DETAILED ACTION
Inventorship
35 U.S.C. 115(a) reads as follows (in part):
An application for patent that is filed under section 111(a) or commences the national stage under section 371 shall include, or be amended to include, the name of the inventor for any invention claimed in the application.
The present application sets forth the incorrect inventorship because in performing the prior art search, the Examiner discovered the Non-Patent Literature cited in the attached PTO-892, “Notice of References Cited” form, “A novel dynamic abdominal wall traction system for open abdomen: preclinical evaluation,” which is a research paper of the current invention, published on October 27th, 2025, and includes the following list of co-authors: Patricia Zorrilla de la Fuente, Federico Castillo Suescún, Rodrigo González Larrán, Ramón Sancibrian Herrera, and Galo Peralta Fernández. While the current patent application only lists the following inventor: Federico Castillo Suescún. Examiner notes because the non-patent literature publication discloses the same invention and lists multiple individuals as authors/creators/inventors, it creates a prima facie case that the inventive entity is broader or different than the single person claimed. Applicant can address the rejection of improper inventorship either by providing a satisfactory explanation/declaration or by filing a request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/03/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
Figure 3, reference characters (PA) and (BA).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed feature recited in claim 3, “a plurality of additional elastomeric rings, linked to each of the main elastomeric rings” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
Content of Specification
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION: See 37 CFR 1.72(a) and MPEP § 606. The title of the invention should be placed at the top of the first page of the specification unless the title is provided in an application data sheet. The title of the invention should be brief but technically accurate and descriptive, preferably from two to seven words. It may not contain more than 500 characters.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCES TO RELATED APPLICATIONS: See 37 CFR 1.78 and MPEP § 211 et seq.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT: See MPEP § 310.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT. See 37 CFR 1.71(g).
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM: The specification is required to include an incorporation-by-reference of electronic documents that are to become part of the permanent United States Patent and Trademark Office records in the file of a patent application. See 37 CFR 1.77(b)(5) and MPEP § 608.05. See also the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System posted on the USPTO website (https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2019LegalFrameworkPES.pdf) and MPEP § 502.05
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR. See 35 U.S.C. 102(b) and 37 CFR 1.77.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(c). The specification should set forth the Background of the Invention in two parts:
(1) Field of the Invention: A statement of the field of art to which the invention pertains. This statement may include a paraphrasing of the applicable U.S. patent classification definitions of the subject matter of the claimed invention. This item may also be titled “Technical Field.”
(2) Description of the Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98: A description of the related art known to the applicant and including, if applicable, references to specific related art and problems involved in the prior art which are solved by the applicant’s invention. This item may also be titled “Background Art.”
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(d). A brief summary or general statement of the invention as set forth in 37 CFR 1.73. The summary is separate and distinct from the abstract and is directed toward the invention rather than the disclosure as a whole. The summary may point out the advantages of the invention or how it solves problems previously existent in the prior art (and preferably indicated in the Background of the Invention). In chemical cases it should point out in general terms the utility of the invention. If possible, the nature and gist of the invention or the inventive concept should be set forth. Objects of the invention should be treated briefly and only to the extent that they contribute to an understanding of the invention.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S): See MPEP § 608.01(f). A reference to and brief description of the drawing(s) as set forth in 37 CFR 1.74.
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(g). A description of the preferred embodiment(s) of the invention as required in 37 CFR 1.71. The description should be as short and specific as is necessary to describe the invention adequately and accurately. Where elements or groups of elements, compounds, and processes, which are conventional and generally widely known in the field of the invention described, and their exact nature or type is not necessary for an understanding and use of the invention by a person skilled in the art, they should not be described in detail. However, where particularly complicated subject matter is involved or where the elements, compounds, or processes may not be commonly or widely known in the field, the specification should refer to another patent or readily available publication which adequately describes the subject matter.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS: See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP § 608.01(m). The claim or claims must commence on a separate sheet or electronic page (37 CFR 1.52(b)(3)). Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. There may be plural indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps. See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP 608.01(i) - (p).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE: See 37 CFR 1.72 (b) and MPEP § 608.01(b). The abstract is a brief narrative of the disclosure as a whole, as concise as the disclosure permits, in a single paragraph preferably not exceeding 150 words, commencing on a separate sheet following the claims. In an international application which has entered the national stage (37 CFR 1.491(b)), the applicant need not submit an abstract commencing on a separate sheet if an abstract was published with the international application under PCT Article 21. The abstract that appears on the cover page of the pamphlet published by the International Bureau (IB) of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is the abstract that will be used by the USPTO. See MPEP § 1893.03(e).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING: See 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825 and MPEP §§ 2421 - 2431. The requirement for a sequence listing applies to all sequences disclosed in a given application, whether the sequences are claimed or not. See MPEP § 2422.01.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
It includes the following implied phrase, “The invention relates to… .” The abstract should avoid using phrases which can be implied.
It includes the legal phraseology, “means.” The abstract should avoid legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means.”
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specification/disclosure is missing the section, “CROSS-REFERENCES TO RELATED APPLICATIONS,” below the Title of the Invention and above the “Object of the Invention,” section on page 1 of the specification.
The use of the terms, “AbThera” on page 2, line 8 and “Southmedic” on page 3, line 5, which are trade names or marks used in commerce, have been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized wherever they appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the terms. Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 should be amended to the following, “A dynamic abdominal wall traction system for open abdomen wounds, temporarily attachable to an open abdomen (OA) wound for progressive and controlled closure, comprising:
elastomeric rings, attachable near the aponeurotic edges of the OA, and arranged in pairs facing each other on opposite edges of the OA;
traction wires, interwoven in a zigzag pattern between the pairs of facing elastomeric rings and passing through their interior, where each traction wire of the traction wires has a free end;
a traction element, attachable to the free ends of the traction wires to apply a variable and controllable traction force on the traction wires and the elastomeric rings; and
retaining elements, attachable by suturing to both an internal peritoneal edge of the abdominal wall (AW) and each of the elastomeric rings;
wherein a number of elastomeric rings is the same as a number of retaining elements, such that the connection between the elastomeric rings and the OA wound is indirect, with the mediation of the suturing connection to the respective retaining elements.” The “and” at that position is not necessary as there is already an “and” prior to the final clause introducing the final structural component of the claimed system. Further amendment is for clarity and consistency of claim terminology.
Claim 2 should be amended to the following, “The dynamic abdominal wall traction system according to claim 1, wherein each retaining element of the retaining elements is formed by an essentially flat and elongated piece, in the shape of a beveled-edge plate comprising:
an upper sector with an upper through hole and a lower through slot;
a lower sector; and
transverse notches, defined in two opposite areas of the peripheral edge of the beveled-edge plate, which separate both sectors.” For clarity and consistency of claim terminology.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite. The limitation “attachable near the aponeurotic edges of the OA” lacks antecedent basis for “the aponeurotic edges.” The claim previously introduces only “an open abdomen (OA) wound” and does not establish “aponeurotic edges.” See MPEP 2173.05(e).
The limitation “arranged in pairs facing each other on opposite edges of the OA” renders the claim indefinite. The claim first introduces “elastomeric rings” without clearly defining how the rings are grouped or oriented relative to one another prior to the “arranged in pairs” language. It is unclear whether every ring must form part of a pair, how many pairs are required, or the precise geometric relationship intended by “facing each other.”
The limitation “retaining elements, attachable by suturing to both an internal peritoneal edge of the abdominal wall (AW) and each of the elastomeric rings” is indefinite. The phrase “each of the elastomeric rings” creates ambiguity as to whether every retaining element must be attached to every elastomeric ring, or whether a one-to-one correspondence is intended. Although the subsequent wherein clause recites that “a number of elastomeric rings is the same as a number of retaining elements” and refers to “the respective retaining elements,” this language does not clearly resolve the attachment relationship for each individual element.
The wherein clause itself is further indefinite. The phrase “wherein a number of elastomeric rings is the same as a number of retaining elements” uses the indefinite article “a” rather than referring back to the previously introduced “elastomeric rings” and “retaining elements.” It is unclear whether the clause is attempting to limit the total quantities already recited or is introducing new numerical constraints. Consistent use of definite articles or clear numerical language is required to provide antecedent basis and avoid ambiguity. See MPEP 2173.05(e).
For purposes of examination, “the aponeurotic edges” is interpreted as aponeurotic edges of the abdominal wall bordering the OA wound; “arranged in pairs facing each other” is interpreted as requiring the elastomeric rings to be positioned in opposing pairs across opposite edges of the OA; the retaining-element attachment language is interpreted as requiring a one-to-one correspondence between each retaining element and a respective elastomeric ring; and the wherein clause is interpreted as requiring that the total number of elastomeric rings equal the total number of retaining elements.
Claims 2-5 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 2 is indefinite. The relative term “essentially” in “an essentially flat and elongated piece” is indefinite. The specification does not provide a standard for measuring the degree of flatness or elongation that would constitute “essentially” flat and elongated, rendering the metes and bounds of the claim unclear. See MPEP 2173.05(b).
The terms “upper through hole” and “lower through slot” are indefinite. These relative terms lack a defined reference frame or orientation within the claim. It is unclear relative to what structure, plane, or patient anatomy the hole and slot are considered “upper” or “lower.” See MPEP 2173.05(b).
The limitation “transverse notches, defined in two opposite areas of the peripheral edge of the beveled-edge plate” lacks antecedent basis for “the peripheral edge.” The claim does not previously introduce a peripheral edge of the plate. See MPEP 2173.05(e).
For purposes of examination, “essentially flat and elongated” is given its broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification as a generally planar, elongated plate; “the peripheral edge” is interpreted as “a peripheral edge” which is the outer perimeter of the beveled-edge plate; and “upper through hole” and “lower through slot” are interpreted as a through hole and an adjoining through slot located in the upper sector of the plate as oriented in the specification and drawings.
Claim 3 is indefinite. The limitation “linked to each of the main elastomeric rings” lacks antecedent basis for “the main elastomeric rings.” Claim 1 (from which claim 3 depends) introduces only “elastomeric rings” and does not establish or distinguish any “main” elastomeric rings. See MPEP 2173.05(e).
Claim 3 is further indefinite because it creates an inconsistency with claim 1. Claim 1 requires that “a number of elastomeric rings is the same as a number of retaining elements” such that the connection of the elastomeric rings to the OA wound is mediated by the respective retaining elements. Claim 3 then adds “a plurality of additional elastomeric rings, linked to each of the main elastomeric rings.” If the “additional elastomeric rings” are considered within the scope of the “elastomeric rings” of claim 1, the total number of rings would exceed the number of retaining elements, contradicting the numerical equality required by claim 1. The claim fails to clearly define the relationship between the “main,” “additional,” and original “elastomeric rings,” rendering the scope of the claim unclear. See MPEP 2173.05(e) and MPEP 2173.03.
For purposes of examination, “the main elastomeric rings” is interpreted as the elastomeric rings recited in claim 1, and the “plurality of additional elastomeric rings” is interpreted as rings that are supplemental to (and distinct from) the elastomeric rings of claim 1, such that the numerical equality of claim 1 continues to apply only to the main elastomeric rings and the retaining elements.
Claim 4 is indefinite. Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “manually operable tourniquet” in claim 4 is used by the claim to mean “a manually operated tensioning device (turnstile, turnbuckle, or equivalent) that applied a variable and controllable traction force to the free ends of the traction wires and the elastomeric rings for progressive closure of an open abdomen,” while the accepted meaning is “a device that applies circumferential pressure to a limb or body part to restrict or occlude blood flow.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suescún (WO 2018/109253 A1 (See Attached Translation)), in view of Lord (US 2016/0113650 A1), and further in view of Lamps (US 2020/0323614 A1).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood in view of the 112(b) rejection above, Suescún discloses, a dynamic wall traction device. Suescún teaches, a dynamic abdominal wall traction system for open abdomen wounds (Figure 1; Paragraph [0003]), temporarily attachable (Paragraph [0024]) to an open abdomen (OA) wound (Figure 1, abdominal opening (2)) for progressive and controlled closure (Paragraphs [0003], [0013], [0018]-[0019], and [0024]), comprising:
openings (Figure 1, central openings (8); Paragraph [0025]), attachable near aponeurotic edges of the OA (As disclosed in Paragraph [0025] and shown in Figure 1, central openings (8) are formed in the vicinity of straight edges (3) of the laminar bodies (1) and according to Paragraphs [0015] and [0017], the laminar bodies and openings are attached/situated to the abdominal wall approximately 3 or 4 centimeters from the aponeurotic edges of the wall), and arranged in pairs facing each other on opposite edges of the OA (Figure 1; Paragraph [0024]);
traction wires (Figure 1, traction threads/wires (10); Paragraph [0026]), interwoven in a zigzag pattern between the pairs of facing rings (openings (8)) and passing through their interior, where each traction wire of the traction wires has a free end (Figure 1; Paragraph [0026]); and
a traction element (Figure 1, traction element (11); Paragraph [0026]), attachable to the free ends of the traction wires (traction threads/wires (10)) to apply a variable and controllable traction force on the traction wires (traction threads/wires (10)) and the rings (openings (8)) (Paragraph [0026]).
Suescún fails to teach, the openings as discrete elastomeric rings; and retaining elements, attachable by suturing to both an internal peritoneal edge of the abdominal wall (AW) and each of the elastomeric rings; wherein the number of elastomeric rings is the same as a number of retaining elements, such that the connection between the elastomeric rings and the OA wound is indirect, with the mediation of the suturing connection to the respective retaining elements. However, it is noted that Paragraphs [0015]-[0016] of Suescún state, “The lamellar bodies are attached to the abdominal wall by means of a suture, which can be made with the help of a suture tube, preferably by means of perforating stitches of 3 to 4 centimeters in total depth, approximately 3 or 4 centimeters from the aponeurotic edge of the wall. …the laminar bodies are arranged under the skin of the abdominal wall, in the vicinity of the peritoneum, in order to facilitate traction.”
Lord discloses, the use of medical lace or elastic bands creating a physiologic pull for closing wounds. Lord teaches, elastomeric rings (Figures 2, 4, 6, 8, and 10, rings (18)) attachable near the edges of an open wound (Figures 2, 4, 6, 8, and 10, wound (14)) and arranged in pairs facing each other on opposite edges of the open wound (Paragraphs [0001]-[0002], [0019], [0023], and [0025])).
Lamps discloses, devices and methods for approximating abdominal wall edges/tissue using soft-tissue anchors secured to the abdominal wall (including from the interior/posterior side) and interconnected by sutures or other connecting members for progressive approximation. Lamps teaches, retaining elements (Figures 2-8, soft-tissue anchors (202, 220); Paragraph [0067]), attachable by suturing to both an interior aspect of the abdominal wall (anchors installed with prongs passed from the inside of the abdomen towards the outside to protect viscera; bases/platforms positioned relative to posterior rectus sheath/interior of abdominal wall; Paragraphs [0067], [0096]-[0097], & [0111]) and to connecting elements such as sutures or spanning members that interface with the approximation system (suture (230) interconnecting each of the anchors to biasing members (240); suture (310) from one anchor connecting to an anchor on the contralateral side; Figures 2 and 31; Paragraphs [0067] and [0111]); the number of such retaining elements (soft-tissue anchors (202, 220)) corresponds to the number of connection points/spanning elements used for approximation (pairs of anchors interconnected; multiple pairs; Paragraphs [0067] and [0111]; Figures 2 and 31), such that the connection between the spanning/approximation elements and the wound is indirect, mediated by the anchors and their suturing/securement to the tissue (anchors secured to underlying abdominal wall while connecting members extend therefrom; Paragraphs [0067] and [0111]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the openings of Suescún’s laminar bodies into discrete elastomeric rings of the type taught by Lord and to incorporate retaining elements of the type taught by Lamps (sutured/anchored to the internal/peritoneal aspect and mediating the connection to the rings, with matching numbers for indirect connection), as all the references and the claimed invention are directed to systems and methods for progressive/dynamic approximation and closure of open wounds or defects while distributing tension and facilitating controlled closure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make this modification, as such a modification would have been predictable, namely, achieving superior closure with the tissue being held in close approximation despite inflammation, muscle contraction and overall healing while no new trauma is introduced (Paragraphs [0003]-[0009] of Lord). Furthermore, restoring near-normal anatomy through gradual dynamic distraction/approximation of tissues without compromise of function, avoiding loops/straps or other components with significant intraperitoneal segments that pose risk to viscera, allowing easy disengagement, distributing tension across multiple points, and using anchors secured from the interior with interconnecting sutures or members for progressive approximation while the anchors mediate the connection (Paragraphs [0011]-[0016], [0017]-[0024], [0067], [0111] of Lamps).
Regarding claim 4, as best understood in view of the 112(b) rejection above, Suescún further teaches, wherein the traction element (traction element (11)) is a manually operable tourniquet (Paragraph [0026] on Page 10, states, “…single traction element (11), which in this preferred embodiment is a manually actuated turnbuckle, to exert the variable traction force mentioned above.” Under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) and given the current application’s disclosure does not explicitly restrict "manually operable tourniquet" to a specific structure, it is met by the disclosure of Suescún, which is indeed a manually operated tensioning device that performs the identical function).
Regarding claim 5, Suescún further teaches, wherein the traction element (traction element (11)) is a micrometric closure (Paragraph [0026] on Page 10, states, “…single traction element (11), which in this preferred embodiment is a manually actuated turnbuckle, to exert the variable traction force mentioned above.” Under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) and given the current application’s disclosure does not explicitly restrict "micrometric closure" to a specific structure, a "micrometric closure" is interpreted as a fastening or closing mechanism capable of fine, incremental adjustments (often micrometric or sub-millimeter scale). Thus, because a turnbuckle uses fine-pitch screw threads, it allows for highly precise, continuous micro-adjustments to pull two points closer together (acting as a closure or tensioner), clearly demonstrating that a turnbuckle performs the exact same structural closing function with micrometric precision).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suescún, in view of Lord, further in view of Lamps, and even further in view of Sinnott (US 2011/0160856 A1).
Regarding claim 2, as best understood in view of the 112(b) rejection above, Suescún teaches, aspects of the dynamic abdominal wall traction system according to claim 1 (See above rejection of claim 1).
Suescún fails to teach, wherein each retaining element of the retaining elements is formed by an essentially flat and elongated piece, in the shape of a beveled-edge plate comprising: an upper sector with an upper through hole and a lower through slot; a lower sector; and transverse notches, defined in two opposite areas of a peripheral edge of the beveled-edge plate, which separate both sectors.
Lord teaches, other aspects of the dynamic abdominal wall traction system according to claim 1 (See above rejection of claim 1).
Lamps teaches, the retaining elements (soft-tissue anchors (202, 220)).
Sinnott discloses, an apparatus for suspensory fixation applications. Sinnott teaches, a retaining element (Figure 1, fixation device (10)) is formed by an essentially flat and elongated piece, in the shape of a beveled-edge plate (Figures 1-7; Paragraph [0046]; As seen in the figures the edges of the fixation device (10) are clearly beveled/smoothed/chamfered) comprising: an upper sector (Figure 1, body (12); Paragraph [0046]) with an upper through hole (Figure 1, passageway (14d); Paragraph [0052]) and a lower through slot (Figure 1, passageway (14a); Paragraph [0051]); a lower sector (Figure 1, head (22); Paragraph [0046]); and transverse notches (Figure 1, notches defined by the neck (20)), defined in two opposite areas of a peripheral edge of the beveled-edge plate, which separate both sectors (Paragraph [0046]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the retaining elements taught by Lamps (as already incorporated into the Suescún and Lord combination of claim 1) to take the form of the essentially flat and elongated beveled-edge plate structure with upper sector (body) containing an upper through hole and a lower through slot, lower sector (head), and transverse notches (neck cutouts) separating the sectors, as taught by Sinnott, as all the references and the claimed invention are directed to devices that secure and route lines/threads or sutures under adjustable tension for tissue approximation or fixation while distributing load. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make this modification, as such a modification would have been predictable, namely, providing a means for “locking” a line or suture at a length without using a knot (knots being known to reduce strength), while allowing adjustment of the line/suture length and creating a self-locking wrap/slide that cinches under tension (Paragraphs [0015], [0041]-[0042], and [0051]-[0053] of Sinnott).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suescún, in view of Lord, further in view of Lamps, and in view of Ewers (US 2004/0049099 A1).
Regarding claim 3, as best understood in view of the 112(b) rejection above, Suescún teaches, aspects of the dynamic abdominal wall traction system according to claim 1 (See above rejection of claim 1).
Suescún fails to teach, further comprising a plurality of additional elastomeric rings, linked to each of the main elastomeric rings.
Lord teaches, the main elastomeric rings (Figures 2, 4, 6, 8, and 10, rings (18)).
Lamps teaches, other aspects of the dynamic abdominal wall traction system according to claim 1 (See above rejection of claim 1).
Ewers discloses, surgical wound retractors that use multiple rings connected by a sheath (elastic or otherwise) to apply and adjust radial retraction force on a wound. Ewers teaches, a plurality of additional elastomeric rings (Figures 10, 12-15, 20, and 30, third ring (83)/intermediate rings (92, 94, 96, & 98)), linked to each of the main rings (Figures 10, 12-15, 20, and 30, first/inner ring (14) and second/outer ring (16)) via the intervening sheath or by circumferential rolling of one ring over another to form a ring bundle (Paragraphs [0007]-[0011], [0048]-[0050], [0062]-[0065], [0071], and [0081]-[0085]). The additional rings permit progressive adjustment of the distance/tension between the main rings, thereby increasing the degree of retraction force and reducing effective elasticity of the system in a controlled, stepwise manner (Paragraphs [0008], [0065], [0071], and [0082]-[0085]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the main elastomeric rings of the Suescún, Lord, and Lamps combination by adding a plurality of additional elastomeric rings linked to each of the main rings, as taught by Ewers, as all the references and the claimed invention are directed to systems for controlled, progressive approximation or retraction of wound edges (including abdominal wounds) using ring-based elements that apply adjustable tension. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make this modification, as such a modification would have been predictable, namely, to enable progressive increase of the degree of tension and decrease of system elasticity by selective incorporation or rolling of the additional rings (Paragraphs [0008], [0065], [0071], and [0082]-[0085] of Ewers).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 6,033,429 A is relevant because it discloses discrete, independent anchor mechanisms (grommets) secured to opposite sides of severed tissue – including abdominal incisions – through which a lash or wire is laced in a pattern to approximate and bind the tissue edges under controllable tension for progressive closure of abdominal wounds.
/O.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3771 /TAN-UYEN T HO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3771