DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “depth data acquisition section”, “object surface labeling section”, “image data acquisition section” and “model generation section” as initialized in claim 1, “actual depth data acquisition section” and “depth data estimation section” as initialized in claim 2, and “display control section” as initialized in claim 4.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. In this case, paragraph [0052] states that “the CPU 11 of the model generation device 1 functions as an actual depth data acquisition section 51, a depth data estimation section 52, a surface labeling section 53, an image data acquisition section 54, a three-dimensional model generation section 55, and a display control section 56.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kwon et al. (US 2020/0118281 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Kwon teaches an information processing device comprising:
a depth data acquisition section (e.g. Fig.1A: processor 144) that acquires depth data at each of N (N being an integer value of two or higher) viewpoints, the depth data indicating a depth from a predetermined viewpoint to a feature point of a target object (e.g. [0045],Fig.2: in block 204, a 3D image of the object is captured by a 3D imaging sensor, such as 3D imaging sensor 116 in Fig.1A; Fig.3B is a diagram of an example of a 3D image 118 of the object 104 including a 3D point cloud 120; each point 122 in the 3D point cloud 120 includes depth information 132 associated with the corresponding location 126 or point on the object 104 and the 3D point cloud 120 includes or defines a 3D depth map 130, wherein each of the points 122 of the 3D point cloud 120 includes depth information 132 of a corresponding location 126 on the object 104; see also [0036]: the 2D imaging sensor 106 and the 3D imaging sensor 116 are associated with or mounted to a sensor platform 136; the sensor platform 136 is configured to move to different viewpoints 138 or locations to capture 2D images 108 and corresponding 3D images 118 at the different viewpoints 138 or location of the sensor platform 136; Examiner’s note: this shows that depth data for N viewpoints are acquired);
an object surface labeling section (e.g. Fig.1A: processor 144) that generates labeling data indicating a result of labeling a surface of the target object, based on the N pieces of depth data (e.g. [0047],Fig.2: a depth value is assigned from selected points 122 (of the object) of the 3D point cloud 120 or 3D depth map 130 to a matching or corresponding pixel 112 on the 2D image plane 110; Examiner’s note: as per paragraph [0055] of Instant Application’s specification, labeling refers to recording position of a surface of the object in a 3D space; as such, assigning depth points of the object (corresponding to surface points of the object via 3D depth map) to corresponding pixel on the image plane of the 2D image shows recordation of positioning of the object in the 3D space);
an image data acquisition section (e.g. Fig.1A: processor 144) that acquires M (M being an integer value of N or lower) pieces of image data obtained as a result of capturing images of the target object from viewpoints synchronized with M viewpoints, respectively, among the N viewpoints (e.g. [0044],Fig.2: in block 202, a 2D image of the object is captured by a 2D imaging sensor, such as 2D imaging sensor 106 in Fig.1A; as above, [0036]: move to different viewpoints 138 or locations to capture 2D images 108 and corresponding 3D images 118 at the different viewpoints 138; Examiner’s note: this shows that M images are captured corresponding (directly synchronized with) to the depth data for N viewpoints); and
a model generation section (e.g. Fig.1A: processor 144) that generates a three-dimensional model for the target object, based on the M pieces of image data and the labeling data (e.g. [0051],Fig.2: in block 216, the multiple upsampled 3D point clouds 148 are matched or registered and merged to generate the 3D model point cloud 102 of the object 104; Examiner’s note: upsampled 3D points clouds generated based on the aligned depth data and image data for viewpoints, and as such 3D model is based on the aligned data (labeling data)).
In regards to method claim 6, claim(s) 6 recite(s) limitations that is/are similar in scope to the limitations recited in claim 1. Therefore, claim(s) 6 is/are subject to rejections under the same rationale as applied hereinabove for claim 1.
In regards to claim 3, Kwon teaches a device, wherein the depth data acquisition section is configured to acquire the depth data calibrated in such a manner as to have the same viewpoint as each of the M pieces of image data, as the depth data synchronized with the M viewpoints, respectively, among the N viewpoints (e.g. as above, [0036]: the 2D imaging sensor 106 and the 3D imaging sensor 116 are associated with or mounted to a sensor platform 136; the sensor platform 136 is configured to move to different viewpoints 138 or locations to capture 2D images 108 and corresponding 3D images 118 at the different viewpoints 138 or location of the sensor platform 136; Examiner’s note: this shows that depth data for N viewpoints are acquired, corresponding to M viewpoints of image data).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kar et al. (US 2022/0335638 A1).
In regards to claim 2, Kwon teaches a device, wherein the depth data acquisition
section includes:
an actual depth data acquisition section that acquires M pieces of actual depth data obtained as a result of measurement from each of the M viewpoints in a real world (e.g. as above, [0045],Fig.2: in block 204, a 3D image of the object is captured by a 3D imaging sensor, such as 3D imaging sensor 116 in Fig.1A; Fig.3B is a diagram of an example of a 3D image 118 of the object 104 including a 3D point cloud 120; each point 122 in the 3D point cloud 120 includes depth information 132 associated with the corresponding location 126 or point on the object 104 and the 3D point cloud 120 includes or defines a 3D depth map 130, wherein each of the points 122 of the 3D point cloud 120 includes depth information 132 of a corresponding location 126 on the object 104; see also [0035]: the 3D imaging sensor 116 is a Light Detection and Ranging (LiDAR) imaging sensor 135 or similar imaging sensor capable of generating a 3D image or 3D point cloud);
but does not explicitly teach the device, comprising:
a depth data estimation section that estimates N pieces of depth data based on the M pieces of actual depth data, and acquires the N pieces of depth data estimated.
However, Kar teaches a device, comprising:
a depth data estimation section that estimates N pieces of depth data based on the M pieces of actual depth data, and acquires the N pieces of depth data estimated (e.g. [0042],Fig.1B: the depth estimate generator 106 may include a visual inertial motion tracker 160, a depth sensor 164, a motion stereo depth estimator 168, a sparse active depth estimator 170, and/or a pre-computed sparse map 172; the depth estimate generator 106 may select one of the sources for use in generating the depth map 138; [0046]: depth sensor 164 is configured to generate the depth estimates 108 based on the image data 104; in some examples, the depth sensor 164 includes a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) sensor; Examiner’s note: as such, the depth estimate generator may estimate N/M pieces of depth data based on the N/M pieces of actual depth data obtained).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings/combination of Kwon to estimate depth data, in the same conventional manner as taught by Kar as both deal with obtaining depth data via LIDAR. The motivation to combine the two would be that it would allow the estimation of depth based on actual depth data obtained or other sources.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hazeghi et al. (US 2019/0108678 A1).
In regards to claim 4, Kwon teaches the device of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach the device, further comprising a display control section that performs control of displaying the three-dimensional model for the target object by drawing only a vicinity of the target object, based on the depth data.
However, Hazeghi teaches a device, further comprising a display control section that performs control of displaying the three-dimensional model for the target object by drawing only a vicinity of the target object, based on the depth data (e.g. [0161]: user interface may also show the current status of the scan, by displaying the combined point cloud that has been acquired so far during the scan (e.g. a “preview” or low fidelity version of the point cloud that is computed by the processing system 40 using decimated depth images)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings/combination of Kwon to display the 3D model, in the same conventional manner as taught by Hazeghi as both deal with generating a 3D model based on image and depth data. The motivation to combine the two would be that it would allow the user to view the current 3D model based on depth data alone.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Kwon and Hazeghi as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Kondo (US 2008/0186310 A1).
In regards to claim 5, the combination of Kwon and Hazeghi teaches the device of claim 4, but does not explicitly teach the device, wherein the display control section is configured to perform control of displaying an image drawn in a network representation on an as-is basis that is generated in the three-dimensional model for the target object.
However, Kondo teaches a device, wherein the display control section is configured to perform control of displaying an image drawn in a network representation on an as-is basis that is generated in the three-dimensional model for the target object (e.g. [0011]: an input unit configured to receive polygon data; a processing unit configured to generate a region surrounding an individual polygon, which is represented by the polygon data, measure a distance from a lattice point included in the region to the polygon, and draw a graphic figure on the basis of the measured distance by an implicit-function representation; and an outputting unit configured to display the graphic figure that is obtained by the implicit-function representation; Examiner’s note: paragraph [0062] of the Instant Application’s specification states that the network representation is an implicit function representation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings/combination of Kwon and Hazeghi to display the 3D model, in the same conventional manner as taught by Kondo as both deal with display of an object. The motivation to combine the two would be that it would allow the displaying of an implicit function representation of the 3D object.
Conclusion
/JED-JUSTIN IMPERIAL/Examiner, Art Unit 2616
/DANIEL F HAJNIK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2616