DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s “Amendment” filed on 08/17/2026 has been considered.
Claims 1, 6, 12, and 13 are amended. Claims 2-5 and 10-11 are canceled. Claim 14 is added. Claims 1, 6-9, and 12-14 remain pending in this application and an action on the merits follow.
Applicant’s response by virtue of amendment to claims has overcome the Examiner’s rejection under 35 USC § 101.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/15/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-9, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean Patent No. 102,449,396 to Kim, in view of in view of Austria Patent No. AT 524738 to Richard et al.
With regard to claims 1, 12 and 13, Kim discloses an accommodation support apparatus comprising:
at least one memory configured to store instructions (technical filed, It relates to a general-purpose hotel autonomous service system consisting of a MyCONECT system that interfaces with the existing hotel's PMS (Property management system), and a customer app and an employee-only app that are connected to it.); and
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to (TECHNICAL-FIELD, a general-purpose hotel autonomous service system consisting of a MyCONECT system that interfaces with the existing hotel's PMS (Property management system)):
specify reservation information of a user by identity authentication of the user in an accommodation facility (page 8, lines 24-37, When a customer logs in in mobile app mode and executes 'Mobile Check In', a menu at the bottom of the main screen, it attempts to connect to the Beacon installed in the hotel lobby. When the Beacon is connected, the ID of the customer is scanned on the ID Scanning screen to verify the customer's identity, and the scanned customer name and logged-in information are checked. enter the Confirmation number reserved by the customer);
perform check-in processing for the user based on the reservation information (page 8, lines 24-page 9, lines 22, At this time, according to the completion of check-in of the main customer, the mobile key is transmitted to the accompanying customer.);
register, in a storage device of the accommodation support apparatus, a card ID recorded in a card key, used to unlock a room where the user completing the check-in processing stays and service information regarding a service included in the reservation information in association with each other (page 10, lines 4-32, When you arrive at the guest room floor and press the Quick Key to open the room door (for reference, there are Hide Menu Bar, Quick Key in the In House menu, Mobile Key, etc.) Initiate communication with the room door. In case of pairing and matching rooms, the door lock of the room is unlocked and you can enter the room. shows an In House screen that can be activated and used by a customer when check-in is completed. The In House module includes 'Hotel Information' that provides assistance with hotel facilities use and guidance, 'Room To Room' that allows customers to directly use the elevator to other guest rooms, and 'Room To Room' that supports Room Service Order and autonomous Valet Parking. 'Special Request', 'Concierge' where customers request services such as Taxi, Parcel and Luggage, 'House Keeping' where customers request services such as ironing, laundry, Amenity request, Turn Down Service, Make Up Room), wherein the service information includes an available time zone of a predetermined facility in the accommodation facility (page 4, lines 26-32, In addition, this elevator mobile key can be used only for the elevator of the room floor you want to go to, and this Room To Room key can be set by the customer for one-time use, use on the same day, and use during the stay period.);
specify the service information associated with the card ID in the storage device if a request including the card ID read from the card key is received from a service terminal of the accommodation facility (page 4, lines 26-32, this Room To Room key can be set by the customer for one-time use, use on the same day, and use during the stay period);
determine availability of entry to the predetermined facility based on the available time zone included in the specified service information (page 4, lines 26-32, Examiner notes that the use period setup is considered as “the available time zone“ and the entry of elevator is determined based on the use period setting, which is considered as “determine availability of entry to the predetermined facility based on the available time zone included in the specified service information”).
However, Kim does not disclose control an unlocking of a door based on the determined availability of entry.
However, Richard teaches control an unlocking of a door based on the determined availability of entry (measures are also advantageous in which the code for picking up the food or menu is assigned to a device such as a chip card, NFC mobile phone or NFC watch or NFC tablet, a check or credit card, etc. , is assigned, the tool preferably being used to open the doors of the accommodation facility. in particular a reservation for a specific date and any additional activities or functions. Meals (2) or Menu (2a) is booked for a specific date and time (22). the guest (3) has received a code or message (23), in particular an activation code, or number (13) or the room key his storage compartment (11) to pick up his ordered food. page 3, lines 19-21, page 9, lines 14-17, abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include, control an unlocking of a door based on the determined availability of entry, as taught in Richard, in order to provide catering services in preferably unmanned accommodation establishments, such as hotels (Richard, abstract).
With regard to claim 6, Kim substantially discloses the claimed invention, however, Kim does not disclose register entry permission with respect to a dining room of the accommodation facility as the service information if the reservation information includes a food and drink service; and determine to permit entry to the dining room if the service information associated with the card ID includes the entry permission.
However, Richard teaches register entry permission with respect to a dining room of the accommodation facility as the service information if the reservation information includes a food and drink service; and determine to permit entry to the dining room if the service information associated with the card ID includes the entry permission (measures are also advantageous in which the code for picking up the food or menu is assigned to a device such as a chip card, NFC mobile phone or NFC watch or NFC tablet, a check or credit card, etc. , is assigned, the tool preferably being used to open the doors of the accommodation facility. It is possible that the delivery can be booked to the rental object 9, in which case all necessary access rights for a certain period of time to the rental object 9 in the accommodation facility 4 are then preferably activated for the supplier 14. whereupon a booking (5) is made via telephone (6), mobile phone (7), tablet, laptop (8), computer, browser or APP , in particular a reservation for a specific date and any additional activities or functions. Meals (2) or Menu (2a) is booked for a specific date and time (22). the guest (3) has received a code or message (23), in particular an activation code, or number (13) or the room key his storage compartment (11) to pick up his ordered food (2) or menu (2a) opens and can be removed., page 3, lines 19-21, page 9, lines 14-17, abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include, register entry permission with respect to a dining room of the accommodation facility as the service information if the reservation information includes a food and drink service; and determine to permit entry to the dining room if the service information associated with the card ID includes the entry permission, as taught in Richard, in order to provide catering services in preferably unmanned accommodation establishments, such as hotels (Richard, abstract).
With regard to claim 7, Kim discloses the service information includes meal content provided in a dining room of the accommodation facility (page 11, lines 21-24, Room service is ordering food and beverages over the phone or TV while staying in a hotel room.).
With regard to claim 8, Kim substantially discloses the claimed invention, however, Kim does not disclose specify meal content included in the service information associated with the card ID; and perform processing according to the specified meal content.
However, Richard teaches specify meal content included in the service information associated with the card ID; and perform processing according to the specified meal content (page 3, lines 19-21, page 9, lines 14-17, abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include, specify meal content included in the service information associated with the card ID; and perform processing according to the specified meal content, as taught in Richard, in order to provide catering services in preferably unmanned accommodation establishments, such as hotels (Richard, abstract).
With regard to claim 9, Kim discloses the at least one processor is further configured to: receive a reference request including the card ID read from the card key by a predetermined authentication terminal and identity authentication information acquired from a holder of the card key, specify the service information and the reservation information associated with the card ID included in the reference request if identity authentication of the holder using the identity authentication information is successful, and return the specified service information and reservation information to the authentication terminal (page 8, lines 34-37, If the information read in ID Scanning matches the login information, enter the Confirmation number reserved by the customer and press the Search button. If there is a reservation, the reservation information is displayed after final confirmation with the name of the person who made the reservation at the hotel, the name scanned by ID, and the name that was logged in.).
With regard to claim 14, Kim discloses the at least one processor is further configured to: receive the reservation information and authentication information to be used for the identity authentication from a user terminal and register the reservation information and a user ID of the user corresponding to the authentication information in association with each other prior to the identity authentication (page 8, lines 25- page 9, line 12, a mobile check-in can be performed only when a reservation is made. When a customer logs in in mobile app mode and executes 'Mobile Check In', a menu at the bottom of the main screen, it attempts to connect to the Beacon installed in the hotel lobby. When the Beacon is connected, the ID of the customer is scanned on the ID Scanning screen to verify the customer's identity, and the scanned customer name and logged-in information are checked. If the information read in ID Scanning matches the login information, enter the Confirmation number reserved by the customer and press the Search button. If there is a reservation, the reservation information is displayed after final confirmation with the name of the person who made the reservation at the hotel, the name scanned by ID, and the name that was logged in. ; specify the user ID corresponding to the authentication information used in the identity authentication (page 8, lines 25- page 9, line 12); and specify the reservation information registered in association with the specified user ID (page 8, lines 25- page 9, line 12).
Response to Arguments
Applicants' arguments filed on 08/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive especially in light of the previously references applied in the rejections.
Applicants remark that “the combination of Kim and Fujimoto does not disclose register, in a storage device of the accommodation support apparatus, a card ID
recorded in a card key, used to unlock a room where the user completing the check-in processing stays and service information regarding a service included in the reservation information in association with each other, wherein the service information includes an available time zone of a predetermined facility in the accommodation facility; specify the service information associated with the card ID in the storage device if a request including the card ID read from the card key is received from a service terminal of the accommodation facility; determine availability of entry to the predetermined facility based on the available time zone included in the specified service information; and control an unlocking of a door based on the determined availability of entry”.
Examiner directs Applicants' attention to the office action above.
Conclusion
Please refer to form 892 for cited references.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARIEL J YU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627