DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
As of the reply filed 9/25/2026, claims 1-2, 4-11, 17, 19-20, and 23 are pending. Claims 1, 4-5, 8, 17, and 19-20 have been amended. Claims 3, 12-16, 18, 21-22 and 24-32 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to claim 4 have not overcome the previously filed objections, therefore claim 4 remains objected to.
The previously filed drawing objections were partially addressed by the Specification filed 9/25/2026, which added reference characters 75, 76, 78, 87, and 88. However, the requirement for new drawings due to the hand-drawn and difficult-to-read nature of the drawings filed 2/03/2025 was not addressed by the Remarks filed 9/25/2026. Therefore, the drawings remain objected to.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 1 are persuasive, therefore this rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 8 (see page 10 of Remarks) have been considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that “the alleged concave section of Yaari extends through the entire width since it is formed by the curvature of the arms. Thus it is not spaced from the edges as in claim 8”, but the Examiner argues that the present claim language does not require that the entirety of the concave section be discretely formed within the bounds of the edges as argued, but that the folded concavities seen in Figs. 13-14 read on the amended language. A portion of the folded concavities is spaced between the edges as claimed, therefore these concave sections read on the amended claim language.
The Yaari reference further reads on claim 5, as the folded concavities are formed inward of the first and second arms (see Figs. 13-14, as 60 extends between 20 and 40, the folded concave sections are formed inward of the arms as well). Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for containing new matter as the claim language is not supported by the present disclosure.
Applicant’s arguments regarding 17 are moot, as the new rejection relies upon a new secondary reference to teach the amended claim language.
As a terminal disclaimer has not been filed, double patenting rejections still apply.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, line 2: “one of more of the first arm” contains a spelling error and should be amended to recite “one or more of the first arm” instead.
Claim 4, line 3: “, second arm, or engagement member” is missing articles and should be amended to recite “, the second arm, or the engagement member” instead.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because the reference characters are hand-written and difficult to read. Additionally, the drawings contain hand-drawn elements which are difficult to examine. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The limitation “wherein the concave section is independent of a position of the first and second arms” lacks support in the present disclosure. The Specification does not include this language and the drawings do not provide adequate support, as the concave section(s) (see 102 in Fig. 3A and 112, 114 in Fig. 3B) cannot be said to be independent of a position of the first and second arms since its position in space is determined by the positioning of the first and second arms. Since they are connected components, the concave section(s) described in the present disclosure cannot be independent of positions of the first and second arms.
Claims 8-11, 5, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 now recites the limitation "the engagement member" in the second to last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as previously the claim only mentions “the engagement section” instead. It is recommended that all instances of “engagement member” be replaced with “engagement section” instead.
Please note that all claims that depend from claim 8 inherit this deficiency. Claims, 9-11 and 5 should also be amended as they recite “the engagement member”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-11, 5, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yaari (US PGPub 2014/0163578 A1).
With respect to claim 8, Yaari discloses a medical device (10 in Fig. 1) for treating shoulder dystocia (abstract: “A surgical device for treating shoulder dystocia”) comprising:
a first arm (20) having a proximal portion (portion near 23) and a distal portion (portion near 32), the first arm (20) having a first curved surface (26);
a second arm (40) having a proximal portion (portion near 23) and a distal portion (portion near 52), the second arm (40) having a second curved surface (46);
a shoulder engagement section (60) positioned at least between the distal portion of the first and second arms (PP [0054]: “an engagement member 60 spanning the two arms 20, 40”) and connecting the first and second arms (20 and 40 are connected via 60, see Fig. 1), the engagement section (60) having an upper surface (66) and a lower surface (68 in Fig. 3A), the lower surface (68) having an atraumatic surface and configured to contact and press down on a baby (PP [0061]: “A portion of the lower (bottom) surface 68 (see FIG. 3A) (or the entire lower surface) can be textured or have some small atraumatic projections or other non-smooth surface to provide a good grip on the fetal shoulder for maneuverability”) to reposition the baby upon manipulation of the first and second arms (PP [0059]: “to apply a sufficient force against the baby's shoulder when a downward force is applied by manipulation of the arms 20, 40”), the upper surface (6) having a proximal edge, a distal edge, a first side edge extending between the proximal edge and the distal edge and a second side edge opposite the first side edge and extending between the proximal edge and the distal edge (see upper, left/right, and bottom edges of 60 in Fig. 1), the upper surface (66) having a concave section forming a depression (see folds in Figs. 13-14 forming a plurality of concave depressions) to accommodate the shoulder of the baby (see Figs. 13-16, this concave section accommodates the shoulder of the baby), the concave section positioned in a central region of the engagement member (60) spaced from the distal edge, proximal edge, first side edge and second side edge (the folds in Figs. 13-14 have central portions which are spaced from the exterior edges of the engagement member 60).
Regarding claim 9, Yaari further discloses wherein the concave section (see depressions formed by folds in Figs. 13-14) is formed in a central region of the engagement member (the folds in Figs. 13-14 have central portions which are spaced from the exterior edges of the engagement member 60).
Regarding claim 10, Yaari further discloses a second concave section (see plurality of folds in Figs. 13-14) positioned in the upper surface of the engagement member (60).
Regarding claim 11, Yaari further discloses a concave section (see plurality of folds in Figs. 13-14) on the lower surface (68 in Fig. 3A, see unmarked underside of 60 in Figs. 13-14, the folds also create concave sections on the lower surface) of the engagement member (60).
Regarding claim 5, Yaari further discloses wherein the concave section (see plurality of folds in Figs. 13-14) is formed in the engagement member (60) and formed in a region inward of the first and second arms (20 and 40, the folds extend between 20 and 40 and are formed inward of them).
Regarding claim 19, Yaari further discloses wherein the concave section (see plurality of folds in Figs. 13-14) is independent of a position of the first and second arms (20 and 40, the folds on 60 are not located on the first and second arms 20 and 40 and are independent of their position, relying only on the position of engagement section 60).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17, 20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yaari (US PGPub 2017/0020568 A1) in view of George (US PGPub 2009/0099422 A1).
With respect to claim 17, Yaari discloses a medical device (10 in Fig. 1) for treating shoulder dystocia (abstract: “A surgical device for treating shoulder dystocia”) comprising:
a first arm (20) having a proximal portion (portion near 23) and a distal portion (portion near 32), the first arm (20) having a first curved surface (26);
a second arm (40) having a proximal portion (portion near 23) and a distal portion (portion near 52), the second arm (40) having a second curved surface (46);
a shoulder engagement section (60) positioned at least between the distal portion of the first and second arms (PP [0054]: “an engagement member 60 spanning the two arms 20, 40”) and connecting the first and second arms (20 and 40 are connected via 60, see Fig. 1), the engagement section (60) having an upper surface (66) and a lower surface (68 in Fig. 3A), the lower surface (68) having an atraumatic surface and configured to contact and press down on a baby (PP [0061]: “A portion of the lower (bottom) surface 68 (see FIG. 3A) (or the entire lower surface) can be textured or have some small atraumatic projections or other non-smooth surface to provide a good grip on the fetal shoulder for maneuverability”) to reposition the baby upon manipulation of the first and second arms (PP [0059]: “to apply a sufficient force against the baby's shoulder when a downward force is applied by manipulation of the arms 20, 40”), the upper surface (6) having a concave section forming a depression (see lateral depression in Fig. 1 created by curved sections 28 and 48) to accommodate the shoulder of the baby (see Figs. 13-16, this curved concave section accommodates the shoulder of the baby).
However, Yaari fails to disclose a lubricant bag, wherein the lubricant is contained in the lubricant bag, the lubricant bag is positioned about the engagement section such that the lubricant bag encapsulates the engagement section.
In the related field of speculums (abstract), which is related to the present invention as it is also a medical tool intended for insertion into the vagina of a patient, George teaches a lubricant bag containing lubricant which is positioned about a speculum such that the lubricant bag encapsulates the speculum (PP [0027]: “a package comprising a wrapper encapsulating at least part of a medical instrument such as a speculum, the package containing lubricant between the wrapper and the instrument to lubricate at least an encapsulated part of the instrument before removal of the wrapper”).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the Yaari device according to the teachings of George to include the lubricant bag as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this modification in order to pre-lubricate the instrument while maintaining its sterility, to increase efficiency and safety as “the practitioner need not spend time smearing lubricant over the instrument with his fingers before use which might increase the chances of contamination” (PP [0029]). The modification as proposed would not alter the main operating principle of the Yaari device, but would simply and predictably provide a way to pre-lubricate the engagement section prior to use.
Regarding claim 20, Yaari as modified by George further discloses wherein the lubricant bag (PP [0027]: “a package comprising a wrapper encapsulating at least part of a medical instrument such as a speculum, the package containing lubricant between the wrapper and the instrument to lubricate at least an encapsulated part of the instrument before removal of the wrapper”) is a tear away bag openable to release the lubricant on the engagement section (PP [0033]: “the method suitably comprises manipulating the wrapper and/or the instrument to breach the barrier for distribution of the lubricant over the instrument”).
Regarding claim 23, Yaari as modified by George further discloses wherein the engagement section (60 in Fig. 1 of Yaari) is one of a spreadable material, balloon or cord (PP [0058]: “the engagement section 60 comprises a material in the form of a sheet or a cloth”, cloth is a spreadable material, PP [0060]: “when the arms are moved from the closed (unspread) to the open spread position, due to the shorter length distal end, the distal section of the engagement section will be more taut, and thus more rigid, than the proximal section to achieve the results described above”, see also Figs. 13-16 showing 60 spreading during use).
Double Patenting
Claims 17, 20, and 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-12 of U.S. Patent No. 10,321,935 B2 (hereinafter known as the ‘935 patent) in view of George (US PGPub 2009/0099422 A1).
With respect to claim 17, the ‘935 patent discloses a medical device for treating shoulder dystocia (claim 11, line 13) comprising:
a first arm having a proximal portion and a distal portion, the first arm having a first curved surface (claim 11, lines 16-20);
a second arm having a proximal portion and a distal portion, the second arm having a second curved surface (claim 11, lines 25-29);
a shoulder engagement section positioned at least between the distal portion of the first and second arms and connecting the first and second arms (claim 11, lines 35-37), the engagement section having an upper surface and a lower surface, the lower surface having an atraumatic surface and configured to contact and press down on a baby to reposition the baby upon manipulation of the first and second arms (claim 11, lines 41-49).
However, the ‘935 patent fails to disclose a lubricant bag, wherein the lubricant is contained in the lubricant bag, the lubricant bag is positioned about the engagement section such that the lubricant bag encapsulates the engagement section.
In the related field of speculums (abstract), which is related to the present invention as it is also a medical tool intended for insertion into the vagina of a patient, George teaches a lubricant bag containing lubricant which is positioned about a speculum such that the lubricant bag encapsulates the speculum (PP [0027]: “a package comprising a wrapper encapsulating at least part of a medical instrument such as a speculum, the package containing lubricant between the wrapper and the instrument to lubricate at least an encapsulated part of the instrument before removal of the wrapper”).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the device of the ‘935 patent according to the teachings of George to include the lubricant bag as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this modification in order to pre-lubricate the instrument while maintaining its sterility, to increase efficiency and safety as “the practitioner need not spend time smearing lubricant over the instrument with his fingers before use which might increase the chances of contamination” (PP [0029]). The modification as proposed would not alter the main operating principle of the ‘935 patent, but would simply and predictably provide a way to pre-lubricate the engagement section prior to use.
Regarding claim 20, the ‘935 patent as modified by George further discloses wherein the lubricant bag (PP [0027]: “a package comprising a wrapper encapsulating at least part of a medical instrument such as a speculum, the package containing lubricant between the wrapper and the instrument to lubricate at least an encapsulated part of the instrument before removal of the wrapper”) is a tear away bag openable to release the lubricant on the engagement section (PP [0033]: “the method suitably comprises manipulating the wrapper and/or the instrument to breach the barrier for distribution of the lubricant over the instrument”).
Regarding claim 23, the ‘935 patent as modified by George further discloses wherein the engagement section (18 in Fig. 8 of Varma) is one of a spreadable material, balloon or cord (18 has balloon 12 on it).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-2 and 4-7 contain allowable subject matter.
Please note that the formal requirements of claim 4 must be addressed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The subject matter of the independent claim 1 filed on 9/25/2026 could either not be found or was not suggested in the prior art of record.
With respect to claim 1, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious at the effective filing date of the invention: the feature of a spacer extending from the upper surface of the engagement section, the spacer including a first inflatable balloon and a second inflatable balloon spaced laterally apart from the first inflatable balloon such that the first inflatable balloon is closer to a first side edge than the second inflatable balloon, in combination with the other limitations of the independent claim.
The closest prior art is Vaari, which discloses each of the limitations as described above.
However, Vaari fails to disclose a spacer comprising the balloon features as claimed. Furthermore, the prior art of record does not suggest any motivation to modify the Vaari disclosure to arrive at these features.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIDGET E. RABAGLIA/Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/TAN-UYEN T HO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3771