DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claim 16 detachable force-fit connection between the run-in buffer and the opener must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. Instant [0023-0024] discusses a force-fit connection but does not reference a figure. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The feature lock striker is referred to by two references characters, 3 in instant [0036] and 28 in instant [0048].
The feature opener is referred to by two reference characters, 12 in instant [0038] and 20 in instant [0042].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reddmann, US 12129688 B2.
Regarding claim 1, Reddmann teaches a motor vehicle lock (vehicle closing device 1) comprising:
a housing (lock housing 16),
a lock striker (lock holder 3; lock holder bracket 5),
a locking mechanism (col 3, lines 10-39) with including:
a rotary latch (catch 4), and
at least one pawl (col 3, lines 10-39),
wherein the rotary latch is configured to be latched in at least one latching position by the at least one pawl (col 3, lines 10-39),
wherein the locking mechanism is in engagement with the lock striker (col 6, lines 17-26);
a run-in buffer (insertion buffer 18) arranged in the housing of the motor vehicle lock (Fig 1 depicts 18 arranged in 16),
wherein the run-in buffer is in engagement with the lock striker (Fig 1 depicts 18 engaged with 5); and
an opening device (holding device 2),
wherein the opening device has an opener (holder 12), and
wherein the opener is in engagement with the lock striker (Fig 1 depicts 12 engaged with 5 via 18), and
wherein the opener is configured to interacts with the run-in buffer (Fig 1 depicts 12 interacting with 18).
Regarding claim 2, Reddmann teaches the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1, wherein the run-in buffer (18) is configured to be moved at least partially by the opener (movement from Fig 1 to Fig 2 depicts 18 moved by 12; col 6, line 51-col 7, line 4).
Regarding claim 3, Reddmann teaches the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1, wherein the run-in buffer (18) is at least partially accommodated in the housing (16) of the motor vehicle lock (Fig 1 depicts 18 accommodated in 16).
Regarding claim 4, Reddmann teaches the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1, wherein the run-in buffer (18) is at least partially connected to the opener (12; Fig 1 depicts 18 connected to 12; col 6, line 51-col 7, line 4).
Regarding claim 5, Reddmann teaches the motor vehicle lock according to claim 4, wherein the run-in buffer (18) is detachably connected to the opener (12; col 6, line 51-col 7, line 4 discusses 18 being form fit with 12 therefore detachably connected).
Regarding claim 6, Reddmann teaches the motor vehicle lock according to claim 4, wherein the run-in buffer (18) is non-detachably connected to the opener (12; col 6, line 51-col 7, line 4 discusses 18 being formed integrally with 12 therefore non-detachably connected).
Regarding claim 7, Reddmann teaches the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1, wherein the opener (12) can be placed in engagement with the run-in buffer (18) substantially in the a center of the run-in buffer (Fig 1 depicts 12 engaged with 18 substantially in the center of 18).
Regarding claim 8, Reddmann teaches the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1, wherein a relative movement between the motor vehicle lock (1) and the lock striker (3; 5) is produced by means of a movement of the run-in buffer (18; movement from Fig 1 to Fig 2 depicts relative movement between 1 and 3;5 to be produced by the leftward movement of 18).
Regarding claim 9, Reddmann teaches the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1, wherein the run-in buffer (18) at least partially encloses the lock striker (4;5; Fig 1 depicts 18 partially enclosing 5).
Regarding claim 10, Reddmann teaches the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1, wherein the run-in buffer (18) is in engagement with the lock striker (3;5) in a form-fitting manner (Fig 1 depicts 18 engaged with 5 in a form-fitting manner).
Regarding claim 11, Reddmann teaches the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1, wherein the opener (12) is held in at least one end open position by means of the run-in buffer (18; Fig 1 depicts 12 held in an end open position by 18 with the end of 5 open in a similar manner as depicted in instant Fig 1; this end open position is not discussed in the instant specification).
Regarding claim 12, Reddmann teaches the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1, wherein the run-in buffer (18) is configured for damping at least one end position of the opener (12; col 6, line 51-col 7, line 4 discusses 18 being rubber-elastic plastic and Fig 1 depicts 18 positioned on the end of 12 which would engage with and dampen contact with 5).
Regarding claim 13, Reddmann teaches the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1, wherein the motor vehicle lock (1) is designed as an electrically opening motor vehicle lock (col 7, lines 5-35 discusses 2 being electrically driven)
Regarding claim 14, Reddmann teaches the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1, wherein the run-in buffer (18) serves as a guide for the opener (12; Fig 1 depicts the concave structure of 18 facing 5 and, in movement between Fig 1 and Fig 2, guiding the engaged of 12 with 5).
Regarding claim 15, Reddmann teaches the motor vehicle lock according to claim 5, wherein the run-in buffer (18) and the opener (12) are detachably connected by a form-fit (19; col 6, line 51-col 7, line 4).
Regarding claim 16, Reddmann teaches the motor vehicle lock according to claim 5 wherein the run-in buffer (18) and the opener (12) are detachably connected by a force-fit (col 6, line 51-col 7, line 4 discusses 18 being molded together with 12 using a rubber-elastic plastic which would result in a detachable force-fit semi-permanent connection between the components thereby being a detachable connection).
Regarding claim 17, Reddmann teaches the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1, wherein the opener (12) is configured to act on the run-in buffer (18) such that the locking mechanism (1) in an unlocked position (Fig 2) releases the lock striker (3;5; movement from Fig 1 to Fig 2 depicts 12 acting on 18 such that 3;5 is released by 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art for motor vehicle locks.
Reddmann et al., US 12366095 B2, teaches a motor vehicle door lock with opening device and run-in buffer.
Scholz et al., US 10745946 B2, teaches a closing device having a control disk and method for closing a hood by means of such a closing device with opening device and run-in buffer.
Sturm et al. US 11428032 B2, teaches a lock for a motor vehicle with opening device and run-in buffer.
Johann et al., US 11859416 B2, teaches a latch assembly with power release and dual stage cinch function with opening device and run-in buffer.
Myslicki et al., US 5150933 A, teaches a latch having a torsion spring leg and a lead spring leg with opening device and run-in buffer.
Kim et al., US 10669751 B2m teaches an apparatus for hood latch of vehicle with opening device and run-in buffer.
/STEVEN A TULLIA/Examiner, Art Unit 3675