35 USC 102 rejections
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8, 10-14, 16, 17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by JP 6357016 (Volvo).
As per claim 1, VOLVO discloses a vehicle system comprising: a turbocharger comprising: a turbine configured to receive exhaust from an engine-turbine exhaust conduit, a turbocharger in an engine 100 for a vehicle comprises a turbine 280 coupled to an exhaust valve receive exhaust gas therefrom; (see English Machine Translation (EMT) and abstract), a shaft 600 coupled to the turbine, and a motor 424 coupled to the shaft; a controller 460 configured to cause the motor to rotate the shaft (a shaft is coupled to the turbine and is controlled by an ECU controlling a motor to rotate the shaft; EMT abstract); an injection housing directly coupled to the turbine or to a turbine-housing exhaust conduit that is directly coupled to the turbine, the injection housing being configured to receive the exhaust from the turbine or from the turbine-housing exhaust conduit (a housing is coupled to the turbine and receives exhaust from the turbine; EMT abstract; figure 1 ); and a dosing module coupled to the injection housing, the dosing module comprising an injector configured to inject treatment fluid into the injection housing (a dosing module is attached to the housing which is a device designed to inject a treatment fluid into the housing; EMT page 3, last paragraph).
As per claim 2, VOLVO discloses the vehicle system of claim 1, further comprising: an engine-compressor air conduit configured to provide air to an engine (a compressor includes an air conduit to transfer air to the engine; EMT abstract, claim 1 ); wherein the turbocharger further comprises a compressor coupled to the engine-compressor air conduit and configured to provide the air to the engine-compressor air conduit (the turbocharger comprises a compressor coupled to the intake valves to provide air to the conduit to transfer air to the engine; EMT abstract, claim 1; figure 1 ); and wherein the shaft is coupled to the compressor (the shaft is coupled to the
compressor; EMT abstract).
As per claim 3, VOLVO discloses the vehicle system of claim 2, wherein: the compressor comprises: an inner portion, a wheel coupled to the shaft and configured to "i" be received at least partially within the inner portion and "ii" rotate (the compressor comprises an inner portion which contains a rotating mechanism functioning as a wheel; EMT abstract, claim 3), and a compressor sensor configured to "i" be received at least partially within the inner portion and "ii" provide a first compressor signal associated with a first rotational speed of the wheel (the compressor includes, within an inner portion, a rotation speed sensor for detecting rotation speed of the compressor; EMT page 4, para 1-2); and the controller is configured to: receive the first compressor signal from the compressor sensor, determine the first rotational speed based on the first compressor signal (the ECU detects rotation speed, including a first rotation speed, from the rotation
speed sensor; EMT page 4, para 1-2), determine a second rotational speed of the wheel based on the first rotational speed of the wheel, the second rotational speed of the wheel greater than the first rotational speed of the wheel, and cause the motor to rotate the wheel at the second rotational speed (the ECU determines a second rotation speed of the wheel based on the first rotational speed and rotates the wheel at a second rotational speed to implement a continuously variable transmission, which includes where the second rotational speed is greater than the first; EMT page 7, para 5-6).
As per claim 6, VOLVO discloses the vehicle system of claim 2, further comprising: a valve disposed downstream of the compressor and upstream of the engine-compressor air conduit, the valve configured to regulate flow of the air from the compressor to the engine compressor air conduit (the compressor is at an intake valve which is downstream of the compressor but upstream of the conduit which transfers air to the engine, the valve being a mechanism to regulate flow of air from the compressor to the engine; fig 1-2; EMT abstract, claims 1-2).
As per claim 8, VOLVO discloses the vehicle· system of claim 2, further comprising: a valve disposed downstream of an air source configured to provide the air and upstream of the compressor, the valve configured to regulate flow of the air from the air source to the compressor (valve 140 is upstream of the compressor but downstream of an air source, the valve being a mechanism to regulate air flow to
the compressor; EMT abstract; page 3, para 2); wherein the compressor comprises: an inner portion, a wheel coupled to the shaft and configured to "i" be received at least partially within the inner portion and "ii" rotate (the compressor comprises an inner portion which contains a rotating mechanism_ functioning as a wheel; EMT abstract, claim 3), and a compressor sensor configured to "i" be received at least partially within the inner portion and "ii" provide a first compressor signal associated with a rotational speed of the wheel (the compressor includes, within an inner portion, a rotation speed sensor for detecting rotation speed of the compressor; EMT page 4, para
1-2); and wherein the controller is configured to: receive the compressor signal from the compressor sensor, determine the rotational speed _based on the compressor signal (the ECU detects rotation speed, including a first rotation speed, from the rotation speed sensor; EMT page 4, para 1-2), determine a target position based on the rotational speed, and cause the valve to operate at the target position (the ECU determines a target operation intake flow rate based on the rotational speed and causes the valve to operate at the target by controlling the rotational speed of the compressor; EMT abstract; page 4, para 1-2).
As per claim 10, VOLVO discloses the vehicle system of claim 1, further comprising: a housing-catalyst exhaust conduit directly coupled to the injection housing; and a selective catalytic reduction "SCR" catalyst member coupled to the housing-catalyst exhaust conduit such that the SCR catalyst member is directly coupled to the turbine (attached to the housing is SCR converter with a conduit for connection; page 3,
para 4).
As per claim 11, VOLVO discloses the vehicle system of claim 1. VOLVO further discloses an exhaust sensor downstream of the injection housing and configured to provide "i" a first exhaust signal associated with the exhaust and "ii" a second exhaust signal associated with the exhaust (a temperature sensor detects exhaust temperature over time which includes first and second exhaust signals; EMT page 4, para
3); wherein the turbine comprises: an inner portion, a wheel coupled to the shaft and configured to "i" be received at least partially within the inner portion and "ii" rotate (the turbine is part of an inner portion which .contains a rotating mechanism attached to the shaft functioning as a wheel; EMT page 5, para 2-3); and a turbine sensor configured to "i" be received at least partially within the inner portion and "ii" provide a first turbine signal associated with a first rotational speed of the wheel (the compressor includes, within an inner portion, a rotation speed ·sensor for detecting rotation speed of the compressor, which includes the rotation speed of the turbine; EMT page 4, para
1-2), and wherein the controller is configured to: receive the first turbine signal from the turbine sensor, determine the first rotational speed of the wheel based on the first turbine signal (the ECU detects rotation speed, including a first rotation speed, from the rotation speed sensor; EMT page 4, para 1-2), receive the first exhaust signal from the exhaust sensor, determine a first uniformity index based on the first exhaust signal, determine a second rotational speed of the wheel based on the first rotational speed and the first uniformity index, cause the motor to rotate the wheel at the second rotational speed (the ECU receives exhaust temperature from a temperature sensor
having first and second exhaust signals, the temperature being used as first and second respective uniformity indices, where the ECU determines a second rotational speed based on the first rotational speed and the temperature to rotate the wheel at the second rotational speed to maintain engine performance with a continuously variable transmission; EMT page-4, para 1-4; page 7, para 5-6), receive the second exhaust signal from the exhaust sensor after causing the motor to rotate the wheel at the second rotational speed, and determine a second uniformity index based on the second exhaust signal, the second uniformity index being equal to or greater than the first uniformity index (the ECU receives temperature signals over time which includes when the temperature is in a more desired range, which is a higher uniformity index; EMT page 4, para 1-2).
As per claim 12, VOLVO discloses the vehicle system of claim 11, wherein: the controller is configured to: determine a first power output of the turbine based on the first rotational speed of the wheel, determine a first turbine efficiency based on the first power output (the ECU determines air pressure which is a power output based on the speed of the turbine, and determines if the actual air flow rate matches the target flow rate, which is a turbine efficiency; EMT page 7, para 2), determine a second power output of the turbine based on the second rotational speed of the wheel, and determine a second turbine efficiency based on the second power-output, the second turbine efficiency being equal to or less than the first turbine efficiency (the air pressure to read the air flow is performed continuously which includes a second output at a second rational speed to determine a second efficiency based on actual air flow and target air flow rates, and is in a variable transmission system where the efficiency changes or remain the same; EMT page 7, para 2-3).
As per claim 13, VOLVO discloses the vehicle system of claim 1, wherein: the turbine comprises: an inner portion, a wheel coupled to the shaft and configured to "i" be received at least partially within the inner portion and "ii" rotate (the turbine is part of an inner portion which contains a rotating mechanism attached to the shaft functioning as a wheel; EMT page 5, para 2-3), and a turbine sensor configured to "i" be received at least partially within the inner portion and "ii" provide a first turbine signal associated with a first rotational speed of the wheel (the compressor includes, within an inner portion, a rotation speed sensor for detecting rotation speed of the compressor, which includes the rotation speed of the turbine; EMT page 4, para 1-2); and the controller is configured to: receive the first turbine signal from the turbine sensor, determine the first rotational speed of the wheel based on the first turbine signal (the ECU detects rotation speed, including a first rotation speed, from the rotation speed· sensor; EMT page 4, para 1-2), determine a second rotational speed of the wheel based on the first
rotational speed of the wheel, and cause the motor to rotate the wheel at the second rotational speed, wherein the second rotational speed is equal to or less than the first rotational speed (the ECU determines a second rotation speed of the wheel based on the first rotational speed and rotates the wheel at a second rotational speed to implement a continuously variable transmission, which includes where the
second rotational speed is less ·than the first: EMT page 7, para 5-6).
As per claim 14, VOLVO discloses the vehicle system of claim 1, further comprising: a battery communicable with the motor (the motor includes a battery; EMT page 7, last paragraph); wherein the motor is operable between a driving mode and a driven mode, the motor being configured to: rotate the shaft in the driving mode, and produce electricity using rotation of the shaft in the driven mode (in the variable transmission the battery is charged when the internal gear is braked, which is a driven mode, and the motor operates in a driving mode; fig 1-2; EMT page 7, last paragraph; table 1).
As per claim 16, VOLVO discloses a vehicle system comprising: a turbocharger comprising: a turbine configured to receive exhaust from an engine-turbine exhaust conduit (a turbocharger in an engine for a vehicle comprises a turbine coupled to an exhaust valve receive exhaust gas therefrom; see EMT-abstract), a turbine shaft coupled to the turbine, a first motor coupled to the turbine shaft (a shaft is coupled to the turbine and is controlled by an ECU controlling a motor to rotate the shaft; EMT abstract), a compressor configured to provide air to an engine-compressor air conduit, the engine-compressor air conduit configured to provide the air to an engine (the
turbocharger comprises a compressor coupled to the intake valves to provide air to the conduit to transfer air to the engine, which includes an air conduit to transfer air to the engine; EMT abstract, claim 1 ), and a compressor shaft coupled to the compressor (the shaft is coupled to the compressor; EMT abstract), the compressor shaft rotatable independent of the turbine shaft (the shaft of the compressor and shaft of the turbine are configured to rotate separately with respective gears; EMT abstract); a controller configured to cause the first motor to rotate the turbine shaft (a shaft is coupled to the turbine and is controlled by an ECU controlling a motor to rotate the shaft; EMT abstract); an injection housing directly coupled to the turbine or to a turbine-housing exhaust conduit that is directly coupled to the turbine, the injection housing being configured to receive the exhaust from the turbine or from the turbine-housing exhaust conduit (a housing is coupled to the turbine and receives exhaust from the turbine; EMT abstract; figure 1 ); and a dosing module coupled-to the injection housing, the dosing module comprising an injector configured to inject treatment fluid into the injection housing (a dosing module is attached to the housing which is a device designed to inject~ treatment fluid into the housing; EMT page 3, last paragraph).
As per claim 17, VOLVO discloses the vehicle system of claim 16, further comprising: an actuator coupled to the turbine shaft and the compressor shaft, the actuator operable to engage and disengage the turbine shaft to the compressor shaft, wherein the turbine shaft and the compressor shaft have the same rotational speed when engaged by the actuator (planetary gears act as an actuator which enables the
turbine shaft and compressor shaft to be engaged to rotate with the same rotational speed in an operating state controlled by the ECU; EMT abstract).
As per claim 19, VOLVO discloses the vehicle system of claim 16, further comprising: a gearbox coupled to the turbine shaft and the compressor shaft, the gearbox comprising a plurality of gears configured to adjust a compressor rotational speed of the compressor shaft relative to a turbine rotational speed of the turbine shaft (sun and planet gears are attached to the turbine shaft and compressor shaft
comprising gears to adjust rotation speed of the shafts relative to one another; EMT abstract; page 5, para 3).
As per claim 20, VOLVO discloses a vehicle system comprising: an engine comprising: a crankshaft, a cylinder-piston assembly configured to rotate the crankshaft, the cylinder piston assembly comprising a cylinder, and a fuel injector corresponding to the cylinder-piston assembly, the fuel injector configured to inject fuel into the cylinder; a turbocharger comprising: a turbine configured to receive exhaust from an engine-turbine exhaust conduit (a turbocharger in a combustion engine which has a crankshaft and cylinder piston assembly for rotation thereof for a vehicle, comprises a turbine coupled to an engine-turbine exhaust gas conduit to receive exhaust gas therefrom; abstract; fig 1 ). a turbine shaft coupled to the turbine, a first motor coupled to the turbine shaft (a shaft is coupled to the turbine and is controlled by an ECU controlling a motor to rotate the shaft; EMT abstract), a compressor configured to provide air to an engine-compressor air conduit, the engine-compressor air conduit configured to provide the air to the engine (the turbocharger comprises a compressor coupled to the intake valves to provide air to the conduit to transfer air to the engine, which includes an air conduit to transfer air to the engine; EMT abstract, claim 1 ), and a compressor shaft coupled to the compressor and the crankshaft (the shaft is coupled to the compressor and crankshaft using planet gears; EMT abstract; page 5, para 3); a controller configured to "i" cause the first motor to rotate the turbine shaft (a shaft is coupled to the turbine and is controlled by an ECU controlling a motor to rotate the shaft; EMT abstract) and "ii"
control fuel amount injected by the fuel injector based on a pressure of the air provided by the compressor to the engine via the engine-compressor air conduit (the ECU controls the fuel injection amount based on air pressure of the compressor; EMT page 7, para 4 ); an injection housing directly coupled to the turbine or to a turbine-housing exhaust conduit that is directly coupled to the turbine, the injection housing being configured to receive the exhaust from the turbine or from the turbine-housing exhaust conduit (a housing is coupled to the turbine and receives exhaust from the turbine; EMT abstract; figure 1 ); and a dosing module coupled to the injection housing, the dosing module comprising an injector configured to inject treatment fluid into the injection housing (a dosing module is attached to the housing which is a device designed to inject a treatment fluid into the housing; EMT page 3, last paragraph).
35 USC 103 rejections
Claims 1-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over CN 109386376 B to BYD CO LTD (hereinafter "BYD") in view of JP 6357016 (VOLVO).
As per claim 1, BYD discloses a vehicle system comprising: a turbocharger comprising: a turbine configured to receive exhaust from an engine-turbine exhaust conduit (a turbocharger in an engine for a vehicle comprises a turbine coupled to an exhaust duct receive exhaust gas therefrom; see EMT abstract, claim 1 ), a shaft coupled to the turbine, and a motor coupled to the shaft; a controller configured to cause the motor to rotate the shaft (a shaft is coupled to the turbine and, using a motor, is controlled by an ECU; fig 1; EMT abstract, claim 1, para [0068]); an injection housing directly coupled to the turbine or to a turbine-housing exhaust conduit that is directly coupled to the turbine, the injection housing being configured to receive the exhaust from the turbine or from the turbine-housing exhaust conduit (a housing is coupled to the turbine and receives exhaust from the turbine; fig 1; EMT abstract; claims 1-2). BYD does not disclose and a dosing module coupled to the injection housing, the dosing module comprising an injector configured to inject treatment fluid into the injection housing. VOLVO discloses and a dosing module coupled to the injection housing, the dosing module comprising an injector configured to inject treatment fluid into the injection housing (a dosing module is attached to the housing which is a device designed to inject a treatment fluid into the housing; EMT page 3, last paragraph). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the invention of BYD to include and a dosing module coupled to the injection housing, the dosing module comprising an injector configured to inject treatment fluid into the injection housing as taught by VOLVO to gain the advantages of injecting a treatment fluid to improve fuel mixture to maximize fuel efficiency, keep components clean and increase longevity, and reduce undesired emissions.
As per claim 2, BYD in view of VOLVO discloses the vehicle system of claim 1. BYD further discloses further comprising: an engine-compressor air conduit configured to provide air to an engine (a compressor includes an air pipeline to transfer air to the engine; EMT abstract, claim 1 ); wherein the turbocharger further comprises a compressor coupled to the engine-compressor air conduit and configured to provide the air to the engine-compressor air conduit (the turbocharger comprises a compressor coupled to intake air to the pipeline to transfer air to the engine; fig 1; EMT abstract, claim 1 ); and wherein the shaft is coupled to the compressor. (the shaft that is .
coupled to the turbine is also coupled to the compressor; fig 1; EMT abstract, claim 1 ).
As per claim 3, BYD in view of VOLVO discloses the vehicle system of claim 2. BYD further discloses wherein: the compressor comprises: an inner portion, a wheel coupled to the shaft and configured to "i" be received at least partially within the inner portion and "ii" rotate (the compressor comprises an inner portion which contains a rotating mechanism functioning as a wheel; EMT abstract, claims 1-2). BYD does not disclose a compressor sensor configured to be received at least partially within the inner portion and provide a first compressor signal associated with a first rotational speed of the wheel; and the controller is configured to: receive the first compressor signal from the compressor sensor, determine the first rotational speed based on the first compressor signal, determine a second rotational speed of the wheel based on the first rotational speed of the wheel, the second rotational speed of the wheel greater than the first rotational speed of the wheel, and cause the motor to rotate the wheel at the second rotational speed. VOLVO discloses a compressor sensor configured to "i" be received at least partially within the inner portion and "ii" provide a first compressor signal associated with a first rotational speed of the wheel (the compressor includes, within an inner portion, a rotation speed sensor for detecting rotation speed of the compressor; EMT page 4, para 1-2); and the controller is configured to: receive the first compressor signal from the compressor sensor, determine the first rotational speed based on the first compressor signal (the ECU detects rotation speed, including a first rotation speed, from the rotation speed sensor; EMT page 4, para 1-2), determine a second rotational speed of the wheel based on the first rotational speed of the wheel, the second rotational speed of the wheel greater than the first rotational speed of the wheel, and cause the motor to rotate the wheel at the second rotational speed (the ECU determines a second rotation speed of the wheel based on the first rotati9nal speed and rotates the
wheel at a second rotational speed to implement a continuously variable transmission, which includes where the second rotational speed is greater than the first; EMT page 7, para 5-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the invention of BYD to include a compressor sensor configured to be received at least partially within the inner portion and provide a first compressor signal associated with a first rotational speed of the wheel; and the controller is configured to: receive the first compressor signal from the compressor sensor, determine the first rotational speed based on the first compressor signal, determine a second rotational speed of the wheel based on the first rotational speed of the wheel, the second rotational speed of the wheel greater than the first rotational speed of the wheel, and cause the motor to rotate the wheel at the second rotational speed as taught by VOLVO to gain the advantages of operating with a variable transmission and electronically controlling shaft speed which increases engine efficiency, reduces fuel usage, decreases emissions, and improves performance.
As per claim 4, BYD in view of VOLVO discloses the vehicle system of claim 3. BYD further discloses further comprising: a bypass inlet conduit coupled to the engine-turbine exhaust conduit; a bypass outlet conduit fluidly coupled to the injection housing; and a bypass valve coupled to the bypass inlet conduit and the bypass outlet conduit (a bypass pipe has an inlet and is coupled to the turbine exhaust, with an outlet coupled to the inlet for gas circulation, and includes a bypass valve coupled to the inlet and outlet; fig 1; EMT claim 6), the bypass valve operable at least between a first position, where flow of the exhaust from the bypass inlet conduit to the bypass outlet conduit is
facilitated, and a second position, where the flow of the exhaust from the bypass inlet conduit to the bypass outlet conduit is prohibited (the bypass valve is controlled such that it allows exhaust to flow, or prohibits exhaust flow through the bypass pipe; EMT claim 6, para [0100]-[0101 ]), wherein the controller is configured to cause the bypass valve to operate at the first position after causing the motor to rotate the wheel at the second rotational speed (the ECU causes the bypass valve to open or close, which includes the first position after the motor controlled by the ECU to turn the shaft is rotated at a second rotational speed; fig 1; EMT para [0093], [0100]-[0101).
As per claim 9, BYD discloses the vehicle system of claim 2. BYD further discloses further comprising: a compressor-turbine air conduit coupled to the engine-compressor air conduit and the engine-turbine exhaust conduit (a bypass pipe has an inlet and is coupled to the turbine exhaust with an outlet coupled to the inlet for gas circulation, connected to respect air passages at the exhaust and the compressor; fig 1; EMT claim 6); and a bypass valve disposed within the compressor-turbine air conduit, the bypass valve configured to regulate flow of the air from the engine-compressor air conduit to the engine- turbine exhaust conduit via the compressor-turbine air conduit (a bypass valve is controlled such that it allows exhaust to flow, or prohibits exhaust flow through the bypass pipe; EMT claim 6, para [0100]-[0101]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over BYD in view of VOLVO in view of US 2016/0376964 A1 to Cummins Emissions Solutions Inc. (hereinafter "CUMMINS964").
As per claim 5, BYD in view of VOLVO discloses the vehicle system of claim 4. BYD does not disclose further comprising: a heater disposed downstream of the bypass valve and upstream of the bypass outlet conduit, the heater configured to increase a temperature of the exhaust; and an exhaust sensor disposed downstream of the injection housing and configured to provide an exhaust signal associated with the exhaust, wherein the controller is further configured to; receive the exhaust signal from the exhaust sensor, determine a uniformity index based on the exhaust signal, determine a target temperature based on the uniformity index, and cause the heater to operate at the target temperature. CUMMINS964 discloses a heater disposed downstream of the bypass valve and upstream of the bypass outlet conduit, the heater configured to increase a temperature of the exhaust (a bypass line from a bypass line with a bypass outlet includes a heat exchange system which thermally communicates with a heater; para [0012]-[0018]); and an exhaust sensor disposed downstream of
the injection housing and configured to provide an exhaust signal associated with the exhaust, wherein the controller is further configured to: receive the exhaust signal from the exhaust sensor, determine a uniformity index based on the exhaust signal, determine a target temperature based on the uniformity index, and cause the heater to operate at the target temperature (a reductant for exhaust, which is disposed downstream, includes of an injection housing, provides a controller with a signal associated with the temperature of the reductant in order to have the temperature maintained in order to reduce the NOx in exhaust gas to reduce emissions, which is a measurement of a uniformity of the emissions, to enable the heater to maintain a temperature; para [0012]-[0018]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the invention of BYD to include further comprising: a heater disposed downstream of the bypass valve and upstream of the bypass outlet conduit, the heater configured to increase a temperature of the
exhaust; and an exhaust sensor disposed downstream of the injection housing and configured to provide an exhaust signal associated with the exhaust, wherein the controller is further configured to: receive the exhaust signal from the exhaust sensor, determine a uniformity index based on the exhaust signal, determine a target temperature based on the uniformity index, and cause the heater to operate at the
target temperature as taught by CUMMINS964 to gain the. advantages of maintaining temperatures of fuel gas within the system to maximize performance and efficiency.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over VOLVO in view of US 6,722,128 81 to Adrian, J. (hereinafter “ADRIAN”).
As per claim 7, VOLVO discloses the vehicle system of claim 6 as set forth above. VOLVO does not disclose wherein the valve is a blow-off valve operable at least between a first position, where the flow of the air from the compressor to the engine-compressor air conduit is facilitated, and a second position, where at least a portion of the flow of the air from the compressor is released into an ambient environment; or the valve is an intake air throttle valve operable at least between a first position, where the flow of the air from the compressor to the engine-compressor air conduit is facilitated, and a second position, where the flow of the air from the compressor to the engine-compressor air conduit is prohibited. ADRIAN discloses wherein the valve is a blowoff valve operable at least between a first position, where the flow of the air from the compressor to the engine-compressor air conduit is facilitated, and a second position, where at least a portion of the flow of the air from the compressor is released into an ambient environment; or the valve is an intake air throttle valve operable at least between a first position, where the flow of the air from the compressor to the engine-compressor air conduit is facilitated, and a second position, where the flow of the air from the compressor to the engine-compressor air conduit is prohibited (a blowoff valve is configured to variably exhaust gas to the engine via an air conduit, or the atmosphere, indicating first and second positions where air to the engine is facilitated and air is released to the ambient environment; col 1, line 53 - col 2, line 35). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the invention of VOLVO to include wherein the valve is a blowoff valve operable at least between a first position, where the flow of the air from the compressor to the engine-compressor air conduit is facilitated, and a second position, where at least a portion of the flow of the air from the compress9r is released into an ambient environment; or the valve is an intake air throttle valve operable at least between a first position, where the flow of the air from the compressor to the engine-compressor air conduit is facilitated, and a second position, where the flow of the air from the compressor to the engine-compressor air conduit is prohibited as taught by ADRIAN to gain the advantages of precisely controlling air flow in order to maximize engine performance and efficiency, and minimizing undesired emissions.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over VOLVO in view of CUMMINS964.
As per claim 15, VOLVO discloses the vehicle system of claim 1. VOLVO does not disclose a heater disposed around at least a portion of the injection housing, the heater configured to increase a temperature at least one of the exhaust or the treatment fluid in the injection housing; and an exhaust sensor disposed downstream of the injection housing and configured to provide an exhaust signal associated with the exhaust, wherein the controller is configured to: receive the exhaust signal from the exhaust sensor, determine a uniformity index based on the exhaust signal, determine a target temperature based on the uniformity index, and cause the heater to operate at the target temperature. CUMMINS964 discloses a heater disposed around at least a portion of the injection housing (a bypass line which is a portion of the injection housing includes a heat exchange system which thermally communicates with a heater; para [0012]-[0018]), the heater configured to increase a temperature at least one of the exhaust or the treatment fluid in the injection housing; and an exhaust sensor
disposed-downstream of the injection housing and configured to provide an exhaust signal associated with the exhaust, wherein the controller is configured to: receive the exhaust signal from the exhaust sensor, determine a uniformity index based on the exhaust signal, determine a target temperature based on the uniformity index, and cause the heater to operate at the target temperature (a reductant for exhaust, which is disposed downstream, includes of an injection housing, provides a controller with a signal associated with the temperature of the reductant in order to have the temperature maintained in order to reduce the Nox in exhaust gas to reduce emissions, which is. A measurement of a uniformity of the emissions, to enable the heater to maintain a temperature; para [0012]-[0018]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the invention of VOLVO to include a heater disposed around at least a portion of the injection housing, the heater configured to increase a temperature at least one of the exhaust or the treatment fluid in the injection housing; and an exhaust sensor disposed downstream of the injection housing and configured to provide an exhaust signal associated with the exhaust, wherein the controller is configured to: receive the exhaust signal from the exhaust sensor,
determine a uniformity index based on the exhaust signal, determine a target temperature based on the uniformity index, and cause the heater to operate at the target temperature as taught by CUMMINS964 to gain the advantages of maintaining temperatures of fuel gas within the system to maximize performance and efficiency.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over VOLVO in view of US 2010/0135825 A1 to Walth, S. (hereinafter “WALTH”).
As per claim 18, VOLVO discloses the vehicle system of claim 16 as set forth above. VOLVO does not disclose further comprising a second motor coupled to the compressor shaft, wherein the controller is configured to cause the second motor to rotate the compressor shaft. WALTH discloses further comprising a second motor coupled to the compressor shaft, wherein the controller is configured to cause the second motor to rotate the compressor shaft (multiple electric motors are used to drive a compressor; abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the invention of VOL VO to include further comprising a second motor coupled to the compressor shaft, wherein the controller is configured to cause the second motor to rotate the compressor shaft as taught
by WALTH to gain the advantages of a backup motor in case the first motor fails which improves reliability, safety, and efficiency.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Geoffroy, Upadhyay, Rohde, Norris, and Sakata disclose turbochargers of vehicle engines comprising dosing module, driving motor of the turbocharger with controller, or bypass valves.
Conclusions
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/HOANG M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
HOANG NGUYEN
PRIMARY EXAMINER
ART UNIT 3746
Hoang Minh Nguyen
1/6/2026