DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1 - 6, 9 - 11, 13 - 15, 17, 18 are pending. Claims 7, 8, 12, 16 are canceled. Claims 1, 2, 14, 15 are independent. File date on 2-4-2025.
35 USC § 112(f) Analysis
Because these claim limitation(s) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) limitations. The specification in paragraph [0038] discloses the following:
Paragraph [0038]: Various embodiments may be implemented in one or a combination of hardware, firmware, and software. Embodiments of the invention may also be implemented as instructions stored on a machine-readable medium, which may be read and executed by at least one processor to perform the operations described herein. A machine-readable medium may include any mechanism for storing or transmitting information in a form readable by a machine (for example, a computer)
The Applicant has defined the means for performing the indicated steps as computing software executing by a computing system (i.e. a computing system comprising a CPU or processor executing a sequence of instructions or software). The specification has disclosed sufficient structure and steps to perform the indicated “means for” functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1 - 3, 5, 10, 11, 13 - 15, 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US PGPUB No. 20080313462) in view of Lee et al. (Patent No. TW 202046759 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhao discloses an apparatus for controlling a security establishment process between a first communication device (A) and a second communication device (B) over a transmission link. (Zhao ¶ 027: a secure peer link establishment is started. A first message from mesh point A is sent to mesh point B in which a random number, RA, generated by mesh point A is inserted in this first message. A first message from mesh point B is sent to mesh point A in which a random number, RB, generated by mesh point B is inserted in this first message.; ¶ 028: the temporal key is computed, where the temporal key is the data encryption key, TK. After the two parties exchange the random numbers, RA and RB, using the first two messages of the mesh link establishment protocol, the TK is derived ,,, This process binds the derived keys to the MPA and MPB identifiers of party A and party B, respectively. The unique identifiers MPA and MPB may be the MAC addresses of mesh point A and mesh point B, respectively. In various embodiments, the derived keys may be used only for communication between mesh point A and mesh point B. With kdf based on a pseudo-random function,)
Zhao does not explicitly disclose an apparatus adapted to use at least a portion of other-purpose information for use by a key derivation function provided at the second communication device (B) to obtain a key for the security establishment process.
However, Lee discloses wherein the apparatus is adapted to use at least a portion of other-purpose information for implicit signaling of a key derivation parameter for use by a key derivation function provided at the second communication device (B) to obtain a key for the security establishment process. (Lee page 48: The network entity 305 can use the master key and the identification code of the UE 115-b to derive the UE specific key. For example, the network entity 305 may execute a key derivation function, where the key derivation function accepts the primary key and one or more identifiers of the UE 115-b (other-purpose information) as input and outputs the UE-specific initial AS security key.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhao for an apparatus adapted to use at least a portion of other-purpose information for use by a key derivation function provided at the second communication device (B) to obtain a key for the security establishment process as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Lee for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables multiple types of input such as other purpose parameters as input to key generation functions. (Lee page 48)
Regarding Claims 2, 15, Zhao discloses an apparatus for controlling a security establishment process between a first communication device (A) and a second communication device (B) over a transmission link and a method of controlling a security establishment process between a first communication device (A) and a second communication device (B) over a transmission link. (Zhao ¶ 027: a secure peer link establishment is started. A first message from mesh point A is sent to mesh point B in which a random number, RA, generated by mesh point A is inserted in this first message. A first message from mesh point B is sent to mesh point A in which a random number, RB, generated by mesh point B is inserted in this first message.; ¶ 028: the temporal key is computed, where the temporal key is the data encryption key, TK. After the two parties exchange the random numbers, RA and RB, using the first two messages of the mesh link establishment protocol, the TK is derived ,,, This process binds the derived keys to the MPA and MPB identifiers of party A and party B, respectively. The unique identifiers MPA and MPB may be the MAC addresses of mesh point A and mesh point B, respectively. In various embodiments, the derived keys may be used only for communication between mesh point A and mesh point B. With kdf based on a pseudo-random function,)
Zhao does not explicitly disclose for a) read or receive other-purpose information to derive an implicit key derivation parameter from at least a portion of the other-purpose information (portion (entire portion) of identification code used by key derivation function), and for b) use the derived key derivation parameter for a key derivation function to obtain a key for the security establishment process, wherein the other-purpose information was exchanged for a purpose other than key derivation and wherein the apparatus is adapted to perform at least one of the combining the at least portion of the other-purpose information with a fixed number.
However, Lee discloses wherein the apparatus is adapted to:
a) read or receive other-purpose information to derive an implicit key derivation parameter from at least a portion of the other-purpose information; (Lee page 48: The network entity 305 can use the master key and the identification code of the UE 115-b to derive the UE specific key.; (identification code originally obtained for identification purposes, other-purpose information)) and
b) use the derived key derivation parameter for a key derivation function to obtain a key for the security establishment process, wherein the other-purpose information was exchanged for a purpose other than key derivation and wherein the apparatus is adapted to perform at least one of the combining the at least portion of the other-purpose information with a fixed number and setting the count input value to a minimum value which depends on the received key derivation parameter. (Lee page 48: The network entity 305 can use the master key and the identification code of the UE 115-b to derive the UE specific key. For example, the network entity 305 may execute a key derivation function, where the key derivation function accepts the primary key and one or more identifiers of the UE 115-b (combining) as input and outputs the UE-specific initial AS security key. The UE identifier may include a Globally Unique Temporary Identifier (GUTI), Serving Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (S-TMSI), Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (TMSI), or one of these or other identifiers used in UE 115-b Any combination.; (inputs: primary key and one or more identifiers))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhao for a) read or receive other-purpose information to derive an implicit key derivation parameter from at least a portion of the other-purpose information (portion (entire portion) of identification code used by key derivation function), and for b) use the derived key derivation parameter for a key derivation function to obtain a key for the security establishment process, wherein the other-purpose information was exchanged for a purpose other than key derivation and wherein the apparatus is adapted to perform at least one of the combining the at least portion of the other-purpose information with a fixed number as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Lee for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables multiple types of input such as other purpose parameters as input to key generation functions. (Lee page 48)
Regarding Claim 3, Zhao-Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the received key derivation parameter is a random parameter and wherein the apparatus is adapted to supply the key derivation parameter as input value to the key derivation function or to process the key derivation parameter to obtain at least one of a count input value and a salt input value of the key derivation function. (Zhao ¶ 028: where RA is a random bit string provided by A in its first link establishment message and RB is a random bit string provided by B in its first link establishment message. (random parameters) TK may be considered the mesh analog of the 802.11 data encryption key. This process binds the derived keys to the MPA and MPB identifiers of party A and party B, respectively. The unique identifiers MPA and MPB may be the MAC addresses of mesh point A and mesh point B, respectively. In various embodiments, the derived keys may be used only for communication between mesh point A and mesh point B.; (selected: adapted to supply the key derivation parameter as input value to the key derivation function, a salt input value of the key derivation function)
Regarding Claim 5, Zhao-Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second communication device (B) is comprised in a medical device or a personal healthcare device or a smart home device. (Zhao ¶ 040: communication device 600 may be realized as a portable wireless communication device, such as a personal digital assistant (PDA), a laptop or portable computer with wireless communication capability, a web tablet, a wireless telephone, a wireless headset, a pager, an instant messaging device, a digital camera, a television, a medical device, or other device that may receive and/or transmit information wirelessly; (selected: medical device))
Regarding Claim 10, Zhao-Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 1, including a preamble message. (Zhao ¶ 027: a secure peer link establishment is started. A first message from mesh point A is sent to mesh point B in which a random number, RA, generated by mesh point A is inserted in this first message. A first message from mesh point B is sent to mesh point A in which a random number, RB, generated by mesh point B is inserted in this first message.; ¶ 028: the temporal key is computed, where the temporal key is the data encryption key, TK. After the two parties exchange the random numbers, RA and RB, using the first two messages of the mesh link establishment protocol, the TK is derived ,,, This process binds the derived keys to the MPA and MPB identifiers of party A and party B, respectively. The unique identifiers MPA and MPB may be the MAC addresses of mesh point A and mesh point B, respectively. In various embodiments, the derived keys may be used only for communication between mesh point A and mesh point B. With kdf based on a pseudo-random function,; (first message, preamble message))
Zhao does not explicitly disclose the other-purpose information is a security establishment identifier.
However, Lee discloses wherein the other-purpose information is a security establishment identifier. (Lee page 48: The network entity 305 can use the master key and the identification code of the UE 115-b to derive the UE specific key. For example, the network entity 305 may execute a key derivation function, where the key derivation function accepts the primary key and one or more identifiers of the UE 115-b as input and outputs the UE-specific initial AS security key.; (identifier utilized within generation of a security key))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhao for the other-purpose information is a security establishment identifier as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Lee for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables multiple types of input such as other purpose parameters as input to key generation functions. (Lee page 48)
Regarding Claim 11, Zhao-Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 2, including a pseudorandom function. (Zhao ¶ 027: a secure peer link establishment is started. A first message from mesh point A is sent to mesh point B in which a random number, RA, generated by mesh point A is inserted in this first message. A first message from mesh point B is sent to mesh point A in which a random number, RB, generated by mesh point B is inserted in this first message.; ¶ 028: the temporal key is computed, where the temporal key is the data encryption key, TK. After the two parties exchange the random numbers, RA and RB, using the first two messages of the mesh link establishment protocol, the TK is derived ,,, This process binds the derived keys to the MPA and MPB identifiers of party A and party B, respectively. The unique identifiers MPA and MPB may be the MAC addresses of mesh point A and mesh point B, respectively. In various embodiments, the derived keys may be used only for communication between mesh point A and mesh point B. With kdf based on a pseudo-random function,)
Zhao does not explicitly disclose the other-purpose information is read from a code pattern and/or exchanged through an out-of-band channel and/or expanded to a predetermined bitstring and/or used as an input to a pseudorandom function.
However, Lee discloses wherein the other-purpose information is read from a code pattern and/or exchanged through an out-of-band channel and/or expanded to a predetermined bitstring and/or used as an input to a pseudorandom function. (Lee page 48: The network entity 305 can use the master key and the identification code of the UE 115-b to derive the UE specific key. For example, the network entity 305 may execute a key derivation function, where the key derivation function accepts the primary key and one or more identifiers of the UE 115-b as input and outputs the UE-specific initial AS security key.; (selected: used as an input to a pseudorandom function))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhao for the other-purpose information is read from a code pattern and/or exchanged through an out-of-band channel and/or expanded to a predetermined bitstring and/or used as an input to a pseudorandom function as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Lee for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables multiple types of input such as other purpose parameters as input to key generation functions. (Lee page 48)
Regarding Claim 13, Zhao-Lee discloses a communication device comprising an apparatus according to claim 1. (Zhao ¶ 038: Various embodiments may be implemented in one or a combination of hardware, firmware, and software. Embodiments of the invention may also be implemented as instructions stored on a machine-readable medium, which may be read and executed by at least one processor to perform the operations described herein. A machine-readable medium may include any mechanism for storing or transmitting information in a form readable by a machine (for example, a communication device, an apparatus))
Claim 1:
Zhao discloses an apparatus for controlling a security establishment process between a first communication device (A) and a second communication device (B) over a transmission link. (Zhao ¶ 027: a secure peer link establishment is started. A first message from mesh point A is sent to mesh point B in which a random number, RA, generated by mesh point A is inserted in this first message. A first message from mesh point B is sent to mesh point A in which a random number, RB, generated by mesh point B is inserted in this first message.; ¶ 028: the temporal key is computed, where the temporal key is the data encryption key, TK. After the two parties exchange the random numbers, RA and RB, using the first two messages of the mesh link establishment protocol, the TK is derived ,,, This process binds the derived keys to the MPA and MPB identifiers of party A and party B, respectively. The unique identifiers MPA and MPB may be the MAC addresses of mesh point A and mesh point B, respectively. In various embodiments, the derived keys may be used only for communication between mesh point A and mesh point B. With kdf based on a pseudo-random function,)
Zhao does not explicitly disclose an apparatus adapted to use at least a portion of other-purpose information for use by a key derivation function provided at the second communication device (B) to obtain a key for the security establishment process.
However, Lee discloses wherein the apparatus is adapted to use at least a portion of other-purpose information for implicit signaling of a key derivation parameter for use by a key derivation function provided at the second communication device (B) to obtain a key for the security establishment process. (Lee page 48: The network entity 305 can use the master key and the identification code of the UE 115-b to derive the UE specific key. For example, the network entity 305 may execute a key derivation function, where the key derivation function accepts the primary key and one or more identifiers of the UE 115-b as input and outputs the UE-specific initial AS security key.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhao for an apparatus adapted to use at least a portion of other-purpose information for use by a key derivation function provided at the second communication device (B) to obtain a key for the security establishment process as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Lee for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables multiple types of input such as other purpose parameters as input to key generation functions. (Lee page 48)
Regarding Claim 14, Zhao-Lee discloses a method of controlling a security establishment process between a first communication device (A) and a communication device (B) over a transmission link, (Zhao ¶ 027: a secure peer link establishment is started. A first message from mesh point A is sent to mesh point B in which a random number, RA, generated by mesh point A is inserted in this first message. A first message from mesh point B is sent to mesh point A in which a random number, RB, generated by mesh point B is inserted in this first message.; ¶ 028: the temporal key is computed, where the temporal key is the data encryption key, TK. After the two parties exchange the random numbers, RA and RB, using the first two messages of the mesh link establishment protocol, the TK is derived ,,, This process binds the derived keys to the MPA and MPB identifiers of party A and party B, respectively. The unique identifiers MPA and MPB may be the MAC addresses of mesh point A and mesh point B, respectively. In various embodiments, the derived keys may be used only for communication between mesh point A and mesh point B. With kdf based on a pseudo-random function,)
Zhao does not explicitly disclose using at least a portion of other-purpose information for use by a key derivation function provided at the second communication device (B) to obtain a key for the security establishment process wherein the other-purpose information was exchanged for a purpose other than key derivation and at least one of combining the at least portion of the other-purpose information with a fixed number and setting the count input value to a minimum value which depends on the received key derivation parameter.
However, Lee discloses wherein the method comprises using at least a portion of other-purpose information for implicit signaling of a key derivation parameter for use by a key derivation function provided at the second communication device (B) to obtain a key for the security establishment process wherein the other-purpose information was exchanged for a purpose other than key derivation, (Lee page 48: The network entity 305 can use the master key and the identification code of the UE 115-b to derive the UE specific key. For example, the network entity 305 may execute a key derivation function, where the key derivation function accepts the primary key and one or more identifiers of the UE 115-b as input and outputs the UE-specific initial AS security key.), and at least one of combining the at least portion of the other-purpose information with a fixed number and setting the count input value to a minimum value which depends on the received key derivation parameter. (Lee page 48: The network entity 305 can use the master key and the identification code of the UE 115-b to derive the UE specific key. For example, the network entity 305 may execute a key derivation function, where the key derivation function accepts the primary key and one or more identifiers of the UE 115-b as input and outputs the UE-specific initial AS security key. The UE identifier may include a Globally Unique Temporary Identifier (GUTI), Serving Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (S-TMSI), Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (TMSI), or one of these or other identifiers used in UE 115-b Any combination.; (inputs: primary key and one or more identifiers))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhao for using at least a portion of other-purpose information for use by a key derivation function provided at the second communication device (B) to obtain a key for the security establishment process wherein the other-purpose information was exchanged for a purpose other than key derivation and at least one of combining the at least portion of the other-purpose information with a fixed number and setting the count input value to a minimum value which depends on the received key derivation parameter as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Lee for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables multiple types of input such as other purpose parameters as input to key generation functions. (Lee page 48)
Regarding Claim 17, Zhao-Lee discloses a computer program product comprising code means for producing the steps of claim 14 when run on a computer device. (Zhao ¶ 038: Various embodiments may be implemented in one or a combination of hardware, firmware, and software. Embodiments of the invention may also be implemented as instructions stored on a machine-readable medium, which may be read and executed by at least one processor to perform the operations described herein. A machine-readable medium may include any mechanism for storing or transmitting information in a form readable by a machine (for example, a computer); (system functions implemented as software code modules))
Regarding Claim 18, Zhao-Lee discloses a system comprising two or more communication devices according to claim 13. (Zhao ¶ 038: a secure peer link establishment is started. A first message from mesh point A is sent to mesh point B in which a random number, RA, generated by mesh point A is inserted in this first message. A first message from mesh point B is sent to mesh point A in which a random number, RB, generated by mesh point B is inserted in this first message.; ¶ 028: the temporal key is computed, where the temporal key is the data encryption key, TK. After the two parties exchange the random numbers, RA and RB, using the first two messages of the mesh link establishment protocol, the TK is derived ,,, This process binds the derived keys to the MPA and MPB identifiers of party A and party B, respectively. The unique identifiers MPA and MPB may be the MAC addresses of mesh point A and mesh point B, respectively. In various embodiments, the derived keys may be used only for communication between mesh point A and mesh point B. With kdf based on a pseudo-random function,)
6. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Lee and further in view of Selander et al. (Patent No. WO 2020151809 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhao-Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
Zhao does not explicitly disclose the first communication device (A) comprises a commissioning tool configured to use the security establishment process to interact with the second communication device (B) for at least one selected from a group of commissioning, configuring, authenticating and authorizing.
However, Selander discloses wherein the first communication device (A) comprises a commissioning tool configured to use the security establishment process to interact with the second communication device (B) for at least one selected from a group of commissioning, configuring, authenticating and authorizing. (Selander page 4: there is provided a method of operating a network controller for enabling secure communication between network endpoints in a distributed network. The network controller has a secure channel with each of the network endpoints. According to the method, the network controller is providing, in connection with establishment of a network flow for communication between the network endpoints, symmetric keying material associated with and valid only for that network flow. The network controller is further enabling provisioning of the symmetric keying material to the network endpoints for allowing cryptographically secure communication between the network endpoints on a per-flow basis.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhao for the first communication device (A) comprises a commissioning tool configured to use the security establishment process to interact with the second communication device (B) for at least one selected from a group of commissioning, configuring, authenticating and authorizing as taught by Selander. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Selander for the benefits achieved from the enhanced security of a system that enables the configuration of secure communication between network-connected system. (Selander page 4)
7. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Lee and further in view of Boyen (US Patent No. 8,254,571).
Regarding Claim 6, Zhao-Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 3.
Zhao does not explicitly disclose the apparatus is adapted to compute the salt input value as a logical XOR combination of the received key derivation parameter and a transmitted own key derivation parameter, or as a logical XOR combination of the received and own key derivation parameters (R_B,R_A) and a preconfigured salt input value set, or as a hash function of the computed salt input values, or as a cryptographic function of a function of the received and own key derivation parameter (R_B,R_A), or as a subset of bits of the computed salt input value.
However, Boyen discloses wherein the apparatus is adapted to compute the salt input value as a logical XOR combination of the received key derivation parameter and a transmitted own key derivation parameter, or as a logical XOR combination of the received and own key derivation parameters (R_B,R_A) and a preconfigured salt input value set, or as a hash function of the computed salt input values, or as a cryptographic function of a function of the received and own key derivation parameter (R_B,R_A), or as a subset of bits of the computed salt input value. (Boyen col 4: The hash function in a key derivation function may be applied in an iterative fashion. For example, in a first iteration, a hash function may receive a password and a salt as inputs. In each subsequent iteration, the output of the previous iteration may be used as the input for the hash function. The output of the hash function following the last iteration may be used as the key derivation function output.; (selected: a hash function of the computed salt input values))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhao for the apparatus is adapted to compute the salt input value as a logical XOR combination of the received key derivation parameter and a transmitted own key derivation parameter, or as a logical XOR combination of the received and own key derivation parameters (R_B,R_A) and a preconfigured salt input value set, or as a hash function of the computed salt input values, or as a cryptographic function of a function of the received and own key derivation parameter (R_B,R_A), or as a subset of bits of the computed salt input value as taught by Boyen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Boyen for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system the utilizes multiple processing parameters such as a salt value of a hash of a salt value in the processing of security keys. (Boyen col 4)
8. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Lee and further in view of Atkinson et al. (US PGPUB No. 20210365547).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhao-Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 2.
Zhao does not explicitly disclose the apparatus is adapted to use the received key derivation parameter together with a shared password or a pre-shared salt input value associated to a connection to be established.
However, Atkinson discloses wherein the apparatus is adapted to use the received key derivation parameter together with a shared password or a pre-shared salt input value associated to a connection to be established. (Atkinson ¶ 126: For exemplary application one (app one), an app one shared password may be derived from an app one shared public key and an app one shared private key. A key derivation function derives a derived key for app one by using inputs such as, for example, an app one shared password and the user/device app password.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhao for the apparatus is adapted to use the received key derivation parameter together with a shared password or a pre-shared salt input value associated to a connection to be established as taught by Atkinson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Atkinson for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables the utilization of multiple parameters such as shared password in the generation of security keys. (Atkinson ¶ 126)
Conclusion
/KYUNG H SHIN/ 7-11-2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447