Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
Claim 1 limitation “a stationary lever” and “stationary closing lever”
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because the specification is silent about claim 1 limitation “stationary lever”, and “stationary closing lever” in the last paragraph.
Appropriate correction is required.
Examiner considers any lever as “a stationary lever” when the lever is not in motion.
Claim Objections
(a) Claim 1 is objected to because the specification is silent about the of the limitation “stationary lever”, and “stationary closing lever” in the last paragraph. Appropriate correction is required.
(b) Numbering of claim 13 is repeated twice. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the stationary closing lever" in the last paragraph. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim(s) that depend(s) from the rejected claim(s), that is, claim(s) 3-16 is/are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Barth et al., US Pub. App. 2011-0127780) in view of D2 (Ostrowski et al., US 6,053,542) and D3 (Bartel et al., US 6,109,674).
For claim 1, D1 discloses, in Figures 1-8, a lock for a motor vehicle, comprising:
a closing device including a closing pawl,
a locking mechanism (includes 2, 3, 4, 5, 6) including: a rotary latch (2) including a metallic main body having an angled region that forms a pre-latching element, and a pre- latching pawl (5) and a main latching pawl (6) (The body of the rotary latch 2 defines the main body. The angled region in the vicinity of 4 is the pre-latching element.),
wherein the rotary latch (2) is latched in a pre-latching position (Figure 3) and a main latching position (Figure 4),
wherein the pre-latching element of the locking mechanism is formed by the angled region of the metallic main body of the rotary latch (Since the angled region in the vicinity of 4 defines the pre-latching element, the pre-latching element of the locking mechanism is formed by the angled region of the main body of the rotary latch 2), and
wherein the angled region is placed in engagement with the closing pawl of the closing device, and
wherein the closing device further includes a stationary lever and the closing pawl is arranged pivotably on the stationary closing lever.
D2 teaches, in Figures 1-16, a vehicle door with closing mechanism 80 ensuring the engagement of detent 32 and forkbolt 30 when the forkbolt 30 moved to latch position. The closing pawl 86 drives the forkbolt 30, via other mechanisms, to latch position (Col.5, L 49-55; Col.6, L 1-5). The closing pawl 86 is pivotably connected to link 106, which is also considered as a stationary closing lever when not in motion. D2 teaches a closing mechanism for securely and safely closing the latch. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with a closing device including a closing pawl, and stationary lever such that the angled region is placed in engagement with the closing pawl of the closing device, and the closing pawl is arranged pivotably on the stationary closing lever, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a safe and secured closing latch.
D3 teaches a vehicle door latch with latching element 3 made of metallic fork 22 and pawl 23 (Col.3, L 42-45) providing strong and reliable latching components. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 to have a metallic rotary latch, as taught by D3 with a reasonable expectation of success of providing strong and reliable latching components.
D1 modified with features of D2 and D3 teaches the claimed limitations.
For claim 3, the combination teaches the lock for a motor vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the closing pawl is configured to be actuated by means of at least one the rotary latch, the pre-latching pawl and the main latching pawl (In D2 the closing pawl 86 is configured to be actuated by means of at least one the rotary latch 30, the pre-latching pawl 5 and the main latching pawl 6, via other structures, as in Figures 5-6. D1 modified with features of D2 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 4, the combination teaches the lock for a motor vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the closing pawl is actuated by the pre-latching pawl (In D2 the closing pawl 86 is actuated by the pre-latching pawl 5 via other structures, as in Figures 7-10. D1 modified with features of D2 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 5, the combination teaches the lock for a motor vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the closing pawl is released from engagement with the rotary latch by the pre-latching pawl (In D2 the closing pawl 86 is released from engagement with the rotary latch by the pre-latching pawl 5 via other structures, as in Figures 5-6. D1 modified with features of D2 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 6, the combination teaches the lock for a motor vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the closing pawl includes a driver, wherein the driver projects into a movement region of the pre-latching pawl (D2 teaches closing pawl 86 includes a drive lever 90, as in Figure 2. D1 modified with features of D2 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 7, the combination teaches the lock for a motor vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the pre-latching pawl includes a driver contour (D2 teaches closing pawl 86 includes a drive lever 90, which has a driver contour, as in Figure 2. D1 modified with features of D2 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 8, the combination teaches the lock for a motor vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the closing pawl is released from engagement with the rotary latch by the pre-latching pawl (In D2 the closing pawl 86 is released from engagement with the rotary latch by the pre-latching pawl 5 via other structures, as in Figures 5-6. D1 modified with features of D2 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 9, D1 discloses the lock for a motor vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the pre-latching pawl (5) is configured to be actuated independently of the main latching pawl (Para. [0016].)
For claim 10, D1 discloses the lock for a motor vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the pre-latching pawl is configured to unlock the locking mechanism and to release the closing pawl from an engagement region with the rotary latch (Movement of the pre-latching pawl 5 in clockwise direction, releases the locking mechanism. Para, [0033].)
For claim 11, D1 discloses the lock for a motor vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the main latching pawl (6) is spring-loaded (Para. [0039].)
For claim 12, D1 discloses the lock for a motor vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the pre- latching pawl (5) is spring-loaded (Para. [0039].)
For claim 13, D1 discloses the lock for a mother vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the rotary latch (2) includes a beveled region (Portion of 2 that engages with 5, see Figures 3 and 5.)
For claim 13, D1 discloses the lock for a motor vehicle according to claim 13, wherein the beveled region of the rotary latch (2) engages with the pre-latching pawl (5) such that the pre- latching position is achieved (Figure 3.)
For claim 14, the combination teaches the lock for a motor vehicle according to claim 7, wherein the driving contour is configured to hold the closing pawl at a distance from the angled region of the metal body of the rotary latch (in D2 driving contour of 106 is configured to hold the closing pawl 86 at a distance. D1 combined with the features of D2 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 15, D1 discloses the lock for a motor vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the pre- latching pawl (5) is configured unlock the locking mechanism from the pre-latching position (Para. [0033].)
For claim 16, D1 discloses the lock for a motor vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the pre- latching pawl (5) is configured unlock the locking mechanism from the main latching position (Para. [0033, 0039].)
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides examples of similar inventions. There are no suggestions in the prior art of record for combining any of the references to arrive at as claimed. A few of the prior art cited but not applied includes Shibayama (US 8,894,103); Stefanic (US 7,905,523); Weller (US 6969,023).
/NATHAN CUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675