIG. 9), and display devices 112 such as an HDTV or other television, monitor, or display screen or mechanism.”).
Method claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as method claim 10 for having similar limitations and being similar in scope.
In re claim 12, Igoe teaches further comprising, via the first central control hub, actuating at least one device from the one or more additional entertainment systems via a common control signal (Abstract: “The wireless hub device may receive a command and transmit signals to a plurality of A/V devices in one of the zones so that the plurality of A/V devices are calibrated within the zone. The wireless hub device may receive a command and transmit signals to the plurality of A/V devices in the one zone so that an output level of the plurality of the A/V devices in the one zone is increased or decreased.”).
In re claim 13, Igoe teaches further comprising, via the first central control hub, actuating at least one device of the first entertainment system (Abstract: “The wireless hub device may receive a command and transmit signals to a plurality of A/V devices in one of the zones so that the plurality of A/V devices are calibrated within the zone. The wireless hub device may receive a command and transmit signals to the plurality of A/V devices in the one zone so that an output level of the plurality of the A/V devices in the one zone is increased or decreased.”).
In re claim 14, Igoe teaches wherein a common signal is used to actuate the at least one device from the one or more additional entertainment systems and the at least one device of the first entertainment system in a coordinated manner (Abstract: “The wireless hub device may receive a command and transmit signals to a plurality of A/V devices in one of the zones so that the plurality of A/V devices are calibrated within the zone. The wireless hub device may receive a command and transmit signals to the plurality of A/V devices in the one zone so that an output level of the plurality of the A/V devices in the one zone is increased or decreased.”).
In re claim 16, Igoe teaches wherein the common signal is converted once received at the at least one device from the one or more additional entertainment systems and the at least one device of the first entertainment system (Para [0044]: “Referring to FIG. 6, after a source activation or change is initiated within the HES 100 as described above, the WHEH 102 broadcasts to all sink units, or those that are relevant, an instruction to discontinue receiving and transmitting data from the previously active source and begin receiving the transmitted data from the newly selected source, where the activities in FIG. 6. labeled “transmitVideo( )” and “transmitAudio( )” represent a continuous stream of data from the source device 122 to the sink devices 124. This instruction from the WHEH 102 may be broadcast as a single instruction to all units (i.e., a common instruction recognizable by any device in the HES 100) or may be a distinct instruction sent to each of the sink units. Audio and/or video data from the current active source device is transmitted directly to the relevant sink devices as instructed by the WHEH 102. For example, the display device 112 and speaker 110 receive and present the video data and audio data, respectively, from the current active source device. In one embodiment, the newly selected source device that has been activated in the HES 100 may transmit one or more instructions directly to the sink units to begin receiving and presenting the data from the newly selected source and discontinue presenting the data from the previously active source.”).
In re claim 19, Igoe teaches A system, comprising:
a central control hub (Para [0023]: “An exemplary home entertainment system (HES) 100 including wirelessly connected devices in accordance with one embodiment of the present invention is shown in FIG. 1. Interactions between the various wireless devices in the HES 100 and a user 120 are coordinated by a wireless home entertainment hub (WHEH) 102.”);
one or more devices of a first entertainment system assigned to the central control hub (SEE FIGS 1 and 2 and paras [0060]-[0062]);
one or more devices of a second entertainment system not assigned to the central control hub (SEE FIGS 1 and 2 and paras [0060]-[0062]); and
instructions stored in non-transitory memory of the central control hub that are executable to:
during operation of the central control hub in a party mode (Para [0027]: “The WHEH 102 facilitates the transfer of data between the source and sink devices in the HES 100, as well as coordinates the interaction between the user 120 and the source and sink devices 122, 124. For example, referring to FIG. 2, the WHEH 102 may perform a register devices use-case, change source use-case, direct audio and video signal use-case, program remote use-case, control volume use-case, and calibrate system use-case, which are described in more detail below. Within the HES 100, the WHEH 102 controls the flow of data, information and other “traffic” by recognizing the devices within the HES 100, tracking their current status (e.g., active, standby, etc.), directing the transfer of data between devices, etc. In addition, the WHEH 102 provides a central controller for the HES 100 that allows a user 120 to operate the HES 100 in an efficient manner through interaction with the WHEH 102, which then subsequently provides instructions to the other devices in the HES 100 to perform the function requested by the user 120.”), communicatively connect the central control hub to the one or more devices of the second entertainment system (Abstract: “A wireless hub device may receive wireless signals associated with a plurality of audio or visual output (A/V) devices for registering with a wireless hub system, wherein the plurality of A/V devices are configured into a plurality of zones.”), and
actuate the one or more devices of the first entertainment system and actuate the one or devices of the second entertainment system via the central control hub (Abstract: “The wireless hub device may receive a command and transmit signals to a plurality of A/V devices in one of the zones so that the plurality of A/V devices are calibrated within the zone. The wireless hub device may receive a command and transmit signals to the plurality of A/V devices in the one zone so that an output level of the plurality of the A/V devices in the one zone is increased or decreased.”).
In re claim 20, Igoe teaches wherein the instructions are further executable to:
during operation of the central control hub in a standard mode,
only actuate the one or more devices of the first entertainment via the central control hub, and
not actuate the one or more devices of the second entertainment system via the central control hub (Abstract: “A wireless hub device may receive wireless signals associated with a plurality of audio or visual output (A/V) devices for registering with a wireless hub system, wherein the plurality of A/V devices are configured into a plurality of zones. The wireless hub device may receive a command and transmit signals to a plurality of A/V devices in one of the zones so that the plurality of A/V devices are calibrated within the zone. The wireless hub device may receive a command and transmit signals to the plurality of A/V devices in the one zone so that an output level of the plurality of the A/V devices in the one zone is increased or decreased.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igoe (US Patent No. 20210152881), in view of Riggs (US Patent No. 20130039511 A1).
In re claim 2, Igoe teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above but fails to teach wherein the first entertainment system and the second entertainment system are recreational vehicle (RV) entertainment systems.
However, Riggs teaches wherein the first entertainment system and the second entertainment system are recreational vehicle (RV) entertainment systems (Para [0005]: “Motor vehicles, such as… recreational vehicles… are often equipped with a factory-installed entertainment system prior to shipment.” and para [0016]: “From the foregoing, it should be appreciated that there is a need for an entertainment system that allows for existing local control devices to be utilized in conjunction with a replacement entertainment system. In addition, there is a need for a local electronic system control device that may be adapted to interface with an existing factory-installed hardwired control network. Furthermore, there is also a need for a method to economically retrofit a voice recognition system to effectively control a variety of after-market entertainment systems. Furthermore, there is a need for an ESC device that will allow the user to control multiple entertainment devices with the same set of local controls.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Igoe to incorporate the teachings of Riggs to provide wherein the first entertainment system and the second entertainment system are recreational vehicle (RV) entertainment systems with the Audio or visual output (a/v) devices registering with a wireless hub system of Igoe. Doing so allows for existing local control devices to be utilized in conjunction with a replacement entertainment system, as recognized by Riggs (para [0016]).
Method claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as method claim 2 for having similar limitations and being similar in scope.
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igoe (US Patent No. 20210152881), in view of Mueller (US Patent No. 20050275626).
In re claim 3, Igoe teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above and further teaches [wherein the one or more display devices include one or more of] a lighting device (SEE BELOW), and an audio device (Para [0024]: “Sink devices 124 include, but are not limited to, speakers 110, audio/visual receivers (AVR) 145 (see FIG. 9), and display devices 112 such as an HDTV or other television, monitor, or display screen or mechanism.”).
Igoe fails to teach [wherein the one or more display devices include one or more of] a water device, a fire device, a camera.
However, Mueller teaches [wherein the one or more display devices include one or more of] a water device, a fire device (Para [0225]: “Some examples of effects that could be generated using systems and methods according to the principles of the invention include, but are not limited to, explosions, colors, underwater effects, turbulence, color variation, fire, missiles, chases, rotation of a room, shape motion, tinkerbell-like shapes, lights moving in a room, and many others. Any of the effects can be specified with parameters, such as frequencies, wavelengths, wave widths, peak-to-peak measurements, velocities, inertia, friction, speed, width, spin, vectors, and the like. Any of these can be coupled with other effects, such as sound.”), a camera (Para [0187]: “Some examples of a signal source 124 that may be employed in, or used in connection with, the lighting unit 100 include any of a variety of sensors or transducers that generate one or more signals 122 in response to some stimulus. Examples of such sensors include… various types of cameras…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Igoe to incorporate the teachings of Mueller to provide [wherein the one or more display devices include one or more of] a water device, a fire device, a camera with the Audio or visual output (a/v) devices registering with a wireless hub system of Igoe. Doing so enables any effects to be specified with parameters, as recognized by Mueller (Para [0225]).
Method claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as method claim 3 for having similar limitations and being similar in scope.
Claims 5-7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igoe (US Patent No. 20210152881), in view of Hansel (US Patent No. 20060268538 A1).
In re claim 5, Igoe teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above but fails to teach wherein the central control hub is a first central control hub, and wherein the second entertainment system comprises a second central control hub.
However, Hansel teaches wherein the central control hub is a first central control hub, and wherein the second entertainment system comprises a second central control hub (Para [0093]: “FIG. 9 shows a block diagram of an individual entertainment display device in communication with another individual entertainment display device according to at least one possible embodiment. In this simplified view, two entertainment display devices are shown in communication with one another via the wireless transmitter 14 and receiver 13 arrangement, which is connected to and controlled by the computer 112. This particular set up permits a variety of functions to be performed between two or more entertainment display devices. For example, the entertainment display devices could exchange programming or operational data in order to coordinate or synchronize the operation thereof. The entertainment display devices could then perform identical functions or coordinated functions, such as alternating lights or portions of a musical piece, for example. The entertainment display devices could also exchange data stored in their respective computers 112.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Igoe to incorporate the teachings of Hansel to provide wherein the central control hub is a first central control hub, and wherein the second entertainment system comprises a second central control hub with a wireless hub system of Igoe. Doing so permits a variety of functions to be performed between two or more entertainment display devices, as recognized by Hansel (Para [0093]).
In re claim 6, Igoe and Hansel teach all of the limitations of claim 5 above where Hansel further teaches wherein the one or more display devices of the second entertainment system are assigned to the second central control hub, and wherein the first entertainment system comprises one or more display devices assigned to the first central control hub (Para [0093]: “FIG. 9 shows a block diagram of an individual entertainment display device in communication with another individual entertainment display device according to at least one possible embodiment. In this simplified view, two entertainment display devices are shown in communication with one another via the wireless transmitter 14 and receiver 13 arrangement, which is connected to and controlled by the computer 112. This particular set up permits a variety of functions to be performed between two or more entertainment display devices. For example, the entertainment display devices could exchange programming or operational data in order to coordinate or synchronize the operation thereof. The entertainment display devices could then perform identical functions or coordinated functions, such as alternating lights or portions of a musical piece, for example. The entertainment display devices could also exchange data stored in their respective computers 112.”).
In re claim 7, Igoe and Hansel teach all of the limitations of claim 5 above where Igoe further teaches wherein a communicative connection is established via satellite internet (Para [0024]: “It is understood by those skilled in the art that external data can be introduced into the HES 100 for transmission by one or more of the source devices 122 by various means, such as optical fiber, co-axial cable, or a satellite dish system connected to the STB 106.”).
Method claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons as method claims 6 and 7 for having similar limitations and being similar in scope.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20120117193 A1 teaches Systems and methods are disclosed for transferring video display between video playback devices. In one embodiment, a mobile, or handheld, device receives user input that initiates transfer of display of video content to the mobile device from a desired renderer located proximate to the mobile device. The mobile device then causes transfer of display of the video content to the mobile device from the desired renderer. In another embodiment, a mobile, or handheld, device receives user input that initiates transfer of display of video content from the mobile device to a desired renderer located proximate to the mobile device. The mobile device then causes transfer of display of the video content from the mobile device to the desired renderer.
/JAMES E MUNION/Examiner, Art Unit 2688 04/24/2026