DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Noh et al. (US 20240393040 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Noh teaches a boil-off gas reliquefaction system for ships (abstract), comprising: a compression part (element 30) comprising a first compressor (element 30a) receiving and compressing boil-off gas generated from liquefied gas in a cargo tank (element 10) provided to a ship and a second compressor (30b) further compressing the boil-off gas compressed in the first compressor (30a), and performing multistage compression of the boil-off gas (Figure 1); an intercooler (elements 60) supplying the boil-off gas compressed in the first compressor to the second compressor after cooling the compressed boil-off gas received from the first compressor (Figure 1); a condenser (element 40) cooling the boil-off gas compressed through the compression part (Figure 1); a reliquefied gas recovery line (Figure 1 elements l20, l21, l10) delivering liquefied gas cooled and condensed in the condenser to the cargo tank after recovery of cold heat from the liquefied gas through the intercooler (Figure 1); and a first temperature regulation line (element l21a) branching the liquefied gas from the reliquefied gas recovery line and spraying the liquefied gas onto the top of the intercooler (Figure 1, ¶ [0035-0054]).
Regarding claim 6, Noh teaches the invention in claim 1, further comprising: a reliquefied gas receiver (element 50) disposed upstream of the intercooler in the reliquefied gas recovery line (Figure 1) to receive the reliquefied gas cooled in the condenser (intended use), wherein a gas is separated in the reliquefied gas receiver to be discharged to a vent line ( ¶ [0051-0053, 0055-0058]).
Regarding claim 7, Noh teaches the invention in claim 6, wherein the liquefied gas comprises liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) (¶ [0019]) and the compression part is a three-stage centrifugal compressor or a three-stage reciprocating compressor (Figure 1, ¶ [0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh et al. (US 20240393040 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Noh teaches the invention in claim 1, further comprising: a first temperature sensor (¶ [0022]) and a first temperature regulation valve regulating a flow rate of the liquefied gas to be branched into the first temperature regulation line (Figure 1, unlabeled valves along line l30). Noh fails to specifically teach the temperature sensor sensing a temperature of the boil-off gas to be delivered to the second compressor after being cooled in the intercooler; and wherein the first temperature regulation valve is controlled according to the temperature of the boil-off gas sensed by the first temperature sensor to regulate the temperature of the boil-off gas delivered to the second compressor. However, Noh specifically teaches that pressure and temperature sensors may be used in operation with the configurations taught (¶ [0022]). It would have been obvious to incorporate the sensors in conjunction with the apparatuses responsible for heating and cooling, in addition to the valves responsible for transporting the heated or cooled gas, in order to maintain safety of the system and prevent excess heating and cooling.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN MICHAEL HESTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3644