DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/8/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
Applicant is advised to file an oath or declaration for the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9, 11-12, 14-22 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-9, 11-12, 14-22 are pending.
Claims 10 and 13 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 11, 12, 14-15, 17-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taylor et al. US Patent Publication No. 2018/0152764.
Regarding Claim 1, Taylor discloses a method for displaying a live stream page [Figure 1], comprising:
displaying a live stream page, the live stream page comprising a first area and a second area, wherein the first area is configured to display a live stream video [Figure 1 103];
displaying an interaction component in the second area based on content of the live stream video displayed in the first area, wherein the interaction component displayed in the second area varies according to a live stream event occurring in the live stream video displayed in the first area [Figure 1 chat interface 115];
and in response to a triggering operation for the interaction component, performing a component function corresponding to the interaction component [0047].
Regarding claims 2, 14, and 22, Taylor disclose a method, an electronic device and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein displaying the interaction component in the second area based on the content of the live stream video displayed in the first area comprises:
obtaining live stream information, the live stream information representing the content of the live stream video currently displayed in the live stream page [Figure 3C];
determining at least one interaction component based on the live stream information;
displaying the at least one interaction component in the second area [Figure 3B].
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Taylor disclose a method and an electronic device wherein the live stream information comprises live stream event information, the live stream event information represents a live stream event occurring in the live stream video;
and determining the at least one interaction component based on the live stream information comprises:
determining the interaction component based on the live stream event corresponding to the live stream event information in the live stream information [0018-0022].
Regarding Claims 5 and 17, Taylor discloses a method and an electronic device wherein the method further comprises:
determining a priority of the respective interaction component based on the live stream information [Figure 5 box 524];
and determining presentation information of the respective interaction component based on the priority of the respective interaction component, the presentation information representing a display position of the interaction component in the second area, and/or a time sequence for displaying the interaction component within a time period [0062 time based association of items].
Regarding Claims 6 and 18, Taylor discloses a method and an electronic device wherein the live stream information comprises a streaming duration of the live stream video;
and determining the priority of the respective interaction component based on the live stream information comprises:
determining the priority of the respective interaction component based on the streaming duration [Figure 6B and [0078]; In box 618, the content access application 263 generates a timeline user interface showing the items featured in each video segment 242 of the live video stream 103. For purposes of the timeline user interface, the segments used in some instances may correspond to larger shopping segments that span multiple video segments 242].
Regarding Claims 7 and 19, Taylor discloses a method and an electronic device wherein after determining the at least one interaction component based on the live stream information [Figure 7], the method further comprises:
determining a display mode of the interaction component based on the live stream information, wherein the display mode is an embedded display or a suspension display [[0018]; The player interface 102 may include various player controls 106 that may allow a viewer to jump to an earlier point in the live video stream, pause the live video stream, stop the live video stream, adjust the volume of the live video stream, and so on. One or more graphical overlays 109 may be superimposed over a portion of the frame of the live video stream, where a selection of a graphical overlay 109 may cause an interactive action relative to one or more items to be performed];
displaying the at least one interaction component in the second area, comprises:
displaying the respective interaction component in the second area based on the display mode of the respective interaction component [Figure 3D].
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Taylor disclose a method and an electronic device wherein after determining the at least one interaction component based on the live stream information, and the method further comprises:
determining a fixation manner of the interaction component based on the live stream information, wherein the fixation manner is a resident state or an adjustable state;
and in response to a component movement operation, adjusting a position of the interaction component in the adjustable state within the second area [0047].
Regarding Claim 11, an electronic device, comprising:
a processor, and a memory communicatively connected to the processor [0085];
the memory storing computer-executable instructions;
the processor executing the computer-executable instructions stored in the memory to implement a method for displaying a live stream page comprising [0093]:
displaying a live stream page, the live stream page comprising a first area and a second area, wherein the first area is configured to display a live stream video [Figure 1 103];
displaying an interaction component in the second area based on content of the live stream video displayed in the first area, wherein the interaction component displayed in the second area varies according to a live stream event occurring in the live stream video displayed in the first area [Figure 1 chat interface 115];
and in response to a triggering operation for the interaction component, performing a component function corresponding to the interaction component [0047].
Regarding Claim 12, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer-readable storage medium stores computer-executable instructions, the computer-executable instructions, when executed by a processor [0093], implement a method for displaying a live stream page comprising:
displaying a live stream page, the live stream page comprising a first area and a second area, wherein the first area is configured to display a live stream video [Figure 1 103];
displaying an interaction component in the second area based on content of the live stream video displayed in the first area, wherein the interaction component displayed in the second area varies according to a live stream event occurring in the live stream video displayed in the first area [Figure 1 chat interface 115];
and in response to a triggering operation for the interaction component, performing a component function corresponding to the interaction component [0047].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor et al. US Patent Publication No. 2018/0152764 in view of Xu et al. US Patent Publication No. 2024/0205507.
Regarding claims 9 and 21, Taylor fails to disclose a preview component in the second area. In an analogous art, Xu discloses a method and an electronic device wherein displaying the interaction component in the second area based on the content of the live stream video comprises:
displaying a preview component in the second area based on the content of the live stream video; and in response to a triggering on the preview component, displaying the at least one interaction component in the second area [Figure 4 & 0081].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Taylor and Xu, before the effective filing date of the invention in order to provide additional viewing angles of the live video stream [Xu 0007].
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor et al. US Patent Publication No. 2018/0152764 in view of Anders et al. US Patent Publication No. 2020/0128286.
Regarding Claims 4 and 16, Taylor discloses the method and electronic device of claims 2 and 14 respectively, however Xu fails to disclose determining a number of times for triggering an interaction event in the live streaming corresponding to the live stream page.
In an analogous art, Anders discloses a method and electronic device wherein the live stream information further comprises live streaming information, the live streaming information represents a number of times an interaction event is triggered in the live streaming [Figure 2];
and determining the interaction component based on the live stream event corresponding to the live stream event information in the live stream information comprises:
determining, based on the live streaming information in the live stream information, a number of times for triggering the interaction event in the live streaming corresponding to the live stream page [0027; product search program 200 monitors a user interface of a mobile device and detects a user interaction of the user clicking a “like” button during a product review of a blogger on a social media broadcast occurring on a web browser. Accordingly, product search program 200 determines that a user interaction with the live streaming event is occurring];
determining the interaction component based on the number of times for triggering the interaction event and the live stream event corresponding to the live stream event information [0032; present an option to purchase the identified product within the captured portion of the live streaming event of audio/video source that the user liked].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Taylor and Anders, before the effective filing date of the invention, in order to identify a first product that is depicted in the captured portion of the live stream that corresponds to the user interaction [Anders 0005].
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Casassovici US Patent Publication No. 20220072419 – A method for providing a real-time interactive platform for live streams is provided, the method comprising steps: (a) providing a server having a hardware processor connected to a data repository, the server configured to host an overlay extension for a live stream via the Internet providing the real-time interactive platform for a plurality of users; (b) providing a data collector within an oracle, wherein the oracle is configured to interface the live stream to obtain statistics from the live stream; (c) generating timestamped events, via the data collector, wherein the events described what is occurring on the live stream in real-time; and, (d) turning the events into gameplay interactions, via a game logic algorithm, for the plurality of users.
Chang et al. US Patent Publication No. 2024/0098331 - receiving downstream data including a first video stream and first content information, the first video stream being transmitted from a first device and the first content information describing a graphical object; receiving first interaction information indicating a first user interaction feedback to the graphical object at the first device, generating a first content texture including the graphical object, an appearance of the graphical object being determined using the first content information and the first user interaction feedback included in the first interaction information; generating a video frame including the first content texture and a second content texture, the second content texture being generated from the first video stream; displaying the video frame at the first device and a second device; receiving a second user interaction feedback to the video frame at the second device; and transmitting second interaction information indicating the user interaction feedback.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAHAR AQIL RIAZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424