DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the respective longer walls". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the reversal elements". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the same direction". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the fluid". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the intended fluid flow direction". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the reversal section". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the same hydraulic cross-section". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the respective longer walls". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the tube bundle". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the other end". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "at least two tube bundles". This limitation is unclear and confusing because is not clear how does this bundles referred to the previous mentioned bundle.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the tank plate". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Memory et al. (US 20030183378), hereinafter referred to as Memory.
Re claim 1, Memory teaches a tube for a heat exchanger (e.g. 11), comprising: a first tubular element (e.g. see Fig 6 right 36) and at least one second tubular element (e.g. see Fig 6 left 36) each tubular element including two juxtaposed longer walls (see walls on Fig 5-6) having essentially flat surface connected by a pair of shorter walls (walls on the thickness direction better seen in Fig 2) to form a closed profile of each tubular element, wherein in that the tube further comprises at least one reversal element (e.g. 40) configured to fluidly connect the first tubular element and the second tubular element (see Fig 6), wherein the tubular elements are arranged next to each other (see Fig 6), so that the respective longer walls are coplanar with respect to each-other (e.g. abstract, “The major dimensions (D) of the tube runs (36) lie in a common plane”), wherein the reversal element is made integral with the tubular elements (e.g. ¶ 30).
Re claim 2, Memory teaches the tube according to claim 1, wherein the reversal elements include a first twisted section (e.g. 44) and at least one second twisted section (e.g. 46), wherein the first twisted section protrudes directly from first tubular element, and the second twisted section protrudes directly from the second tubular element (e.g. see Fig 6).
Re claim 3, Memory teaches the tube according to claim 2, wherein the reversal element includes an essentially U-shaped section (e.g. 42) configured to fluidly connect the first twisted section and the second twisted section (e.g. see Fig 6).
Re claim 4, Memory teaches the tube according to claim 2, wherein the reversal element includes an essentially straight section (e.g. 48) configured to fluidly connect the first twisted section and the second twisted section (e.g. see Fig 6).
Re claim 5, Memory teaches the tube according to claim 2, wherein the second twisted section protrudes helically in one direction, wherein the first twisted section protrudes helically in the same direction as the second twisted section (e.g. see Fig 2 and ¶ 30).
Re claim 6, Memory teaches the tube according to claim 2, wherein the second twisted section protrudes helically in one direction, wherein the first twisted section protrudes helically in the same direction as the second twisted section (e.g. see Fig 2 and ¶ 30).
Re claim 7, Memory teaches the tube according to claim 1, wherein the first tubular element forms a first pass for the fluid, the second tubular element includes a second pass for the fluid, wherein the intended fluid flow direction in the second pass is in counterflow with respect to the intended fluid flow in the first pass (e.g. see Fig 6, the flow 38).
Re claim 8, Memory teaches the tube according to claim 1, wherein the reversal section includes an essentially the same hydraulic cross-section as any of the first tubular element or the second tubular element (e.g. ¶ 30).
Re claim 10, Memory teaches a heat exchanger comprising at least one tube including a first tubular element (e.g. see Fig 6 right 36) and at least one second tubular element (e.g. see Fig 6 left 36) each tubular element including two juxtaposed longer walls (see walls on Fig 5-6) having essentially flat surface connected by a pair of shorter walls (walls on the thickness direction better seen in Fig 2) to form a closed profile of each tubular element, wherein in that the tube further comprises at least one reversal element (e.g. 40) configured to fluidly connect the first tubular element and the second tubular element (see Fig 6), wherein the tubular elements are arranged next to each other (see Fig 6), so that the respective longer walls are coplanar with respect to each-other (e.g. abstract, “The major dimensions (D) of the tube runs (36) lie in a common plane”), wherein the reversal element is made integral with the tubular elements (e.g. ¶ 30); wherein the heat exchanger further comprises: at least one first manifold group (20) configured to receive one end of the tube and a second manifold group (22) configured to receive the other end of the tube bundle, wherein the first manifold group includes at least a first channel fluidly connected with the first tubular elements, so that a fluidal communication between at least two tube bundles is provided, and in that the second manifold group includes a second channel fluidly communicated with at least second tubular elements, wherein the manifold groups are arranged next to each-other (e.g. ¶ 25, “each of the tubes 28 has a first end 31 connected to the header 20, and a second end 32 connected to the header 22 to transfer the refrigerant between the headers 20, 22”).
Re claim 13, Memory teaches the heat exchanger according to claim 10, wherein the tube includes a third tubular element and a fourth tubular element, wherein the third and fourth tubular elements are fluidly connected by corresponding reversal elements (see Fig 3).
Claim(s) 1 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (US 20200011616), hereinafter referred to as Jang.
Re claim 1, Jang teaches a tube for a heat exchanger (e.g. Fig 1), comprising: a first tubular element (e.g. see Fig 3 right 11) and at least one second tubular element (e.g. see Fig 3 left 11) each tubular element including two juxtaposed longer walls (see walls on Fig 3-4) having essentially flat surface connected by a pair of shorter walls (walls on the thickness direction better seen in Fig 4) to form a closed profile of each tubular element, wherein in that the tube further comprises at least one reversal element (e.g. 12) configured to fluidly connect the first tubular element and the second tubular element (see Fig 3), wherein the tubular elements are arranged next to each other (see Fig 3), so that the respective longer walls are coplanar with respect to each-other (e.g. ¶ 4, “the two straight sections are symmetrically arranged relative to a symmetry plane”), wherein the reversal element is made integral with the tubular elements (e.g. ¶ 31).
Re claim 9, Jang teaches the tube according to claim 1, wherein the tube is an extruded tube (product by process) and further comprises a plurality of micro channels (e.g. see title).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Memory in view of Valeo (EP 3587990), hereinafter referred to as Valeo.
Re claim 11-12, Memory teaches the heat exchanger according to claim 10. Memory does not teach the limitation of wherein the first and the second manifold groups include a header plate including slots for receiving the tubes, a distribution plate configured to form the first and the second channel in the manifold groups, and the tank plate for closure of the manifold groups; wherein the header plate includes a plurality of teeth configured to fix the distribution plate and the tank plate.
However, Valeo teaches a heat exchanger comprising a first and the second manifold groups (e.g. 10,20) include a header plate (e.g. 11, 21) including slots (e.g. 110) for receiving the tubes (150), a distribution plate (e.g. 12,22) configured to form a first and a second channel in the manifold groups, and the tank plate (e.g. 13,14) for closure of the manifold groups; wherein the header plate includes a plurality of teeth (e.g. 15) configured to fix the distribution plate and the tank plate (see e.g. Fig 3).
Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Memory and integrated wherein the first and the second manifold groups include a header plate including slots for receiving the tubes, a distribution plate configured to form the first and the second channel in the manifold groups, and the tank plate for closure of the manifold groups; wherein the header plate includes a plurality of teeth configured to fix the distribution plate and the tank plate, as taught by Valeo, in order to limit the thermal coupling between its first manifold and is second manifold, while still resisting to the very high pressure resulting from the use of the super-critical refrigerant fluid (see Valeo ¶ 8).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (see PTO-892).
/NELSON J NIEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 7/22/2026