DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “evaporator component” in claims 1, 12 and 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 12-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li, Y, et al ("Flexible NIXene-based Janus porous fibrous membranes for sustainable solar-driven desalination and emulsions separation", Journal of Cleaner Production. May 2022 (05.2022). 347, p. 1-9).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a system and method of use of the system for solar energy driven seawater desalination, the system comprising a porous fibrous membrane (i.e. mesh) for solar seawater desalination having hydrophobic MXene/PDMS coating and hydrophilic polylactic acid/titanium dioxide membrane to drive desalination via evaporation across the membrane while functioning as a salt rejection barrier (title, abstract), the membrane is fabricated as a mesh on a support thereby forming evaporator (see sections 2.1-2.3, Fig 1), the mesh on a support member was evaluated for use in evaporation and solar conversion rates (see section 3.1, Figs 3-5), the use of embedded TiO2 improved hydrophobicity of PLA membranes and can be used to fabricate novel solar driven fibrous membrane materials (see section 4).
Regarding claim 2, in Li, Ti and PDMS read upon metal and polymer respectively.
Regarding claims 4-5, Li has taught Ti as part of hydrophilic layer.
Regarding claims 6-7, Li has taught PDMS as part of the hydrophobic layer.
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches a system and method of use of the system for solar energy driven seawater desalination, the system comprising a porous fibrous membrane (i.e. mesh) for solar seawater desalination having hydrophobic MXene/PDMS coating and hydrophilic polylactic acid/titanium dioxide membrane to drive desalination via evaporation across the membrane while functioning as a salt rejection barrier (title, abstract), the membrane is fabricated as a mesh on a support thereby forming evaporator (see sections 2.1-2.3, Fig 1), the mesh on a support member was evaluated for use in evaporation and solar conversion rates (see section 3.1, Figs 3-5), the use of embedded TiO2 improved hydrophobicity of PLA membranes and can be used to fabricate novel solar driven fibrous membrane materials (see section 4).
Regarding claim 13-14, in Li as set forth above the top layer absorbs sunlight and bottom layer retains salt with the membrane driving evaporation via trasnsport.
Regarding claim 15, in Li, Figures 3-7, as set forth above, the evaporation occurs within chambers to drive desalination.
Regarding claim 16, Li has taught Ti as part of hydrophilic layer.
Regarding claim 17, Li has taught PDMS as part of the hydrophobic layer.
Regarding claim 18, Li teaches a system and method of use of the system for solar energy driven seawater desalination, the system comprising a porous fibrous membrane (i.e. mesh) for solar seawater desalination having hydrophobic MXene/PDMS coating and hydrophilic polylactic acid/titanium dioxide membrane to drive desalination via evaporation across the membrane while functioning as a salt rejection barrier (title, abstract), the membrane is fabricated as a mesh on a support thereby forming evaporator (see sections 2.1-2.3, Fig 1), the mesh on a support member was evaluated for use in evaporation and solar conversion rates (see section 3.1, Figs 3-5), the use of embedded TiO2 improved hydrophobicity of PLA membranes and can be used to fabricate novel solar driven fibrous membrane materials (see section 4).
Regarding claim 20, Li has taught the hydrophilic PDMS layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 8-9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, Y, et al ("Flexible NIXene-based Janus porous fibrous membranes for sustainable solar-driven desalination and emulsions separation", Journal of Cleaner Production. May 2022 (05.2022). 347, p. 1-9) taken in combination with Wang et al (US 2020/0255303).
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches all limitations as set forth above, however does not teach the sheets formed as a flower petal.
Wang teaches a photothermal solar evaporation system (title, abstract), Wang teaches the system 200 is solar powered with photothermal material having support portion 201A and evaporation portion 201B, the evaporation portion being cup-shaped (Fig 2, [0032]) or may be arms or like the petals of a flower ([0041] Fig 2-4) the physical separation of water evaporation and solar absorption portions allows adaptable design [0031].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to construct the evaporator mesh of Li in the design of system of Wang having a cup/flower shaped evaporation portion, as taught by Wang, and integrate the adaptable design of Wang in the mesh evaporator of Li.
Regarding claims 8-9 and 19, Li teaches all limitations as set forth above, however Li does not teach sub-structure extending distally from evaporator component for enhanced salt nucleation and evaporation.
Wang teaches a photothermal solar evaporation system (title, abstract), Wang teaches the system 200 is solar powered with photothermal material having support portion 201A and evaporation portion 201B, the evaporation portion being cup-shaped (Fig 2, [0032]) or may be arms or like the petals of a flower ([0041] Fig 2-4) the physical separation of water evaporation and solar absorption portions allows adaptable design [0031], a support layer 210 is connected with pumping layer 212 and photothermal layer 214 (Fig 2, [0034]), salt 224 is precipitated along pumping layer 212 where evaporation occurs where it drops off from the outer surface (Fig 2, [0040]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to construct the evaporator mesh of Li in the design of system of Wang having a cup shaped evaporation portion, as taught by Wang, along distal end of evaporator that splits in two, as taught by Wang to allow salt that builds up to drop off naturally as taught by Wang and integrate the adaptable design of Wang in the mesh evaporator of Li.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, Y, et al ("Flexible NIXene-based Janus porous fibrous membranes for sustainable solar-driven desalination and emulsions separation", Journal of Cleaner Production. May 2022 (05.2022). 347, p. 1-9) taken in combination with Park et al (KR 20150052973, with reference made to Clarivate Analytics Machine Translation Obtained 16 July 2026).
Regarding claim 10, modified Li teaches all limitations as set forth above, however Li does not teach the mesh is substantially a Dutch weave.
Park teaches a solar collector system for evaporation of water and forming salt using black steel mesh (title, abstract), Park teaches “it is preferable to use a twilled Dutch Weave mesh of 8 mesh which is dense and has a high density and is well permeable to liquid and air” (see P5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to construct the evaporator mesh of Li in known methods of mesh used for solar evaporation such as the Dutch twill that Park substantially teaches is preferable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 11, Li, Y, et al ("Flexible NIXene-based Janus porous fibrous membranes for sustainable solar-driven desalination and emulsions separation", Journal of Cleaner Production. May 2022 (05.2022). 347, p. 1-9) taken in combination with Park et al (KR 20150052973, with reference made to Clarivate Analytics Machine Translation Obtained 16 July 2026) is regarded as the closest relevant prior art, Li teaches a system and method of use of the system for solar energy driven seawater desalination, the system comprising a porous fibrous membrane (i.e. mesh) for solar seawater desalination having hydrophobic MXene/PDMS coating and hydrophilic polylactic acid/titanium dioxide membrane to drive desalination via evaporation across the membrane while functioning as a salt rejection barrier (title, abstract), the membrane is fabricated as a mesh on a support thereby forming evaporator (see sections 2.1-2.3, Fig 1), the mesh on a support member was evaluated for use in evaporation and solar conversion rates (see section 3.1, Figs 3-5), the use of embedded TiO2 improved hydrophobicity of PLA membranes and can be used to fabricate novel solar driven fibrous membrane materials (see section 4), however Li does not teach wherein the mesh comprises three Shute wires in a repeating pattern and eight warp wires in pairs in a unit cell and one or more of the Shute wires and the warp wires have a diameter between 0.1 mm and 5 mm.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mount (US 3,159,554) teaches solar distillation. Lee (US 2015/0353379) teaches solar distillation. Al-Sulaiman (US 10,456,780) teaches solar distillation. Armstrong (US 2020/0071192 teaches solar distillation. Jang (US 2020/0101420) teaches solar distillation. Lee et al (US 12,157,683) teaches solar distillation composite material.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772