DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s filing dated 02/04/2025 has been received and made of record.
Application 19/101,140 is a national stage entry of PCT/KR2023/011568, which claims foreign priority to Indian Application IN202241044993, originally filed 07/20/2023.
Claims 1-15 are pending in Application 19/101,140.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, 8, 13, 14, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the (IOC) response” should read ”the IOC response”, “an managed object instance” should read “a managed object instance”, “receiving, form the MNO” should read “receiving, from the MNO”, and “receive, form the MNO” should read “receive, from the MNO”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samsung (“pCR TR 28.829 Business use case - MNO exposes Network Performance Monitoring”, 3GPP TSG SA WG5 Meeting #144-e) in view of NRM (“3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Telecommunication management; Generic Network Resource Model (NRM) Integration Reference Point (IRP); Information Service (IS) (Release 17)”, 3GPP TS 28.622 v17.2.0).
Regarding claim 1, Samsung discloses A method performed by a mobile network operator (MNO) in a wireless communication system for network performance measurement (Samsung: Title, “MNO exposes Network Performance Monitoring”), the method comprising:
receiving, from a distribution system operator (DSO), a request for measuring performance metrics of a cell of a network (Samsung: Sections 6.Y.1-6.Y.2, “The DSO operations engineer is responsible for deploying monitoring and control mechanisms in the network”);
generating (Samsung: Sections 6.Y.1-6.Y.2, “The DSO network operations center engineer, using the exposed monitoring mechanism interface, can request which metrics, under which conditions, will be provided”);
and transmitting, to the DSO, the (Samsung: Sections 6.Y.1-6.Y.2, “The reports are delivered according to the above configuration”).
Samsung does not explicitly disclose the use of an information object class (IOC).
However, NRM teaches the use of an information object class (IOC) (NRM: Section 3.1, “Information Object Class (IOC)… describes information that can be passed/used in management interfaces”).
Samsung and NRM are analogous art in the same field of endeavor as the instant invention as all are drawn to 3GPP technical specifications and implementations. The differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains; that is, it would have been obvious to incorporate NRM’s IOC into the system of Samsung to allow for compatibility with a widely deployed formalized means of network management and reporting (NRM: Section 3.1, “Information Object Class (IOC)… describes information that can be passed/used in management interfaces”).
Samsung-NRM teaches [Claim 2] The method of The method of wherein the request comprises a threshold value for each of the performance metrics, a cell availability and a network availability, and location information of the cell (Lat/long, TAC, cellid) used to scope the object instance to be monitored (Samsung: Section 6.Y.2, “The DSO network operations center engineer, using the exposed monitoring mechanism interface, can request which metrics, under which conditions, will be provided. The interface provides a means by which the alarms can be configured, including frequency and parameters to report”, and associated table; NRM: Section 4.3.16.1, “This IOC represents a threshold monitor for performance metrics…”).
Samsung-NRM teaches [Claim 3] The method of claim 1, further comprises transmitting, to the DSO, a notification for threshold crossing for calculated performance metrics, in case that the calculated performance metrics exceed respective threshold values (Samsung: Section 6.Y.2, “The DSO network operations center engineer, using the exposed monitoring mechanism interface, can request which metrics, under which conditions, will be provided. The interface provides a means by which the alarms can be configured, including frequency and parameters to report”, and associated table; NRM: Section 4.3.16.1, “This IOC represents a threshold monitor for performance metrics…”).
Samsung-NRM teaches [Claim 4] The method of The method of wherein the network performance measurement is based on a network resource model (NRM) configuration (NRM: Title and Section 4.2.1, Figure 4.2.1-4, “Threshold monitoring control NRM fragment”).
Samsung-NRM teaches [Claim 5] The method of The method of wherein the performance metrics comprise one or more cell performance measurements and one or more key performance identifiers (KPIs) (Samsung: Section 6.Y.2, “The DSO network operations center engineer, using the exposed monitoring mechanism interface, can request which metrics, under which conditions, will be provided. The interface provides a means by which the alarms can be configured, including frequency and parameters to report”, and associated table; NRM: Section 4.3.31.1, “When the performance metric requires performance metric production on multiple managed objects, which is for example the case with KPIs…”).
Samsung-NRM teaches [Claim 6] The method of claim 1, further comprises transmitting, to the DSO, a notification for threshold crossing for calculated performance metrics (Samsung: Section 6.Y.2, “The DSO network operations center engineer, using the exposed monitoring mechanism interface, can request which metrics, under which conditions, will be provided. The interface provides a means by which the alarms can be configured, including frequency and parameters to report”, and associated table; NRM: Section 4.3.22.1, “To receive notifications, a MnS consumer has to create a NtfSubscriptionControl instance…”).
Samsung-NRM teaches [Claim 7] The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, from the DSO, a request to create a managed object instance (MOI) for ntfsubscriptioncontrol IOC to subscribe for notify threshold crossing notification (Samsung: Section 6.Y.2, “The DSO network operations center engineer, using the exposed monitoring mechanism interface, can request which metrics, under which conditions, will be provided. The interface provides a means by which the alarms can be configured, including frequency and parameters to report”, and associated table; NRM: Section 4.3.22.1, “To receive notifications, a MnS consumer has to create a NtfSubscriptionControl instance…”).
Regarding claim 8, Samsung discloses A method performed by a distribution system operator (DSO) in a wireless communication system for network performance measurement (Samsung: Title, “MNO exposes Network Performance Monitoring”, and Sections 6.Y.1-6.Y.2, “The DSO operations engineer is responsible for deploying monitoring and control mechanisms in the network”), the method comprising:
measuring performance metrics of a cell of a network (Samsung: Sections 6.Y.1-6.Y.2, “The DSO network operations center engineer, using the exposed monitoring mechanism interface, can request which metrics, under which conditions, will be provided”);
and receiving, from the MNO, (Samsung: Sections 6.Y.1-6.Y.2, “The reports are delivered according to the above configuration”).
Samsung does not explicitly disclose the use of an information object class (IOC).
However, NRM teaches the use of an information object class (IOC) (NRM: Section 3.1, “Information Object Class (IOC)… describes information that can be passed/used in management interfaces”).
Samsung and NRM are analogous art in the same field of endeavor as the instant invention as all are drawn to 3GPP technical specifications and implementations. The differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains; that is, it would have been obvious to incorporate NRM’s IOC into the system of Samsung to allow for compatibility with a widely deployed formalized means of network management and reporting (NRM: Section 3.1, “Information Object Class (IOC)… describes information that can be passed/used in management interfaces”).
Samsung-NRM teaches [Claim 9] The method of claim 8,wherein the request comprises a threshold value for each of the performance metrics, a cell availability and a network availability, and location information of the cell (Lat/long, TAC, cellid) used to scope the object instance to be monitored, and wherein the network performance measurement is based on an NRM configuration (Samsung: Section 6.Y.2, “The DSO network operations center engineer, using the exposed monitoring mechanism interface, can request which metrics, under which conditions, will be provided. The interface provides a means by which the alarms can be configured, including frequency and parameters to report”, and associated table; NRM: Section 4.3.16.1, “This IOC represents a threshold monitor for performance metrics…”, Title and Section 4.2.1, Figure 4.2.1-4, “Threshold monitoring control NRM fragment”).
Samsung-NRM teaches [Claim 10] The method of claim 8, further comprises receiving, from the MNO, a notification for threshold crossing for calculated performance metrics, in case that the calculated performance metrics exceed respective threshold values (Samsung: Section 6.Y.2, “The DSO network operations center engineer, using the exposed monitoring mechanism interface, can request which metrics, under which conditions, will be provided. The interface provides a means by which the alarms can be configured, including frequency and parameters to report”, and associated table; NRM: Section 4.3.16.1, “This IOC represents a threshold monitor for performance metrics…”).
Samsung-NRM teaches [Claim 11] The method of The method of wherein the performance metrics comprise one or more cell performance measurements and one or more key performance identifiers (KPIs) (Samsung: Section 6.Y.2, “The DSO network operations center engineer, using the exposed monitoring mechanism interface, can request which metrics, under which conditions, will be provided. The interface provides a means by which the alarms can be configured, including frequency and parameters to report”, and associated table; NRM: Section 4.3.31.1, “When the performance metric requires performance metric production on multiple managed objects, which is for example the case with KPIs…”).
Samsung-NRM teaches [Claim 12] The method of claim 8, further comprising:
receiving, from the MNO, a notification for threshold crossing for calculated performance metrics (Samsung: Title, “MNO”, and Section 6.Y.2, “The DSO network operations center engineer, using the exposed monitoring mechanism interface, can request which metrics, under which conditions, will be provided. The interface provides a means by which the alarms can be configured, including frequency and parameters to report”, and associated table; NRM: Section 4.3.22.1, “To receive notifications, a MnS consumer has to create a NtfSubscriptionControl instance…”).
Samsung-NRM teaches [Claim 13] The method of claim 8, further comprises transmitting, to the MNO, a request to create a managed object instance (MOI) for ntfsubscriptioncontrol IOC to subscribe for notify threshold crossing notification (Samsung: Title, “MNO”, Section 6.Y.2, “The DSO network operations center engineer, using the exposed monitoring mechanism interface, can request which metrics, under which conditions, will be provided. The interface provides a means by which the alarms can be configured, including frequency and parameters to report”, and associated table; NRM: Section 4.3.22.1, “To receive notifications, a MnS consumer has to create a NtfSubscriptionControl instance…”).
Regarding claim 14, Samsung discloses A mobile network operator (MNO) in a wireless communication system for network performance measurement (Samsung: Title, “MNO exposes Network Performance Monitoring”), the MNO comprising:
a transceiver configured to transmit and receive a signal (Samsung: Title, “MNO exposes Network Performance Monitoring”; inherent in the mobile network);
and a processor coupled to the transceiver, wherein the processor is configured (Samsung: Title, “MNO exposes Network Performance Monitoring”; inherent in the mobile network) to:
receive, from a distribution system operator (DSO), a request for measuring performance metrics of a cell of a network (Samsung: Sections 6.Y.1-6.Y.2, “The DSO operations engineer is responsible for deploying monitoring and control mechanisms in the network”),
generate (Samsung: Sections 6.Y.1-6.Y.2, “The DSO network operations center engineer, using the exposed monitoring mechanism interface, can request which metrics, under which conditions, will be provided”), and
transmit, to the DSO, the (Samsung: Sections 6.Y.1-6.Y.2, “The reports are delivered according to the above configuration”).
Samsung does not explicitly disclose the use of an information object class (IOC).
However, NRM teaches the use of an information object class (IOC) (NRM: Section 3.1, “Information Object Class (IOC)… describes information that can be passed/used in management interfaces”).
Samsung and NRM are analogous art in the same field of endeavor as the instant invention as all are drawn to 3GPP technical specifications and implementations. The differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains; that is, it would have been obvious to incorporate NRM’s IOC into the system of Samsung to allow for compatibility with a widely deployed formalized means of network management and reporting (NRM: Section 3.1, “Information Object Class (IOC)… describes information that can be passed/used in management interfaces”).
Regarding claim 15, Samsung discloses A distribution system operator (DSO) in a wireless communication system for network performance measurement (Samsung: Sections 6.Y.1-6.Y.2, “The DSO operations engineer is responsible for deploying monitoring and control mechanisms in the network”), the DSO comprising:
a transceiver configured to transmit and receive a signal (Samsung: Sections 6.Y.1-6.Y.2, “The DSO operations engineer is responsible for deploying monitoring and control mechanisms in the network”; the transceiver is inherent in the wireless mobile communication system);
and a processor coupled to the transceiver, wherein the processor is configured (Samsung: inherent in the MNO) to:
transmit, to a mobile network operator (MNO) (Samsung: Title, “MNO exposes Network Performance Monitoring”), a request for measuring performance metrics of a cell of a network (Samsung: Sections 6.Y.1-6.Y.2, “The DSO operations engineer is responsible for deploying monitoring and control mechanisms in the network… The DSO network operations center engineer, using the exposed monitoring mechanism interface, can request which metrics, under which conditions, will be provided”), and
receive, from the MNO, (Samsung: Sections 6.Y.1-6.Y.2, “The reports are delivered according to the above configuration”).
Samsung does not explicitly disclose the use of an information object class (IOC).
However, NRM teaches the use of an information object class (IOC) (NRM: Section 3.1, “Information Object Class (IOC)… describes information that can be passed/used in management interfaces”).
Samsung and NRM are analogous art in the same field of endeavor as the instant invention as all are drawn to 3GPP technical specifications and implementations. The differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains; that is, it would have been obvious to incorporate NRM’s IOC into the system of Samsung to allow for compatibility with a widely deployed formalized means of network management and reporting (NRM: Section 3.1, “Information Object Class (IOC)… describes information that can be passed/used in management interfaces”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Abdelkader (US 2023/0024320 A1) describes a network communication system using an NtfSubscriptionControl IOC instance for network management and reporting.
Gautam (US 2023/0024320 A1) describes a cellular network that uses IOC to target network functions from which to collect performance metrics and to apply threshold-based notifications.
/IMAD HUSSAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453