DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a Non-Final Office Action rejection on the merits. Claims 1-12 are currently pending and have been addressed below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on 02/05/2025 comply with the provisions 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98, and MPEP 609 and is considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without reciting significantly more.
Independent Claim 1
Step One - First, pursuant to step 1 in the January 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (“2019 PEG”) on 84 Fed. Reg. 53, the claim 1 is directed to a method which is a statutory category.
Step 2A, Prong One - Claim 1 recites: A method for reusing schedule information, comprising: displaying one or more schedule items including time information and other schedule information for a schedule, wherein a reuse button associated with each of the schedule items; receiving a selection of the reuse button associated with a schedule item among the one or more schedule items; and in response to the receiving the selection of the reuse button, filling other schedule information corresponding to the schedule item associated with the reuse button; wherein includes a first item display section; and in response to the receiving the selection of the reuse button, the filling other schedule information corresponding to the schedule item associated with the reuse button includes: in response to the receiving the selection of the reuse button, filling at least one item button of the first associated category corresponding to the schedule item. These claim elements are considered to be abstract ideas because they are directed to “mental processes.” In this case, the claim is directed to reusing/duplicating schedule information, which is merely collecting and editing information from a previous event. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that can be performed in the human mind, then it falls within the “mental processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 - The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 1 includes additional elements: in the user interface of an application; a reuse button; an input panel of the user interface, wherein the input panel includes a first item display section.
The user interface of an application is merely used to display one or more schedule items including time information and other schedule information for a schedule (Paragraph 0005). The reuse button is merely used to receive user selection of a specific schedule item (Paragraph 0015). The input panel of the user interface includes a first item display section, wherein the first item display section is used for filling other schedule information corresponding to the schedule item in response to receiving the selection of the reuse button (Paragraph 0005). Merely stating that the step is performed by a computer component results in “apply it” on a computer (MPEP 2106.05f). These elements of “user interface of an application,” and “input panel with a first item display section” are recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer element. The user interfaces are considered “field of use” since they are just used to receive schedule information from a previous event, but the user interface is not improved (MPEP 2106.05h). Accordingly, alone and in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B - The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the claims describe how to generally “apply” the concept of collecting and editing information from a previous event. The specification shows that the user interface of an application is merely used to display one or more schedule items including time information and other schedule information for a schedule (Paragraph 0005). The reuse button is merely used to receive user selection of a specific schedule item (Paragraph 0015). The input panel of the user interface includes a first item display section, wherein the first item display section is used for filling other schedule information corresponding to the schedule item in response to receiving the selection of the reuse button (Paragraph 0005). In this case, the step of “reusing schedule information” is considered a well-understood, routine, and conventional function since it's just “receiving or transmitting data over a network” and “performing repetitive calculations” (MPEP 2106.05(d)). Further, instructions to display and/or arrange information in a graphical user interface may not be sufficient to show an improvement in computer-functionality (MPEP 2106.05a). Thus, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Independent claim 11 is directed to an apparatus at step 1, which is a statutory category. Claim 11 recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons at step 2a, prong one; step 2a, prong 2; and step 2b. Claim 11 further recites: a processor; and a memory – which are treated as just an explicit “processor/computer” for executing the operations and are treated under MPEP 2106.05f in the same manner as claim 1. Accordingly, these limitations are viewed as “apply it on a computer” at step 2a, prong 2 and step 2b. The claim is ineligible.
Independent claim 12 is directed to an article of manufacture at step 1, which is a statutory category. Claim 12 recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons at step 2a, prong one; step 2a, prong 2; and step 2b. Claim 12 further recites: a processor; and a computer-readable recording medium – which are treated as just an explicit “processor/computer” for executing the operations and are treated under MPEP 2106.05f in the same manner as claim 1. Accordingly, these limitations are viewed as “apply it on a computer” at step 2a, prong 2 and step 2b. The claim is ineligible.
Dependent claims 2-4, 8, and 10 are not directed to any additional claim elements. Rather, these claims offer further descriptive limitations of elements found in the independent claims and addressed above - such as: wherein the input panel is filled with the received time input for the other schedule information; wherein the other schedule information includes category information for two or more categories of the schedule; wherein the other schedule information further includes at least one of information about another user associated with the schedule and the attachments associated with the schedule; receiving a selection of a schedule item among the one or more schedule items; and in response to the receiving the selection of the schedule item, filling time information and other schedule information corresponding to the schedule item in the input panel of the user interface; receiving time input for the other schedule information filled in the input panel; and creating a new schedule item corresponding to the other schedule information and the time input, wherein the newly created schedule item is further associated with one or more upper categories for the first associated category. At Step 2A, Prong 2 - this is still considered “field of use” since it's just used to receive a selection of a schedule item, but the user interface is not improved (MPEP 2106.05h). At Step 2B – this is considered a conventional computer function of “receiving and transmitting over a network” (MPEP 2106.05d). Further, instructions to display and/or arrange information in a graphical user interface may not be sufficient to show an improvement in computer-functionality (MPEP 2106.05a). Thus, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Dependent claims 5-6 are directed to additional elements such as: a schedule display table displayed on the user interface; and a timeline displayed on the user interface. The schedule display table is merely used to display the schedules for today and for tomorrow and the future in the form of separate tables (Paragraph 0054). The timeline displayed on the user interface is merely used to display one or more schedule items (Paragraph 0009). Merely stating that the step is performed by a computer component results in “apply it” on a computer (MPEP 2106.05f) being applicable at both Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Further, instructions to display and/or arrange information in a graphical user interface may not be sufficient to show an improvement in computer-functionality (MPEP 2106.05a). Thus, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Dependent claims 7 and 9 are directed to additional elements such as: an edit button; and a second item display section. The edit button is merely used to modify at least one of the category, time, and detailed schedule description of the schedule item (Paragraph 0124). The second item display section is merely used to display one or more item buttons selected by the user from the item buttons 214a of the fourth category 214 in the category selection window 210, or up to a predetermined number (e.g., up to 5) of recommended item buttons suggested by the calendar application. In a non-limiting example, the recommendation of one or more item buttons in each of the first item display section 223a and the second item display section 223b may be based on the usage frequency of each item button (Paragraph 0080-0081). At Step 2A, Prong 2 - this is still considered “field of use” since it's just used to edit and select recommended schedule information, but the user interface is not improved (MPEP 2106.05h). At Step 2B – this is considered a conventional computer function of “receiving and transmitting over a network” (MPEP 2106.05d). Further, instructions to display and/or arrange information in a graphical user interface may not be sufficient to show an improvement in computer-functionality (MPEP 2106.05a). Thus, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Walker (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eEQybvE5f5w).
Regarding claim 1, Walker discloses a method for reusing schedule information, comprising (Time 0:05min, Duplicating an event in google calendar):
displaying one or more schedule items including time information and other schedule information for a schedule in the user interface of an application, wherein the user interface includes a reuse button associated with each of the schedule items (Time 0:18-00:30 min, Go over the three vertical dots, then right underneath print you have duplicate as an option);
receiving a selection of the reuse button associated with a schedule item among the one or more schedule items (Time 00:30-00:31 min, When you click Duplicate as an option);
and in response to the receiving the selection of the reuse button, filling other schedule information corresponding to the schedule item associated with the reuse button in an input panel of the user interface; wherein the input panel includes a first item display section; and in response to the receiving the selection of the reuse button, the filling other schedule information corresponding to the schedule item associated with the reuse button in the input panel of the user interface includes: in response to the receiving the selection of the reuse button, filling at least one item button of the first associated category corresponding to the schedule item in the first item display section (Time 00:31-01:03 min, When you click Duplicate as an option it’s going to open up a new screen for you so it has duplicated your title of your event. If you have anything like locations, any notes down in the note category, guests that are attending, all of that is going to be duplicated and then all you need to do is change the date).
Regarding claim 2, which is dependent of claim 1, Walker discloses all the limitations in claim 1. Walker further discloses receiving time input for the other schedule information filled in the input panel; and creating a new schedule item corresponding to the other schedule information and the time input (Time 00:31-01:03 min, When you click Duplicate as an option it’s going to open up a new screen for you so it has duplicated your title of your event. If you have anything like locations, any notes down in the note category, guests that are attending, all of that is going to be duplicated and then all you need to do is change the date).
Regarding claim 3, which is dependent of claim 1, Walker discloses all the limitations in claim 1. Walker further discloses wherein the other schedule information includes category information for two or more categories of the schedule (Time 00:36 min, Examiner interprets the orange dot as the category information for two or more categories of the schedule).
Regarding claim 5, which is dependent of claim 1, Walker discloses all the limitations in claim 1. Walker further discloses wherein the one or more schedule items are displayed in a schedule display table displayed on the user interface (Time 0:05min, Duplicating an event in google calendar).
Regarding claim 6, which is dependent of claim 1, Walker discloses all the limitations in claim 1. Walker further discloses wherein the one or more schedule items are displayed in a timeline displayed on the user interface (Time 0:05min, Duplicating an event in google calendar).
Regarding claim 7, which is dependent of claim 1, Walker discloses all the limitations in claim 1. Walker further discloses wherein: the user interface further includes an edit button in addition to the reuse button, and the method further comprises: receiving a selection of the edit button associated with a schedule item among the one or more schedule items; and in response to the receiving the selection of the edit button, filling time information and other schedule information corresponding to the schedule item in the input panel of the user interface (Time 00:31-01:03 min, When you click Duplicate as an option it’s going to open up a new screen for you so it has duplicated your title of your event. If you have anything like locations, any notes down in the note category, guests that are attending, all of that is going to be duplicated and then all you need to do is change the date).
Regarding claim 8, which is dependent of claim 1, Walker discloses all the limitations in claim 1. Walker further discloses wherein the method further comprises: receiving a selection of a schedule item among the one or more schedule items; and in response to the receiving the selection of the schedule item, filling time information and other schedule information corresponding to the schedule item in the input panel of the user interface (Time 00:31-01:03 min, When you click Duplicate as an option it’s going to open up a new screen for you so it has duplicated your title of your event. If you have anything like locations, any notes down in the note category, guests that are attending, all of that is going to be duplicated and then all you need to do is change the date).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 11-12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eEQybvE5f5w), in view of Ritter et al. (US 2009/0125818 A1).
Regarding claim 4, which is dependent of claim 3, Walker discloses all the limitations in claim 3. Although Walker discloses wherein the other schedule information may include information about another user associated with the schedule and the attachments associated with the schedule (see below, a note category with an attachment option and a guest list option), Walker does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one of information about another user associated with the schedule and the attachments associated with the schedule is included in the duplicated data.
However, Ritter et al. discloses wherein the other schedule information further includes at least one of information about another user associated with the schedule and the attachments associated with the schedule (Paragraph 0025, Initially, at S210, an instruction is received to create a next meeting based on a source meeting, wherein the source meeting is associated with a first plurality of meeting particulars. In some embodiments, the source meeting is itself a "next" (i.e., follow-up) meeting based on a prior source meeting. The instruction may be received at S210 by detecting user interaction with a user interface element such as Create Follow-up button 190 of user interface 100; Paragraph 0026, The next meeting is automatically created at S220 in response to the received instruction. The next meeting is associated with a second plurality of meeting parameters, and at least one of the second plurality of meeting parameters provides an indication of the source meeting. User interface 300 of FIG. 3 illustrates a next meeting and an associated second plurality of meeting parameters that may be automatically created according to some embodiments of S220; Paragraph 0027, As shown, the second plurality of meeting particulars includes attendees 110 of the source meeting represented by user interface 100. Meeting subject 320 comprises both subject 120 of the source meeting and an indication of the source meeting (i.e., the text "Follow-Up"). This indication indicates that the next meeting of user interface 300 is a follow-up meeting, and therefore indicates the existence of its associated source meeting; Paragraph 0029, The meeting particulars automatically created at S220 also include text block 350 and text block 360, each of which provides an indication of the source meeting. In this regard, text block 350 indicates the existence of its associated source meeting and text block 360 specifies some of the meeting particulars of the source meeting. Text block 150 and attachment 170 of the source meeting are also automatically associated as meeting particulars of the next meeting at S220).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method for reusing schedule information of the invention of Walker to further specify wherein the schedule information further includes at least one of information about another user associated with the schedule and the attachments associated with the schedule of the invention of Ritter et al. because doing so would allow the method to automatically create a next meeting associated with a second plurality of meeting parameters, wherein the meeting parameters include attendees and attachment of the source meeting (see Ritter et al., Paragraphs 0026-0027). Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 11, Walker discloses an apparatus for executing an application for implementing a method for reusing schedule information, … (Time 0:05min, Duplicating an event in google calendar):
displaying one or more schedule items, including time information and other schedule information for a schedule in a user interface of the application, wherein the user interface includes a reuse button associated with each schedule item (Time 0:18-00:30 min, Go over the three vertical dots, then right underneath print you have duplicate as an option);
receiving a selection of the reuse button associated with a schedule item among the one or more schedule items (Time 00:30-00:31 min, When you click Duplicate as an option);
and in response to the receiving the selection of the reuse button, filling other schedule information corresponding to the schedule item associated with the reuse button in the input panel of the user interface; and wherein the input panel includes a first item display section; and in response to the receiving the selection of the reuse button, the filling the other schedule information corresponding to the schedule item associated with the reuse button in the input panel of the user interface includes: in response to the receiving the selection of the reuse button, filling at least one item button of the first associated category corresponding to the schedule item in the first item display section (Time 00:31-01:03 min, When you click Duplicate as an option it’s going to open up a new screen for you so it has duplicated your title of your event. If you have anything like locations, any notes down in the note category, guests that are attending, all of that is going to be duplicated and then all you need to do is change the date).
Although Walker discloses an apparatus for executing an application for implementing a method for reusing schedule information, Walker does not specifically disclose wherein the at apparatus includes a processor and a memory.
However, Ritter et al. discloses an apparatus for executing an application for implementing a method for reusing schedule information, the apparatus comprising: a processor; and a memory including computer-executable instructions, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations including (Paragraph 0024, Process 200 and all other processes mentioned herein may be embodied in processor-executable program code read from one or more of a computer-readable medium, such as a floppy disk, a CD-ROM, a DVD-ROM, a Zip.TM. disk, a magnetic tape, and a signal encoding the process, and then stored in a compressed, uncompiled and/or encrypted format; Paragraph 0026, The next meeting is automatically created at S220 in response to the received instruction. The next meeting is associated with a second plurality of meeting parameters, and at least one of the second plurality of meeting parameters provides an indication of the source meeting.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus for reusing schedule information of the invention of Walker to further specify wherein the apparatus comprises a memory and a processor of the invention of Ritter et al. because doing so is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 12, Walker discloses a [method/apparatus], … (Time 0:05min, Duplicating an event in google calendar):
displaying one or more schedule items, including time information and other schedule information for a schedule in a user interface of the application, wherein the user interface includes a reuse button associated with each schedule item (Time 0:18-00:30 min, Go over the three vertical dots, then right underneath print you have duplicate as an option);
receiving a selection of the reuse button associated with a schedule item among the one or more schedule items (Time 00:30-00:31 min, When you click Duplicate as an option);
and in response to the receiving the selection of the reuse button, filling other schedule information corresponding to the schedule item associated with the reuse button in an input panel of the user interface; and wherein the input panel includes a first item display section; and in response to the receiving the selection of the reuse button, the operation of the filling other schedule information corresponding to the schedule item associated with the reuse button in the input panel of the user interface further includes: in response to the receiving the selection of the reuse button, filling at least one item button of the first associated category corresponding to the schedule item in the first item display section (Time 00:31-01:03 min, When you click Duplicate as an option it’s going to open up a new screen for you so it has duplicated your title of your event. If you have anything like locations, any notes down in the note category, guests that are attending, all of that is going to be duplicated and then all you need to do is change the date).
Although Walker discloses an apparatus for executing an application for implementing a method for reusing schedule information, Walker does not specifically disclose wherein the at apparatus includes a processor and a computer-readable recording medium.
However, Ritter et al. discloses a computer-readable recording medium storing computer-executable instructions, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations including (Paragraph 0024, Process 200 and all other processes mentioned herein may be embodied in processor-executable program code read from one or more of a computer-readable medium, such as a floppy disk, a CD-ROM, a DVD-ROM, a Zip.TM. disk, a magnetic tape, and a signal encoding the process, and then stored in a compressed, uncompiled and/or encrypted format; Paragraph 0026, The next meeting is automatically created at S220 in response to the received instruction. The next meeting is associated with a second plurality of meeting parameters, and at least one of the second plurality of meeting parameters provides an indication of the source meeting.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus for reusing schedule information of the invention of Walker to further specify wherein the apparatus comprises a memory and a processor of the invention of Ritter et al. because doing so is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eEQybvE5f5w), in view of Lee (KR 2016/0057213 A).
Regarding claim 9, which is dependent of claim 1, Walker discloses all the limitations in claim 1. Walker further discloses wherein: the input panel further includes …, and in response to the receiving the selection of the reuse button, the filling other schedule information corresponding to the schedule item associated with the reuse button in the input panel of the user interface further includes: in response to the receiving the selection of the reuse button, filling at least one item button of the … category corresponding to the schedule item, … (Time 00:36 min, Examiner interprets the orange dot as the category information for two or more categories of the schedule; Time 00:31-01:03 min, When you click Duplicate as an option it’s going to open up a new screen for you so it has duplicated your title of your event. If you have anything like locations, any notes down in the note category, guests that are attending, all of that is going to be duplicated and then all you need to do is change the date).
Although Walker discloses an input panel used for displaying one or more reused/duplicated schedule items including time information and other schedule information (e.g., a teacher meeting category), Walker does not specifically disclose a second input panel used for displaying a second category associated with the first associated category (see Applicant’s specification, Paragraphs 0119-0121).
However, Lee discloses wherein: the input panel further includes a second item display section, and in response to the receiving the selection …, the filling other schedule information corresponding to the schedule item associated with the [selection] in the input panel of the user interface further includes: in response to the receiving the selection …, filling at least one item button of the second associated category corresponding to the schedule item, wherein the second associated category is a category associated with the first associated category, into the second item display section (Page 5, Paragraphs 6-8, In the memory unit 101, a commonly used category may be stored as a default value. For example, if a user selects the 'My events' category, they are preset to show event buttons that point to events such as appointments, athletics, meals, weddings, outings, movies, etc. The 'Business' category includes deadlines, and may be preset and stored so as to include a schedule button indicating a schedule such as visit to the Patent Office. The control unit 106 may provide an interface through which a user can create or edit a category. The Create or Edit Categories interface allows users to add or remove event buttons in a category, create new categories, or remove existing categories. Or you can move the schedule button to another category as needed. The interface for adding the schedule button may, as an embodiment of the present invention, allow a user to add a schedule button by providing means for inputting text. As another embodiment, a certain button may be added by presenting a plurality of icons to a user and receiving a user input for selecting an arbitrary icon among a plurality of icons. The control unit 106 can generate a customized category by aggregating statistics of the schedule information generated by user input. For example, a plurality of schedule buttons having a high frequency of use may be created in one category according to the aggregated statistics; Examiner interprets “visit to the Patent Office” as the second category associated with the business category).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method for reusing schedule information of the invention, wherein the reused schedule information is displayed in a first item display section of the invention of Walker to further incorporate a second item display section for displaying a second category associated with the first category (e.g., recommended schedule information associated with the first category) of the invention of Lee because doing so would allow the method to present a plurality of icons/buttons to a user based on the selected category (see Lee, Page 5, Paragraphs 6-8). Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 10, which is dependent of claim 1, Walker discloses all the limitations in claim 1. Walker further discloses receiving time input for the other schedule information filled in the input panel; and creating a new schedule item corresponding to the other schedule information and the time input (Time 00:31-01:03 min, When you click Duplicate as an option it’s going to open up a new screen for you so it has duplicated your title of your event. If you have anything like locations, any notes down in the note category, guests that are attending, all of that is going to be duplicated and then all you need to do is change the date), …
Although Walker discloses a category for the meeting (e.g., a teacher meeting category), Walker does not specifically disclose wherein the newly created schedule item is further associated with one or more upper categories for the first associated category (see Applicant’s specification, Paragraphs 0119-0121).
However, Lee discloses wherein the newly created schedule item is further associated with one or more upper categories for the first associated category (Page 5, Paragraphs 6-8, In the memory unit 101, a commonly used category may be stored as a default value. For example, if a user selects the 'My events' category, they are preset to show event buttons that point to events such as appointments, athletics, meals, weddings, outings, movies, etc. The 'Business' category includes deadlines, and may be preset and stored so as to include a schedule button indicating a schedule such as visit to the Patent Office. The control unit 106 may provide an interface through which a user can create or edit a category. The Create or Edit Categories interface allows users to add or remove event buttons in a category, create new categories, or remove existing categories. Or you can move the schedule button to another category as needed. The interface for adding the schedule button may, as an embodiment of the present invention, allow a user to add a schedule button by providing means for inputting text. As another embodiment, a certain button may be added by presenting a plurality of icons to a user and receiving a user input for selecting an arbitrary icon among a plurality of icons. The control unit 106 can generate a customized category by aggregating statistics of the schedule information generated by user input. For example, a plurality of schedule buttons having a high frequency of use may be created in one category according to the aggregated statistics; Examiner interprets “business category” as one or more upper categories for the first associated category).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method for reusing schedule information of the invention, wherein the reused schedule information is displayed in a first item display section of the invention of Walker to further incorporate a second item display section for displaying a second category associated with the first category (e.g., recommended schedule information associated with the first category) of the invention of Lee because doing so would allow the method to present a plurality of icons/buttons to a user based on the selected category (see Lee, Page 5, Paragraphs 6-8). Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Swanson et al. (US 2015/0213411 A1) – discloses topic items in past meeting list 310 can be reused, such as by copying the topic item to the agenda list (e.g., agenda list 330). For example, after a topic item from past meeting list 310 is copied to agenda list 330, the topic item on agenda list 330 can be separate from, but linked to, the topic item on past meeting list 310. Specifically, each topic item can share a common artifact stream (as described below), yet certain data (e.g., topic description, presenter, time budget, etc., as described below) in each topic item can be unique, which can beneficially preserve the historical record of the topic item in past meeting list 310 and allow modifications and additions to the topic item in agenda list 330 as discussions evolve going forward (see at least Paragraph 0068).
Kwon Young (KR 2014/0073618 A) – discloses a method for a user interface for reusing schedule data and a device using the same. The method of the present invention comprises the steps of: (a) executing a schedule management application at a mobile device; (b) starting to make a dragging motion on a previously registered original schedule (S1) displayed on a schedule management user interface by an input means; (c) moving the dragged original schedule (S1) to a temporary schedule repository positioned in a region of the user interface and dropping the original schedule (S1) into the temporary schedule repository; and (d) storing schedule information on the dropped original schedule (S1) in an internal memory area corresponding to the temporary schedule repository at the mobile device (see at least Abstract).
Pabla et al. (US 7,679,518 B1) – discloses when creating a new meeting, meeting facilitation tool 120 may allow a user to select a previously defined meeting as a starting point or baseline for the new meeting. In other words, information related to the previous meeting may be used as default information for the new meeting. For instance, weeting facilitation tool 120 may include the invitees and/or attendees of a previous meeting in attendee list 410 for the new meeting. Similarly, a new meeting may be scheduled for the same day of the week and time of day as a previous meeting. Additionally, a new meeting may be associated or related to a previous meeting and/ or those meetings related to the previous meeting, according to various embodiments. In general, any meeting related information from a previous meeting may be included with the meeting related information for a new meeting. Meeting facilitation tool may automatically include contacts which have previously attended or been invited to the same meetings as the current user attended or was invited to. (see at least Column 12, lines 4-35).
/MARJORIE PUJOLS-CRUZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3624