DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's preliminary amendment filed on 04 February 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-15 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-15 are still pending in this application, with claim 1 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation recites: “...the plurality of first light generating devices comprises a primary first light generating device and a secondary first light generating device...,” which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear if each of the plurality of first light generating devices comprises a primary first light generating device and a secondary first light generating device, or if the plurality of first light generating devices (individually) comprises a primary first light generating device and a secondary first light generating device (i.e., one of the plurality comprises a primary first light generating device, and another of the plurality comprises a secondary first light generating device). For purposes of examination, and in light of the instant disclosure, the Examiner will interpret the limitation as one of the plurality comprises a primary first light generating device, and another of the plurality comprises a secondary first light generating device. Clarification from the Applicant is requested and appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-15 are rejected as being dependent upon rejected claim 1.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation also recites: “...the control system is configured to control the first light generating device and the second light generating device...,” which renders the claim indefinite. There are a plurality of first light generating devices introduced in lines 1-2 of claim 1, thus, it is unclear as to which of the previously recited first light generating devices the above cited “the first light generating device” intends to further limit. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the limitation as referring to the plurality of first light generating devices, or at least one thereof. Clarification from the Applicant is requested and appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-15 are rejected as being dependent upon rejected claim 1.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, each of the limitations recites: “...the first light generating device...,” which renders the claim indefinite. There are a plurality of first light generating devices introduced in lines 1-2 of claim 1, thus, it is unclear as to which of the previously recited first light generating devices the above cited “the first light generating device” intends to further limit. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the limitation as referring to the plurality of first light generating devices, or at least one thereof. Clarification from the Applicant is requested and appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 6, the limitation recites: “...the first luminescent material is configured in the reflective mode...,” which renders the claim indefinite. No “reflective mode” has been previously introduced in the claim, thus, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Further, it is unclear what “reflective mode” is to impart to the first luminescent material. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the limitation as follows: --...the first luminescent material is configured in a reflective mode, by which the first luminescent material light is reflected in a direction opposite to the direction in which the first device light is incident on the first luminescent material ...--. Clarification from the Applicant is requested and appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 7, the limitation recites: “...the first luminescent material is configured in the transmissive mode...,” which renders the claim indefinite. No “transmissive mode” has been previously introduced in the claim, thus, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Further, it is unclear what “transmissive mode” is to impart to the first luminescent material. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the limitation as follows: --...the first luminescent material is configured in a transmissive mode, by which the first luminescent material light is transmitted through and emits from the first luminescent material in the same direction in which the first device light is incident on the first luminescent material...--. Clarification from the Applicant is requested and appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hikmet et al. (WO 2021/063878 A1, herein referred to as: Hikmet).
Regarding claim 1, as is best understood, Hikmet discloses a light generating system (Figs. 1A-4B) comprising a plurality of first light generating devices (110, 130), a second light generating device (140), a first luminescent material (210), and a control system (300), wherein: the plurality of first light generating devices (110, 130; the Examiner notes that the claim makes no mention of where the lights are arranged in the system, thus any two lights can reasonably form first light generating devices) comprises a first laser light source (10, 30; the Examiner notes that the claim does not require both or each of the plurality of first light generating devices to comprise a first laser light source. Thus, one of the plurality of first light generating devices can comprises a first laser light source and meet the claimed limitation) and is configured to generate first device light (111 via 10, and 131 via 30) having a first device light peak wavelength (the first light produced by 10 and 30 has two peak wavelengths, for 111: “...first light source light 111 may have a peak maximum li, wherein li is selected from the range of 400-480 nm, though in the range of 200-400 nm, such as 300-400 nm, like 300-380 nm, may also be possible...”) and having a first spectral power distribution (111 has a first spectral power distribution implicit to 111); wherein the first device light peak wavelength is selected from the wavelength range of 425-465 nm (as outlined in the citation above); the second light generating device (140) comprises a second laser light source (40) and is configured to generate second device light (141) having a second device light peak wavelength (“...the blue fourth light source light 141 has a second peak maximum l2 selected from the range of 450-480 nm...”) and having a second spectral power distribution (141 has a second spectral power distribution implicit to 141), different from the first spectral power distribution (“...the first light source and the fourth light source may be of the same type, or may also be of different types. Hence, the spectral power distributions of the first light source light and fourth light source light may in embodiments be essentially the same or may in other embodiments be different...”); wherein the second device light peak wavelength is selected from the range of 470-490 nm (as noted in the citation above, e.g., 470 to 480 nm is within the claimed range); the first luminescent material (210) is configured in a light receiving relationship with the first light generating device (as shown in Fig. 1A) and is configured to convert at least part of the first device light (111) into first luminescent material light (211) having a luminescent material emission centroid wavelength within the green-yellow wavelength range (“...luminescent material light 211 may have an emission band having wavelengths in one or more of the green spectral wavelength range and the yellow spectral wavelength range...”); and the first luminescent material (210) is not configured in a light receiving relationship with the second light generating device (140, as shown in Fig. 1A); wherein the plurality of first light generating devices (110, 130) comprises a primary first light generating device (10) and a secondary first light generating device (30), wherein the first luminescent material (210) is configured in a light receiving relationship with one of the primary first light generating device and the secondary first light generating device (the first luminescent material 210 is configured in a light receiving relationship with the primary first light generating device 10, as shown in Fig. 1A), and wherein the first luminescent material (210) is not configured in a light receiving relationship with the other one of the primary first light generating device and the secondary first light generating device (210 is not configured in a light receiving relationship with the secondary first light generating device 30, as shown in Fig. 1A); the light generating system (1000) is configured to generate system light (1001) comprising one or more of the first device light (111), the second device light (141), and the first luminescent material light (211; “...device 1000 further optionally comprises an optical element 430 configured to combine and/or homogenize optionally unconverted first light source light 111, the second light source light 121, the third light source light 131, the fourth light source light 141, and the first luminescent material light 211, to provide device light 1001...”) wherein the system light (1001) has a controllable correlated color temperature (page 33); the control system (300) is configured to control the first light generating device (110) and the second light generating device (140), such that (a) in a first operational mode of the light generating system (1000), the system light (1001) has a first correlated color temperature CCT1, wherein CCT1 > 4000 K (page 33), (b) in a second operational mode of the light generating system (1000), the system light (1001) has a second correlated color temperature (CCT2), wherein CCT2-CCT1 > 1000 K (page 33), (c) in at least one of the operational modes, the system light (1001) has a correlated color temperature selected from the range of at least 7000 K (page 33, the end range includes 7000K), and (d) the system light (1001) in both operational modes has a color rendering index of at least 70 (as recited on page 33).
Regarding claim 2, as is best understood, Hikmet discloses (Figs. 1A-4B) the first light generating device (110 of 110, 130) and the first luminescent material (210) are configured such that part of the first device light (111) is converted into the luminescent material light (211); wherein the system light (1001) comprises (i) at least part of non-converted first device light (111; “...device 1000 further optionally comprises an optical element 430 configured to combine and/or homogenize optionally unconverted first light source light 111, the second light source light 121, the third light source light 131, the fourth light source light 141, and the first luminescent material light 211, to provide device light 1001...”), (ii) the second device light (121; as noted in the citation above), and (iii) the first luminescent material light (211; as noted in the citation above).
Regarding claim 3, Hikmet discloses (Figs. 1A-4B) the system light (1001) comprises (i) at least part of the first device light (111) bypassing the first luminescent materialmaterial light 211, to provide device light 1001...”), (ii) the second device light
Regarding claim 7, as is best understood, Hikmet discloses (Figs. 1A-4B) the first luminescent material (210) is configured in a transmissive mode (as shown in Figs. 1A-1C), by which the first luminescent material light is transmitted through and emits from the first luminescent material (210, 1200) in the same direction in which the first device light (111) is incident on the first luminescent material (as shown in Figs. 1A-1C); and wherein the light generating system (1000) comprises a first optical element (410) configured to focus the first device light (111) on at least part of the first luminescent material (as shown in Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 8, Hikmet discloses (Figs. 1A-4B) the first luminescent material3B5012:Ce, wherein A comprises one or more of Y, La, Gd, Tb and Lu, and wherein B comprises one or more of Al, Ga, In and Sc (page 31, note the 5 appears to be an s on page 31, but is understood to be a 5, the same follows for “i” being interpreted as a 1. Such chemical compounds must comprise the respective subscripts in such a chemical formulation of the recited compositions for A and B).
Regarding claim 10, Hikmet discloses (Figs. 1A-4B) a beam combiner (420) configured to combine at least part of the first device light (“...the device 1000 further optionally comprises an optical element 430 configured to combine and/or homogenize optionally unconverted first light source light 111, the second light source light 121, the third light source light 131, the fourth light source light 141, and the first luminescent material light 211, to provide device light 1001...,” and the positional arrangement of said elements shown in Figs. 1A-1C, implies said first light 111 must traverse 420) and at least part of the second device light (141) into a beam of device light (1001); wherein the beam combiner (420) is selected from the group of a dichroic beam combiner and a polarizing beam combiner (“...optical element 420 may e.g. be a dichroic mirror or dichroic combiner...”).
Regarding claim 11, Hikmet discloses (Figs. 1A-4B) second optics (430) configured to beam shape the system light (1001) into a beam having a full width half maximum of at maximum 2o (“...Collimation may be executed with one or more (other) optics, like collimation elements, such as lenses and/or parabolic mirrors. In embodiments, the beam of light source light may be relatively highly collimated, such as in embodiments <2° (FWHM), more especially <1° (FWHM), most especially <0.5° (FWHM). Hence, <2° (FWHM) may be considered (highly) collimated light source light...for instance, the optical element 430 may comprise a CPC like optical element...the optical element comprises a compound parabolic like collimator, such as a CPC (compound parabolic concentrator)...”); and wherein the first device light peak wavelength is selected from the wavelength range of 430-460 nm (“...the first light source light 111 may have a peak maximum li, wherein li is selected from the range of 400-480 nm...” and thus, the first device light peak wavelength is selected from the wavelength range of 430-460 nm), and/or wherein the second device light peak wavelength (A2) is selected from the wavelength range of 475-485 nm (“...the fourth light source light 141 may have a peak maximum IA, wherein l* is selected from the range of 450-480 nm...,” and thus, the second device light peak wavelength (A2) is selected from the wavelength range of 475-485 nm).
Regarding claim 12, as is best understood, Hikmet discloses (Figs. 1A-4B) the control system (300) is configured to control the first light generating device (10, 110) and the second light generating device (40, 140), such that in an operational mode of the light generating system (1000) the system light (1001) has a correlated color temperature selected from the range of 7000-10000 K (page 33, the end range includes 7000K, and thus, a correlated color temperature selected from the range of 7000-10000 K).
Regarding claim 14, Hikmet discloses (Figs. 1A-4B) in an operational mode the control system (300) controls the system light (1001) such that when increasing the correlated color temperature, a radiant flux of the system light (1001) is increased (e.g., for at least, the blue component, see tables 1-2), and that when decreasing the correlated color temperature, a radiant flux of the system light (1001) is decreased (as shown in tables 1-2 and as outlined on pages 34-35, i.e., the spectral power output for blue increases and decreases in the claimed manner, thus the radiant flux for this wavelength must increase and decrease in the claimed manner).
Regarding claim 15, Hikmet discloses (Figs. 1A-4B) a lighting device selected from the group of a lamp (1000, Figs. 1A-1C), a luminaire (1000, 2, Fig. 2), a projector device (1000, Figs. 1A-1C), comprising the light generating system according to claim 1 (as outlined above in claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hikmet, in view of Kadotani (US 2023/0236487 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Hikmet teaches or suggests (Figs. 1A-4B) a luminescent body (210, 1200) comprising the first luminescent material (210, 1200), (ii) a first thermally conductive body (1005) configured in thermal contact with the first luminescent material (e.g., as shown in Figs. 1A-1C).
While Hikmet does alternatively teach or suggest that the laser sources may be comprise a bank with a thermally conductive body (e.g., a bank of first, second, third, or fourth light sources disposed on a thermally conductive body), Hikmet does not explicitly teach a laser bank comprising the first laser light source, the second laser light source, and a second thermally conductive body configured in thermal contact with the first laser light source and the second laser light source.
Kadotani teaches or suggests (Figs. 2-9) a laser bank comprising the first laser light source (any first one of the light sources shown in Figs. 2-9), the second laser light source (any of the second laser light sources shown in Figs. 2-9), and a second thermally conductive body (e.g., 16, 115, 215) configured in thermal contact with the first laser light source and the second laser light source (as shown in Figs. 2-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Hikmet and incorporated the teachings of a laser bank comprising the first laser light source, the second laser light source, and a second thermally conductive body configured in thermal contact with the first laser light source and the second laser light source, such as taught or suggested by Kadotani, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improving the performance and efficiency of the device, and/or increasing the longevity of the device (i.e., by proving an embodiment by which the light sources can be cooled, and/or arranged in a manner by which all of the light sources can be accessed for maintenance, replacement, or repair in the same position about the device).
Regarding claim 5, Hikmet teaches or suggests (Figs. 1A-4B) the luminescent body (210, 1200) comprises a ceramic body (“...the luminescent body comprises the first luminescent material, and wherein the luminescent body is a ceramic body...”).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hikmet, in view of Takagi (US 2020/0387059 A1).
Regarding claim 6, as is best understood, Hikmet teaches or suggests (Figs. 1A-4B) the light generating system comprises a first optical element (410) configured to focus the first device light (111) on at least part of the first luminescent material (e.g., as shown in Figs. 1A-1C).
Hikmet does not explicitly teach that the first luminescent material is configured in a reflective mode, by which the first luminescent material light is reflected in a direction opposite to the direction in which the first device light is incident on the first luminescent material.
Takagi teaches or suggests (Fig. 2) the first luminescent material (42) is configured in a reflective mode (as shown in Fig. 2), by which the first luminescent material light (YL) is reflected in a direction opposite to the direction in which the first device light (BL) is incident on the first luminescent material (as shown in Fig. 2); and wherein the light generating system comprises a first optical element (26) configured to focus the first device light (BL) on at least part of the first luminescent material (42; as shown in Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Hikmet and incorporated the teachings of the first luminescent material is configured in a reflective mode, by which the first luminescent material light is reflected in a direction opposite to the direction in which the first device light is incident on the first luminescent material, such as taught or suggested by Takagi, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of producing an efficient light generating system, and/or reduce a dimension of the light generating system.
Claims 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hikmet.
Regarding claim 9, Hikmet teaches or suggests (Fig. 1C) one or more of: a second luminescent material (220) configured to convert at least part of the first device light (111) into second luminescent material light (221) having a second centroid wavelength (λc,2) in the yellow-red wavelength range (page 33); wherein λc,1< λc,2 (the orange-red wavelength range, or red, is greater than the green-yellow wavelength range).
While light source 130 of Hikmet produces the claimed third light characteristics (i.e., “...a third light generating device comprising a third laser light source and configured to generate third device light having a third device light peak wavelength and having a third spectral power distribution, different from the first spectral power distribution and different from the second spectral power distribution; wherein the third device light peak wavelength is selected from the range of 600-650 nm...”), said source is cited for forming said first light source.
Hikmet alternatively teaches utilizing a plurality of light sources in a bank, at the same or mutually different spectral power distributions (pages 3-6 and pages 7-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Hikmet and incorporated the teachings of a third light generating device comprising a third laser light source and configured to generate third device light having a third device light peak wavelength and having a third spectral power distribution, different from the first spectral power distribution and different from the second spectral power distribution; wherein the third device light peak wavelength is selected from the range of 600-650 nm, such as alternatively taught or suggested by Hikmet, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. In the instant case, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to increase the brightness of the selected beam wavelength distribution.
Regarding claim 13, Hikmet teaches or suggests (Figs. 1A-4B) in one of the operational modes of the light generating system (1000; pages 28-29) the system light (1001) has a spectral power distribution in the visible wavelength range wherein at least 5% of the spectral power is provided by the second device light (40, 141; e.g., 1-45%); wherein at least 25% of the spectral power distribution is provided by the first device light (by 130, of 110 and 130 is 4-55%. Additionally, the contribution of luminescent material light is in the range of 30-80%, which implies 111 contributes more than 25% as power is lost in conversion of light 111), and wherein at least 30% of the spectral power distribution is provided by the first luminescent material light (30-80%); and/or in one of the operational modes of the light generating system (1000) the system light (1001) has at least 25% of the spectral power distribution is provided by the first device light (by 130, of 110 and 130 is 4-55%. Additionally, the contribution of luminescent material light is in the range of 30-80%, which implies 111 contributes more than 25% as power is lost in conversion of light 111), and wherein at least 30% of the spectral power distribution is provided by the first luminescent material light (30-80%).
Hikmet does not explicitly teach that in said one or more operational modes, the light generating system (1000) the system light (1001) has a spectral power distribution in the visible wavelength range wherein less than 1% of the spectral power is provided by the second device light (141; 1-45%, such as 2- 40%).
However, Hikmet alternatively teaches or suggests (pages 16 and 28) the device can produce not white light but colored light, thus suggesting the ability to have some of the cited sources produce no light (0%) or input less than 1 percent of the spectral power.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Hikmet and incorporated the teachings of the light generating system (1000) the system light (1001) has a spectral power distribution in the visible wavelength range wherein less than 1% of the spectral power is provided by the second device light, such as alternatively taught or suggested by Hikmet, in order to increase the utility and marketability of the device (e.g., by providing an embodiment or mode by which the system can produce a colored light output).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: please see US-20150184067-A1 to Kajikawa, pertinent to the primary and secondary first light generating devices (e.g., the device of Kajikawa comprises an emission in the range of the first light generating device, and a phosphor component which produces a same wavelength band as that of 30, 130 of Hikmet), and WO 2021/009160, pertinent to the bank and plurality of light sources and primary and secondary light source arrangements.
/COLIN J CATTANACH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875